Juneyao Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"acceptable, unremarkable flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Shanghai. I wasn't able to use online check-in functionality, either because HKT does not support it, or because my ticket was purchased through Expedia. The website did not offer an explanation and just showed a somewhat disconcerting error message that no valid ticket was associated with my ticket number. Everything worked out just fine at the airport. Check-in counter was nearly empty when I arrived about 1.5 hrs. prior to 4:20am departure. The flight was on time. Juneyao use Thai Airways lounge at HTK. Boarding: Aircraft was parked at a remote gate. I got to the gate a few minutes before posted boarding time to find quite a few passengers already lined up. There was no separate line for business class, although it is possible that they were pre-boarded earlier. Onboard service: A320 has 8 J seats in 2+2 config. The seats are similar to US domestic first: about 20" wide and a decent ~38" pitch, but fairly small recline. Amenities at the seat: good quality slippers, a bottle of water, eye mask + ear plugs in a small pouch, a pillow in a pretty velvet case (see picture), and a blanket: adequate for a 4.5 hour flight. The crew spoke English on par with other Chinese airlines; enough to understand my requests. Service was efficient, courteous and professional, if somewhat cold. Meal: I picked congee for breakfast; there was also a Western option. The meal arrived on a single tray; drink orders arrived separately. Besides congee there was fruit, a croissant, and a few dim sum pieces. Chopsticks had to be requested separately. Nothing spectacular, but adequate for the flight's duration. Onboard entertainment: None. No Wi-Fi, no screens of any kind, no audio, no power, no moving map. A completely dark and disconnected flight. On-board magazine did have articles in English. Arrival: We parked at a remote stand as well at PVG. Business class passengers deplaned first and were provided a small van. Economy passengers boarded regular buses. I did not check luggage. There was no separate transit line available; all passengers had to go through the same immigration line. Overall: Perfectly acceptable, unremarkable flight. I'd fly Juneyao again, provided fares are competitive.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RoutePhuket to Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"horribly uncomfortable seats"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shanghai. Overall, it feels like an airline run by people who have never flown before. Juneyao is not a full Star Alliance partner, which was not disclosed on the United website when we purchased the ticket. So they are apparently allowed to set lunatic policies, like when transiting (even when travelling on a single ticket) via a Juneyao flight, you must go through immigration and customs, collect your bags, check back in and then go through immigration and customs again! I have never had this experience before, even when combining separate tickets on Star Alliance. We didn't find this out until checking in, and I don't know what would happen if you came from a country that China requires a visa for or didn't have at least 3-4 hours in Shanghai. Thanks to Juneyao, on a simple trip from Bangkok to Baltimore, we had to go through immigration 4 TIMES!! In Shanghai, we spent over 1 hour in the "transit visa" line where officials manually check the onward flight of each passenger. Then had to sit in the departure area for 3 hours since we couldn't check in or access the lounge. The flight itself was also awful -- staff are rude and don't speak English. They wake you up on take off and landing to make you take your headphones off, for no apparent reason! Food was gross, plane was new but had horribly uncomfortable seats and no entertainment options.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"A complete nightmare"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shanghai purchased through United Website for BKK-BWI. A complete nightmare. At checkin, they told us they would only check our bags to PVG and not all the way through to our final destination. So, at PVG, we had to go through immigration, claim our bags, recheck in and go out through immigration again. This took more than 2 hours so be aware of this this is you have to use these jokers for a connection. Fundamentally, the fault is United's for booking this ticket. Juneyao is supposed to be a Star Alliance connecting partner but this was disconnected. United customer service said they have interline agreement. The flight itself was a cramped nightmare. The seats were small and incredibly uncomfortable. The food was a joke. The toilet was unclean. There were no entertainment options. The flights attendants were rude and unfriendly. Used a gate in BKK and but had to take a bus from the plane in PVG.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unprofessional airline"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Shanghai Pudong to Hong Kong. Miserable flight experience and try to avoid it ! The flight was delayed for 2 hours due to airline reasons, but no explanation, broadcast or any apology ! Another hour taxing before departure. Thereby, no express service at Hong Kong Airport upon arrival in midnight, and I have to take a taxi. The most horrible is its cabin service. Flight attendants were very indifferent, impatient and grumpy when requested. No welcome and farewell at the cabin door, the crew kept chatting instead. The language skill of cabin crew is ridiculous, and pronounced Hong Kong in Chinese phonetics. The catering is the same as domestic flights, and far from quality and delicacy. Feel shameful about such a poorly-organized and unprofessional airline !
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Pudong to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"refusal to give any information"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Shanghai Pudong to Xi'an flight with Juneyao Airlines. Delayed by two hours due to inclement weather, but the communication and information was very poor indeed - there was a blanket refusal to give any information (such as an estimated delay time or even where the plane has left the previous destination). Check-in online does not work unless you have a Chinese mobile phone number, which is a big minus when travelling and forces you to get to the airport early. Juneyao counters do have apparently convenient bag-drop locations. On the positive side, the seats are very comfortable and have head rests (even for a short-haul flight). A hot meal was served on this short 2.5 h flight and the service is better than many Chinese airlines.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai Pudong to Xi'an
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"the pilot said nothing"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew Hong Kong to Shanghai with Juneyao Airlines. Due to bad weather visibility and air traffic delays we were boarded before we had an air traffic control slot. We remained on the aircraft for over four hours then we were deplaned and were marched through security again taking another hour and a half and reboarded. We eventually took off at 0600, seven hours late. I am amazed that the crew who said that they started at 1600h were within their legal hours. Absolutely no extra food or refreshments whatsoever during the 10 hour ordeal. Worse still no apology, in fact the pilot said nothing. We complained to the ground handling agent asking for refreshments but we were told that one of the worlds busiest 24 hours a day airport could not provide catering. I have been to over a hundred countries on thousands of airlines and never have I been delayed eight hours without an as much as an apology.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Shanghai
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"plane was modern, comfortable and clean"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | Juneyao Airlines was a complete surprise. After a painful experience dealing with the crowds of people coming back to China after New Year's Holiday, I was afraid the flight was going to be the same. The experience flying from Krabi to Shanghai was the opposite: the plane was modern, comfortable and clean. Since I didn't know anything about the airline prior to my flight, I thought it was going to be one of those horrible charter airlines, but it's not. The crew were really nice, correct and helpful. The snack was good and the seat was comfortable. The airlines website English version is not really helpful and when you need to do something it takes you to the Chinese version. The cell phone app (at least for iPhone) is only available in Chinese. Not really helpful, but not surprising since I was the only non Chinese in the plane.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKrabi to Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"an immoral airline"

(United Kingdom)

When booking with Juneyao Airlines you cannot book very small children online, you need to call. When you call you find out that the child pays 10%, everything still reasonable. Then you find out your ticket was a discount ticket, you didn't see the full price when you paid, your child pays 10% of full price ticket (which is hugely inflated), and will work out more than your adult ticket. But you already paid for your ticket and with all the cancellation rules you have to pay, so they have tricked you into paying a high price for your baby. What an immoral airline, only a snake could implement an idea like that exploiting families with babies. Of course everybody has to make a profit but you do it by being open about prices and charges. So be careful if you book with them.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Shanghai
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very enjoyable experience"

(China)

Juneyao Airlines from Shanghai Pudong to Fukuoka return, both flights on time and with new A320 aircraft, modern, clean, spacious, ground service efficient, cabin crew friendly and helpful. Water and snack provided, no entertainment but it's acceptable for this 1.5hr journy. Airfare is very cheap (only RMB1000 including tax). Overall very enjoyable experience with Juneyao Airlines.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePVG to FUK
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"reasonable flight for domestic service"

(Australia)

A reasonable flight for this domestic Juneyao Airlines service with basic food offerings provided on both legs and a choice of drinks on the Lijiang - Wuhan leg (which was the longer of the two). A short 20 minute stop in Wuhan enabled us to make up some lost time from the delayed departure. No inflight entertainment provided so bring your own. Cabin crew spoke limited English but were happy enough to help.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLijiang to Shanghai Pudong via Wuhan
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews