Juneyao Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"impressed by this flight"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Shanghai Hongqiao to Urumqi. I was very impressed by this flight experience! The airline and its staff take every measure to make one feel comfortable and welcome, especially through the use of (sometimes for European tastes a little over the top) friendly terminology in its announcements. Never have I ever been wished a "wonderful, magical day ahead" and thanked for "the magical journey we have shared together" - like I said, a little over the top but it did make me feel great. Another first was that the cabin crew went around selling used books for travelers to buy reading material at a cheap price. That culture really spoke to me. The friendly lady even went out of her way rummaging through the box to find an English book to offer me. All combined with lots of genuine smiles. Even the food was delicious. A dedicated security officer made regular patrols through the cabin (although that may be a new requirement on Xinjiang flights) and even he bore a smile and a kind word for everyone. The airplane we flew on was brand new and meticulously clean, in addition, the flight was punctual to the dot. Check-in at SHA had been very uncomplicated and quick, the airline's bag drop counter area was very nicely decorated. All these are highly unusual things for an airline to emphasize on but that is exactly why I would fly Juneyao again in a heartbeat! I felt very well taken care of and for the first time in years, truly enjoyed a flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Hongqiao to Urumqi
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"an acceptable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Whilst not an airline that will win awards, the Juneyao experience was more than satisfactory on my two hour flight from Shanghai (PVG) to Hong Kong (HKG). The airport experience was efficient (with the exception of immigration - but that was out of the airline’s hands). Check-in was quick and the service friendly. Boarding began 45 minutes before departure. That process too was fast but there was no organisation to it. There was just an announcement and then the usual surge of people. On board, the crew were fit for purpose. Their English wasn’t brilliant along with their interpersonal skills. There were zero interactions with customers outside of asking a customer what they were eating or drinking. They were rather a surly bunch too - all quite stern looking! The flight departed early and reach Hong Kong some 30 minutes early. So absolutely no complaints about their time-keeping. A hot meal was served on board, with a choice of chicken and rice or beef noodles. In both cases, the quantity of meat was seriously lacking, but the food itself was pleasant. It was served alongside a box containing bread, peanuts, crackers, apple juice and some cutlery. Drinks were complimentary too, although limited to water, tea and coffee. The aircraft wasn’t spotlessly clean. In fact, on boarding, they was an unpleasant aroma of everything. But once the ovens kicked in, it disappeared. The seatbelt too showed some suspicious stains so I used the provided pillow to avoid coming into contact with it. I should point out as well that I found the seat terribly uncomfortable. It was very firm. Baggage delivery in Hong Kong was efficient. All in all, an acceptable flight, priced at £57.00 one way.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly this airline ever again"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Okinawa to Shanghai. I didn’t have any check in baggage, and my checkin still took 30 minutes because I abbreviated my middle initial on my ticket purchase. They acted like they had never seen that before and it really took them by surprise. I had two flights being run by China Eastern. My first flight was being operated by Juneyao. Juneyao could see my second flight on their computer screen and were even sharing a counter/ wearing the same uniforms as China Eastern and wouldn’t give me my second ticket. They told me I had to go through immigration in China. I have traveled constantly throughout Asia and have never run into this. I will never fly this airline ever again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOkinawa to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"items were not recovered"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Pudong to Dongying. I sat in seat 18C. I was listening to music on my mobile with my headphones and placed the headphones soft case in the pocket of the seat in front of me. Since it was an early wake up I absent mindedly forgot to take the headphones case while unboarding the plane. I kept on listening to a podcast and therefore was not aware of forgetting the headphones softcase behind. Early in the afternoon I informed our admin manager who immediately contacted the airport lost and found hotline which took down the details and registered the case, at the same time she also contacted the airline which told us to check with the local airport in Dongying. Since I had a return flight from Dongying to Pudong on the same afternoon, we arrived to the airport and approached airport personell who referred us to the Juneyao cleaning lady on duty. She called the lady who serviced the morning flight who claimed to find no lost items of any kinds. Further attempts to trace the aircraft and contact the staff onboard were made but the item was not found. The thing is that I expect from an airline to respect the property of the passengers also after they left the aircraft and not treat it as loot or generic rubbish. I suspect that going through the formalities of reporting found objects can be a hustle to airline workers but what about sense of responsibility and duty to help passengers recover their lost items. The attitude of the staff onboard the return flight was impeccable and helpful but yet items were not recovered and that’s why I suspect the problem may be in the general approach of ground crew toward lost items.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePudong to Dong Ying
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"it's worth the money"

(China)

Not Verified | Huizhou to Shanghai. A domestic flight so our family booked the First Class. Affordable at least and it's worth the money. Service was nice and the seating (2-2) was good. The entertainment was absolute zero. The cabin crew was attentive, and the lunch was normal. The aircraft's not old and taking off& landing was smooth.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteHuizhou to Shanghai
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I was so disappointed"

(China)

Trip Verified | Dongying to Shanghai Pudong. The business class ticket was 5 dollars more than the economy, but I think the whole flight, no matter which class, will be horrible with this kind of crew. First, the food for business class, even it looks ok, but the taste of the main dish was not good. The shrimp was dry and salty, the fruit was fresh though. Generally fair enough for short flight. Second, it`s about the cabin crew, there was one business passenger watching a sex type in the cabin without headphone during landing, all passengers in the business cabin heard the noise as well as the crew, but the crew just took a look at us with a sorry expression but did nothing to stop him. I was so disappointed and so shocked.
AircraftA321-211
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDongying to Shanghai Pudong
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"acceptable, unremarkable flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Shanghai. I wasn't able to use online check-in functionality, either because HKT does not support it, or because my ticket was purchased through Expedia. The website did not offer an explanation and just showed a somewhat disconcerting error message that no valid ticket was associated with my ticket number. Everything worked out just fine at the airport. Check-in counter was nearly empty when I arrived about 1.5 hrs. prior to 4:20am departure. The flight was on time. Juneyao use Thai Airways lounge at HTK. Boarding: Aircraft was parked at a remote gate. I got to the gate a few minutes before posted boarding time to find quite a few passengers already lined up. There was no separate line for business class, although it is possible that they were pre-boarded earlier. Onboard service: A320 has 8 J seats in 2+2 config. The seats are similar to US domestic first: about 20" wide and a decent ~38" pitch, but fairly small recline. Amenities at the seat: good quality slippers, a bottle of water, eye mask + ear plugs in a small pouch, a pillow in a pretty velvet case (see picture), and a blanket: adequate for a 4.5 hour flight. The crew spoke English on par with other Chinese airlines; enough to understand my requests. Service was efficient, courteous and professional, if somewhat cold. Meal: I picked congee for breakfast; there was also a Western option. The meal arrived on a single tray; drink orders arrived separately. Besides congee there was fruit, a croissant, and a few dim sum pieces. Chopsticks had to be requested separately. Nothing spectacular, but adequate for the flight's duration. Onboard entertainment: None. No Wi-Fi, no screens of any kind, no audio, no power, no moving map. A completely dark and disconnected flight. On-board magazine did have articles in English. Arrival: We parked at a remote stand as well at PVG. Business class passengers deplaned first and were provided a small van. Economy passengers boarded regular buses. I did not check luggage. There was no separate transit line available; all passengers had to go through the same immigration line. Overall: Perfectly acceptable, unremarkable flight. I'd fly Juneyao again, provided fares are competitive.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RoutePhuket to Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"horribly uncomfortable seats"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shanghai. Overall, it feels like an airline run by people who have never flown before. Juneyao is not a full Star Alliance partner, which was not disclosed on the United website when we purchased the ticket. So they are apparently allowed to set lunatic policies, like when transiting (even when travelling on a single ticket) via a Juneyao flight, you must go through immigration and customs, collect your bags, check back in and then go through immigration and customs again! I have never had this experience before, even when combining separate tickets on Star Alliance. We didn't find this out until checking in, and I don't know what would happen if you came from a country that China requires a visa for or didn't have at least 3-4 hours in Shanghai. Thanks to Juneyao, on a simple trip from Bangkok to Baltimore, we had to go through immigration 4 TIMES!! In Shanghai, we spent over 1 hour in the "transit visa" line where officials manually check the onward flight of each passenger. Then had to sit in the departure area for 3 hours since we couldn't check in or access the lounge. The flight itself was also awful -- staff are rude and don't speak English. They wake you up on take off and landing to make you take your headphones off, for no apparent reason! Food was gross, plane was new but had horribly uncomfortable seats and no entertainment options.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"A complete nightmare"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shanghai purchased through United Website for BKK-BWI. A complete nightmare. At checkin, they told us they would only check our bags to PVG and not all the way through to our final destination. So, at PVG, we had to go through immigration, claim our bags, recheck in and go out through immigration again. This took more than 2 hours so be aware of this this is you have to use these jokers for a connection. Fundamentally, the fault is United's for booking this ticket. Juneyao is supposed to be a Star Alliance connecting partner but this was disconnected. United customer service said they have interline agreement. The flight itself was a cramped nightmare. The seats were small and incredibly uncomfortable. The food was a joke. The toilet was unclean. There were no entertainment options. The flights attendants were rude and unfriendly. Used a gate in BKK and but had to take a bus from the plane in PVG.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unprofessional airline"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Shanghai Pudong to Hong Kong. Miserable flight experience and try to avoid it ! The flight was delayed for 2 hours due to airline reasons, but no explanation, broadcast or any apology ! Another hour taxing before departure. Thereby, no express service at Hong Kong Airport upon arrival in midnight, and I have to take a taxi. The most horrible is its cabin service. Flight attendants were very indifferent, impatient and grumpy when requested. No welcome and farewell at the cabin door, the crew kept chatting instead. The language skill of cabin crew is ridiculous, and pronounced Hong Kong in Chinese phonetics. The catering is the same as domestic flights, and far from quality and delicacy. Feel shameful about such a poorly-organized and unprofessional airline !
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Pudong to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 32 Reviews