Vote Airport  

Sunwing Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 449 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"plane was cramped"

(United States)

We had a delay of 5-6 hrs flying from Lansing MI to Cancun, Mexico. First told due to weather by Sunwing Airlines and later told it was a mechanical issue (flat tyre). I don't appreciate being lied to and there was nothing given to us to accommodate for their mechanical failure other than a $15 credit at the airport stack bar - that's what my time is worth? The plane was cramped with little leg space. Did we get complimentary drinks or food on the plane to minimize the disruption and inconvenience on our vacation (we arrived a day late at our resort that we had paid for)? Nope. We heard similar stories from Canadians we met while in Mexico about Sunwing. On the return flight home, a Sunwing representive wanted to know if we wanted a little more leg room, "while sure I said" thinking maybe they dusted off the customer service manual in hiding. The answer back was for $20 I could get more leg room. I thought wow you just cost me a day of my vacation and you want to charge me $20 for more leg room.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAN to CUN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"nice meal, seating and service"

(Canada)

Toronto to Vancouver with Sunwing and it was what I expected from a charter airline. Nice meal, seating and service by flight attendants. It was first scheduled for a depart at 20:00, then delayed too 22:00. We left YYZ at 2:30. Other than that it was good.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to YVR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"get absolutely nothing extra"

(Canada)

Flew "Elite Plus" from Regina to Punta Cana which means you pay a premium to receive perks, airport preferred check in, more leg room etc. I will start by saying that this is simply a means of generating revenues and that you get absolutely nothing extra with the exception of the seat which we had chosen in advance. When we got to the airport to check in we found a slight few standing in the preferred check in area, we took our positions next in line. There was but one agent checking our line in, 5 or 6 were tending to the other travelers. Although we were 3rd in our line it took 1 hour to reach the counter. All regular passengers in economy had been checked in while the "Elite" were left to wait. When we questioned the agent we were given little satisfaction, we asked to speak with the supervisor who gave us no explanations, no understanding, her words were "what do you want me to do?". We were slightly delayed, nothing serious and the aircraft did make up the time but when we got to the airport and after standing in line for almost 2 hours we found ourselves at the Sunwing counter looking for our private transfers. When we booked our package we were sold "private transfers" so as to avoid the long bus rides and cramped quarters. We paid yet another premium for this service but as luck would have it, no one was standing holding up the sign with our names on it. We stood at the Sunwing counter for yet another 1/2 hour only to be told "there is nothing in the system" we provided the documents as proof but it made no difference. We then had to find our way to our hotel independently, taxi fare was another expense (not to mention the experience). We have spent the entire week here trying to find our way back to the airport but Sunwing continues to say "nothing in the system" this is a terrible experience and one that we will never forget. Here's hoping we make it home.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYQR to PUJ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"prompt courteous service"

(Canada)

Toronto to Los Cabos with Sunwing - prompt courteous service. Flights were direct and left on time. Food was good. Second time we used Sunwing vacations. This trip was far better. First one was to Panama. The hotel was lovely but not really all inclusive. Hotel Riu Santa in Los Cabos this trip was absolutely amazing.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYYZ to SJD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flights both changed"

(Canada)

Worst experience - we booked direct flights from Toronto to Orlando with Sunwing and both were changed. Once to deliver other passangers and now in the airport as I write this our flight has been altered to go to Mexico first (from Orlando) to deliver a spare part for another aircraft before returning to Toronto. No compensation at all. Not happy and will never use Sunwing again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to MCO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"crew kept misleading the passengers"

(Canada)

Terrible airline with multiple delays on both routes from Toronto to Cancun. Crew kept misleading the passengers about the reasons of the delay, missed a full day of a vacation due to the 7 hour delay and the airline offered no compensation whatsoever. This delay included many passengers who had paid extra to book the earlier flight that ended up arriving after ours, some people with a family of 4 lost up to $600. Many families with children were offered no compensation and we were all left waiting at the airport with nothing but a $15 voucher. Some of the crew flying as passengers were heard making rude comments about the frustrated families trying to get to their destination. Sunwing can count on the majority of this people not flying with them ever again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Cancun
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"2D a terrible seat choice"

(Canada)

Traveled from Jan.19/16-26/16 from Regina to Santa Maria Cuba. We booked our flight specifically because it was direct. 2 weeks prior to departure we were notified by our travel agent that the return flight was not direct, but did not indicate where we were stopping. Our flight left Regina as scheduled and was ok. Although I should mention we booked and paid for Elite Plus seats as soon as we booked our trip in August. Knowing the seats are extremely close together on Sunwing planes. We had 2D/E/F and 3D for both flights. A side comment is that seat 2D is a terrible seat choice as people congregate in aisle waiting for bathroom and stewardess are back and forth doing their duties squishing into your aisle/seat constantly. On the return, we had reserved seats with our Sunwing rep to use VIP lounge in airport for 25$ a person - a comfy lounge, but terrible food. Once onboard the plane we soon realized that our prepaid reserved seats were occupied! Stewardesses said they would find us a different seat! Well problem was plane was continuing on to Cao Coco, Cuba where 30 plus people were getting off. Anyhow this involved much shuffling and rudeness from flight attendants. Finally we left for Cao Coco and once airborne aircraft cooled off. About a 20 min flight and back to no air circulation and once again a refuelling process (strangest thing as we had just fueled 20 min prior). We were not allowed to deplane and again sat there for 30-45 mins. No air circulation and diesel fumes pouring in to plane. Keep in mind we were in row 2 right by door so had a wee bit of air flow - the back of the plane must have really been suffering! In Cao Coco we also had a crew change and ended up with a much more pleasant crew.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYQR to SNU
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff were terse and unapologetic"

(United States)

Flyer beware. A six hour delay for no logical reason, coupled with sub par service, which you'll see is typical if not commonplace for Sunwing if you read any of the other reviews here. Our flight from Lansing, MI to Cancun, Mexico was originally set to leave at 2.45pm, which we then found out had been pushed to 3.45pm, and finally 8.30pm. By the time we finally took off it was well after 9.00. We lost nearly an entire day of our vacation, with no compensation being offered whatsoever. The reason? Apparently, our original plane got a flat tyre in Cancun. Their response was to send a different plane already in Cancun to Canada to pick up the necessary equipment to repair it, delaying the passengers waiting to depart from Cancun in the process. With the new tyre in tow, they then flew from Canada to Michigan in order to pick us up, so they could then fly to Cancun, repair the plane, and finally pick up the waiting passengers there. Once on the flight, they tried to sell us nearly everything, from a simple meal to headphones for the inflight entertainment. Being charged for alcoholic beverages on a flight is normal, but $7.00 USD for a sandwich? Absurd. The seats were small and cramped, with barely enough room for your legs let alone any carry-on bags. The staff were terse and unapologetic. In short, it was an awful way to start a vacation, and I can't fathom why they would have chosen to react to such a relatively small repair in the manner they did. My guess is that it allowed them to save a minuscule amount of money. Reading reviews, it's common for Sunwing to consistently run delays of 4 hours or more, and they don't seem to care about it. Our return flight to the states leaves tomorrow and I am absolutely dreading. I should note that I didn't choose Sunwing airlines. The flight was booked through a travel agency, which is where Sunwing says we need to take any and all complaints, despite them having no control over the situation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAN to CUN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"staff were rude"

(Canada)

Calgary to Punta Cana with Sunwing - although the price was right for our vacation the staff were rude. It was almost as though the passengers were a hassle. I pride myself in good customer service and these staff could sure use a refresher course. It makes me sad because even though we paid a bit less than flying Air Transat etc I don't think we should have to compromise customer service on flights.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYC to PUJ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service consisted of constant sales pitches"

(Canada)

Flight delays with no explanations, terse service and horrible food. Flight to Cancun from Edmonton, Alberta was delayed by 2 hours. Not once did the staff announce details of the delays or apologize for them. We were simply left in the dark. Finally when the flight was boarding we were told there had been a family emergency causing the delay while we waited for additional crew. Why not tell us sooner? Food was horrible - a disgustingly buttery pastry filled with a tablespoon of scrambled eggs. Service consisted of constant sales pitches to buy duty free products and excursions. Regular service for beverages and food was terse and sparse. Return flight was delayed by 5 hours. Again we were told nothing about the delay until the flight was boarding. They claimed it was due to a flat tyre. Service on the return flight was polite, but the cart came only once. The food was again terrible. We were told it was not the usual caterer. Frankly, that does not excuse terrible food. Sunwing is still responsible for the quality of the caterers they hire. Both landings were awful. Overall a terrible experience.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYEG to CUN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no