Rome Fiumicino Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 285 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst airport international arrival experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was the worst airport international arrival experience we have ever encountered. We arrived at the airport from the US at approximately 6:30am on September 19 (our flight was a little early). At passport control, only a single line, that for those who required visas, was open, and all passengers were therefore shunted into that line. I noticed that several windows were closed, suggesting severe understaffing to handle the passport inspection flow. We were in the line approximately 1 hour 15 minutes before we reached a window. While, during that period, a person who appeared to be airport personnel (with a neon green vest on), opened the line that did not appear to require visas, he said nothing and no announcement was made to explain who should be in which line. By then, also, we were stuck deep in the bowels of the other line and were fearful if we exited we'd lose even more time. By the time we finally reached baggage claim, our flight was no longer listed, and we had to walk up and down the line of carousels several times before we found someone to ask where we might find our baggage. We were directed to carousel 5, where one of our bags was still circling on the carousel, but the other was nowhere to be found. Several airport staff (we presume, because of their green vests) were huddled with a woman who seemed to be from a tour agency, but none were paying any attention to the plight of those of us wandering around trying to find missing bags. We were able to ask the woman who appeared to be from a tour agency if she knew anything, and she called someone and advised that she had been told all the bags from our flight had been removed from the carousel to accommodate bags from later incoming flights. She pointed to several bags standing in rows next to the carousel. We walked around the carousel and rows of standing bags several times in search of our missing bag but did not find it. She advised she'd been told that, in such a case, we should check with the lost luggage window at carousel 10. We did so, and, fortunately, they had the bag. The total time at the airport as the result of this, and all after an overnight red-eye flight, was three hours. It appears to us that even a modicum of sensible management and communication could have avoided at least 2 hours of this debacle. We would like to return to Italy for future vacations, but we do not wish to ever risk subjecting ourselves to an experience like this and hope that the problem will be taken seriously and addressed by both the airport and the security personnel.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"has optimized cleaning"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Respect the past, the FCO airport has optimized cleaning, services and staff, but possibility of improvement can be offered expanding waiting rooms with bigger armchairs that allow travelers to not sleep on the floor.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst airport experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am writing from the immigration line. And we have already been in the line for 1 hour 40 minutes and we are probably behind 400 people at this point - perhaps another 45 minutes. This is the worst airport experience we have ever had. Looks like more than half the counters are closed. This is a shame for the city and the country. I would give zero stars if that was possible.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

24th September 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Asok, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused to you at Fiumicino Airport. We understand your disappointment, however passport control is not managed by Aeroporti di Roma; it is managed directly by public security forces. We have informed them of your complaint for further investigation. To make operations faster, we advise you to use the e-gates in future, an innovative technology which allows your passport to be checked in an entirely automated way. Kind regards

1/10

"Terrible experience"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Terrible experience. We were dropped off and running late. No signage for where the relevant counter was, Jet2. Asked an airport staff member who said “it’s over there” and pointed us to the opposite direction, we headed down to the end to find nothing, and had to turn around and backtrack. The Jet2 counter was only 2 counters away from where we were originally. Absolutely appalling - the staff member should have said nothing but instead wasted our time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no

24th September 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear E Lay, thanks for reporting this. Learning about the experience of our passengers is very important to grow the quality of our services and the customer orientation of all ground airport operators. Airports are complex structures, with the presence of personnel from multiple companies, not all directly managed by Aeroporti di Roma. We would like to understand better what happened, could you please fill in the online form explaining what occurred to you in detail and when: http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints ? Thanks for cooperation

10/10

"surprised by the improvement"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Surprised by the improvement. Since my last visit there has been a tremendous improvements in the lounges and in the food and beverage on the second floor. The electronic passport scanner. I’m impressed. Positively impressed. Management efforts I think was amazing and for me and my family it has been a very pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

"absolutely no professionalism"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Rude staff and unprofessional Sky bar lounge at Fuimicino departure terminal 1. The staff are impolite and we are not allowed to have a seat and eat if we order the food over the counter. We went in, sat down and my dad went over to order food for us. Upon paying and collecting it, the staff walk up to us and said we are not allowed to sit and eat the food as the price is different if you order it from the menu compared to ordering it over the counter. Although the bar was empty the staff insisted that even my grandma shouldn't sit to have her breakfast. There is absolutely no professionalism and they give very rude answers if questioning them. So do avoid this place if you don't wish to face rude staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

27th July 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Thanks for reporting this. Learning about the experience of our passengers is very important to grow the quality of our services and the customer orientation of all ground airport operators. Airports are complex structures, with the presence of personnel from multiple companies. In order to identify the responsibilities correctly could you please fill in the online form explaining what occurred to you in detail : http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints

9/10

"airport has dramatically improved"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | This airport has dramatically improved over the last few years! Big renovations have been done after a fire destroyed a part of the old terminal 3 and recently the E Zone has been inaugurated. This new area is amazing, modern, bright and spacious. It has many Italian luxury stores and a great variety of restaurants. The security controls had been improved too, as well as the washrooms which now are modern, clean and technological advanced. The airport is currently undergoing many works, such as the expansion of Terminal 1 and the new A Zone, the will make this airport better and better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the worst in the world"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | The immigration queue of FCO are the worst in the world! They are extremely slow, and even though the queue is huge (>60min), many of the passport check counters are closed (20% closed, 3/12). I see many people desperate and in fear of missing their flights. Lastly, air conditioning is not working, while it’s ~30ºC outside.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

16th July 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Hello, thanks for reporting this. Learning about the experience of our passengers is very important to grow the quality of our services and the customer orientation of all ground airport operators. Airports are complex structures, with the presence of personnel from multiple companies, not all directly managed by Aeroporti di Roma. We would like to understand better what happened, could you please fill in the online form explaining what occurred to you in detail and when: http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints ? Thanks for cooperation

1/10

"tax refund process is super bad"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Tax refund process is super bad. Need to queue in a different line for different company of tax refund. No clear direction of the refund process. Staff of the Global Blue are rude. Arguing among tourist within the queue (unclear queue) but staff only shout to shut up but not trying to help or to understand the issue. Staff at the tax refund leave a very bad impression to tourist and they are representative of the airport and country image.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no

16th July 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Hello, thanks for reporting this. Learning about the experience of our passengers is very important to grow the quality of our services and the customer orientation of all ground airport operators. Airports are complex structures, with the presence of personnel from multiple companies, not all directly managed by Aeroporti di Roma. We would like to understand better what happened, could you please fill in the online form explaining what occurred to you in detail and when: http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints ? Thanks for cooperation

1/10

"try and avoid this airport"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | If possible, try and avoid this airport. Purely because of the staff. The airport itself is fine but the way it is managed is the worst I have ever seen and I have travelled all over the world and do not have high expectations. After coming to this airport over 10 times I've decided no more, because every single time it has been stressful and the attitude of the staff is disgusting. I don't need this at the airport, people need support and respect.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

19th June 2018 : Rome Fiumicino Airport response

Dear Sarah, thanks for reporting this. Learning about the experience of our passengers is very important to grow the quality of our services and the customer orientation of all ground airport operators. Airports are complex structures, with the presence of personnel from multiple companies, not all directly managed by Aeroporti di Roma. We would like to understand better your review, could you please fill in the online form explaining what occurred to you in detail and when: http://www.adr.it/web/aeroporti-di-roma-en-/suggestions-and-complaints Thanks for cooperation