SunExpress

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"most traumatic experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Luton to Bodrum. The worst airline and most traumatic experience. When flying home we were denied boarding, due to a cabin crew member being ill. We were given this information after they filled the plane. They had actually over booked our flight by 40 people. They have not been easy to get hold of to complain about this situation. Numerous emails have been ignored. We were also told that we would gain compensation for the situation they put us in, but failed to mention that this does not apply if you are not flying with Europe. Do not use this airline - I would advise to pay a little more for a smoother ride and a less traumatic experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLuton to Bodrum
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Zurich to Ankara. Worst airline ever. They decided to close the gate a little too early, leaving 9 passengers behind at the airport, although the passengers were at the gate E62 10 minutes before departure time. Zurich airport E gates needs extra 15 minutes.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteZurich to Ankara
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Check-in was chaos"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Flew today with SunExpress to Düsseldorf from Antalya. Check-in was chaos. No one knew anything until the last 10 minutes which were after the planned takeoff. We started with a delay of 40 Minutes. The plane was 80% booked. When I asked to sit on the empty row in front of me. The cabin crew told me, these seats were for sale right now. Nonsense, the plane was about to take off. I mean I can understand SunExpress wants to make money as much as possible but that was just plain stupid. I will try to avoid this company as much as possible from now on.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAntalya to Düsseldorf
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Cabin crew were good"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Ankara to Munich. Boarding and flight was on time. Cabin crew were good. Take-off and landing was smooth. I did not try SunExpress in flight entertainment system. Food and beverage prices are normal for a plane. Plane was new and clean. Price/quality is good. I can fly with SunExpress again!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnkara to Munich
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"one uncomfortable flight"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Ankara. Poor low-cost experience for the price of a full-board flag carrier. I chose SunExpress for the second time, only because they were providing the only direct flight opportunity from AMS to ESB. From now on, I will definitely prefer transfer flights with major airlines, as I did before, for this and any other route that SunExpress flies. Although I chose their highest package, including an extra seat pitch at the front row and pre-ordered meal, I cannot include this airline anywhere within my preference list. Even with all its paid extras, that was one uncomfortable flight. I was literally worn out after this flight. The seat next to me at the front row was empty and some other passenger from back row, who did not pay for this extra paid seat, was allowed to sit there. Good way to make people who paid for this row, feel like idiots. I will not fly with SunExpress again and definitely not recommend.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Ankara
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"price-quality ratio is nonsense"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Ankara to Amsterdam. A cheap low-cost experience by all means, however the price tag was no different than full-board flag carriers - if not more expensive. No IFE, although paid for the extra legroom, seats are far away from being comfortable. No overhead bins for the first row, although they are the extra paid ones. There was an hour delay in boarding and pilots did not seem to care about closing the gap in flight time, so landed with an hour delay. Pre-bought meal was alright, no problems with the diligent and smiling cabin crew. It was not a disastrous experience, however price-quality ratio is nonsense.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnkara to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"low-cost carrier experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Rome to Frankfurt. It was a Lufthansa business class connecting flight, it was operated by SunExpress. Selected seat 2F. The only LH-related experience was the in-flight LH business meal. Other than that, the plane, crew, and cabin quality were that of a low-cost carrier. No overhead storage for rows 1 to 2 as they are reserved for crew equipment. One positive was that the crew turned back economy passengers from using the front / business lavatory. Beware when you book, as you may end up paying LH prices for a low-cost carrier experience. I would avoid SunExpress going forward.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteRome to Frankfurt
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I've seen worse"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Trabzon to Izmir. We've waited about 15 minutes after boarding was completed, I don't know why. The airport traffic was not very high. Cabin crew were good. Take-off and landing was smooth. I've tried SunExpress Wi-Fi service. There were some movies and music inside the portal but it required premium membership. Membership fee was like half of my flight ticket. Of course I didn't buy it. Food and beverage prices is normal for a plane. I've seen worse.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTrabzon to Izmir
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"It was a good experience"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | Trabzon to İzmir with SunExpress. It was a good experience. Faster than expected in the air, slower than expected on the ground unfortunately. Baggage claim took a long time but to be honest, I don't know if it was the airport or airline's problem. There weren't any free services in the air. It was a 2 hour flight for me at night and I had a coffee. I'm sure I've had better coffee with that price but, come on, we are flying.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTrabzon to İzmir
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"definitely use again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Izmir to Munich. First time user of SunExpress. Cheap ticket and i wasn't expecting anything dramatic but I was impressed by staff i dealt with. Smiling faces and eager to please. Good seat space and clean bright aircraft. Flights on time. Will definitely use again. Its a pity they don't fly from Ireland direct to Izmir. Better than Aer Lingus and 1/2 the price for a seat.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIzmir to Munich
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews