Isle Of Man Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 23 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"let down by poor organisation and some rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I travel through the airport four times every week. There is a strange combination of helpful efficiency and friendliness from staff, and then appalling rudeness and inefficiency from a few individuals who seem to rejoice in being officious and unhelpful. Today, most notably the gentleman at the entrance to the security queue was particularly obnoxious. with four flights boarding and departing wIthin a short space of time, only 50% of the scanning facility was operating. Delays were over 40 minutes. It’s a shame this wonderful island is occasionally let down by poor organisation and some rude staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"helpful staff at security"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport in general was great with no queues, clean and helpful staff at security. One negative point was the disgusting manners of the shop assistant in the duty free shop. (Sunday lunchtime) After having a wonderful weekend in the Isle of Man with nothing but friendliness this rudeness was disappointing for our way home.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Very humiliating"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived in plenty of time with no lines. My laptop bag was selected for further screening which I do not mind. Passing through the security gate I bleeped, again I do not mind and the security officers asks me to take off my shoes as they may have a steel pin, I know they have not as I deliberately travel with the same shoes, again I don't mind. By now my bag is waiting to be manually checked and I am being body screened which is now in process so a line starts forming and everyone is waiting for me. However when I protest at the soles of my feet being tested I am merely advised the name of the person I should complain to, the rudest airport staff I have ever experienced, worse than Manchester, made me stand against the wall like I was being arrested and lift my feet in order to "wand" the soles, yes the soles of my feet. Very humiliating.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it is still the same chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Ronaldsway is tiny but it is obviously the intention of the staff to make transiting this airport as unpleasant as possible. Arrivals were fine but departure was not a nice experience, the previous LCY flight had been cancelled, (not an uncommon occurrence) and the check-in staff couldn't decide whether help the stranded passengers or check-in people for the next flight. I understand security has been improved, no it hasn't, it is still the same chaos and rude staff you would rather be somewhere else. I have had two hip replacements which cause everything to bleep, so why get me to remove my shoes and then a cursory pass with the wand? When boarding was announced, those requiring assistance, us, were told to go to the 'green area' outside security - needless to say we disregarded the instruction. We've been flying to IoM for twenty years and every-time we pass thru' Ronaldsway, we vow - never again but that means we wont see the family on the island!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Lovely little airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Lovely little airport the bigger airports could learn from them, had a meal before returning flight and it was value for money and extremely tasty, clean toilets and helpful happy staff, it has encouraged me to also visit the island for a holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"staff manners are just appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely the most incompetent, unhelpful and rude staff I have ever come across! The line for security was ridiculously long (only opening one of the lines as opposed to two) with uneducated staff causing a group of people to miss a domestic flight they were all over an hour early for. After emerging from security not only did they miss a flight but they were told extremely rudely “it was your fault I’m sure you would be able to arrive earlier” yes maybe, but they should have to. I am completely appalled at the state of this airport. Serious action needs to be taken for this to be an appropriate place for anyone to go to. Honestly, the staff manners are just appalling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not an airport I would recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | My experience off your staff is that they are rude, inconsiderate and either too stuck on rules and regulations or don't care! I was told to put my liquids into a bag that was inadequate and did not meet the size that is recommended by air travel guidelines! The recommended size for travel is 20cm x 20cm, the bag offered to be was barely 18x18! This meant I had to throw items away unnecessarily. The older lady was ignorant and rude, she didn't even look at me but just shoved this 'sandwich type bag' in my face. The bag I had was adequate and fulfilled the standard, it had got me through check in at Gatwick with no problems. Its like their staff just wanted to cause stress and upset where none was needed. Pedantic is our the word! My ID was never checked, my boarding pass was scanned and on I went. I could have been anyone but obviously the two women were more interested in their gossiping than security! Not a good experience and not an airport I would recommend. I suppose being the only airport, you probably know you can get away with acting like this and providing rubbish service because not a lot of people have a choice to go elsewhere. Very very bad show!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"not a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Have been using this airport my whole life however today I actually experienced the legendary queue. 40 mins to get thru security in a small, provincial airport. The security area has been expanded however there was only 1 scanner open and less than helpful staff. The excuse was that there were a couple of flights leaving within 10 mins of each other! If that's the case, roster on more staff. Lots of stress, temper and disbelief from passengers, not a good experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Traveling here is an ordeal"

(United States)

The airport itself is fine but the security is on power trip. I had liquids in a plastic zip bag and security demanded I put it in a flimsy sandwich bag. The liquids bag I use is clear same dimensions, I have traveled internationally with said bag no problem. Isle of Man could use the tourist dollars. They should be facilitating passengers not putting them through a gauntlet of meaningless regulations. Traveling here is an ordeal. 6 months ago had similar experience with a Gate agent at IOM.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"nice small airport"

(United Kingdom)

Nice small airport, good check in efficient and extremely friendly security. Excellent seating airside and good cafe after security or full restaurant before security if you prefer. On arrival bags came out quickly. No airbridges but covered walkway to terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews