top100_2016  

Swiss Intl Air Lines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 429 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"whole flight an enjoyable affair"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Zurich to Boston with Swiss. As I had a short connection in Zurich, I was one of the last passengers boarding the plane. However, as I was warmly welcomed by the crew and seated with a glass of champagne, I started feeling very comfortable again. The meals and the selection of beverages were very good but not excellent. Due to a private but very small screen and a seemingly outdated control panel it has to be stated that Swiss´s entertainment system could not be considered as top-notch. The cabin crew, nonetheless, showed a caring attiude during the entire journey. Furthermore, the well designed interior made the whole flight an enjoyable affair.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZRH to BOS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"business class not worth the money"

(Australia)

B✅ Verified Review | Bangkok to London via Zurich. We traveled Business class and experienced poor (no) service in Bangkok for transit customers, the airline also did not accommodate our baby with a bassinet on either leg - even though they promote being family friendly and an infant ticket was booked and paid for. The first leg from Sydney-Bangkok was Thai (a bassinet was provided on this flight). We had a long transit (18 hours) and Swiss do not arrange transit accommodation in Bangkok or lounge access, their office opens three hours before the flight and you need a boarding pass to enter the lounge, so you are 'on your own' with no baggage, no lounge access and need to arrange your own hotel and visa. (my wife needed to pay for visa on arrival) - this was very inconvenient and traumatic for us at the last minute with a small baby and the Thai staff (there were no Swiss staff) said 'talk to Swiss tomorrow'. On both Swiss legs the airline failed to give a bassinet for our two month old baby so we had to nurse him for 14 hours of flights in total. The crew of the first flight tried their best to help and messaged Zurich to ensure the second flight would have a bassinet but there was still no bassinet for that flight. Our baby's ticket was almost USD$1000 so we expected something for the money spent. Very disappointing, though the crew tried, clearly the systems don't work - based on advice from the crew they have a new system or someone possibly unilaterally decided it was not required. To add insult to injury we were unable to get our choice of meal on the longer flights and were advised that priority meals was given to frequent flyers and that even though we had been through an awful experience 'its our policy' We have contacted contacted customer service but received no response for three weeks and counting. Swiss airlines business class is not worth the money and is disrespectful of the Australian market by promoting business class fares and having no staff in the transit airports to even allow lounge access for long transits.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to LHR via XZRH
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was friendly"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Swiss Intl Air Lines flight from Luxembourg via Zurich to Hong Kong. First leg to Zurich with Avro RJ 100, I was the only business class passenger. Good and friendly service, a bit tight seating but this is just one hour flight and I am taller than average (1,85). New lounge in Zurich is very nice, not at the level of Turkish Airlines in Istanbul or Air France in Charles de Gaulle, but not bad at all. Second leg with the new Swiss flagship Boeing 777-300 ER - great seats with lot of storage space however the entrance to the seat is tight (your legs go into the well under the table of the seats in front of you making it a bit of coffin experience once you convert the seat into the bed). Nice high resolution screen with good selection of films. I've had a great sleep, food was good and service was friendly. Overall a very positive experience that I would gladly repeat.
AircraftAvro RJ 100 and Boeing 777-300 ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLUX to HKG via ZRH
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"nothing was offered"

(Switzerland)

What was to be a 6am departure to London allowing a full day of scheduled meetings turned into a disaster. We boarded the aircraft, quite spacious in a way for a RJ, a few gate staff were in talking to the pilot. An announcement was made that there may be a navigational issue so the mechanic will be coming to take a look and should put departure back by 30 minutes. That time came and went, cabin crew gave out swiss chocolate, engineer looked baffled. The pilot came over the speaker (we were all expecting a small further delay) and said "Ladies and Gentlement this flight is cancelled". All gold (luckily I was) must wait at the gate for a rebooking but all economy must go back into the terminal building. Next available flight was 6 hours later, which I just managed to be put on. Everyone else had to wait until 8pm for another flight. Nothing was offered, no one really had any concern for the passengers. Normally Swiss is a very good airline.
AircraftRJ/BAE 146
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGVA to LCY
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not professional at all"

