China Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 405 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"flight times changed at least 5 times"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked round-trip flight from LAX to Bangkok via Taipei for January 2020. Since the time I booked the flight 5 months ago, the flight times were changed at least 5 times. The latest arrival time is much later than the original arrival time which created a problem for my plans. I cancelled the fight but was charged $200 cancellation fee ($100 for each person in the booking). Since my cancellation was due to China Airline’s change of schedule, the $200 cancellation fee should be waived. But China Airline refused to refund.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBangkok to Los Angeles via Taipei
Date FlownAugust 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"A350 is a great plane"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Rome via Taipei. The first leg on our return journey (DPS-TPE) was by an old 747- 400: the aircraft was pretty rundown, with a bad smell and very narrow seats; the old IFE didn't work properly and FA tried to reboot the system multiple times but my personal screen didn't work properly. Food average. The second leg (TPE-FCO) was a different story: the A350 is a great plane : plenty of space, great IFE and I could stretch my legs and sleep almost the whole flight, wonderful mood lights and smiling FA made this 13 hours journey very pleasant.
AircraftA350-900 / Boeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Rome via Taipei
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"would recommend China Airlines"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Bangkok via Taipei return. All 4 flights were nothing short of exemplary, operated by an A350, which is much quieter and noticeably reduces jet lag. The crew on all my flights were friendly, professional and very safety conscious. Meal service was prompt and with a smile, and the crew were polite and friendly. I ordered several drinks and requested a toothbrush and an adapter and all were delivered quickly. They passed out hot towels for economy class passengers which is a much-appreciated gesture. During the overnight flight staff often passed through the cabin with water and juice, and kept the toilets clean. My flight back to Melbourne was delayed by 8 hours and we were provided accommodation at the Novotel near Taipei airport and they organised a shuttle bus to take us back to the airport in the morning, I found the ground staff at Taipei airport to be friendly and customer focused. The onboard entertainment system is easy to navigate and had many new releases and TV shows to choose from. The only aspect that could be improved is their food options, I found most of my meals to be lacking flavor, however they did offer an ice cream bar and a bread roll with all meals. Staff offer a selection of juice soft drinks, wine and coffee/Chinese tea with the meal service. I would not hesitate to fly with them again, in fact I found their service to be superior to Cathay Pacific and Malaysia Airlines and would recommend China Airlines without hesitation.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Bangkok via Taipei
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"there is good legroom space"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Vancouver. Relatively new A350 with comfortable seats and nice 11" IFE screen with USB and power outlet. The back seat design lacks enough forethought in not making available slots for tablets and mobile phones and a hook for small items to hang. Having said that there is good legroom space. The entertainment choice is still limited. The flight crew service was better than the ICN-TPE leg but they lack the courteousness that other Asian airlines are known for. One example, one flight attendant told a passenger to bring the seat back upright for a meal. She was quite rude and abrupt. For a Chinese her manner would have been viewed as a typical request, but as a flight attendant serving passengers of various nationalities, that would not be acceptable. She looked as if she was one of the more senior member of the flight crew. The food was still below average and the flight attendants were once again rushing through the meal service offering coffee and tea even though passengers had not finished the main meal. Overall, they lack the expected attention to detail and professionalism to compete effectively with other airlines. The excellent hardware, ie. the plane, is let down by the subpar flight crew service.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"lacks polish and professionalism"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Seoul Incheon to Taipei. The flight crew lacks the polish and professionalism of some airlines. The meal service was rushed with coffee and tea being offered even before most could finish the meal and in a rushed manner that if you were not paying attention you would have missed them. The IFE is an old outdated 6.5" touch screen that is due for an update with relatively limited choice of entertainment. The pillows and blankets were not separately packaged raising questions of possible sanitation. The food quality is below average. One thing that is going for China Airlines is their fare which tends to be cheaper than others.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul Incheon to Taipei
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"bad experience in my baggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Manila to Vancouver via Taipei. My overall experience is okay. Needs further improvement on the audio. Also, the food should be improved, aesthetically and by flavor. Our taste buds aren’t much functional when in high altitude, so it is a must that aroma and flavor of the food compliments each other, or else, all of the food will just taste all pretty much the same. I had a bad experience in my baggage when the ground steward in Manila told me that my baggage will go straight to Saskatoon (my final destination), and not to be picked up in Vancouver. Since I was a new flyer, I didn’t know much of this. I even clarified (twice) with the steward if I will be picking it up in Saskatoon or Vancouver, and he kept on saying that it’s gonna be in Saskatoon. But when I arrived in Saskatoon, my baggage wasn’t there. So much inconvenience on my part. They need to have well-trained and knowledgeable staff when it comes to these types of situation, or a mentor should be around in this case. With this, I don’t know if I will fly with China Airlines anymore.
AircraftA333 / A359
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManila to Vancouver via Taipei
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"always ask you to show the credit card"

(United States)

Not Verified | Taipei to San Francisco. Overall experience is fine. The worst part is at the check-in counter they always ask you to show the credit card used for purchasing the ticket. When I purchased tickets for my kids and they travel alone, they almost got stranded at the airport and couldn’t get on the flight
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTaipei to San Francisco
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Amazing cabin crew"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Hanoi via Taipei. Amazing cabin crew. They are professional, caring and nice. Updated in-flight entertainment programme. Food is fairly good. They serve ice-cream for lunch.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Hanoi via Taipei
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a decent Business Class"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Osaka via Taipei, returning from Sapporo. Overall China Airlines offers a decent Business Class at a reasonable fare. Both check-in processes were efficient and friendly. The lounges in Melbourne, Taipei and Sapporo were comfortable without being luxurious - good spaces to relax, with pleasant food and drink options. On board, the seats turned into nice lie-flat beds, the main downside being a lack of storage space around the seats. The crews were hardworking, polite and generally friendly. Only soft drinks were offered as a welcome, but there was a reasonable wine and spirits list. My vegetarian meals were fine but not adventurous. No amenities kits were provided, and there were no toothbrushes/paste provided in the toilets -- a sign of some cutting of corners in this product. Three flights operated punctually, one was delayed 30 minutes due to "ground handling issues". Taipei is quite an easy transfer point, with good signage and friendly staff.
AircraftA350 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Osaka via Taipei
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"nicest business class cabin"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Taipei. Originally I was booked on EVA Air, but about a week before my flight in late June 2019 they went on strike with a number of flights cancelled and I was changed to this flight about a week before my departure. EVA operates an A330 with 2-2-2 in business class on this route but China Airlines operates an A350-900 with a 1-2-1 and what a stunning cabin this is probably the nicest business class cabin I have travelled. With a late departure around 2250 from Brisbane and an arrival into Taipei at 0545 the next morning with just under 9 hours in the air the quick meal service on departure was well organized and excellent quality which left a reasonable amount of time for some sleep before breakfast before arrival in Taipei. The seat on this plane is fantastic with plenty of storage a great screen and a very sturdy table that pulls out from under the screen and always have a little part exposed so is always a handy shelf at anytime. The finishes that they have used seem to be of a really high quality with my 16 month old plane looking like it was on its first flight. No pyjamas are provided but slippers and a nice amenity kit are.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBrisbane to Taipei
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes