Top 100 Airports  

Thai Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 498 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"cabin service was mixed"

(Australia)

Flew from Bangkok to Copenhagen. The aircraft on this route was excellent, with what seems to be a freshly updated cabin with lighter tones than previously experienced, giving a feel of space. The seating layout is perfect, with all seats having aisle access. For couples, every second row of middle seats are together. Seats are completely lie flat and good room and width. The seat controls are among the best I have seen, and are built into the table next to the seat, so close to operate, and far enough away not to knock while asleep. Food was an improvement over previous experiences on Thai, but not brilliant. Cabin service was mixed - the head steward introduced himself individually to all passengers which was a nice touch. Very high quality product, up against stiff competition in that part of the world.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to CPH
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"more recline than other airlines"

(Germany)

First time on Thai Airways from Frankfurt to Bangkok and vv on a business trip to Asia. Check-in in Frankfurt was fast and friendly. Boarding could be more efficient would they really enforce the boarding by rows. Inflight service came fast. They offered to refill the drinks 4 times. For each sector of the coach cabin they have a seperate cabin crew serving the sector. So after 1hour 15minutes after take off the trays were cleared. Some other airlines did not start service until than. Seat is comfortable with enough width (I am 186cm tall) and more recline than other airlines. The inflight entertainment could offer more German videos on this route perhaps too much for the Asian taste. Breakfast was also served very fast. After some waiting time at immigration in Thailand the bags were on the belt. In general nothing to complain. Almost same experience on the way back so I would certainly recommend this airline to South East Asia. Would also mention that both flight departed on time. The return flight arrived 15 min early in Frankfurt.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFRA to BKK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"inflight service was top"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Thai Airways from Munich to Bangkok, and was fully booked. The inflight service was top. Flight started on time and arrived 40 min early. Bangkok to Phuket was on an aging Boeing 777, but seats were very comfortable and spacious. Service top again. Return from Phuket to Bangkok was on a brand new Boeing 777-300 ER. Top service and ontime performance again, and from Bangkok to Munich on a Boeing 747-400 arrived 20 min early.
AircraftBoeing 747-400 / 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMUC to HKT via BKK
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"warning to my fellow passengers"

(France)

I had booked and paid tickets on Thai Airways to fly from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and the reservation did show the TG letters in front of the flight number. Being a Star Alliance Gold card when I checked in at the business counter I was refused the 20kg additional luggage allowance we are entitled to. And also told the flight would not give mileage. Explanation: this is a Thai Smiles filght, the supposedly low cost airline subsidiary of Thai. This is totally dishonest as this subsidiary of TG has as two letter code WE. I have flown on many low cost subsidiaries of major airlines, but all are coded under different 2 letters. So warning to my fellow passengers.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to CNX
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"inflight service was very disappointing"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Tokyo Narita. I reached the airport a bit early and the First class check in counters were not open as apparently they open up only after the lounge opens at 5.10 am. Anyway the staff were nice and check in was done in the First class area while the staff offered us cold towels and water. You have a separate area for security and immigration for premium passengers and we were taken to our lounge on a buggy! The lounge staff greeted us in typical Thai hospitality and offered a selection of breakfast items from an i-pad menu. We also had one hour free usage of spa services which was excellent. the flight was slightly delayed and the pilot kept us informed. However the inflight service was very disappointing for First Class. A very limited menu for a 6 hour flight and they ran out of choices very soon. Something which should not happen in First really. Crew were ever so gracious but that does not serve it purpose really. Seats are comfortable and the amenity bag was very good. Toilet was spacious and well maintained and they offered free WiFi cards for usage of 20 mb. If only the catering could have been of a higher level then this flight would have been exemplary.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteBKK to NRT
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a great experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Bangkok return with Thai Airways. I had 2 great flights. The departures were on time, and IFE was quite impressive. As an aviation enthusiast, the A380 includes a tail camera and Thai lets passengers watch this camera on their own screen. The seats and cabin was very clean, all the items where in the seat pouch along with the Thai magazine. I reclined my seat and stayed asleep from the edge of Thailand till we entered Russian airspace. This meant that the cabin crew did not wake or disturb anyone, and the seats were very comfortable. The IFE movies were an OK selection. The IFE map was also standard. The food on the way to Thailand was tasty, I had chicken with fried rice, it was excellent! I tried a fruit platter on the way home and the fruit was a little dry however, but the croissant made up for it. Overall, I would really recommend Thai airways (especially on A380 routes) for long haul flights. I am yet to try the short haul with Thai. Thank you for a great experience!
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to LHR
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"the crew were extremely nice"

(United Arab Emirates)

Verified Review | Osaka to Bangkok was my first time flying in First Class on Thai Airways and it was quite disappointing. The lounge in Osaka Kansai is really bad and has nothing to offer except for good view of the tarmac. The A380 seats were worn out, but the saving grace were the crew who were extremely nice. What surprised me most was that the menu of Business class was better than the one in First from every aspect. The toilet of the A380 is extremely spacious and well kept. Upon arrival we were treated to an additional perk of being met airside and taken in a buggy to the immigration where we were escorted through a separate fats lane. At that busy hour with horrendous queues at immigration this made a huge difference really.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteKIX to BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"fairly good value for money"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Good service on board, comfortable seats. Food was excellent (dinner) from Paris, starters, salmon with a nice hollandaise, desert, everything was excellent. I would not say the same about my food experience on my way to Paris from Bangkok. It tasted like low cost economy class food at best. Breakfast was particularly bad, never had such bad "scrambled eggs" in my life, dry, tasteless, obviously made from processed eggs. Coffee on Thai is not to my taste at all. This time I skipped breakfast. This being said, when bought at a competitive price, Thai is fairly good value for money on their new fleet of 777 and 380.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCDG to BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"cabin crew were excellent"

(India)

Verified Review | Auckland to Calcutta via Bangkok with Thai Airways. AKL to BKK flight was around 12hours, food, cabin crew were excellent. Again the entertainment system was a big miss, the plane was old but clean and in excellent condition. Flight on time. Flights from Bangkok onwards to India can be a bit chaotic, maybe its a cultural thing, right from boarding to the chaos inside the plane. I feel for the cabin crews.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to CCU via BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"excellent flight with Thai"

(India)

Verified Review | Calcutta to Auckland via Bangkok. Another excellent flight with Thai, ordered low sodium meal this time which was great on both flights, cabin crews were friendly and smiling, entertainment system is one area they need to work on, small screen, limited movies/tv shows, both flights were late by around half an hour which i guess i alright, i checked online and book the second last row, and fortunately I had the whole rows to myself on both flights! Lots of water/juice rounds, light refreshments / drinks at the galley as well. Would definitely fly them again. Their planes look old?
AircraftBoeing 777-200 / 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCCU to AKL via BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes