Airline of the Year  

Sunwing Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 495 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"In a phrase, flyer beware"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Orlando. Less expensive doesn't mean better. When booking a flight to Orlando, Florida from Toronto Canada for my sister and I, we researched several different travel options. Ultimately, we selected Sunwing Airlines based on its convenient flight times as well as being the most cost-effective. Unfortunately, the flight times were the only convenience that we would experience from a flight perspective. On departure day, we followed the online procedures for printing our boarding passes but were unable to which resulted in us having to stand in line at the airport. So much for convenience! Once we arrived at the gate, we discovered that the flight crew were running late but that was only the start of what would amount to a lengthy delay in the neighborhood of an hour and a half. Apparently, a family was held up in customs so the airline was grounded until he and his family arrived. After their arrival, we took off and finally arrived at our destination over 45 minutes late. On our return flight, we were once again unable to print out our boarding passes online and were forced to wait an hour for Sunwing customer support, while representatives stood around aimlessly conversing amongst themselves. Additionally, we had to weigh our carry-on baggage and were assessed an overage fee. During departure, our bags were not weighed and we didn't have to pay. Based on these unforeseen charges we elected to check our carry-on luggage for an additional $62 dollars. These were fees we did not anticipate. The hour that we lost at the check-in to simply collect our boarding passes that weren't available online caused us to stand in an extremely long security line.  Luckily, we left our hotel over three hours from our scheduled departure time. In the end, based on the additional charges that Sunwing applied the flight ended up costing us more than flying with a more well-known airline like Air Canada. Not to mention that the charges were in US dollars so with the exchange rate it was much more than we ever wanted to spend. In a phrase, flyer beware!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Orlando
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never flying Sunwing again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Puerto Vallarta. So I've flown all inclusive with Sunwing before and haven't been very impressed, but this time they have really "outdone" themselves and not in a good way. We were booked for an all inclusive trip to Mexico scheduled to leave Vancouver May 5th at 5pm and arrive in Puerto Vallarta at 11pm. They just informed us today that our flights have been changed so that we will be now leaving at 9pm getting to the hotel around 3am. We don't get out hotel room until May 6th, at 3pm the next day. So what exactly are we supposed to do at the hotel in the early morning with no room to check into? I have been on many all inclusive trips and I understands that flights do change, but I have never before arrived at hotel 12 hours before being able to check in, in the middle of the night. We called Sunwing to complain and their response was that they changed the flight for "business reasons" and there is nothing they can do for us, we can cancel and reschedule the vacation (not an option, we are meeting friends there and have had planned this trip for months). We asked about getting a room when we get there and they said sure if you want to pay the hotel and extra $150 to book the room for that night. After this experience and the lack of willingness to accommodate for the inconvenience, we will definitely never be flying with Sunwing again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownApril 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service is downright awful"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto to Varadero. When in line to check in you should not question 14 of us that this is the Elite line, we paid for this service, which I might add gives you nothing. When checking in your staff could try and be a little bit more pleasant, smile, talk! When on the flight your staff could be a little bit more happier, and perhaps let the people whom really need to use the washroom use it. Please tell me what, if anything, is going on behind that little curtain that will not allow people to use the washroom? Your service is downright awful.
Aircraft?
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Varadero
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great ending to a wonderful holiday"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We flew March 18th from Edmonton to Cancun. We were delayed from leaving because of the heavy traffic in Cancun, which our captain explained to us. We left a little later but no big deal. The crew was awesome and so was the flight. We left to come home on the 25th and once again, it was a great flight. The crew was courteous, even humorous at times and gave us any info we may have needed to ensure a safe and prompt flight. Thank you to the captain, and crew for a great flight. All flights should have the staff that we did. It was a great ending to a wonderful holiday.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Cancun
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight had been changed again"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We arrived to the check-in gate on-time at 1:40pm. They hadn't even bothered to put up the flight info on the screen until 2:00pm. I was asked by numerous other customers if it was the correct gate to be standing in. We all waited in line for over an hour and half without any notification as too what the delay was. The Sunwing reps were all standing around laughing and having a good time while all the passengers waited in line sweating and hot. I know it was Punta Cana and very hot but If we had known there was going to be such a delay, we would have got out of the line and sat down where it was more comfortable. Finally after such a long wait we found out that the plane was on the tarmac and luggage loaded but they had no pilot. They suggested that we take a seat and wait around for another hour while they figure out what the issue was. We were finally told the flight was going to be moved to 2:30 and would arrive back in Toronto for 7am. They sent us to a hotel for few hours. We finally arrived at the hotel 5:30pm to find out that the flight had been changed again and we wouldn't be arriving into Toronto till 9am now. So we get back to the airport and on the flight information screens it says our plane is going to Saint John's instead of Toronto. The one bonus of a flight that early is that we were the only plane leaving and was a very quiet airport. The downfall is that Sunwing can't even get the plane out on time when its the only plane on the departures. While on flight, they offered us a complementary ham and cheese sandwich. I know why it was complimentary, as it tasted like the sandwiches that were supposed to be on our original flight. We ended up finally getting into Toronto at 9:40 am.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Punta Cana
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"attendants surpassed expectations"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Montego Bay to Sault Ste. Marie. Very happy with Sunwing. Read reviews and was afraid but now after flying with Sunwing I love the staff. Flight attendants surpassed expectations. Polite and happy. Sunwing will have my business anytime. Can't wait for our next family trip. =
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontego Bay to Sault Ste. Marie
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"ship us all via buses "

(Canada)

Verified Review | Windsor to Cancun. So we arrived in Windsor this morning to catch our flight to Cancun. All of Sunwing Airlines sites said the plane was on time. The plane circled the airport for 45 minutes due to poor weather and then flew on to Toronto. Instead of waiting for the weather to clear, some genius decided to ship us all via buses from Windsor to Toronto to meet up with the plane. So after sitting all day in the airport we are now on a bus headed to Toronto. For good measure they throw in a couple boxes or "snacks​" for the trip. Before boarding the bus, they announced all flighta into Toronto had been cancelled. Also the news has reported the eastbound lanes of the 301 are shut down. I'm not really excited to be driving in a bus in poor weather to catch a plan that is most likely going to be cancelled. To top this all off, when contacting Sunwing Airlines, because there is no representation at the Windsor airport, the rep said there will be no reimbursement because flight times always change. I'm sorry but this isn't just a flight time change. We are driving to a whole other airport for godsakes! The last thing that totally infuriates me is that there are several people with walkers and wheel chairs. How the hell did you expect to get them on the bus? Trust me, this was not thought about. If I was anyone of those poor people I'd be even made upset. I'd love to see Sunwing step up and rectify this situation, but I'm not holding my breath!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWindsor to Cancun
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the flights were torture"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Calgary to Punta Cana return. Overcrowded small aircraft not made for longer distances, dirty plastic seats that have no space for legs. I'm 5'10 and had 1 inch free standing straight. Never mind reclining. Return, they mentioned a technical stop. For some economic reason they would not disclose they made a flight that should have lasted 6.5 hours into 10 hours by stopping in Toronto. Same bad conditions. No free service. No free meals, no assistance. The worst flight of my life, and I go a lot. So although the Sunwing vacation (resort) was great - the flights were torture, and I would be hesitant to book again. Would probably spend at least another 200$ or more for a different airline. Note: many tried to book "elite" for same reason. the elite has 6 seats at the emergency exit that have more space but are super uncomfortable. Again, too small a plane for those distances. Severely need upgrade to a larger jet or more comfy arrangements, including free meals if flight is over 6 hours.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Punta Cana
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"quality of service is going down"

(Canada)

Verified Review | San Jose del Cabo to Edmonton. The plane was very delayed and we were supposed to land in Edmonton at 4:45 but we ended up there after 9:00 pm. When we were starting to take off the plane did not have any air conditioning and it was 30+ Celsius outside. I flew with Sunwing Airlines before and the quality of service is going down. We were told to leave the resort at 8:15 in the morning, so we didn't have anything to eat from 8:15 to 11pm at night. Sunwing didn't provide a single snack and they didn't have tea or coffee. We were told that the espresso machine is broken. The flight was advertised as champagne but we didn't receive anything. We were offered a juice or water twice. The crew didn't not inform us about specific landing times nor did they say how close we are to Edmonton. Not even once.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Jose del Cabo to Edmonton
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"treatment was less than human"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Varadero to Toronto. I have witnessed more than a few comical, inept and annoying check-in processes in my life, but ours with Sunwing on January 27, for the 5pm Toronto to Varadero Flight 622 is the winner. We were at the check-in at 1pm with pre-paid entry to the Premium Plaza Lounge to which we were so looking forward at the start of our holiday. We received quickly our boarding passes from a machine, but no baggage tag. For that, we were compelled to stay in a very very long line for almost two hours. The unfortunate young agent trying to direct people to check-in points (more than half of which were unstaffed) was asking people on later flights (like ours) to stand aside, infuriating those of us who had paid for lounge access. The whole situation was a mess. In the end, we had less than an hour in the lounge. The two young ladies in front of us had even less time for an $80 experience. The end of our stay in Cuba ended with another dismal effort from Sunwing. Flight 623 on February 3 was delayed from its scheduled 9.30pm departure to what eventually became 1.30am the next day. You want to talk about a long final day at a resort waiting for your flight home, this worsened by having then to take an airport bus three hours before flight time leaving us with nothing to do in a small airport, passengers stretched out on chairs trying to sleep, almost beside themselves with tiredness waiting for the incoming flight? Do the airlines realize how silly the euphemism "equipment failure" has become? To airline passengers it simply means "They aren't going to tell us." Quite frankly, given the very large plane, every seat taken, that took us home, it was abundantly clear that Sunwing was simply waiting until they could fly a full plane. Our treatment was less than human. The crew apologized for the inconvenience associated with a 5am arrival in Toronto, but didn't offer a sandwich or a glass of wine to convince us of their sincerity.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVaradero to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no