(Slovenia)

Verified Review | Flight from Zurich to Lisbon delayed for two hours. They started to announce a short delay and just prolong it each time for an additional 15 minutes. Not professional at all, including chaotic boarding. The aircraft new, cabin bright and clean, however the seating is worse than in the dense seating low cost configurations. Toilets at the back of the aircraft are even smaller than in the smallest regional aircrafts. Everything – from seating to catering – is getting smaller and smaller. One of the worst European flight experiences ever.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to LIS
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"modern, enjoyable experience"

(Canada)

Dar Es Salaam to Chicago via Zurich. I found these Swiss flights to be a very modern, enjoyable experience. The food is pretty good, crew members are pleasant, selection of inflight games is probably better than any other airline I've flown with and the movie and show selection is good as well.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDAR to ORD via ZRH
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"airline simply offered a travel voucher"

(France)

Verified Review | Flew Swiss Intl Air Lines from Zurich to Paris. I was boarding the gate at the Zurich Airport when I was asked to step aside to have my cabin bag checked and weighed. They had earlier made the announcement that some passengers might be required to check in their cabin bags because the flight was full. I complied with the request, asking only to remove a few items I deemed too important to be checked-in. The ladies handling my check-in were however rather rude. Without even weighing my cabin bag, they had determined that it was overweight and proceeded to charge me overweight baggage fees. Though I was not happy with it, I complied and handed over my credit card for the payment to be made. However, while I was awaiting the transaction to be made, I noticed that many passengers with cabin bags of similar size and shape, or even larger, were allowed to pass without any delays. Baffled, I asked the lady processing the transaction on my card how did they determine which passengers to stop and check. She, however, chose to ignore me. So I posed the question to the gentlemen who first asked me to step aside. He quickly replied, volume and weight. But when I pointed out that my baggage was in fact, never weighed, he looked shocked and deferred to his colleague who had earlier ignored me. I did not press the matter further then, as I knew I would not be able to get a straight answer from them. Instead, I emailed the airlines directly to clarify this matter about a week later. I raised the same question to them, and in addition, asked if it was right for the ground crew to charge me overweight fees without weighing my bag. However, the airline simply offered me a travel voucher without answering any of my questions. So in spite of the travel voucher, I have decided never to travel with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZRH to CDG
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a no-go several hours prior"

(Bulgaria)

Flight from Heathrow to Zurich suddenly showed as "canceled" on the monitors approximately 15 minutes prior to the expected take-off departure time. Ground staff at the transfer desk then admitted that actually, the aircraft had never even left Switzerland so they already knew this flight would be a no-go several hours prior. All in all, ground staff were useless. Will not be choosing Swiss Intl Air Lines again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to ZRH
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"best of the best'"

(China)

Verified Review | Flew Zurich to Hong Kong with Swiss. Simply the best Business Class seat I have ever had: and I have had business class experience with more than 10 airlines on long haul flights. The B777 wide body cabin is configured only 5 seats across (1x2x2), comparing with others of 6 across (and BA even 8 across). The beauty was that I had the window single seat, and it was really 'the best of the best', with much storage spaces (well-designed, unbelievably some 5 drawers), even two real-sized 'tables' on both side of seat. The configuration is really innovative and genius. The flat bed was smoothly flattened out without bumps. Lighting control was well designed. Meal service was excellent, with main course supposedly designed by a Michelin 1-star chef, and good choice of items. But it is the overall, innovative design of this aircraft that really wins my heart, to rate it one of the very best for Business class travel. Excellent cabin service too, and it was a 5-star flight and a pleasant surprise.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteZRH to HKG
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"this was faultless"

(China)

Verified Review | A pleasant short haul flight with Swiss Intl Air Lines from Berlin to Zurich. Used Lufthansa lounge before flight and it was a good lounge. Good service with tasteful salmon item and choice of beverage, even green tea is available. On time flight, seat was comfortable. A short flight, this was faultless.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTXK to ZRH
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes