Best Cabin Crew  

Sunwing Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 452 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"pathetic performance"

(United States)

Sunwing Airlines flight was 13.5 hours late in leaving Milwaukee. I had been warned by a friend of mine from the Milwaukee area that this airline is notorious for not keeping schedules. We arrived in Punta Cana a day late losing one of the nights of our 7 day vacation. When we left the flight was 1 1/4 hours late leaving the DR. When we arrived back in Milwaukee a customs agent told us that Sunwing flights are continually late. Friends of ours returned from Cozumel and echoed the same complaints of delays in excess of 12 hours. Pathetic performance.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMKE to PUJ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"staff were very friendly"

(Canada)

We flew from Regina to Puerto Vallarta on Sunwing Airlines. We have no complaints about this airline. We also flew direct from Regina to Santa Clara, Cuba last year and again no complaints whatsoever. Our flights were both early. The staff were very friendly and smiling. We thought that the free lunch and drink of bubbly was a very nice gesture.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYQR to PVR
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"overall a great trip"

(United States)

This Sunwing Airlines flight from Chicago Rockford to Cancun was arranged from Apple vacation and was a charter flight. Seat 16D was a great seat with extra leg room. Flight left early on flight out and return. Service at Rockford airport was above and beyond. Sunwing has a special line at Cancun airport for charter flights that was very short. Flight crew was pleasant and provided great service during flight. Overall a great trip with Sunwing.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteRFD to CUN
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"plane was cramped"

(United States)

We had a delay of 5-6 hrs flying from Lansing MI to Cancun, Mexico. First told due to weather by Sunwing Airlines and later told it was a mechanical issue (flat tyre). I don't appreciate being lied to and there was nothing given to us to accommodate for their mechanical failure other than a $15 credit at the airport stack bar - that's what my time is worth? The plane was cramped with little leg space. Did we get complimentary drinks or food on the plane to minimize the disruption and inconvenience on our vacation (we arrived a day late at our resort that we had paid for)? Nope. We heard similar stories from Canadians we met while in Mexico about Sunwing. On the return flight home, a Sunwing representive wanted to know if we wanted a little more leg room, "while sure I said" thinking maybe they dusted off the customer service manual in hiding. The answer back was for $20 I could get more leg room. I thought wow you just cost me a day of my vacation and you want to charge me $20 for more leg room.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAN to CUN
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"nice meal, seating and service"

(Canada)

Toronto to Vancouver with Sunwing and it was what I expected from a charter airline. Nice meal, seating and service by flight attendants. It was first scheduled for a depart at 20:00, then delayed too 22:00. We left YYZ at 2:30. Other than that it was good.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to YVR
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"get absolutely nothing extra"

(Canada)

Flew "Elite Plus" from Regina to Punta Cana which means you pay a premium to receive perks, airport preferred check in, more leg room etc. I will start by saying that this is simply a means of generating revenues and that you get absolutely nothing extra with the exception of the seat which we had chosen in advance. When we got to the airport to check in we found a slight few standing in the preferred check in area, we took our positions next in line. There was but one agent checking our line in, 5 or 6 were tending to the other travelers. Although we were 3rd in our line it took 1 hour to reach the counter. All regular passengers in economy had been checked in while the "Elite" were left to wait. When we questioned the agent we were given little satisfaction, we asked to speak with the supervisor who gave us no explanations, no understanding, her words were "what do you want me to do?". We were slightly delayed, nothing serious and the aircraft did make up the time but when we got to the airport and after standing in line for almost 2 hours we found ourselves at the Sunwing counter looking for our private transfers. When we booked our package we were sold "private transfers" so as to avoid the long bus rides and cramped quarters. We paid yet another premium for this service but as luck would have it, no one was standing holding up the sign with our names on it. We stood at the Sunwing counter for yet another 1/2 hour only to be told "there is nothing in the system" we provided the documents as proof but it made no difference. We then had to find our way to our hotel independently, taxi fare was another expense (not to mention the experience). We have spent the entire week here trying to find our way back to the airport but Sunwing continues to say "nothing in the system" this is a terrible experience and one that we will never forget. Here's hoping we make it home.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYQR to PUJ
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"prompt courteous service"

(Canada)

Toronto to Los Cabos with Sunwing - prompt courteous service. Flights were direct and left on time. Food was good. Second time we used Sunwing vacations. This trip was far better. First one was to Panama. The hotel was lovely but not really all inclusive. Hotel Riu Santa in Los Cabos this trip was absolutely amazing.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteYYZ to SJD
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flights both changed"

(Canada)

Worst experience - we booked direct flights from Toronto to Orlando with Sunwing and both were changed. Once to deliver other passangers and now in the airport as I write this our flight has been altered to go to Mexico first (from Orlando) to deliver a spare part for another aircraft before returning to Toronto. No compensation at all. Not happy and will never use Sunwing again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYYZ to MCO
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"crew kept misleading the passengers"

(Canada)

Terrible airline with multiple delays on both routes from Toronto to Cancun. Crew kept misleading the passengers about the reasons of the delay, missed a full day of a vacation due to the 7 hour delay and the airline offered no compensation whatsoever. This delay included many passengers who had paid extra to book the earlier flight that ended up arriving after ours, some people with a family of 4 lost up to $600. Many families with children were offered no compensation and we were all left waiting at the airport with nothing but a $15 voucher. Some of the crew flying as passengers were heard making rude comments about the frustrated families trying to get to their destination. Sunwing can count on the majority of this people not flying with them ever again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Cancun
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"2D a terrible seat choice"

(Canada)

Traveled from Jan.19/16-26/16 from Regina to Santa Maria Cuba. We booked our flight specifically because it was direct. 2 weeks prior to departure we were notified by our travel agent that the return flight was not direct, but did not indicate where we were stopping. Our flight left Regina as scheduled and was ok. Although I should mention we booked and paid for Elite Plus seats as soon as we booked our trip in August. Knowing the seats are extremely close together on Sunwing planes. We had 2D/E/F and 3D for both flights. A side comment is that seat 2D is a terrible seat choice as people congregate in aisle waiting for bathroom and stewardess are back and forth doing their duties squishing into your aisle/seat constantly. On the return, we had reserved seats with our Sunwing rep to use VIP lounge in airport for 25$ a person - a comfy lounge, but terrible food. Once onboard the plane we soon realized that our prepaid reserved seats were occupied! Stewardesses said they would find us a different seat! Well problem was plane was continuing on to Cao Coco, Cuba where 30 plus people were getting off. Anyhow this involved much shuffling and rudeness from flight attendants. Finally we left for Cao Coco and once airborne aircraft cooled off. About a 20 min flight and back to no air circulation and once again a refuelling process (strangest thing as we had just fueled 20 min prior). We were not allowed to deplane and again sat there for 30-45 mins. No air circulation and diesel fumes pouring in to plane. Keep in mind we were in row 2 right by door so had a wee bit of air flow - the back of the plane must have really been suffering! In Cao Coco we also had a crew change and ended up with a much more pleasant crew.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYQR to SNU
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no