Addis Ababa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Worst airport ever"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever! Prepare to be x-rayed without your permission. Treated like a suspect and made to feel very unwelcome. You will also find very 3rd world restaurants. Very tardy service. (prepare to wait 30 min for a coffee) You can try another restaurant but they're all the same. The staff lack training and education with regards to efficient management. There are not enough toilets for the masses, so be preparrd to wait long and take disinfectant with you for the facilities. Although Ethiopian Airlines are a 1st Class airline. The airport falls extremely short. I would definitely advise avoiding the airport at all costs. A shame they can't use the airport to its fullest potential. It could be such a large source of revenue, due to the thousands of feet travelling through it hourly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Chaotic unpleasant experience"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | We were in transit with small children late in the evening. Chaotic and unpleasant experience. Do not fly via Addis with small children. Nothing to purchase in the transit area. Still temporary toilets where water, soap and towels seems to be on hold.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"enjoy the chaotic experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | The airport is usually really disorganized and crowded. Though my last time flying through this airport it appeared like they made effort to create more space by opening up areas that were prevously used for shops. My advice to anyone flying through ADD is to relax and enjoy the chaotic experience. It's not that bad if you can take it easy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"everything is an effort"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | This airport is the worst airport in Africa. The staff talk to each other and ignore your repeated requests for help. When I arrived I had to queue for 3.5 hours for a peice of paper that gave me access to a hotel. Queues form every where and no one does anything to stop this happening. I would recommend avoiding this airport at all costs. I have traveled through here for 13 years and there is no improvement Staff in the airport give a very bad impression of the Ethiopian people. I am pleased to have friends outside the airport. They are rude and always shout. How Ethiopian Airlines gets African airline of the year is beyond me. Their ground staff don't care that you have paid good money to be on their aircraft yet when asked a question it's like you have interupted their day. Everything is an effort nothing is smooth. The restaurants charge $13 dollars for a basic hamburger - criminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport was very crowded"

(Kenya)

Trip Verified | The airport was very crowded and felt more like a market place. Dont understand why all connecting flights have to meet at terminal 2. Seats not enough for arriving transit passengers. I had to book a seat or lose it. The duty shops were few. Nothing much to look at. Not enough restaurants to keep one engaged in case if delayed flights. The intercom was horrible. Could not hear or comprehend what the person speaking was saying. Just echoes the entire time. Maybe building a roof lower down could help reduce the echos. Worst airport I have been to for sure. Egypt airport amazing. Kenya airport very good. Please borrow a leaf from these airports. Put more nice restaurants like McDonald's, pizza joints, KFC anything.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is very crowded"

(India)

Not Verified | Airport is under construction and expanding. There are duty free shops available and a few cafes to dine in. But all this is pre security clearance area. Once you have cleared security, all you can get is water placed in dispensers. The airport is very crowded when compared to its size and we changed flights two times from the airport and found it to be very crowded both the times. The ground staff at the gates does not seem friendly and also nothing much happens in an ordered fashion here. There is no information provided on the delay in flight by the ground staff. Please be cautious and carry some food along while using this airport as transit. There is absolutely nothing available to buy after security clearance and the wait time is never guaranteed as the delay in flight by at least half hour to one hour seems normal at this airport. The airport does provide wi-fi service but it is very slow. While we were travelling, access of Whatsapp through wi-fi was not possible (possibly blocked).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Dirty, crowded and potentially lethal"

(Kenya)

Not Verified | Dirty, crowded and potentially lethal. I concur with the points of the other reviewers - the airport is crowded, staff are rude, transit is stressful and through a chaotic security checkpoint, seating non-existent and toilet facilities are woeful, with two toilets in the entire waiting area. The worst thing I witnessed though was during boarding, when another passenger collapsed in a fit outside the boarding gate. Someone was calling out for a doctor, and the airport staff shrugged and said there was no medical staff around. A passenger pleaded with a staff member at the check in counter to call for help, he rudely told the passenger that it was not his problem, and he is only doing his job. The medical emergency was left completely for the other passengers to handle, with no reaction or sympathy from the staff. I don’t know what happened in the end, as I boarded my flight. I would not recommend Addis airport to anyone with medical conditions, as the staff will apparently rather leave you on the floor than attempt to help.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Queuing system does not exist"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | I spent five hours at the airport and had plenty of time for experiencing. Sat down for a evening meal at the only restaurant option available. This part of the visit was quite mediocre but undramatic. The rather functioning wi-fi made it bearable. The flow of travelers at this airport is heavy for its size and the seating area was full. I had to pay my way at the restaurant in order to keep my seat where I shared a table with two rounds with groups of strangers. There were loads of people everywhere - something one can expect from an airport like this. But that requires and demands good organizing - also something one can expect from an airport like this. Queuing system does not exist at this place, neither does providing of current information. There was complete anarchy at the queue for the security check with shouting and mis guidance. According to the given information, we would have missed our flight only because of lack of organization. But luckily for us the whole crowd was waiting at the gate (standing) for almost an hour because of an unannounced delay. The delay was announced 15 minutes before boarding. The situation resulted in way too many people relative to the given space and durance from an security point of view. In whole, I will actively avoid this airport in any way.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have been to"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Easily the worst airport I have been to! For an airline that is considered the biggest in Africa, I was very disappointed! It’s dirty, smelly and uncomfortable. I have been to smaller airports in Africa that are way way better than this. Not to mention the customer service is the worst. They are rude, disrespectful, unhelpful and incompetent. To make matters worse they have issues with technology (non working ATMs, swipe machines and slow wifi). Save yourself and fly with another airline. I will never fly Ethiopian, I am very disappointed.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Airport was so crowded"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I have high hopes for Ethiopian Airlines flying from Manila to Sao Paulo Brazil with a layover in Addis Ababa Airport. Ethiopian Airlines is indeed a good airline however, Addis Ababa Airport is one of the worst if not the worst. The toilets were so bad I didn't even bother entering despite my stomach ache. The selection of restaurants was awful. The Airport was so crowded I don't even know how it can accommodate all the Ethiopian Airline flight. Too much security checks.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no