Thai Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 653 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"experience very satisfactory"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Auckland via Bangkok. Thai Airways had the best price on this long route with a short stop over in BKK was happy to choose this, and the experience has been very satisfactory. A380 was very well maintained, 1x2x1 flat bed very impressive. Cabin crew are smiling and helpful. Enjoyed their food and AVOD very much. Later on, from BKK we flew on a B777-300 with also the new 1x2x1 flat bed, a full flight, but service did not suffer. It was still the same good service with a very good selection of 4 main courses (available for longer route) for dinner, plus desserts etc. Crew are present throughout the night flight with drinks and snacks etc. Managed a few hours of sleep and woke up to a delicious breakfast. Arrived on time and overall, very satisfied with my choice. Definitely value for money there.
AircraftA380 / Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Auckland via Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"A350 a great experience"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Milan to Melbourne via Bangkok. Flying on the A350 was a great experience: Cabin extremely quiet, comfortable seats and very large IFE seatback screens. Excellent range of latest release movies and tv shows. Reclining the seat causes the seat to slide forward, which slightly reduces legroom. Personally I like this, as it means reclining doesn't trouble the person behind. Meals were ok, though not wonderful. The child meal we booked for our daughter (for both sectors) was delivered on the MXP-BKK sector but wasn't loaded on the BKK-MEL sector. Cabin crew on the A350 or at least the one crew member looking after our seat (33A-C) didn't smile once in the 10+ hours on board. She was quite abrupt at times during meal service, which is disappointing and very uncharacteristic for Thai crew. The crew on the second sector were much nicer. Friendly and professional at all times. TG 461 BKK-MEL was a 777. Noisier than the A350 with smaller IFE screens which had much less clarity. The 777 seats are comfortable, though the legroom wasn't as good as the A350. Again, the food was ok though not as good as Thai flights a couple of years ago. Overall a reasonable experience with both flights on-time.
AircraftA350 / Boeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Melbourne via Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a very good experience"

(India)

Verified Review | Delhi to Phuket return, via Bangkok. Awesome experience with food, IFE and staff. Whilst coming back the IFE froze but the cabin crew were so nice and changed our seats to premium economy, that all in all it was a very good experience. Although this airline has a smaller share than others, if they can uphold the same standards they will surpass other airlines.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Phuket via Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Warm enduring service"

(India)

Verified Review | Delhi to Beijing via Bangkok. Warm enduring service is what I really enjoyed on Thai. The cabin crew in business class are excellent and have tremendous experience; even offering light meal or drink options if you are not hungry! I love that Thai serves iced tea - they have a great sour iced tea as well. While the food was not anything to write home about, the service is from the heart. I was surprised they did not have chocolate on board. The hard product differed on each aircraft with the uncomfortable recliner seats on the Delhi-Bangkok-Delhi sector and a much better 1-2-1 lie-flat seat (still tight) on the Beijing sector. IFE was absent on the Delhi-Bangkok leg and there was a limited selection on other routes flown. Seats seemed worn out and tired. The loos were clean and fragrant with L'occitane amenities. Amenity kits were given out on all flights; again different ones on both sectors. Ground service is near absent - priority bags came last and as a business class passenger there are no priority benefits. Would recommend, although the Bangkok airport is a near nightmare during early morning transits due to insane line-ups, even if you are in J class!
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to Beijing via Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flight was smooth and really quiet"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Bangkok. I booked this ticket specially to get a ride on the new A350 on my way to Bangkok. The flight was smooth and really quiet. The crew members are polite and very efficient, served a hot wrap, a bottle of water and coffee in such a short flight. Only issue is that the flight was delayed for about 40 minutes and no explanation was given. Also when flying domestic on this wide body jets expect remote parking and being bused to the terminal which in my case today added another 20 minutes to the delay. Despite the delay the rest was really good.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very friendly and efficient staff"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Auckland to Milan via Bangkok. Both flights went smoothly without problems, great service and food with Thai smile. I choose Western food out of Auckland and Thai food out of Bangkok and was not disappointed. Instead the AB350 we had an old Boeing 747 from Bangkok to Auckland, and luckily I got a seat in the First compartment, their seat and especially flat bed were much better then the new seat on the A350. The big difference to carriers from the Middle East is the staff: one feels like home in Thailand, with very friendly and efficient staff with a Thai smile. In transit in Bangkok Airport I took a free massage (neck and shoulders for 30 minutes) which is free for business travellers at the Thai Spa, and was a very good refreshing experience.
AircraftBoeing 777 / 747
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Milan via Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Both flights went smoothly"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Milan to Auckland via Bangkok. Smooth travel with great Thai smile. Both flights went smoothly, the food was excellent with choices of Western or Thai food. I choose Thai food from Milan to Bangkok and Western food from Bangkok to Auckland, which was a mistake: I recommend to choose Thai food out of Bangkok and western food out of non Asia destinations. The Italian food served looked better then the Thai food out of Milan. The A350 is the latest aircraft of Thai and amazingly the seats on the newest aircraft of Thai are less comfortable then on the old B777; especially the flat bed on the A350 is less comfortable, has less space (length!) then ones on the B777. Everything on the A350 (including washrooms) looked smaller than the B777.
AircraftA350 / Boeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMilan to Auckland via Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Seat was not clean"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Tokyo, the plane interior, cabin crew and food seem to be a huge downgrade now. Seat was not clean, still have some rubbish in the seat pouch. Crew could be more polite. Food was awful and didn't give much choice for beverage.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Tokyo
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Thai Airways left my luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Bali via Bangkok. Thai Airways left my luggage on the way to my destination. They said it would be on the next flight. After persistent emails the only places I could get responses out of were the Bali airport luggage department and their twitter account. Both of which consistently knew nothing and send me away to contact other departments and email addresses. 6 days later they found a bag that matches mine. Upon confirmation it was clear the bag never left England. As I was no longer in Bali I requested the bag to not leave the country and be sent to a home address as sending it to Bali would cause it to be further lost. The next day I get an email saying "good news" we're sending it to Bali right now. To which I got a boat back and two hour drive, plus a hotel to get to the airport to find they decided to put it on the next one. Eventually I got the bag 16 hrs before my flight back to the UK. The whole thing cost me a fortune and I was one of several people this happened to on the flight. Further to this the flight was pretty poor with meal choices that ran out.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bali via Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"IFE of poor quality"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Hong Kong. As evidenced by the last 3 of 4 international departures with Thai Airways from Bangkok, they seem to more frequently be parking their aircraft at a remote location and then busing passengers which is a headache and not a comfortable start to the trip. The aircraft was old and worn with IFE of poor quality. The inflight meal this time was quite bland and poorly presented. With the flight half full, a little more effort could have been put into attentive inflight service.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes