Istanbul Sabiha Gökçen Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"security queue was horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived 2.5 hours before flight with zero chance of catching our flight as the security queue was horrendous. It is overcrowded and staff are rude. I was stressed as I had kids with me and very quickly realised we would miss our flight if I remained in the queue (and didn't know you still go through another 4 security check points). Then a scam artists posing as airport staff told us that if I pay him in cash he can fast track us. I asked him for ID, he got very angry and then gave me a card which showed he conducts tours. He tried to take my passport and boarding pass. He asked a staff member who directed us to the fast track queue. Paid 100 euros to get the 4 of us through it and made it onto the flight. I am sure others missed the flight as there were some empty seats and the system is a mess
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“hefty prices”

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I would give zero but it is not possible. Complete horrible airport with hefty prices. Espresso is 7 EUROS from filthy machine. Beer is 12 EUROS, it is disgusting that they scamming people. Tourist lady was in complete shock when she noticed that the prices weren't in Turkish liras but in euros.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport experience ever"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | The worst airport experience ever. We waited for 2 hours in the security-line and we we still missed our flight! Totally chaos. We had to buy New tickets, that is not ok.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Truly uncomfortable experience"

(Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Trip Verified | The worst staff ever. Such a rude and unpleasant people. Turkish announcements for their own people, nobody wants to speak English and assist passengers who experienced delays. Slow security lines for people who are running to catch the next flight because previous flight was delayed as usual! Truly uncomfortable experience, SAW airport, never again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a horrible airport"

(Denmark)

Not Verified |   Can only concur with all the reviews in here - this is in fact a horrible airport. First of all it is very far from the center of Istanbul - 43 kms out, and taxi fares are very high on this route. The airport is overcrowded, food and drinks totally overpriced, and it is clear that this airport would need a serious update. Wi-fi not working either, which was hardly a surprise. Avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

“Ridiculously overpriced”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Awful. Ridiculously overpriced, rude staff, inadequate seating, virtually no wi-fi and overly crowded. I needed to purchase sanitary towels at this airport, and the only shop that had them was charging 11 euros for a pack of 10 pads, while charging 4.50 euros for a magnet. Basic hygiene products should be very affordable or even free in places like airports, but I'm guessing this airport does not agree. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ever seen such disrespectful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Unfortunately this trip has just been very disheartening for me, from all perspectives I had a terrible experience in turkey, I was excited to visit this country but ended up disappointed, to me it’s the worst airport on earth, I’ve never seen such disrespectful staff from the departure door all way to the gate, the employees are abusive, rude & offensive, they refuse to cooperate, the only expression in English they use is “pay me cash or card”. They ask for money before providing you an average service, At least 5 times examination of baggage, the look & behavior of passenger service agent is inappropriate and unprofessional, no tolerance if you have 500g extra, if you have a good package food they impose on you to through it into the garbage.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control line was too long"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Staff doesn’t speak English. Specially in the security check, where it would be important to understand their instructions. Turkish is not my strongest language. The passport control line was too long. At 29.10.2023 the line twirled around the check in area. This automatically lead people to cut the line, so the people waiting on the line needed to wait a long time until they reached the passport control checks. The signs that direct people to international transfers and domestic transfers are misleading. Every travels, (we have had two), the airport staff direct us to different way to the passport control or outside with the exit directions. How about changing those misleading signs at the sealing? Overall the Sabiha Göhcen airport is always full of people, so at times it is hard to find a seat. I would hope that the airport would be more customer friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the queues were so bad"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Dreadful airport. Travelling 4 months pregnant and the queues were so bad I had to pay for fast track both to get out of the airport and to get back through for departures. We have spent 100 euros as a couple on this - the fast track on arrival was worth it as it was actually fast, however departures the fast track still took an hour. Staff were rude, very little awareness of physicality of pregnancy, I think they keep the queues long in order to make money from fast track. Worth travelling to another airport or going somewhere else rather than going through this airport! Food overpriced (6.5 euros for a soda),
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I will be avoiding at all costs in the future"

(Qatar)

Trip Verified | This is categorically the worst airport I have ever been in. I am unsure as to why there are still signs saying best airport. They were awarded that four years ago. This is absolutely not the best airport anymore. It is far too busy - busier than the space and staff can handle. Waiting times are uncomfortably long The passport control is ridiculous. Disgusting in fact. I have never in 35 years of my life seen queues as bad as the queues at the passport control in this airport. They never ever have enough staff on passport control. People get agitated because they are waiting for nearly two hours. And these are people with babies/children/self transfers etc. I think this airport needs to adopt a similar approach to Dalman at passport control. The restaurants are packed and people are sat on the floor all over the place because there is no room. There is never any room in the lounge. Luggage is often lost because flights don’t take off on time. It really is the worst airport I have ever been to and I will be avoiding at all costs in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews