Nairobi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"poorly trained and disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Incredibly poorly trained and disorganised, disinterested staff from beginning to end. On arrival the que for the desk was completely ignored - the staff put the airline carrier on display on the screens above the check-in/baggage drop off desks. Approx 70 passengers walked up and cued for the gate, staff then completely ignored passengers for 50 minutes before finally acknowledging we existed and opening check in late. No explanation or apology was given. There is no restaurant in the airport you can get sandwiches from a very poorly stocked cafe but that is it. There is no airport information desk or any information or assistance at all. Flights are called for ‘boarding’ but you do not board, instead you are put through security for a second time and then held in a waiting pen, with no access to water or washrooms or any facilities. You are expected to wait here for 70-90 minutes before you actually are invited to ‘board’ the plane. Double security is great for safety - but call it security not ‘boarding’ and then allow people access to basic amenities once cleared security (for second time) - I had to listen to toddlers crying of thirst and small children crying as they had wet themselves - as they announce ‘last call for boarding now’ more than an hour before boarding - you cannot then leave the holding pen. It’s frustrating as an adult having to wait for an hour without access to toilets or water but having to listen to children suffer is beyond a bad joke. The staff were rude but this is obviously a lack of training - they have no idea they are rude, they just believe their behaviour is ‘the norm’ for customer service - it’s not, it’s awful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Unfriendly staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Just awful. Unfriendly staff, horribly lit, few signs, looks like a building site, packed lounge (Turkish) etc etc. I was very surprised when my BA flight was called for boarding 1-1/2 hours before departure. But then when I saw the chaos a the gate I understood. I'd hesitate to return to Kenya because of the airport. On the positive side: The washroom was clean and arrival wasn't too much of a hassle.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"I am suggesting a bit more testing for staff"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Two issues: 1) I had to check in about 12 hours ahead of my flight. When I tried to check in at the counter the person indicated I could not check in and I would have to wait in the Airport lobby until 6.00 pm. I was trying to check in at noon, my flight is at midnight. After some discussion that it was unreasonable to not be able to get to the business class lounge for six hours the person suggested I try the automated check in. I was able to obtain a boarding pass but no luggage tags. What is with that? Thankfully, I am a person who does not accept things if it is unreasonable so only by pushing back on the counter person did I get a reasonable option. I don’t think I should have to make a fuss. 2) The information staff in the airport had no idea where the KLM business lounge was located. I was sent to the Simba Lounge and thankfully the person there was very helpful and gave directions to the Pride Lounge. I am suggesting a bit more testing for staff to ensure all are knowledgeable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"traffic can be a nightmare"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Nairobi International Airport is fine, once you get there. Nairobi traffic can be a nightmare almost any hour of the day. Pray it isn't raining the day you need to travel to the airport. We originally planned to stay on the opposite side of the city near the river our last day in Nairobi. However, our tour guide advised it might take over 3 hours to get to the airport in an Uber. Not wanting to be stressed out the last day of vacation, we changed to the airport Hilton which is within eyesight of the airport. Even with that, it took us 30 minutes in traffic at 20:30 at night to get to the airport. Once there a breeze. Easy drop-off areas for each airline, separate entrances for business class and economy passengers, lots of check-in stations, separate passport control and security lines for business class and economy passengers - neither very long. OK duty-free shopping - Kenyan tea is a great bargain as was the price on some alcohol. Signage must be a little confusing as we saw multiple people running back and forth along the same corridors. Bathrooms are OK. Compared to other international airports, there seemed to be lots of people sleeping on the chairs in both the common areas and the departure gates. Boarding for our Kenya flight was very hectic as everyone rushed to board the flight without queuing and the staff did not control the gate area very well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Staff extremely helpful"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Sadly had a 9 hour layover due to late running of Air France plane from Paris. Made a dash to the connecting gate but a few minutes too late. Put on the next flight about 9 hours later. Staff helpful in explaining what to do. Easy to find the counter to get a new boarding pass and as a business class customer was able to use the lounge. Shower, food, drinks and opportunity to rest before the later flight. Staff extremely helpful, short walk to gate with easy boarding and on-time departure. I guess being able to use the lounge made all the difference and the staff there extremely pleasant and helpful
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"poorly lit and not well organized"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Terminals are not nice inside, murky and dull. You have to pass three security checks to reach your plane. This is due to a fear of terrorists and thieves. Check in section was poorly lit and not well organized. We were lucky to have business class desks. Employees were mostly friendly. Shops looked more like bazaars. The lounge we used was very modest - no comparison with the wonderful, spacious one at JNB. Security check areas are not large enough - there is little space to re-organise your clothes and pockets. Departure after pushback was very swift with a short taxi to RWY, no congestion, The arrival hall (international) looked like it needed some improvement, was poorly lit. Curbside was unorganized, cars that pick you up cannot even park close by.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it's a complete dump"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | People friendly but it's a complete dump. Even the new bit of the terminal built by the Chinese is falling apart, toilet doors that won't shut, cheap gate areas etc. Not forgetting overpriced shops, poor catering and so on. The most bizarre thing is this. My BP was checked 1. on entry to terminal, 2. entry to check in (Emirates), 3. immigration, 4. entry to gate, 5. after the gate, 6. entry to jetty, 7. entry to plane. Why keep checking things like this unless there is doubt that previous checkers have not been competent. Particularly at the gate - after check number 5 I literally took 10 steps before another checker said "can I see your boarding pass". Dire. Truly dire.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport facilities are poor"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have travelled to or through this airport at least once a month for the past four years for business. The airport facilities are poor and the vast majority are in need of refurbishment. The staff whilst friendly are almost ineffective. Most staff do not know are to handle simple inquiries and try to deflect you somewhere so they don't have to deal with you as a costumer/passenger. When staff do help it is followed by a request for money. The level of corruption is astounding. As a result of the poor level of service experienced here as a business traveller I am very reluctant to travel here as a tourist. I feel for those passenger who have to use this airport as part of their holiday, I really do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a truly dreadful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We go to the Masia Mara about two times per year, fly in and out with BA. Now we have had over 20 bad experiences at Nairobi terminal 1B. It is a truly dreadful experience, grotty terminal, pathetic shops, no eating areas, lounges if they exist are crowded and tatty and the security! Endless lines, 2 security scanners right next to each other, rude staff and then a waiting lounge at the gate that is the same if you are economy or first class (correction, there is a makeshift table with some alcohol for first or business class). It is as if the ground crew are briefed to make this a poor experience, I cannot understand any other reason. Of course, I think if you are travelling Air Kenya you are in the glossy new terminal and I suspect the experience differs. Strange that, could it be that someone is trying to make this experience bad to drive business to the national airline? Shame on Nairobi airport and your officials when Kenya and your people are so fantastic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Lack of seating"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terminal 1B. Lack of seating and very few opportunities to grab a bite to eat or a drink. Many shops but unfortunately most of them are duplicates so not really a great choice. Endless security. But the biggest problem was when I had two unopened bottles of water in my carry on for the flight. Bought in the airport with ServiceAir labels and seals intact. They were confiscated as they weren’t in a sealed duty free airport bag. Never encountered this before - you have been warned!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 74 Reviews