Thai Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 665 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"noticed quite a deterioration in quality"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I have been flying Thai Airways for the past 20+ years and I have noticed quite a deterioration in quality and service levels especially to Asian and India routes. Ticket prices have increased markedly over the years and possibly now much higher than other carriers on the same routes. A Bengaluru to Bangkok return in business class is about THB40,000 (US$ 1250) which is exorbitant for a 3.5 hour flight. For this price, there is no Jetbridge services and passengers need to walk down stairs and bundle into a crowded bus that takes a very long time to reach the arrivals gate. The aircraft put into service is a bit old and worn. My main grouse is the price. I checked out a BKK-HKG flight recently and price on TG was about THB12500 while Cathay was THB8,000. What a difference!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBengaluru to Bangkok
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not worth the money"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Munich to Osaka via Bangkok. Avoid B747 Business Class where ever you can! First: it is a mystery to me how you can waste such a lot of space for such an uncomfortable seat. It is not angled lie flat or even flat at all. I wouldn’t care about an angle, but these seats are too short (I'm 1,86m) and have several angles, so at maximum you can lay back somehow, and the footrest isn’t stable, so whenever you move (even in turbulence) it will sort of “swing”. Secondly: service shows much effort but little result. For instance: There are attendants all over the cabin, but if you need any kind of refill (wine, coffee, water) you have to go to the galley and ask for it. Thirdly: the Lounge at BKK: completely overcrowded, had to wait for an hour to take a shower (which was a mould lover’s paradise), and don’t even think of the famous spa, if your transit time is below 5hrs. In a nutshell: outdated product, inefficient service, poor lounges, not worth the money. On their 747s I would not even call it a Business Class. A good premium eco will be a much better product and deal.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMunich to Osaka via Bangkok
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the service was very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | My wife and I decided to fly Thai Airways as we had flown with them a number of years before and had a good experience. On this occasion there were a few issues. The first leg from London Heathrow to Bangkok was excellent, flew an A380, great flight. The second leg from Bangkok to Sydney was on a clapped out 747, the flight itself was mediocre but the service was very poor. The major problem was on the last leg from Bangkok to London Heathrow, we were supposed to fly an A380 but apparently the plane was "broken", however, it seems the plane had been unavailable for at least 7-10 days prior without a replacement A380 being found. After a delayed take-off, which again appears to have been the case for more than a week, we shuddered home on a 777, must be the noisiest plane I have flown on in 40 years. I booked a long-haul flight on an A380 as I am very tall and the leg-room is usually good and the comfort is usually excellent. Not so the 777, my knees were in constant contact with the chair in front for a 12 hour flight. If I book an A380, I expect to fly one just like if I book a Mercedes I don't expect a Ford! No more Thai Airways for me.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Sydney via Bangkok
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"forced to take an airport bus"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Singapore to Bangkok, it is more the normal than the exception that you are forced to take an airport bus from the plane to the terminal. Bangkok airport being Thai Airways home base you should expect that you would get premium service but not with Thai airways. You may be packed in an old bus like cattle. There is no customer service. Not worthy of Star alliance. as this is a low cost quality.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"Food was about average"

(India)

Verified Review | Delhi to Bangkok. I was really excited as I had never flow Thai Airways business before. A 10 minute delay which was due to late arrival of aircraft can be ignored. However, overall not up to expectations for a business class flight . Attendants service was superb and serving of food and drinks was top notch. Being vegetarian had pre-ordered the Asian vegetarian meal. Food was about average. I am somewhat disappointed that even though non-vegetarians get a full 3 course meal comprising of salad/starters, mains, dessert and cheese tray why are vegetarians served a single tray of food. I am sure airlines have enough food experts to devise a lavish vegetarian meal for its business customers. Seats very bad on 777-200 with little to no lumbar support and limited recline.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Bangkok
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"really impressed"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I went back to visit my family in Thailand and got a one way ticket back to London with Thai Airways. I have been warned by many Thai friends that I would not receive a good service on this airline plus Thai Airways is always the most expensive. I decided to book because I wanted to experience 'the service' and I have hadn't flew with them for long time (my last flight with Thai Airways was in 2007, I was a little kid could not remember anything). I got a one way ticket for 25250 THB about = 580 GBP for one way. On the day I flew, I was almost the last one entering the airplane since I was enjoying my shopping time at BKK duty free but the air crew still welcomed me with a smiley face. Since I was one of the last onboard, I did not have space in over head cabin to put my carry on bags. The purser assisted very nicely. He took my bag to put in somewhere in the back and told me that he will take it back to me once the plane departed. He took another one to his room and suggested I do not put valuable items in either bag until I get it back. After the first meal (I did not eat much because I was not hungry, it was 1 or 2 o'clock in the morning in Thailand). I was asleep for long time and once I got up another staff member asked if I was hungry or want anything else like a sandwich or something. It was totally different to what I have heard from other people so I did not expect this much better service to happen to me. The seat was new and comfortable. Once we arrived all the crew were sending passengers out of the plane with Thai style greetings. I don't know how can they do that after a 12-hour flight, really impressed.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to London
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"will be done with this airline"

(France)

Verified Review | Paris to Bangkok. Friendly staff, but they do not let you mix Thai and European meals. They refuse to serve you a European starter and a Thai main course. Totally stupid. Then i ordered the salmon with beurre blanc sauce, but here was no sauce; after I asked them i was replied that they forgot it. I ordered a white wine listed on the menu, but there was no white wine, the flight attendant replied that the catering also forgot it. My friend asked for another wine, same reply, When you consider that Thai is the most expensive airline from Paris, you expect more than that. One more round trip to use my miles and I will be done with this airline.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very comfortable and enjoyable"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We’ve flown to Asia few times before. Used Fly Emirates Airline and our preferred Singapore Airlines. We always read reviews regarding airlines mainly about on-board service and leg room as my husband is quite tall 6’6”. We’ve chosen Thai Air this time despite mixed reviews regarding leg room. I can truly and honestly say what a pleasant surprise. Our flihgt from London do Bangkok was full. My husband chose the seat by the window. When we got seated he said straight away it is going to be fine, not to worry. What a relief. We both had enough leg room as well as seats were wide enough and very comfortable. On board service as well as food and drinks were brilliant. We’ve had a very comfortable journey and even more comfortable on the way back from Bangkok to London as there was an empty seat next to us. Even though me and my husband we stayed in our seats for the whole journey. Friendly and nice flight attendants, nothing was never a problem. Thank you very much for making our trip very comfortable and enjoyable.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to London
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"delightfully warm inflight service"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok-Shanghai return. Boarding in Bangkok started very close to the scheduled departure time by which time the gate was crowded with passengers forming queues voluntarily. When boarding finally commenced, passengers were boarded according to classes and row numbers. The gate agents had the boarding process fully under control which was brisk and orderly. An earlier start to the boarding process will be more comfortable for passengers who just want to get settled in rather than stand around at the gate area. Cabin crew was on hand to welcome passengers on board and were present throughout the cabins during boarding. The cabin was clean and bright. It was nice having seats of 2 to 3 different colours randomly scattered throughout the economy cabin making it vibrant. The cabin crew first came round with a packet of snacks followed by a drinks service and then a meal service. 2 options are available for the main meal. I opted for the curry snapper which was good. At the end of the meal service, Chinese tea and green tea were served together with tea/coffee. It is always a treat to fly with THAI as it has consistently provided excellent F&B and a delightfully warm inflight service.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shanghai
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"would recommend to fly Thai Airways"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Milan to Bangkok on the A350. Thai Airways is my choice of airline, the best airline. Safe wonderful service, it has been a memorable magic experience, silent cabin, comfortable seat, fast wifi, amazing inflight entertainment. Great value for money, extremely genuine professionals cabin crew, people makes the difference! Food was delicious. I would recommend to fly Thai Airways.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes