Istanbul Sabiha Gökçen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 55 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"staff are incompetent, unkind and totally unprofessional"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I have been in many Airports in the world. This one was by far the worst I have ever seen! The staff are incompetent, unkind and totally unprofessional. Unwilling to help. The airport is over crowded and unclean. I asked help at the security, all the answer I got was "No". Not even trying to understand or have sympathy. I have been totally mislead twice in a very antipathy way. A shame! Their free Wifi is only for 10 minutes and very hard to connect! Do not buy their Wifi service, it does not work! My advice: If you have to travel via Istanbul, better pay a little more and choose the other Airport. That one is a total disaster!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"A very crowded airport"

(Germany)

Not Verified | A very crowded airport, extremely dirty toilets, the wheelchair assistance are professional con-artists who steal your money without you noticing anything, nobody in the whole airport speaks any other language, very, very bad.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"incompetent staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst ever airport I have had the misfortune to find myself at - incompetent staff who will pass you from place to place just to clear their counter with useless information that is meaningless. So many distressed travellers and no one around to help them. Seems no one has heard of queuing as there will always be people jumping the queue and no one to prevent it Staff (albeit for one man who actually tried to help) are an absolute disgrace in their mannerisms - so unprofessional. No free wifi - bit ridiculous given most people have tickets on their phones. Shame on this airport - I will be sure to avoid in future at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Completely incompetent, lazy, slow, and unwilling to help"

(United States)

Not Verified | Completely incompetent, lazy, slow, and unwilling to help. This airport truly showed me the meaning of “third world country”. If you’re lucky enough to encounter staff that speak any English at all, they still do not give proper information, send you to the wrong lines, and waste time your time. You will not be treated like a human being at Sabiha. At check in, you will not be greeted nor your own 'merhabas' answered. If you stop to buy food, don't because they will mess up your order, not bring it in time for boarding, and will not refund your money either. Others will shove you to push ahead in line and airport staff will do nothing to control it. Do not travel through Sabiha unless you are okay with being treated like dirt.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"should be considered a national embarrassment to Turkey"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was, by far, the worst possible experience that anyone could ever endure. This place should be considered a national embarrassment to Turkey. The personnel at this airport are completely uncaring and incompetent. No one could provide proper guidance for merely transiting through this place, which caused me to miss my connecting flight. It was so bad that other travelers were literally screaming at the personnel because no one could get proper information. One woman even broke down screaming and crying it was so bad. It was like a little shop of horrors. The personnel were completely indifferent and had zero empathy or compassion for travelers there. Do not travel to this airport if you can help it. What a terrible experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"It looks like it's stuck in 2004"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Istanbul's second airport and not the best one. It looks like it's stuck in 2004, seating isn't very comfortable, escalators don't always work and staff isn't the friendliest. The food court was actually good, reasonable food for a good price. Duty-free shopping is in abundance. Good enough for transit but really notching memorable.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"there were no water dispensers anywhere in the terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a ok airport to transit in. I was there for 5 hours. It's a clean airport and it looked modern. My only problem is that there were no water dispensers anywhere in the terminal. So I had to buy from the shops. Of course everyone knows airport shops are very high prices. But I had no choice. When I asked the lady selling drinks if she could fill up my bottle for me she curtly said no. It's a little issue for an airport but a big one for someone like me that had to transit for 5 hours. Consideration should be given to making life as easy as possible for those of us who have a long transit.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"one of the worst experiences"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | I forgot my Samsung tablet in one of the securitiy containers during my departure from Istanbul to Egypt. Sent a mail to Lost and Found departement as soon as i found out. No reply for days. Sent another mail and told them to reply this time. Got a short reply they did not find any tablet?! This morning during my arrival and departure i tried to locate the lost and found area and departement as there must be one at the airport. As soon as i approached an employee they opened up our conversation by shouting following: WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM?! Very rude! And, then absolutely NO more more english. I found one staff who at least tried (between his WhatsUp chatting and flirt with a lady) to help a bit in the information desk by make a few calls to Pegasus staff who did not bother to show up nor help as promised. Even, ME was asked to grab a wall hanged phone and call them!!! I could not find anyone to ask nor the Lost and Found department and spent nearly 2h before i gave up.. I have never liked the ground staff at this airport during earlier flights as they are very rude but this.. This was one of the worst experiences ever at an international airport! The staff has a lack of training and spends more time by flirting with each other and chatting on mobile instead of doing a professional job, they are rude, and have no patience, and zero service minds!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff were utterly incompetent"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I got to spend a lot of time at Sabiha Gökçen with a cancelled Emirates flight. The ground staff were utterly incompetent and seemed never to have handled a cancelled flight before. Utter chaos when they took passenger's passports and then tried to return them with no system, just people shouting and crowding, and then wandering off confused into the terminal. We were directed to the wrong baggage carousel and the staff supposed to guide us to the hotel taxis disappeared leaving us to stand for an hour outside the terminal without assistance. The next day more chaos, ridiculous lines, bussed to a plane so far away from the terminal it could have been at a separate airport. Emirates was supplying us information by email/app, but no Wifi in the terminal, apparently (easier to get internet in the air). If Sabiha Gökçen were Istanbul's only airport, I wouldn't fly there again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"There are not enough toilets"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | This Airport is overcrowded. There are not enough toilets. I could only find one in 250 meter. Like there is one per floor. When I went to the toilet there was a huge queu for the ladies and Gentleman toilets . At least 10 men were standing to use the sitting toilet. It was horrible. I went into the gates areas and there is none neither. I asked the cleaning people if there are toilets and they said no and agreed with me. The guy even told me that a lady couldnt hold couple minutes before and pissed in her pants. This is unbelievable and very disappointing. To have such a bad sanitation it is unbelievable. Everyone is warned, dont consume drinks in the airport it will only speed up your toilet needs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 55 Reviews