Nairobi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 71 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"traffic can be a nightmare"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Nairobi International Airport is fine, once you get there. Nairobi traffic can be a nightmare almost any hour of the day. Pray it isn't raining the day you need to travel to the airport. We originally planned to stay on the opposite side of the city near the river our last day in Nairobi. However, our tour guide advised it might take over 3 hours to get to the airport in an Uber. Not wanting to be stressed out the last day of vacation, we changed to the airport Hilton which is within eyesight of the airport. Even with that, it took us 30 minutes in traffic at 20:30 at night to get to the airport. Once there a breeze. Easy drop-off areas for each airline, separate entrances for business class and economy passengers, lots of check-in stations, separate passport control and security lines for business class and economy passengers - neither very long. OK duty-free shopping - Kenyan tea is a great bargain as was the price on some alcohol. Signage must be a little confusing as we saw multiple people running back and forth along the same corridors. Bathrooms are OK. Compared to other international airports, there seemed to be lots of people sleeping on the chairs in both the common areas and the departure gates. Boarding for our Kenya flight was very hectic as everyone rushed to board the flight without queuing and the staff did not control the gate area very well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Staff extremely helpful"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Sadly had a 9 hour layover due to late running of Air France plane from Paris. Made a dash to the connecting gate but a few minutes too late. Put on the next flight about 9 hours later. Staff helpful in explaining what to do. Easy to find the counter to get a new boarding pass and as a business class customer was able to use the lounge. Shower, food, drinks and opportunity to rest before the later flight. Staff extremely helpful, short walk to gate with easy boarding and on-time departure. I guess being able to use the lounge made all the difference and the staff there extremely pleasant and helpful
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"poorly lit and not well organized"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Terminals are not nice inside, murky and dull. You have to pass three security checks to reach your plane. This is due to a fear of terrorists and thieves. Check in section was poorly lit and not well organized. We were lucky to have business class desks. Employees were mostly friendly. Shops looked more like bazaars. The lounge we used was very modest - no comparison with the wonderful, spacious one at JNB. Security check areas are not large enough - there is little space to re-organise your clothes and pockets. Departure after pushback was very swift with a short taxi to RWY, no congestion, The arrival hall (international) looked like it needed some improvement, was poorly lit. Curbside was unorganized, cars that pick you up cannot even park close by.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it's a complete dump"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | People friendly but it's a complete dump. Even the new bit of the terminal built by the Chinese is falling apart, toilet doors that won't shut, cheap gate areas etc. Not forgetting overpriced shops, poor catering and so on. The most bizarre thing is this. My BP was checked 1. on entry to terminal, 2. entry to check in (Emirates), 3. immigration, 4. entry to gate, 5. after the gate, 6. entry to jetty, 7. entry to plane. Why keep checking things like this unless there is doubt that previous checkers have not been competent. Particularly at the gate - after check number 5 I literally took 10 steps before another checker said "can I see your boarding pass". Dire. Truly dire.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport facilities are poor"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have travelled to or through this airport at least once a month for the past four years for business. The airport facilities are poor and the vast majority are in need of refurbishment. The staff whilst friendly are almost ineffective. Most staff do not know are to handle simple inquiries and try to deflect you somewhere so they don't have to deal with you as a costumer/passenger. When staff do help it is followed by a request for money. The level of corruption is astounding. As a result of the poor level of service experienced here as a business traveller I am very reluctant to travel here as a tourist. I feel for those passenger who have to use this airport as part of their holiday, I really do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a truly dreadful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We go to the Masia Mara about two times per year, fly in and out with BA. Now we have had over 20 bad experiences at Nairobi terminal 1B. It is a truly dreadful experience, grotty terminal, pathetic shops, no eating areas, lounges if they exist are crowded and tatty and the security! Endless lines, 2 security scanners right next to each other, rude staff and then a waiting lounge at the gate that is the same if you are economy or first class (correction, there is a makeshift table with some alcohol for first or business class). It is as if the ground crew are briefed to make this a poor experience, I cannot understand any other reason. Of course, I think if you are travelling Air Kenya you are in the glossy new terminal and I suspect the experience differs. Strange that, could it be that someone is trying to make this experience bad to drive business to the national airline? Shame on Nairobi airport and your officials when Kenya and your people are so fantastic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Lack of seating"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1B. Lack of seating and very few opportunities to grab a bite to eat or a drink. Many shops but unfortunately most of them are duplicates so not really a great choice. Endless security. But the biggest problem was when I had two unopened bottles of water in my carry on for the flight. Bought in the airport with ServiceAir labels and seals intact. They were confiscated as they weren’t in a sealed duty free airport bag. Never encountered this before - you have been warned!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Extremely poorly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Felt turned upside down and totally harrassed by security arrangements at departure gate. Extremely poorly organised. Shame on British Airways permitting their paying customers to be submitted to such a poorly organised and chaotic experience. There wasn't anyone from BA on hand to complain to either.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport I've ever been through"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport I've ever been through. Shoved into a lounge too small for the number of plane passengers and deprived of basic amenities like water and toilets for over 2 hours. This is the 21st century for goodness sake!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"insufficient seating"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | One of the worlds worst airports. Insufficient seating. The departure lounges are like a cattle farm with no rules and regulations. Passengers standing in lounges with no room. Absolutely a shame for a country once upin a time that had a great tourism industry.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews