Rwandair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 110 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"the experience was very good"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Kigali-Paris 7 Dec. 2023 on A330-200. On time. Rwandair is a small, boutique airline, often very competitive in price and on board service. Ground services varies, main potential issue is a slow response if called upon. Check-in a breeze, easy, opens early. They, surprisingly, agreed to check in and tag my baggages to my final destination in Europe, despite onwards flights were with other airline and on other ticket. What a nice courtesy, easing my transit in Paris tremendously as I just had to shift terminal airside without bothering of my luggage. In Kigali, got access to their nice Dream Lounge, a small oasis to relax at a busy time in the airport. Nice foods, hot snacks, but drinks are getting poor, e.g. wines are undrinkable. Embarked the plane upon a 2 minutes busride was pleasant avoiding a sudden downpour. Flight not full, pleased to be granted 4 seats in a row, stretching out for a good nights sleep. Preordered meal honoured. I got a fired and delicious red snapper (wild catch!) fillet steak. I further tasted other foods offered onboard; they were also good. Plenty of drinks of good quality. 2 meal rounds on a 9 hours flight was appropriate. FAs were marvellous and kind, with a local touch. Plenty of blankets, pillows, and headsets for the IFE which, however, is poor. Deboarding in Paris was quick. In conclusion the experience was very good, not extravagant, but pleasurable and smooth. Extremely good value for money as the ticket was cheap and promotional.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Paris
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"good and professional"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Flew Doha-Kigali 29 October after midnight on a worn B737-800. Qatar Airways had issued this award ticket for Rwandair and also issued the boarding pass prior to Doha arrival. Accessed the Gold Lounge in Doha (gate C14); its roomy and hold most facilities. Boarding smooth upon lengthy bus ride. Onboard, neither WiFi nor video entertainment were available. My pre-ordered special meal was not granted. Received apology and reasonable alternatives. Three kinds of hot food was offered; all good, filling, and plenty. Drink rounds were generous, incl. Provision of good wines. I inquired possible access for 3 empty seats in a row as a Dream Miles gold card holder. FAs, who were good and professional, took action on it. Eventually I got them and managed to sleep. Flight on time.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDoha to Kigali
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"seafood meal was delicious"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Kigali-Doha 25 Oct. 2023 on a Boeing 737-800. Night flight, on time. Check-in online is a nuisance as it never works with this airline. However, in airport they managed also to print out following flights boarding passes (with Qatar Airways), which was a relief. Cooperation with Qatar is better now, and lounge access is granted by holding Qatar Airways gold card. That was suspended for a year but has been reinstated. I accessed through my status with Rwandair. The Dream Lounge is Kigali is good and pleasant though not world-class. It supersedes the alternative Pearl lounge by providing panorama view over Kigali. Boarded after a 3 Minutes bus-ride. Flight almost full, I managed to get a free seat next to me. My preordered seafood meal was delicious and delivered to perfection with my name written on the tray. It consisted of a starter (spicy tiger prawns), a main dish (salmon steak), and a chocolate dessert dish. Food on Rwandair is plenty. Four hot meal options was offered! I then also had beef stew to test and complement. Also good and tender. Wines were good and generously poured. The crew onboard are good, call bells answered and requests sought met. Blankets, headsets, and pillows given to everybody. No WiFi. IFE was deeply subpar showing US movies on shared monitors
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Doha
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Staff on board talkative, caring, and charming"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg-Kigali 19 September 23 on a Boeing 737-700. Afternoon trip with a short stop over in Lusaka. Accessed easily the nice Bidvest lounge in JNB thru my Dream-miles status at the airline. Given 3 seats in the first row after business class section made me doze off. Luggage recheck-in from a previous flight in JNB and check-in was smooth. On time. Special meal accommodated: had requested seafood meal which was good. No red wine, but a few drink options (including white wine) was generously supplied. Lots of food, all tested were good, hot dishes. Luggage handled excellently. Cant fault anything apart from poor/lacking IFE which I did not use anyway. Staff on board talkative, caring, and charming. Rwandair need to be in a bigger alliance for smoother luggage auto-transfers and reciprocal benefits. Their present cooperation with Qatar Airways does not work well.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Kigali via Lusaka
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"A horrible experience"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | A horrible experience no one will ever wish to experience after paying an exorbitant charge. Very poor service. Staffs on board looking very angry and not willing to assist. Seats are very uncomfortable and aircraft itself looks very dirty from inside. The worst of it all is after getting to Dubai all my luggage couldn't be found and there wasn't any one to give an explanation. Only one hostile representative from the airline who wasn't even willing to assist anyone of us as we were over 50 persons with delayed luggages simply ask us to present our selves at the dnata luggage lost area. With all these huddles dnata promise to call once luggage is received but no one ever called and when I called them all they said was luggage is ready you can come collect it as per Rwandair they will not deliver any luggage which is delayed. What an insult to the customer. I will never again try such horrific experience
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDouala to Dubai via Kigali
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I am very disappointed with the service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unsatisfactory performance from Rwandair which has failed to maintain their standard of service under the contract term and conditions. I have traveled with Rwandair for the first time and I am very disappointed with the service. I had an unpleasant and upsetting experience especially traveling with an infant after realising our transit was increased 7 hours. The increase was said to be caused by our flight connection which has been brought forward from 22.30 to 18.00. We were notified by the agency about the flight changes and were only given 12 hours notice to get to Nairobi Airport otherwise we would miss our flight. I had to pay extra money to change my flight from Mombasa to Nairobi just to be there for 18:00 departure. When we arrived at Nairobi we spoke to the manager and she said we are sorry but when you get to Kigali we will accommodate something as you have long hours of traveling with children including an infant. When we arrived at Kigali it was denied that the flight was changed and was forced to wait for 7 hours. Out of our frustration we asked for manager and we’re told they is no manager but assistant manager will come to see you. He turned up after two hours and stated that there was nothing much can be done. Disgraceful he was and un apologetic he did not even acknowledge us. We requested to have hot water for the baby and it took 45 minutes to get. Out of exhaustion and frustration especially after we ran out of baby’s hot water I felt humiliated by Airline and the manager, I have paid for the service and not receiving what I paid for. Very disappointed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to London via Kigali
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"We received damaged luggage"

(Germany)

Not Verified | It was the worst airline I used and I can never recommend to use it. The customer service is worse, flight delayed for more than 4 hours. We received damaged luggage and the airline refused to take responsibility
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Brussels
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never again with Rwandair"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have never seen such a service. The flight delayed 3 times and then cancelled. They took the passengers to the hotel next to Kigali Airport and said next flight is tomorrow and then it is cancelled too. I am told that tomorrow will have a flight however still waiting in the hotel. Never again with Rwandair even though they are cheaper 10 times than others - headache only. No customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dar Es Salaam via Kigali
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they don't think about customer satisfaction"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Very bad airline, they don't think about customer satisfaction. Just money minded that they use the plane for cargo instead of carrying customers baggage and end up leaving customers things behind that one need to check in a hotel just to wait for 3 weeks to get this bags. Never in my life will me or my generation use this airline again. And they even lie the bags will arrive in a day - very bad.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Route Dubai to Douala
Date FlownAugust 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"hardly worth the extra costs"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Flew KGL-DOH 12th June 2023 on an award ticket from Qatar Airways. The Boeing 737-800 aircraft was aged but clean and well maintained. Night departure, departed on time. Luggage labelled and transferred correctly. Earlier, I complained to Rwandair that they had deprived lounge access to QR (their partner!) gold card holders. They responded swiftly in Kigali, and status-matched me to gold on their own Dream Miles program enabling me to use their lounges, e.g. in Kigali. Their Dream lounge in Kigali is quite good, though far from World class. Seat choice limited at booking but at check-in everything was possible. Was assigned seat in row 5 just after business class. Later, I negotiated with the cabin crew to grant me one of their two occupied sections (3 seats in a row) though next to toilets in the very rear. Generously, they agreed upon some internal discussion, as they would now have to squeeze while I could stretch out. The crew were all great apart from the arrogant chief purser. I had preordered seafood and was given a large, delicious portion of two salmon steaks. My name and a few details were handwritten on a sticker placed on the cover foil. This “SFML” option is available on many African airlines which supersedes most other carriers. Drink rounds were frequent and wines were of fair quality. IFE was useless as monitors are few and shared; thus no option apart from watching an American teenage movie. Seats are spacious and footrests helps. Pillows, blankets, headsets given to all. Recommended, despite tickets are pricey on this sector. Business class seats are spacious, but just recliners: hardly worth the extra costs compared to economy.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Doha
Date FlownJune 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes