Sunwing Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 499 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"trip is now short 1 day"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We arrived to the airport 3 hours before the flight and at check in they let us know that our flight is been delayed until 6:15. They gave us some food vouchers and after they delayed the flight again until 8:40. We had been at the airport for more than 7 hours. We call Sunwing but can't reach them by phone. We ask the staff at the airport and no one could give a good reason why we are delayed. This is the last time we book with Sunwing - if they could call us or just send an email it would be fine with us but now our trip is now short 1 day.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"stranded at Varadero airport"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Varadero to Toronto. We were stranded at Varadero airport due to the aircraft been delayed for more than an hour from its previous destination, and consequently due to a serious mechanical problem which took more than 3 hours to fix. If you've never been stuck in Varadero at night, here is what you will most likely experience: - no personnel to talk to other than the security check people, who enjoy the downtime playing domino and are very reluctant to reach for any help - only couple places are open, and they only sell junk food; save some cash so you can at least buy water - disgustingly dirty and clogged washrooms; no staff to take care It took some efforts to bring police officers, the chief of the airport, and eventually the Sunwing representative (in ~2 hours). This person was only there to let the steam escape. He had no power to arrange for water or food, nor could he offer any alternative plan of action other than to wait and see. A flight attendant brought 20-30 plastic cups and one bottle of warm water, while the airport personnel were walking around with icy water, two cups each, joking about it. I have been flying for many years with numerous companies around the world. Problems do happen, and when they do the companies take care of their passengers: they offer food and water, or alternatively provide vouchers that can be used at the airport - they provide temporary accommodation; given the location of Varadero airport, busing so many people back and forth and finding a place to accommodate them is not really a viable option - they arrange for alternative flights or aircraft; should the Sunwing representative had been present they could have arranged earlier an airplane to come from Toronto or other Sunwing destinations (provided the company had such policy to support its customers) - they even reimburse their customers for caused inconvenience Considering the circumstances at Varadero airport maybe it is time for Sunwing to look into these options instead of bragging about their "champagne service" (a sip of sparkling wine).
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVaradero to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"It is not worth the savings"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Terrible service. Flight was to depart from Vancouver at 11.15pm and was delayed until 4am. They refused to offer accommodations or a flight change. Only offered a $10 voucher for food on a flight that is overnight. After all of the inconvenience they still gave my daughter a hard time for having 1.5lbs over for her carry on baggage and told us we needed to be charged to check it. Do not book with this airline to save a few hundred dollars! It is not worth the savings!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"just seem to care about your money"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Flew Vancouver to Toronto with Sunwing. All fine print/policy needs to be reviewed with this airline, there are fees for everything. They will sell you tickets with lower prices than the competition then charge you for your carry-on. This makes the cost a little more expensive than other airlines. Plane was 1.5 hour delayed. Staff are friendly, some are smarmy. They just seem to care about your money. No free onboard entertainment. Food is costly and below average. Their staff and policy needs some human touch. I felt cheated and ripped off.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"In a phrase, flyer beware"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Orlando. Less expensive doesn't mean better. When booking a flight to Orlando, Florida from Toronto Canada for my sister and I, we researched several different travel options. Ultimately, we selected Sunwing Airlines based on its convenient flight times as well as being the most cost-effective. Unfortunately, the flight times were the only convenience that we would experience from a flight perspective. On departure day, we followed the online procedures for printing our boarding passes but were unable to which resulted in us having to stand in line at the airport. So much for convenience! Once we arrived at the gate, we discovered that the flight crew were running late but that was only the start of what would amount to a lengthy delay in the neighborhood of an hour and a half. Apparently, a family was held up in customs so the airline was grounded until he and his family arrived. After their arrival, we took off and finally arrived at our destination over 45 minutes late. On our return flight, we were once again unable to print out our boarding passes online and were forced to wait an hour for Sunwing customer support, while representatives stood around aimlessly conversing amongst themselves. Additionally, we had to weigh our carry-on baggage and were assessed an overage fee. During departure, our bags were not weighed and we didn't have to pay. Based on these unforeseen charges we elected to check our carry-on luggage for an additional $62 dollars. These were fees we did not anticipate. The hour that we lost at the check-in to simply collect our boarding passes that weren't available online caused us to stand in an extremely long security line.  Luckily, we left our hotel over three hours from our scheduled departure time. In the end, based on the additional charges that Sunwing applied the flight ended up costing us more than flying with a more well-known airline like Air Canada. Not to mention that the charges were in US dollars so with the exchange rate it was much more than we ever wanted to spend. In a phrase, flyer beware!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Orlando
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never flying Sunwing again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Puerto Vallarta. So I've flown all inclusive with Sunwing before and haven't been very impressed, but this time they have really "outdone" themselves and not in a good way. We were booked for an all inclusive trip to Mexico scheduled to leave Vancouver May 5th at 5pm and arrive in Puerto Vallarta at 11pm. They just informed us today that our flights have been changed so that we will be now leaving at 9pm getting to the hotel around 3am. We don't get out hotel room until May 6th, at 3pm the next day. So what exactly are we supposed to do at the hotel in the early morning with no room to check into? I have been on many all inclusive trips and I understands that flights do change, but I have never before arrived at hotel 12 hours before being able to check in, in the middle of the night. We called Sunwing to complain and their response was that they changed the flight for "business reasons" and there is nothing they can do for us, we can cancel and reschedule the vacation (not an option, we are meeting friends there and have had planned this trip for months). We asked about getting a room when we get there and they said sure if you want to pay the hotel and extra $150 to book the room for that night. After this experience and the lack of willingness to accommodate for the inconvenience, we will definitely never be flying with Sunwing again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownApril 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service is downright awful"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Varadero. When in line to check in you should not question 14 of us that this is the Elite line, we paid for this service, which I might add gives you nothing. When checking in your staff could try and be a little bit more pleasant, smile, talk! When on the flight your staff could be a little bit more happier, and perhaps let the people whom really need to use the washroom use it. Please tell me what, if anything, is going on behind that little curtain that will not allow people to use the washroom? Your service is downright awful.
Aircraft?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Varadero
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great ending to a wonderful holiday"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We flew March 18th from Edmonton to Cancun. We were delayed from leaving because of the heavy traffic in Cancun, which our captain explained to us. We left a little later but no big deal. The crew was awesome and so was the flight. We left to come home on the 25th and once again, it was a great flight. The crew was courteous, even humorous at times and gave us any info we may have needed to ensure a safe and prompt flight. Thank you to the captain, and crew for a great flight. All flights should have the staff that we did. It was a great ending to a wonderful holiday.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Cancun
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight had been changed again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We arrived to the check-in gate on-time at 1:40pm. They hadn't even bothered to put up the flight info on the screen until 2:00pm. I was asked by numerous other customers if it was the correct gate to be standing in. We all waited in line for over an hour and half without any notification as too what the delay was. The Sunwing reps were all standing around laughing and having a good time while all the passengers waited in line sweating and hot. I know it was Punta Cana and very hot but If we had known there was going to be such a delay, we would have got out of the line and sat down where it was more comfortable. Finally after such a long wait we found out that the plane was on the tarmac and luggage loaded but they had no pilot. They suggested that we take a seat and wait around for another hour while they figure out what the issue was. We were finally told the flight was going to be moved to 2:30 and would arrive back in Toronto for 7am. They sent us to a hotel for few hours. We finally arrived at the hotel 5:30pm to find out that the flight had been changed again and we wouldn't be arriving into Toronto till 9am now. So we get back to the airport and on the flight information screens it says our plane is going to Saint John's instead of Toronto. The one bonus of a flight that early is that we were the only plane leaving and was a very quiet airport. The downfall is that Sunwing can't even get the plane out on time when its the only plane on the departures. While on flight, they offered us a complementary ham and cheese sandwich. I know why it was complimentary, as it tasted like the sandwiches that were supposed to be on our original flight. We ended up finally getting into Toronto at 9:40 am.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Punta Cana
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"attendants surpassed expectations"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Montego Bay to Sault Ste. Marie. Very happy with Sunwing. Read reviews and was afraid but now after flying with Sunwing I love the staff. Flight attendants surpassed expectations. Polite and happy. Sunwing will have my business anytime. Can't wait for our next family trip. =
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontego Bay to Sault Ste. Marie
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes