Nairobi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"lock your bags with as many locks as you can"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Baggage collection-I discovered that staff in Nairobi attempted and managed to break the zip for one of the bags, because the padlock was too hard to pick. I could not tell if anything was taken but if anything was taken, it is not that important as I could not tell what it was. Return journey, staff dealing with baggage managed to uncode my bag and removed items of clothing which again we cannot tell what they took as we never count what we take on holiday to wear. Our bag was 3kg lighter by time we collected it in London. When we were collecting our bags from the airport, we immediately realised the Zip was open and there was a huge space showing either dirty clothes had been stolen as we did not have any valuables. Our suitcase weighed 21.9kg when we weighed it at home and it was 22kg when weighed at the check in counter in Nairobi during our return journey. After noticing the zip had been opened, we immediately spoke with Customer service at the London airport who asked us to put any claim online. We didn't know what was missing but we weighed our bag and it was 19.1kg and not 22kgs as it was when we checked it in. So we know about 3kg worth of dirty items were taken but we can't tell exactly what they took. So by process of elimination, we know locks and padlocks are being broken in Nairobi by the bag handlers. Whoever manages these staff handling bags at Jomo kenyatta international airport Nairobi; you and your staff are giving Kenya a bad name breaking people's bags which is a violation of their privacy. The last time I was in Kenya, I had my sunlight bar soaps stolen from one of the bags and I think it is time to bring this to the attention of whoever manages these people. Stealing dirty clothes! Most people carry valuables in hand luggage so stop with the embarrassment. Going forward, I will never take check in luggage to Kenya. Everyone travelling there, double lock your bags with as many locks as you can, or just have hand luggage as this problem appear well entrenched in Nairobi. I cannot see it going away unless they have CCTV cameras to deter these thieves masquerading as paid staff. Brighter side, the staff at the first check as you arrive at the airport as well as those at the main entrance are brilliant. Appear very cheerful and give guidance so I will be rating 2 just for those staff. Also staff at the passport control and those checking and providing boarding passes are brilliant. After that, everything is down hill and gets worse !
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No social distancing whatsoever!"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have ever seen, in all my travels: boarding started way too late, for all documents (incl. COVID) to be checked. Same documents have been checked at 3 queues, till boarding. No priority boarding for business. No social distancing whatsoever! The plane is a Covid timebomb, sadly. No seating available at check-in area. No one to ask anything at the multiple airport queues I had to endure. My plan was to come back to Kenya, but to pass this airport again, that would be an ordeal. Better to visit other African countries, maybe they work better than Kenya which is a mess.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is horrible"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | This airport is horrible. The staff are unfriendly and rude, and also corrupt looking for every chance they can get to take money away from you. I had a flight which allowed 2 x 23 kg bags per person, I had one bag of 25 kgs and my partner had one bag of 11kgs. The staff refused to give me my ticket until I paid 50 USD for the 2 extra kilos. I had exactly the same weight coming from Cape Town and this wasn’t a problem. The guard at one of the scanning stations also tried to ask for a bribe because we had beer in our luggage (which we checked and double checked beforehand that it was indeed allowed). I’m so disgusted by this place and the staff here. Kenya really needs the tourism industry yet doesn’t care at all about the tourists. I will not be visiting again and will encourage anyone else thinking of coming here to steer clear and rather support any other African country more worth while
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a complete disaster"

(Australia)

Not Verified | This airport is a complete disaster, it looks like an abandoned warehouse, there no information center to ssk for any informations, no one knows what there doing because everyone I did ask about the information, they didn’t know anything. Staff are just busy on their chats, for example at Gate 6 for TRANSIT INFO DESK. No one was there for a good 5 hours, I’m like what are they being paid for if they can’t be present for assisting passengers. I can’t express enough bad the experience was, and how on earth the Toilets don’t have water? Really are you guys out of your minds. I’m so sorry for those who have to use this Airport as their main point for traveling. There’s no restaurant or cafes for passengers or lounges and it is by far the worst airport you can go to.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"poorly trained and disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Incredibly poorly trained and disorganised, disinterested staff from beginning to end. On arrival the que for the desk was completely ignored - the staff put the airline carrier on display on the screens above the check-in/baggage drop off desks. Approx 70 passengers walked up and cued for the gate, staff then completely ignored passengers for 50 minutes before finally acknowledging we existed and opening check in late. No explanation or apology was given. There is no restaurant in the airport you can get sandwiches from a very poorly stocked cafe but that is it. There is no airport information desk or any information or assistance at all. Flights are called for ‘boarding’ but you do not board, instead you are put through security for a second time and then held in a waiting pen, with no access to water or washrooms or any facilities. You are expected to wait here for 70-90 minutes before you actually are invited to ‘board’ the plane. Double security is great for safety - but call it security not ‘boarding’ and then allow people access to basic amenities once cleared security (for second time) - I had to listen to toddlers crying of thirst and small children crying as they had wet themselves - as they announce ‘last call for boarding now’ more than an hour before boarding - you cannot then leave the holding pen. It’s frustrating as an adult having to wait for an hour without access to toilets or water but having to listen to children suffer is beyond a bad joke. The staff were rude but this is obviously a lack of training - they have no idea they are rude, they just believe their behaviour is ‘the norm’ for customer service - it’s not, it’s awful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Unfriendly staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Just awful. Unfriendly staff, horribly lit, few signs, looks like a building site, packed lounge (Turkish) etc etc. I was very surprised when my BA flight was called for boarding 1-1/2 hours before departure. But then when I saw the chaos a the gate I understood. I'd hesitate to return to Kenya because of the airport. On the positive side: The washroom was clean and arrival wasn't too much of a hassle.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"I am suggesting a bit more testing for staff"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Two issues: 1) I had to check in about 12 hours ahead of my flight. When I tried to check in at the counter the person indicated I could not check in and I would have to wait in the Airport lobby until 6.00 pm. I was trying to check in at noon, my flight is at midnight. After some discussion that it was unreasonable to not be able to get to the business class lounge for six hours the person suggested I try the automated check in. I was able to obtain a boarding pass but no luggage tags. What is with that? Thankfully, I am a person who does not accept things if it is unreasonable so only by pushing back on the counter person did I get a reasonable option. I don’t think I should have to make a fuss. 2) The information staff in the airport had no idea where the KLM business lounge was located. I was sent to the Simba Lounge and thankfully the person there was very helpful and gave directions to the Pride Lounge. I am suggesting a bit more testing for staff to ensure all are knowledgeable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"traffic can be a nightmare"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Nairobi International Airport is fine, once you get there. Nairobi traffic can be a nightmare almost any hour of the day. Pray it isn't raining the day you need to travel to the airport. We originally planned to stay on the opposite side of the city near the river our last day in Nairobi. However, our tour guide advised it might take over 3 hours to get to the airport in an Uber. Not wanting to be stressed out the last day of vacation, we changed to the airport Hilton which is within eyesight of the airport. Even with that, it took us 30 minutes in traffic at 20:30 at night to get to the airport. Once there a breeze. Easy drop-off areas for each airline, separate entrances for business class and economy passengers, lots of check-in stations, separate passport control and security lines for business class and economy passengers - neither very long. OK duty-free shopping - Kenyan tea is a great bargain as was the price on some alcohol. Signage must be a little confusing as we saw multiple people running back and forth along the same corridors. Bathrooms are OK. Compared to other international airports, there seemed to be lots of people sleeping on the chairs in both the common areas and the departure gates. Boarding for our Kenya flight was very hectic as everyone rushed to board the flight without queuing and the staff did not control the gate area very well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Staff extremely helpful"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Sadly had a 9 hour layover due to late running of Air France plane from Paris. Made a dash to the connecting gate but a few minutes too late. Put on the next flight about 9 hours later. Staff helpful in explaining what to do. Easy to find the counter to get a new boarding pass and as a business class customer was able to use the lounge. Shower, food, drinks and opportunity to rest before the later flight. Staff extremely helpful, short walk to gate with easy boarding and on-time departure. I guess being able to use the lounge made all the difference and the staff there extremely pleasant and helpful
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"poorly lit and not well organized"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Terminals are not nice inside, murky and dull. You have to pass three security checks to reach your plane. This is due to a fear of terrorists and thieves. Check in section was poorly lit and not well organized. We were lucky to have business class desks. Employees were mostly friendly. Shops looked more like bazaars. The lounge we used was very modest - no comparison with the wonderful, spacious one at JNB. Security check areas are not large enough - there is little space to re-organise your clothes and pockets. Departure after pushback was very swift with a short taxi to RWY, no congestion, The arrival hall (international) looked like it needed some improvement, was poorly lit. Curbside was unorganized, cars that pick you up cannot even park close by.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews