China Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 431 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Really bad customer service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Brisbane via Taipei. Hong Kong to Taipei was Ok, service was reasonable. Taipei to Brisbane was uncomfortable and food selection was poor. While in Australia China Airlines cancelled the return leg Taipei to Hong Kong. I made 2 phone calls and 1 email to their Taipei office explaining that I still wanted to continue with the Brisbane to Taipei leg. Before the flight I received and email stating the refund would be HK$ 4055. At Brisbane I was advised by China Airlines staff to make my own ongoing arrangements. After there flight I received another email saying the refund was now HK$ 460, which is 3.7% of the ticket cost. Really bad customer service at Brisbane and Taoyuan airport and subsequently through emails.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteHong Kong to Brisbane via Taipei
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"help us change flights"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Vancouver via Taipei. First time flying on China Airlines after Expedia mistakenly cancelled our Air Canada booking. We were impressed with the aircraft which looked new and most up to date entertainment system. Our family enjoyed the food, even our children finished their meals and they're picky. What I was most impressed with was their customer service and ability to help us change flights in the midst of the Covid-19 pandemic that occurred while we were away. Due to closing borders where we were scheduled to be on our way back home, we had to change our flight to a direct flight back home and we wanted to leave as early as possible. We could get never get through to Expedia at all (after hours on the phone) but China Airlines customer service was more than helpful and they were able make our changes for us and get us home even though we booked through Expedia. Next time I travel to Asia, I would consider China Airlines as a top choice carrier.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteJakarta to Vancouver via Taipei
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"found it totally unhygienic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Myself my mother and my husband flew Gatwick to Sydney via Taipei with China Airlines but will never fly with them again. The cabin crew on the first leg of the journey did not speak hardly at all. We could not hear nor understand the announcements so in an emergency it would have been guess work which I find astounding but in general I think its poor customer service. The food was just awful, I know it was 95% Chinese passengers but I think the airline should look at the list of people and cater for those who don't want to eat soggy rice and chicken on both the inbound and outbound flights. The blankets provided were a dirty mustard colour and were way past their use date. The cabin crew all were wearing face masks to protect themselves and passengers but found it totally unhygienic that they wiped down the toilet floors, units and toilet with paper towels and no gloves on, that to me was not only disgusting but a health and safety issue. Overall we all found our experience with China Airlines a very poor one. Never again to be repeated.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Sydney via Taipei
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no regard for consumer rights"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | They have no regard for consumer rights and will destroy your itinerary if they dont have enough passengers. Booked a flight for my wife, 3yr old and myself, directly with China Airlines via their webpage for a flight from Singapore to Takamatsu. This included a layover of 20hrs in Taipei which we also booked a nights stay at a hotel for. 1 month prior to departure they brought forward by a day, our TPE to TAK flight. As they did not change the Singapore to TPE flight the connection is now impossible. They rectified the problem by changing our SIN to TPE flight a day earlier but refused to make up for our lost hotel booking. We rebooked our hotel at our own cost. 11 days before departure, they changed our TPE to TAK flight again bringing it forward by 24hrs and again neglecting to make the appropriate amendment for SG to TPE. They have also again refused to compensate us in any way for having to book a hotel for the 3rd time. Warning! It looks cheap and respectable. It is a lie.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Takamatsu via Taipei
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seat pitch was below average"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The check-in in this case was a bit more complex, because my flight ability in Taipei had to be obtained through a stay in China. However, this can be assessed as positive for the health of other passengers. Departures and arrivals were on time. The A330 made a somewhat older impression and the seat pitch was below average. In the A350, on the other hand, cleanliness, comfort and seat spacing were good. The on-board entertainment left nothing to be desired and relatively new films were shown. Catering and drinks are very good and extensive. The staff friendly and helpful. Overall a good experience.
AircraftA330-300 / A350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManila to Frankfurt via Taipei
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a good experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Shanghai via Taipei. Check-in was extremely quick and the staff very friendly. The departure was on time. The seat spacing is average in an international comparison. The on-board catering is very good and very extensive. The beverage service leaves nothing to be desired. Aircraft cleanliness contributed to well-being. Overall a good experience. The Inflight Entertainment offered relatively new and a lot of films.
AircraftA350-900 / Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Shanghai via Taipei
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"I was upgraded to Premium economy"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh city to Frankfurt via Taipei, a good experience overall. I departed at 05:45 p.m., and meals were served 3 times, 1 dinner in the connecting flight from HCMC to Taipei and 2 on the flight from Taipei to Frankfurt. The food was good, but there were not many options and the menu was the same for both departing and returning flights. The crew were friendly and caring, they noticed when I felt uncomfortable due to low temperature inside the cabin and offered hot drinks. The seat was comfortable. I'm a rather small girl (162cm in height), so I had no problem with legroom, but it might have been a bit cramped for some other passengers around me. My returning date was a busy day for Frankfurt airport, so I had a delayed takeoff, which made me miss my connecting flight from Taipei to HCMC. I had a long delay at Taoyuan airport. The airlines handled the situation well, they offered me to stay in their lounge and took care of my baggage, coupons for food and bevarage were also given. The best part was I was upgraded to Premium economy on my flight back to HCMC.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh to Frankfurt via Taipei
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Great short-haul flight"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Great short-haul flight from Hong Kong to Tainan operated by Mandarin Airlines (owned by China Airlines). Departure and arrival on time. Plane modern, clean and comfy, considering short length of journey. Hot meal, snack and tea distributed during 1h flight - really appreciated. Staff very nice and active during entire flight.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Tainan
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"we recommend this airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Vancouver to Bangkok via Taipei. We took 4 flights in all. The service was friendly, meals were enjoyable, and there was plenty of video entertainment. Baggage was included in the ticket price. The accommodation was comfortable and we recommend this airline.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Bangkok via Taipei
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"customer is the one that is blamed"

(Taiwan)

Not Verified | Taipei to Frankfurt. I am really upset about China Airline customer service and the abuse of regulations. I book my tickets via Expedia, and Expedia asks their users to input the names as: Family name, Middle Name, First Name. I input as it asks and they arrange my name as Western Order by Family name First Name Middle Name. This is a common way, even western government department does this to Asian name order. When I booked my ticket, Expedia forwarded my info to China Airline and I got charged 100€ for changing my name on the tickets. I booked through Expedia all the time with other Airlines and there has been no problem. With the pressure in the airport, I had to pay. Later I contact China Airline with this complaint and they act like this is my fault. That is really ignorant attitude from China Airlines. I explained to them in details, and they were pushing the problems to their regulation and Expedia. I am sure this is a systematic problem between Expedia and China Airlines, however the customer is the one that is blamed and paid the money. They reject my claim and complaint and complaint but doesn’t do better than abusing their regulations towards customers. As my first time flying, I feel mistrusted towards this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Frankfurt
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no