China Eastern Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 662 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"worse flight that I have had"

(South Korea)

Not Verified | New York to Shanghai in economy class. I flew during COVID-19. I went with my baby, two-month old. Everything was so horrible. I will not say that much since it is a public review, but it was so horrible. I would rate a minus for this flight (worse flight that I have had!) JFK转PVG,经济舱。 我在COVID-19期间飞行,所以我被要求戴上口罩立即回国。 我和两个月大的婴儿一起去了。 一切都太可怕了。 由于这是一次公开审查,因此我不会说太多,但这太可怕了。 我会为此航班打负号(我曾经有过更糟糕的航班!)
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"boarding counter is not well"

(China)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Luoyang. The boarding counter is not well. Because there is not a prominent sign at the boarding gate to tell us which is the first-class queue or eco queue. So many people. waiting at the wrong queue. Because of the epidemic, only a bit of food were supplied.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Luoyang
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"The seats are quite spacious, very good"

(China)

Trip Verified | China Eastern Airlines is the best service company among the three major airlines (Air China, China Eastern and China Southern). In the airport, China Eastern has a lot of automatic check-in machines, and there are special tutors, which is very good. There are also few people queuing at the check-in counter. After boarding, the flight attendant service was very good. When I saw that I was sweating, I took the initiative to pour ice water for me. I already took the paper towel (yes, I was in economy class). The cabin entertainment system had a small TV, but there was no WiFi. This is not good. The distance between the seats is large enough, and the seats can be adjusted at a large angle. The seats are quite spacious, very good. The bathroom is clean. The most important thing is that the air ticket is cheap. The air ticket from Beijing to Luoyang is only 200 yuan! In addition, due to the epidemic, the meal is only a small bottle of mineral water. Before that, there was dinner (fried rice).
AircraftA321-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Luoyang
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"certainly value for money"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Shanghai Pudong return in December 2019. Refurbished A330-300 was used where business class seats were new with direct aisle access. Warm and kind service given by the crew, better than many five-star airlines. The areas they should improve on is catering and IFE. Meal standards are below average for business class, with no western meal option. The Business and First Class lounge at Shanghai Pudong Airport was very nice but again with only Chinese meal options. IFE was limited but acceptable for a five-hour flight. Overall though, for the price I paid, it's certainly value for money.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Shanghai Pudong
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"on board service was very simple"

(China)

Trip Verified | Kunming to Shenzhen in July 2019. The weather that day at Shenzhen was terrible for flights to land, so we were running into a delay and the departure time was not ensured even till 22:00. The China Eastern lounge in Kunming was not bad, with food options including Yunnan noodle, but the environment was not excellent, the light was very dim and the decoration was very old. I really that they prepared sandwich and bread for us because the typhoon was affecting Southern China, so many passengers were waiting at the lounge. We got on board at 22:10 and the plane pushed back at 23:00, not a bad delay at all. This flight uses a newer Boeing 737-800, featuring a PTV for business class and the legroom was 97cm comparing to 91cm in the old planes. The on board service was very simple because it's a night time flight, and the snack on board only included biscuits, fruit and drinks. Finally, we landed at Shenzhen at 00:30, just 10 mins later than the schedule, not bad. Overall, I paid $184 for this flight, I should say nothing did bad, but also not eventful.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteKunming to Shenzhen
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"dinner service was very fair"

(China)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou to Kunming in July 2019 on a Boeing 737-800 The flight experience was fair, not among the best Chinese domestic business class, but acceptable. Checkin in Guangzhou airport was very efficient, and a fast-track security check is given. The lounge was not highlighted, very common and a bit crowded during the afternoon time. The dinner service starts at 5pm, the food choices were quite limited, but the quality was good. The seating was a 2-2 configuration, common short haul narrow-body flights, but no personal entertainment. The space was not quite spacious, and if I get it right, China Eastern's 738 actually features one the shortest legroom. However, they give out slippers on such a short haul flight. The service on board was very delightful, I feel very welcomed on board. The dinner service was very fair, the bread was quite crispy and fresh; the main dish was steamed fish, the fish was OK but the rice was very dry like sands. But the flight arrives 20 mins earlier than the schedule, and also the fare was quite cheap, $173 for one way. So I should say it worth the price.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Kunming
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"definitely the last time"

(China)

Not Verified | New York to Shanghai. We re-booked on China Eastern as our original flight with United Airlines was cancelled due to the ongoing issue in China. We paid extra about 90USD / seat to get an emergency exit seat. Once boarded the aircraft I found that the seat was broken. I changed to another one as our row was not fully booked. No blankets and no pillows available even on request. Once airborne I found that the screen could not be turn out from the seat. But even if it would be there were no ear sets provided at all. My wife was watching movies reading the subtitles. For the food I can't give any comments as neither I nor my wife have tried it but I found it very funny that they serve breakfast at afternoon time in Shanghai. Drink selection was also not so nice, just standard soft drinks, Chinese Qingdao beer or Chinese red wine. The aircraft was pretty new however for the seats I had the feeling that they are really old. The head rest could not be pulled up enough, the seat itself was quite thin and after almost 15 hrs. of flight it was really hard to stay inside this seat. I have flown China Eastern quite a lot for domestic but for international flight it was the first time and definitely the last time.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Shanghai
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with this airline again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I took 4 flights with China Eastern from Vancouver to Phuket via Nanjing and back to Vancouver from December 28 returning to Vancouver on January 8. Business Class cabin is worn out, very old seats. Cabin crew doesn't speak any english, food is awful. Asked for an extra blanket as I was shivering and they said we don't have, Asking for a stomach pain medicine was a nightmare. They didn't understand a single word I was saying. The captain or anyone from the flight deck did not say a one single word to the passengers during the entire 14 hours in the air. At the end of the flight, once we made it to Nanjing he started circling around for 40 more minute taking turns between descending and climbing again several times, and again not a single word from the flight deck on the why this was happening. One single worst flight in my entire life. I will never fly with this airline again.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteVancouver to Nanjing
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"What a joke of an airline"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Gatwick to Melbourne via Shanghai. Booked this flight for my 73 year old mother who a month prior had had her knee replaced. Wheelchair assistance was booked for every leg of her London to Melbourne flight. However, when she got to Shangai, China Eastern staff treated her like garbage for her 11 hour stopover in which she was given no assistance. Staff yawned in her face, turned their back on her and refused to look at paperwork confirming the wheelchair had been arranged. Even worse service was to follow with some mumbled email apology came a week later which was then ignored when I replied to it. Phones are never answered. Finally got a second email from someone a few weeks later, no idea who as they had no signature to their email, which ignored all the issues raised in the complaint and said "I'm sorry that we didn't receive your service at the first time. It's extremely inconvenient for your subsequent itinerary. Next time I come to Shanghai, please email me in advance. I'll let our regional manager come to protect you!" The Vegetarian meal on the flight was either fish or chicken. Both are my favourite kind of vegetable. What a joke of an airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Melbourne via Shanghai
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"did not see a single flight attendant"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shanghai. I received an email message from the airlines stating that my flight was canceled and for me to contact them. In the email they sent me, they never provided a contact number. I had to google for their website and contact number. I called them more than 15 times on different occasion and all I got was answering machine with no option to leave a message. The email they sent me says do not reply as it was sent through an auto-messaging system. It was difficult to reach them through the phone. I have no other option but wait until I get to the airport and talk to them in person. When I get to the airport and ask them to issue me a new itinerary since the original one was canceled by the airline. They still can't help me but provide me with another phone number to call customer services. I finally got a new itinerary for my flight with China Eastern. The flight was a little more than 4 hours. The minute we boarded the plane, I can feel the air inside the plane was extremely warm. I thought the Flight Attendant will turn on the air conditioner once the plane starts to leave the tarmac but they did not. I waited for a long time for the Flight Attendant to come down the aisle so I can ask them to turn on the AC but I did not see one came by. I looked for a call button on my chair but did not find one since it was so dark in the plane. I waited for a long time no flight attendant came down the aisle. I felt exhausted and fall back to sleep. I sat in the middle seat so it was hard for me to climb over another passenger to find the Flight Attendant. On my way to the lavatory, I tried to look for a flight attendant and hopefully have them turn on the AC but did not see a single flight attendant around. It’s been like this throughout the entire flight. We were never offered drinks or meals. The seats are tiny. Even with my arms close to my body, my arms still rubbed by other passengers sitting next to me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no