Cebu Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 65 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Hated everything about it"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Cebu Airport was the worst Airport experience. Our flight was 4:40 AM so we arrived sleep deprived and tired and the last thing we wanted to do as soon as we arrive is dealing with the rude staff. First of all, they don’t let you go inside the Airport until you show your passport and ticket receipt. Nobody prints put tickets these days anymore. It is outdated and it was the first time we were asked to show it not only at the check on counter but also upon simply entering the building. Their Wifi also did not work at the area of the entrance which made it hard for us to log in into the email just to show the receipt. As others have mentioned above, what’s up with the 850 peso terminal fee? What is this fee exactly? Where does it go? Tax is included into the airfare. Not to mention, nobody speaks about it in advance and most of the tourists are usually hit by surprise, which gives more stress and anxiety. I don’t mind paying if you let is know beforehand and tell us what it is exactly instead of just demanding. So called duty free shops are also a rip off and also there are not enough seats in the waiting area and wifi does not really work. Mactan Airport made me not want to come back to the Philippines ever again. Super bad experience. Hated everything about it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"like the waiting area of a bus station"

(Philippines)

Not Verified | The domestic terminal departure waiting lounge is one of the worst in the world. The feeling you get when you are in this waiting lounge is like being at a waiting area of a busy bus station. What makes it a bit worse than a big bus station is the fact that the ceiling is so low and the number of food establishments way too many, that you actually leave the area smelling like food, mostly like that overrated restaurant called Zubuchon. And don’t even get one started on the ambient temperature. It is so warm inside, it is suffocating. It’s from a combination of poor air conditioning system, the heat from the restaurants, and the warmth of the humanity that teems in this place. So you can imagine that the worst time to be in the waiting area is in the evening when all the passengers from all the delayed flights (and all flights are delayed in this airport and all Philippine airports because the airports are overused) are packed into this tiny space! You wonder why this is so when you hear glowing reviews of the international terminal just beside it. Well, go figure. Oh it has one redeeming quality - free true high-speed internet.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Total robbery"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Total robbery. First you pay 200 Peso to be put off at the departure hall with a shuttle bus. Then my wife pays 1620 Peso in traveltax. And then comes the biggest robbery - every passenger must pay 850 Peso in terminal fee, also our 3 year old son! If you have any money left, you may be allowed to pay overpriced in their so-called duty free shops. I will avoid using Cebu Mactan Airport in the future. I hope the next airport at Panglao is much better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"its just a rip off"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Paying a huge airport fee (15€ per person!) is simply not fair. They tell you it's for the airport, but your airline already had to pay for using the airport! So its just a rip off.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"such an unprofessional process"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | My first and last visit of Cebu airport. I had the pleasure to get called into the luggage security check zone as I forgot in my scuba diving "checked in" luggage one normal gas lighter. This triggered a security process which lasted 1.5 hours where I had to unpack the luggage to find the "lighter" after handing over my passport to somebody who was not willing to hand over any receipt. Never ever had the pleasure of such an unprofessional process without any broader sense.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very unpleasant airport"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Relatively quick luggage x-ray checks. Extremely crowded departures area, hardly any seats free for the restaurants' clients, extremely loud anouncements, reaching the pain threshold. A very unpleasant airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
9/10

"The signage was good"

(Philippines)

Not Verified | It was around 4 in the morning at terminal 2, we checked in and went through security and immigration in just a short period of time. The airport was clean. There was a lot of shops. The signage was good, it was easy to find my gate. The sun was coming up and I lined up for boarding, the gate agent was just using her voice to call out the boarding announcement, I then saw the microphone to use the terminal speaker, she was not doing her job properly, others could hear her so they had a chance of missing their flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"is like they designed human pinball"

(United States)

Not Verified | Pros: beautiful new structure and mostly friendly staff. Cons: The layout is like they designed human pinball, you will be bouncing around in no logical order. ~$20 fee per person in addition to fees you already paid for luggage and ticket? The WiFi is trash, says you cannot use to stream, share peer to peer, or game. So I'm stuck writing this review instead of calming down with a game or comedy. Plus if you're lucky you might get a travel tax. Side note, after they took our bags, they requested documents they didn't before. So after waiting half an hour trying to get the bags back, one of the reps mentioned we could pay an additional fee to bypass the required documents that weren't required before. Out of frustration we agreed but just then the bags came so they took an extra 20 minutes processing a refund for something we didn't even pay for yet? All while the ladies at the travel tax booth treated us like garbage and also playing on their phones. Real professional. Of course, they practice the same security theatre most other airports do. Sadly, you only have 2 choices internationally for the Philippines.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very poorly managed"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport I've ever been to. Starting with the check-in ticketing took 30 minutes, the lady at the counter was typing each letter with her index fingers. Next, the Terminal Fee (850 PHP per person tax) if you dont have cash, be prepared to get taxed ever harder at the nearby currency exchange (lady told me $20usd was 1500 PHP) the terminal tax can only be paid in cash. Than, the immigration passage - can they be any slower? It took another 20 minutes at the window for them to process. Lastly, the security check, wow - about 80% of bags will be flagged and they will ask you to remove your belongings and start throwing things away. This airport is very poorly managed and literally drains you of all the fun and excitement you had during the trip, be prepared.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"customs delays are absurd"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Like everyone, I was looking forward to the new international terminal being open hoping for faster processing and a gate arrival, not being parked in a stand off position. The customs delays are absurd. Processing time was in excess of two hours from joining the queue. This is totally unacceptable nowadays. Arriving at 1.00am from Singapore, we did not leave until 3.00am. This is not the first time this has happened. The automated gates are working but only for Philippine citizens. Half of the Customs booths staffed. At least the construction work has been cleaned up a bit. The bathrooms are a big improvement but when you are arriving in the middle of the night, you just want to leave and get home. For those travelling with small children the delay must have been unbearable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 65 Reviews