Juneyao Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 36 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"this horrific experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | I was scheduled to fly from Huizhou to Shanghai yesterday May 4th at 22:25 on flight number HO1234. The flight was delayed several times and finally cancelled after 00:30 on May 5th. At 1am I was informed by the ground staff that I need to leave the airport as they will be closing and that I will be on a flight to Shanghai at 06:30 but that it is not guaranteed. The ground staff told me that I need to leave the boarding area and that I can go to a hotel since the airport is closing. The hotel they recommended is a very poor and low quality hotel, a hour drive from the airport, which means the return trip would be 2 hours driving, they also said that this would be at my expense. The airline cancels a flight which causes me great inconvenience, spending hours on end at an airport over night where I’m not offered any food or comfort for this horrific experience. I fail to understand how it is deemed fair for me to cover hotel and travel expenses due to the airline cancelling my flight. The ground staff first said that the flight is delayed because of bad weather conditions, although other flights were landing and taking off. The ground staff later said that we had to wait for the aircraft to arrive from Changsha to Huizhou and that there is no telling when it will arrive. I have honestly never experienced such bad customer service in all my years of travelling. No help or resolutions were provided by the ground staff. There was no food in the airport either at this point! I had to sit outside in the cold and wait for the airport to open. At 5am when they opened, I was asked to check in again and board flight number HO123V, to depart at 06:30. At this point I had been at the airport for 11 hours waiting. I got to my destination, Shanghai 8 hours later then scheduled. I have complained about the service received and the experience I have had to go through. The complaint was registered with Trip.com since I made the booking through them. I am a full paying customer and find this treatment unacceptable. I’ve requested compensation or a credit for this poor travel experience and customer service which was denied by Juneyao Airlines according to the Trip.com representative. I am very unhappy and disappointed with this experience, since I have been wronged and inconvenienced and nothing has been done about it. It is unacceptable to treat paying customers in such a manner. I asked the cabin crew on board for a blanket and I was told that there are no blankets since the aircraft had been flying since 12 pm the previous day. At this point I had seen it all, no food, no accommodation, no customer service, no blanket! It is safe to say that Juneyao Airlines will not have my business in the future, nor will I recommend anyone to travel with this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHuizhou to Shanghai
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely disgraceful airline"

(China)

Trip Verified | Absolutely disgraceful airline. 12 hour delay so far waiting on a flight. Ours was the last flight in the aiport. Already a 9p.m flight, first told we would be delayed until 3 a.m. We wait 6 hours to be told we won't fly that day and are taken to a terrible hotel about an hours drive from the airport. Excuses for not flying kept changing. Air traffic in Shanghai to bad weather conditions, no straight answers from anybody and no responsibility. We were given the worst food at the airport and no compensation from the airline. I've flown with other airlines who paid us cash when we got delayed. Other planes flying for Shanghai were taking off as we sat there. The airline made no effort to accommodate us or put any of us on other flights bound for Shanghai with other airlines. Absolutely disgraceful and horrible attitudes from all the Juneyao staff. No sympathy for us at all. Extremely frustrating experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShenyang to Shanghai
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend the experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | I flew on a Finnair-JuneYao flight from Tallinn through Helsinki to Shanghai, and would not recommend the experience (the JuneYao part). There was a 24-hour + overnight stay at the Helsinki airport, for which no accommodations (e.g., blankets and food) were provided, even though the hotel at the airport was closed for transit passengers. For some reason--I had a valid ticket, which I attach to this review--JuneYao had omitted me from the list of passengers to be tested for Covid 19 and its anti-bodies (itself a repeat of tests done in Estonia to obtain a green code from the Chinese government). So, it took a lot of time and effort to convince the airline staff at the Helsinki airport to add me to the list. Finally, even though I had a boarding pass and two sets of negative test results, the airline delayed boarding me, apparently in retaliation for asking questions. I think that the Helsinki airport and other authorities need to look into how JuneYao conducts itself in Finland and take appropriate action.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTallinn to Shanghai via Helsinki
Date FlownNovember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a cheat from the airline"

(Ghana)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Bangkok. I called their customer service a week before embarking on my journey with Juneyao to verify how much it will cost for an excess luggage. Since I never wanted any form of frustration at the airport I called them again asking the same questions after two days which they said same. Now on the said date instead of the 32kg excess which was supposed to be 1000rmb was now 4000rmb. I had to drag issues with them until they pulled out the recordings from the previous calls made. They later agreed that I pay the 2000rmb and assured me that I was gonna receive my luggage at my destination. After a successful flight from Shanghai to Bangkok Airport, i was by Egyptair to pay $400 for my excess luggage which has been paid already or else they were going to offload my luggage. I was really worried and had no other option since I was a student returning home and had no money on me. Now my luggage have been removed and kept in Thailand until I make the payment before it will be brought down to me. I see this as a cheat from the airline. I got home with no clothes to wear and ever since I’ve been wearing the same clothe I wore on my journey home.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"impressed by this flight"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Shanghai Hongqiao to Urumqi. I was very impressed by this flight experience! The airline and its staff take every measure to make one feel comfortable and welcome, especially through the use of (sometimes for European tastes a little over the top) friendly terminology in its announcements. Never have I ever been wished a "wonderful, magical day ahead" and thanked for "the magical journey we have shared together" - like I said, a little over the top but it did make me feel great. Another first was that the cabin crew went around selling used books for travelers to buy reading material at a cheap price. That culture really spoke to me. The friendly lady even went out of her way rummaging through the box to find an English book to offer me. All combined with lots of genuine smiles. Even the food was delicious. A dedicated security officer made regular patrols through the cabin (although that may be a new requirement on Xinjiang flights) and even he bore a smile and a kind word for everyone. The airplane we flew on was brand new and meticulously clean, in addition, the flight was punctual to the dot. Check-in at SHA had been very uncomplicated and quick, the airline's bag drop counter area was very nicely decorated. All these are highly unusual things for an airline to emphasize on but that is exactly why I would fly Juneyao again in a heartbeat! I felt very well taken care of and for the first time in years, truly enjoyed a flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Hongqiao to Urumqi
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"an acceptable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Whilst not an airline that will win awards, the Juneyao experience was more than satisfactory on my two hour flight from Shanghai (PVG) to Hong Kong (HKG). The airport experience was efficient (with the exception of immigration - but that was out of the airline’s hands). Check-in was quick and the service friendly. Boarding began 45 minutes before departure. That process too was fast but there was no organisation to it. There was just an announcement and then the usual surge of people. On board, the crew were fit for purpose. Their English wasn’t brilliant along with their interpersonal skills. There were zero interactions with customers outside of asking a customer what they were eating or drinking. They were rather a surly bunch too - all quite stern looking! The flight departed early and reach Hong Kong some 30 minutes early. So absolutely no complaints about their time-keeping. A hot meal was served on board, with a choice of chicken and rice or beef noodles. In both cases, the quantity of meat was seriously lacking, but the food itself was pleasant. It was served alongside a box containing bread, peanuts, crackers, apple juice and some cutlery. Drinks were complimentary too, although limited to water, tea and coffee. The aircraft wasn’t spotlessly clean. In fact, on boarding, they was an unpleasant aroma of everything. But once the ovens kicked in, it disappeared. The seatbelt too showed some suspicious stains so I used the provided pillow to avoid coming into contact with it. I should point out as well that I found the seat terribly uncomfortable. It was very firm. Baggage delivery in Hong Kong was efficient. All in all, an acceptable flight, priced at £57.00 one way.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly this airline ever again"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Okinawa to Shanghai. I didn’t have any check in baggage, and my checkin still took 30 minutes because I abbreviated my middle initial on my ticket purchase. They acted like they had never seen that before and it really took them by surprise. I had two flights being run by China Eastern. My first flight was being operated by Juneyao. Juneyao could see my second flight on their computer screen and were even sharing a counter/ wearing the same uniforms as China Eastern and wouldn’t give me my second ticket. They told me I had to go through immigration in China. I have traveled constantly throughout Asia and have never run into this. I will never fly this airline ever again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOkinawa to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"items were not recovered"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Pudong to Dongying. I sat in seat 18C. I was listening to music on my mobile with my headphones and placed the headphones soft case in the pocket of the seat in front of me. Since it was an early wake up I absent mindedly forgot to take the headphones case while unboarding the plane. I kept on listening to a podcast and therefore was not aware of forgetting the headphones softcase behind. Early in the afternoon I informed our admin manager who immediately contacted the airport lost and found hotline which took down the details and registered the case, at the same time she also contacted the airline which told us to check with the local airport in Dongying. Since I had a return flight from Dongying to Pudong on the same afternoon, we arrived to the airport and approached airport personell who referred us to the Juneyao cleaning lady on duty. She called the lady who serviced the morning flight who claimed to find no lost items of any kinds. Further attempts to trace the aircraft and contact the staff onboard were made but the item was not found. The thing is that I expect from an airline to respect the property of the passengers also after they left the aircraft and not treat it as loot or generic rubbish. I suspect that going through the formalities of reporting found objects can be a hustle to airline workers but what about sense of responsibility and duty to help passengers recover their lost items. The attitude of the staff onboard the return flight was impeccable and helpful but yet items were not recovered and that’s why I suspect the problem may be in the general approach of ground crew toward lost items.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePudong to Dong Ying
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"it's worth the money"

(China)

Not Verified | Huizhou to Shanghai. A domestic flight so our family booked the First Class. Affordable at least and it's worth the money. Service was nice and the seating (2-2) was good. The entertainment was absolute zero. The cabin crew was attentive, and the lunch was normal. The aircraft's not old and taking off& landing was smooth.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteHuizhou to Shanghai
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I was so disappointed"

(China)

Trip Verified | Dongying to Shanghai Pudong. The business class ticket was 5 dollars more than the economy, but I think the whole flight, no matter which class, will be horrible with this kind of crew. First, the food for business class, even it looks ok, but the taste of the main dish was not good. The shrimp was dry and salty, the fruit was fresh though. Generally fair enough for short flight. Second, it`s about the cabin crew, there was one business passenger watching a sex type in the cabin without headphone during landing, all passengers in the business cabin heard the noise as well as the crew, but the crew just took a look at us with a sorry expression but did nothing to stop him. I was so disappointed and so shocked.
AircraftA321-211
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDongying to Shanghai Pudong
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 36 Reviews