Top 100 Airlines  

Thai Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 508 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"biggest disappointment was the food"

(Thailand)

What has happened to the excellent Thai Airways service and food? I was excited to be using a Dreamliner for the first time flying from Bangkok to Brisbane. I was very impressed with the quietness in the cabin, the seating and the tricky window tinting. I was also looking forward to some good Thai Airways service and food after using budget airlines on this route for a couple of years. I realize that cabin staff can have a bad day and the crew were efficient but it wasn't what I remember Thai airways service to be. But my biggest disappointment was the food.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to BNE
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"needs to upgrade aircraft"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Colombo to Sydney via Bangkok. Departure from Colombo was ontime, soon after take off I managed to sleep for about an hour before dinner was served. An indian chicken curry with rice and vegies accompanied by a coffee mousse cake and tea/coffee, didn't really like the chicken but it was ok, seat was comfortable and crew were attentive. Bangkok to Sydney on an old Boeing 747, push back was 45 mins delayed due to air traffic control. Peanuts and drinks served soon after take off. I had ordered a Muslim meal which consisted an indian style chicken kafta in sauce with rice pilaf, prawn and asparagus salad, dessert was a fruit truffle accompanied by tea and coffee. Dinner wasn't too bad but could be better. Breakfast was served an hour before arrival which had the standard scrambled eggs, tomato, mushrooms, croissant, jam/ butter, fruit yogurt, juice and tea/coffee. Seats on the Boeing 747 aren't very comfortable. I couldn't sleep. Entertainment was ok. Thai Airways needs to upgrade aircraft on the Sydney route to an A380.
AircraftA330-300 / Boeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCMB to SYD via BKK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"can only recommend Thai Airways"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Milan. Thai Smile and great Thai Food! On the last leg of my travel to Australia a had the old 747 Jumbo, travelled in Upper Deck. In this 747 configuration the space for hand luggage was very limited, but the crew was aware of that and helped every one in a very efficient way to store the luggage and all with a Thai Smile and efficiently. This crew made all the difference to my previous 3 flight experiences on my way to Australia and back to Europe. All crew members, but especially the crew director on the Upper Deck, did the Extra Mile for every passenger and always with a great and genuine Thai Smile. Even the seat was not so uncomfortable anymore. And the Thai Food was one of the best I had on a plane: beautifully presented, fresh and hot when it was supposed to be hot (in temperature and taste). Based on this flight experience one can only recommend Thai Airways for future travel.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to MXP
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"disappointing seating"

(Switzerland)

Verified Review | Milan to Brisbane via Bangkok. First leg on old Boeing 747 in upper deck: a lot of space, quite and good storage room; the bathroom small but always clean. Food was pre-ordered and was very disappointing: half cold, overcooked and pretty bad presentation. The crew was not efficient, not friendly but rather arrogant - not the famous Thai Smile. The seats were old, not comfortable and no flat bed. Entertainment was pretty basic, not Business Class Standard in 2016. Second Leg from Bangkok to Brisbane in new Boeing 787. Very disappointing seating for a new aircraft with a 2:2:2 configuration in a row, so no free aisle access from the window. The seat was more comfortable then the old Boeing 747 and provided a flat bed. Food and service as on the first leg was very disappointing.
AircraftBoeing 747 / 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMXP to BNE via BKK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"seat not very comfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Sydney to Chennai via Bangkok. Boarding was very efficient, push back on time. Drinks and roasted nuts were served soon after take off, lunch was served about an hour after take off. Had a red chicken curry with rice or grilled fish with potatoes and vegies. I went for the chicken which was tasty. The orange cake dessert was a small piece of very dry cake. The second serving was stir fried noodles with chicken and vegies with an anzac cookies. It was good. The crew were friendly and offered water and drinks throught the flight. Seat was not very comfortable, very cramped, Thai Airways should upgrade this route to a A380 or an A350. Entertainment wasn't too bad but could be better.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to MAA via BKK
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"give 5 stars for service"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I sat on the upper deck area which has less seats there and was very confy. Crew were very friendly to serve us all the time, They gave us extra food such as lemon tea, temborine tea. Before landing they served us a sandwich and softdrink. I would like to give 5 stars for service.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to CDG
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"poor Thai Airways experience"

(United States)

Verified Review | This past year a friend and I booked travel on Thai Airways to get from Phnom Penh to Luang Prabang via Bangkok. Although we could have saved money by taking the same route on Bangkok Airways, we chose Thai for its reputation and service record. A few months after we booked our tickets, Thai discontinued their flights from Bangkok to Luang Prabang, our destination. Yet remarkably, although the airline reached us easily via email and had all our contact numbers upon our initial purchase, no one from the airline contacted us when the flight from BKK to LPQ was discontinued. When we checked in at the airport in Phnom Penh for the first leg of our trip (TG 581), and we asked for boarding passes through to LPQ, both the check-in agent and her manager simply shrugged and said they were "not available.” Arriving into BKK and looking for the now-disappeared TG 576, we were grateful to be handled by an admirably competent Transfer Desk Agent who spent half an hour rebooking us onto a later Bangkok Airways flight. She was the only bright light in an otherwise poor Thai Airways experience. We arrived late into LPG and poorer for having overspent on tickets with an airline that wasn't concerned about honoring them by keeping us informed. Multiple emails to Thai Airways over the past three months, asking for a refund in the difference in fares, or maybe just a basic apology for a remarkable oversight, have gone unanswered.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePNH to LPQ via BKK
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"never been more happy in economy"

(Thailand)

Bangkok to Tokyo Haneda. Flew Thai Airways instead of taking a flight in business class with a connection because of my schedule requirement. Took the risk of flying economy class. Instead, I have never been more happy in economy before. At check in, the staff was nice and fast but seemed inexperienced. But that's just a small problem in an amazing flight. I reserved a seat during check in which was a window seat with my mum, but I found out there was no window and immediately complained to the purser who sorted out the problem as soon as the flight was boarded. The seat was really comfortable seats with a PTV and footrests. The 34' legroom is excellent, no need for an exit row. The plane was delayed due to a door fault, but the purser kept us informed. The food was plentiful, and above expectations, but was only served one meal and several drink rounds. Instead of having to call a flight attendant for a drink, I was awake so she was able to spot me and asked me what drink I wanted. I enjoyed every moment of this flight. Attentive crew doing drink rounds every half hour, and a comfortable (enough) flight. Much above expectations. However, my mum's bag arrived when the business class bags arrived, but my bag arrived almost twenty minutes later! Still, doesn't bother me that much. If you want to fly cheap and still get good service, fly Thai. All the flight attendants were professional. I will try Thai's business class in the future when I get enough miles to upgrade.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to HND
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"one of the flight attendants not friendly"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Seoul. I have flown Thai Airways numerous times over the last 4 years. They have had nothing but my respect for the quality of service provided, friendliness and excellent flying experience. On this past trip I flew with them from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and then Chiang Mai to Bangkok and on to Seoul. On August 26 the flight was delayed leaving Chiang Mai by 10 minutes. The connection time in Bangkok was only scheduled to be 1 hour which made the connection tight and tighter with the delay. Upon arriving in Bangkok there was a line up for transit security however it moved along fairly well. Because of the delay I boarded with everyone else and that was no a problem for me. As I was seated one of the flight attendants was clearly not amused or friendly that I had not been seated before. That Thai friendliness and welcome was not there. A few minutes later as we were taxing for take off the youngest of the flight attendants in business aggressively and rudely barged in to the space in front of my seat and grabbed pillows and rudely announced that they were going in the overhead bin. I have never experienced such rudeness from one of the Thai flight attendants before. This same flight attendant repeated her performance prior to landing in Seoul. I coupled that with the lack of welcome and friendliness upon being seated and it was not the greatest of experiences with Thai this time on that flight. If they were not pleased with the tight connection and my inability to be earlier to my seat, then they should take that up with their airline and not blame me. As for the other flight attendant with the rudeness, she needs to be more familiar with appropriate etiquette. The quality of food, cleanliness of the aircraft were of the same very high quality that I have come to know and appreciate with Thai. Hopefully those 2 flight attendants will not be on my next flight. I can only give a 6 on this rating because of those two persons.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to ICN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I would entirely recommend Thai Airways "

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We were excited to know that we would be flying on Thai Airways A380 from London to Bangkok in July 2016. Boarding was organised very well at LHR and once onboard, staff were friendly, attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The aircraft was clean and presentable. Service was great, food was enjoyable and drinks were offered regularly. After an enjoyable 12 hour flight, we stopped in Bangkok where we waited for our connecting flight to Phuket. We boarded an old B777, the aircraft was dirty and needed a good deep clean. The flight was only 1 hour, and the crew did a good job serving everyone a snack and a few drinks before clearing away rubbish within the one hour flight. So far, a good experience with Thai Airways. On our return flight to LHR, we boarded a cleaner A330 aircraft to Bangkok. The crew on this part of our journey back home weren't so friendly, having been cabin crew myself for many years I believe it's important to be friendly and approachable when working in a customer service role. Boarding the A380 at Bangkok for our return flight to LHR was a pleasant experience, we were upgraded to emergency exit seats at check in due to my partner being 6ft 6 which was very nice of the agent. I was flabbergasted to find that the crew moved a family of six which included three young children under 5 into the emergency exit seats next to us, who were nothing but disturbing for at least 6 hours of the flight home. The adults could not control their young children! This family even had the cheek to moan about the cabin crew, who may have been slightly miserable but were still working hard to serve everyone as quick as possible. Many people were disturbed by this family, and I was disappointed as they could have moved this family elsewhere into other empty seats towards the rear, other airlines do not allow under 16s into exit seats due to emergency reasons so I was extremely surprised to learn Thai Airways have different rules. Other than the disturbances, I would entirely recommend Thai Airways especially if you will be flying on their amazing A380!
AircraftA380 / A330 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLHR to HKT via BKK
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes