Mauritius Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 39 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worst arrival experiences"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Probably one of the worst arrival experiences ever. We had a one hour wait to go through immigration. Joined the line for visitors and after about 20 minutes staff disappeared leaving only one person.on duty. In the meantime, they opened another line which the flight behind were using. The one person on duty then started prioritising aircrew. Ok, that's fine but we were just left. One guy noticed this and seemed to be summoning more help but this was not forthcoming. Returning home tomorrow and dreading the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"neat and pleasant airport"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Early morning arrival at 0500 and through immigration + baggage claim and customs in +/- 45mins. Very neat and pleasant airport with friendly officials. Departure was super quick, super friendly drop + go check-in agent. Lots of seating available at gate. Boarding on time and pushback 10mins early. Beautiful tropical island to visit with a vibrant and friendly mix of cultures and tastes.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"efficient and very polite"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Can't understand the other negative reviews on this website. But my experience is completely different. Virtually no waiting at all when I arrived. I found the staff to be efficient and very polite. Airport also immaculately clean and very modern, far more so than Gatwick from which I had just flown. I've flown a lot in North America, Africa, Europe and extensively through out Asia but honestly this is one of the best airports I've experienced in recent years.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Worst airport I have seen"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have seen. Immigration queues of over 60 min on arrival. Should have more agents on the counters. For a country which derives huge inflows from tourism, the attention to passenger comfort is pathetic. Officers were slow, inefficient and some quite rude to passengers. NO drinking water fountain at the airport. They expect passengers to buy US$3 water bottles for quenching their thirst. Bad attitude of staff at shops. Duty free shops have little variety and higher prices than most asian airports for most goods.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"clean, green and modern"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | SA190, 11 Oct 17, arrival off a full Airbus A340. Customs for foreigners took +/- 45mins. Customs official friendly. Airport terminal is clean, green and modern. Our arrival was at 16H00, and the peak international arrivals is between 11-15H00, which is described as chaotic by the locals. Bags off the aircraft was quick, immigration was a breeze. SA191, 22 Oct 17 departing to JNB. Only three customs officials on duty and took quite a while. My official was super-friendly - the rest looked stressed and grumpy! Security was OK. Quite amazing to think that this little country of 1.2 million inhabitants processes 1.5 million international tourists. All in all, a pleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"let down by the staff"

(Mauritius)

Verified Review | Mauritius Airport is fairly well appointed. Food and beverage options are not great. Usually enough seating. Duty free is expensive by most airports standards. Priority baggage does not come out on the baggage carousel first. No pharmacy in the airport. The airport is let down by the staff. Surly and unwelcoming passport control staff and aggressive customs officers on arrival make the whole experience more than a little unpleasant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"utter chaos at this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Utter chaos at this airport, after a long queue for check in we were then subjected to over an hours wait at Passport Control. Two queues wiith limited personnel dealing with customers, no urgency and no apologies. Dreadful facilities, coffee shops with rude assistants selling over priced and barely edible food. Overall one of the worst airports we have experienced.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"worst in terms of inefficiency"

(Réunion)

Mauritius is certainly one of the worst airports ever in terms of inefficiency. I've seen worse but they do not pretend to be a 5-star tourist destination or a gateway between Asia and Africa. Transiting passengers had to join a long queue for transfer formalities while we, like most passengers already had our boarding passes for our onward flights. Worse was we had to line up again and fill in arrival cards for immigration inspection. Since when do transit passengers have to fill in arrival cards? While checking in for our first flight we were given arrival cards. When I said that we were only in transit in Mauritius I was told that we might be asked for arrival cards that day as Mauritius immigration is overstaffed. I took it as a joke but how true.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"process was quick"

(United Kingdom)

Arrived with a bit of trepidation having read some poor reviews. Needn't have worried. Arrivals hall was clean. new looking building, very spacious and with about 8 immigration desks manned. Process was quick and staff friendly. Similar experience on departure. I used the Mauritius Air lounge which was among the best I've ever been in with better food on offer than in many restaurants. Well done Mauritius, your airport is a credit to you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"is fairly functional"

(India)

A decent medium sized airport. Arrivals leads you through many floors to a baggage hall, but is fairly functional. The arrival concourse has plenty of taxi and hotel counters if need be. Departures is a simpler, one-floor affair with a decent duty free shop and some overpriced cafes and boutiques. Airport is clean, efficient and has good wifi. Can be a bit noisy at peak hours, though.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 39 Reviews