Bournemouth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 124 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"fails to have a drinking fountain"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | In the present climate I cannot understand that Bournemouth Airport fails to have a drinking fountain or even just a tap in the toilets that supplies cold water. I appreciate that normally the Cafe at the airport oblige but presently they are shut, due to the pandemic and so the only available free water is out of hot taps in the toilets.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I'm still fuming about this"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | As a favour to my very good friends who were having a short break in Malta following 25yrs of being together i offered to drop them off at the airport, their flight was at 1pm so we arranged i would drop them off at 11am to save them having to pay for a taxi. I had never done this before and as they were literally travelling with two small pieces of cabin luggage the plan was to drop and run as you would expect, however once my friends had got out of the car i was forced by a very unsympathetic car park attendant (we will call him that to be polite) into the car park as apparently that was what you need to do for drop offs. I had assumed there would be a tiny window of time for such purposes (i.e. 5mins or so) which would be free of charge but i was then charged an extortionate fee of £3 for literally taking a token from the entrance barrier and going straight to the payment machine! I think this is absolutely disgusting and just another way of ripping the public off when they are trying to do someone a favour, there definitely should be a small area for these sort of situations allowing people the 10-20 seconds it takes for someone to get out of the vehicle and collect their baggage from the boot and then leave. When i confronted the 'car park attendant' about this he just shrugged his shoulders and said 'that what it is' with absolutely no sympathy at all, although it is only £3 i feel like i have been robbed as all i needed to do was turn around an leave but as there was another car coming up behind me i did as this man said but had no idea i was going to be charged for obliging him. As you can gather I'm still fuming about this so wanted too make a formal complaint about it and will be contacting the airport directly as well once i can get through .... there is plenty of space there for a drop off point to be put in place so completely outrageous as far as I'm concerned!!!!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"never enough check in desks open"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The problem is there are never enough check in desks open and queues are horrendous because of this. People getting stressed as a result as no time airside to look around or have a coffee etc. Needs addressing as an hour wait to bag drop is not acceptable!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
10/10

Bournemouth Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Our flight from Murica to Bournemouth was cancelled and the holiday was a disaster but the staff at Bournemouth were so helpful they kept me up to date with information, they sorted all the car parking out and made sure we all made it home without any major issues. The thing was no matter how many people say about the drop off fee of £3 so what for a local airport, 10min drive £40 parking 2min walk to the building nice and calm and relaxing, food was amazing now they have costa so what else would you need.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"it is backward"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departure. We often fly from Bournemouth, because it is convenient for us. In comparison to other regional airports it is backward. Luckily my wife and I had no hold luggage on our last flight, so we were able to avoid the long queues at the luggage check-in desk.There are no auto baggage check-in machines, as there are, for instance, at Bristol Airport. The cafes ability to provide a good service is widely variable and on one occassion the simple act of obtaining a coffee and snack was a "flustered staff" ordeal. There are not enough staff at the gate, resulting in slow loading of passengers and the solo girl was struggled to cope, when a passenger problem occurred. Arrival. Very poor. No auto passport machines, where on average it takes five minutes to pass. Bournemouth has three desks with border officials, average time to pass is about 10 to 15 minutes if towards the middle/back of the queue. Make sure that you arrive at Bournemouth airport with pounds sterling, as there is no ATM at the arrivals terminal. If you need cash for a taxi, you have to walk to the departures terminal to get it! Transport by bus is not available on weekend afternoons after about 14:30. £3:50 to drop off passengers, which is also added to taxi fares. Conclusion. An underfunded, for profit only airport, which has failed to modernise. It has very little attraction for those who have wider airport experiences.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is small but so unorganised"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Our Ryanair flight was late, we were ushered to the departure gate like sheep with comments of move along please when the aircraft had not even arrived! Made to stand for 1hr and 20 minutes a lot of this time outside, freezing cold. There was absolutely no reason that we could not have waited in relative comfort at the gate. The airport is small but so unorganised. Only 3 flights leaving at the time we departed, they couldn't even look after the customers that were there. I also flew into Bournemouth, arrived at 5pm, the arrivals Hall was absolutely freezing with no facilities and the main departure hall had not one place open to get provisions whilst awaiting collection. Truly terrible. If I could put zero for overall rating I would. Maybe OK for summer but avoid in winter. Will never use again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"you will alienate the public"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | How long will it take for the penny to drop? If you cheat people by charging excess sums for access and drop-off, and even try to prevent pedestrian access at all, you will alienate the public, who will look at alternative airports that give better value (even free) access. This problem just doesn't exist on the continent, so it is just a greedy cash-snatching exercise that produces exactly the opposite result to the one you seek (expansion, profitability, the feel-good factor: whichever it is).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"So slow at checking in"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Wow! So slow at checking in, miserable girl on desk. Never again at this airport! Cafe again very slow at getting the simplest things like coffee, drinks etc.. where do they get these people from is beyond me. Joke airport, sort your staff out before it's too late!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"staff we met were friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | All the staff we met were friendly and made the airport experience so easy. Stress free way to go on holiday. Will definitely use again. Recommended for a calm start to your holiday.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"the staff are so friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Best regional airport in the south, despite all the bad press the staff are so friendly, its clean and tidy, queuing in security is quick and not time consuming. The food is pricey but nice its just a fantastic airport and the car park drop off is £3 for 30 min, its not expensive so people should stop moaning. Great airport needs more flights, free unlimited wifi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes