Sunwing Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 607 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"we were very disappointed"

Review by (Canada)

This all inclusive vacation started with a 7 hour delay at Toronto Pearson Airport. Compensation from Sunwing Vacations for losing most of our first afternoon of sun and an evening of vacation time at our resort was two food vouchers (no alcohol) for $20.00 each. Sleeping on the carpet was optional while you waited, but those airport seats get pretty uncomfortable after awhile. We were very disappointed and our concerns fell upon deaf ears. They don't seem to care once you've paid for your trip. Do yourself a favour and find an airline with a larger fleet (Air Canada Vacations for example) so when "mechanical problems" arise, a replacement plane might be available quicker. When you pay for seven days you should receive seven days? Also, not that in this era of cost cuts we could have had better, the plane seemed old, small tv monitors (some didn't work) and very cramped. Service on board was not least impressive. The "champagne service" advertised was served in a 1 ounce plastic cup. Very Special Indeed!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteToronto to Liberia
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

Do not use Sunwing. Horrible web check, horrible seats. Delayed 2.5 hours but when I checked 4 hours before flight it said on time. When asked upon arrival at airport she admitted it was something from last night so not sure why they didn't inform customers properly. No champagne as indicated by the sales agent we booked with. Overall just not a great experience for our first time. Would not recommend to others. Then they edover 2 hours to serve a drink. Then started the movie on the way there and back with 1.5 hours left in flight so neither movie finished prior to landing. Why bother then.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteToronto to Las Vegas
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

I was nervous to board this flight because of all these reviews, but it was suprisingly good. No delays, but just a gate change by 2 gates. The food was, okay to say the least. They brought out beverages too (Coke, Diet Coke, ginger ale, Sprite, tonic water, water) and they were pretty good. I think they'll let you have the whole can if you ask them. Very nice interactive staff, they weren't rude at all. The movie audio was too loud. I know that the plane can be noisy, but it doesn't need to be that loud. It was pretty good. In fact, our flight was shorter than expected. It was supposed to be 5hr 5min, but it was 4hr 30min. I guess it just depends on what crew you have.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteToronto to Aruba
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

Terrible airline. Canadians are sometimes stuck using them because of the limited flights to Cuba. They left us in Cuba on our vacation because the plane took off early due to a time change which they knew was happening but failed to inform us about, even though they had our email address.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCanada to Cuba
Date FlownFebruary 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

Our flight leaving Toronto was originally scheduled to depart at 8.15 am on August 1st, 2015. Upon arrival at the airport at 5.5 am we were told that the flight was delayed 4 hours. We were handed a meal voucher worth $15 each. By the time we took off, we were delayed 5 hours. To make matters worse, our return flight on August 8th, 2015 was delayed 5 hours. Instead of arriving in Toronto at 6.15 pm, we actually touched down after midnight. No reason was provided for the delays and to make matters worse, Sunwing did not provide us with meal vouchers in Punta Cana and even had the nerve to charge us for snacks on the flight!
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteToronto to Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

Chose this airline because it was $300 cheaper than Air Canada or WestJet. Never again. All legs were delayed by up to 5 hrs. On return, part of the delay was due to staff leaving the plane at the wrong gate. Seats excruciatingly uncomfortable. Stuffed in like sardines. Avoid at all cost.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

Used Sunwing about a year ago for my parents and they loved it. But this time around was a nightmare. There are 2 separate encounters in the last couple days. My friends were flying Sunwing Vancouver to Toronto on the 6th. They get to the airport and find the flight is delayed an hour. Then delayed it another 1hr, than they come in and push it another 3 hours bringing their total wait time at the airport 5 hours. Now on August 8 my wife and baby daughter are flying Sunwing Toronto to Vancouver booked in advance, most airlines allow luggage for the baby but not these guys, they said they'll charge $10 a kg for any extra luggage or I can upgrade for their Elite first class for $50 and get an additional 10kg. I agreed and paid. The lady also said because of the upgrade the baby can have her stroller shipped at no charge. Now when we get to the airport the lady says we have to pay $20 for the stroller because it's heavier than most strollers. Than we get to the gate and realize the flight has been delayed from 8:10-11:30 (3.5 hrs) so we checked in anyway. Than by the time the plane gets there at 12 to be exact we end up sitting in the runway till 1:30 before take off, a total of 5.5 hours waisted. Wife gets in the plane to so called first class, it's just a seat in a front row. Now after a long 5 hr flight finally making it to Vancouver, wife goes to pick up her luggage and notices the stroller is missing. The next nightmare will begin because from the look and sound of their so called staff this is gonna take a very long time to resolve. I fly a lot within Canada and always take Air Canada and West jet. Gave these guys a shot and they failed miserably twice in 2 days.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteToronto to Vancouver
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

First when I check in they say the flight is delayed 3 hours, with no reason given. Then an hour before boarding they delay it another 4 hours. So all in all 7 hour delay. Sunwing Airlines refused to pay for a hotel for anyone, because it has to be 8 hours. It was actually delayed 7 hours, 15 mins total. The explanation was because a crew member got sick so they had to wait for the morning crew to come in. The flight was originally at 11:15pm and was delayed until 6am. Never would I recommend Sunwing Airlines to anyone - they give u a $75 voucher to spend on another flight with them, are you kidding me!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (Canada)

Online seat selection was broken the day before our departure, we had purchased the "premium" package to select the seats in advance. In order to use this package I had to actually call them instead of doing it online. Unlike most airlines online check-in is available only 4 hours before departure. The online check-in process is the worst I have seen - you cannot check in everyone on your booking at the same time, you have to do it for each family member, even for children. At the airport it was not too bad, just like other budget airlines. The check-in line was long but that's where the premium package is useful. The flight from Montreal to Holguin was OK. The aircraft was relatively large but the seat spacing was extremely small. We are not talking about the centimeters between your knees and the seat in front of you, we are talking about the centimeters between your nose and that seat. If the passenger in front of you reclines, you simply have no choice but to recline too. If you go to the bathroom and they start serving food or drinks - you will not get back to your seat until the cart passes it. Food and drink service is ok. I have to admit that the food was provided and it it was quite good. The flight back (WG645) was terrible. First, the drink service was worse, they did not even have coffee. Next, the cabin temperature. It was very cold. Considering that the families were flying from Cuba (+35C) with kids it was just terrible. Many people complained but nothing was done to make it warmer. Next, the flight was late to Montreal by ~40 minutes, it could not get to the gate. Finally, instead of unloading the gate checked-in strollers they have unloaded them with the rest of the luggage. Lots of fun with small kids getting through 1-hour-plus waiting line at the border control and the customs.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHOG to YUL
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

Sunwing Airlines customer review

Review by (United States)

We were allowed 2 free checked bags apiece. They gave us a free glass of champagne and a tasty little mini sub on the way down, and free red wine and a yummy pizza pocket on the way back. We got to watch a movie, and the nonstop flight (both to and fro) was uneventful, and pretty much on time. The staff were friendly and they even did all the announcements in French, as well as English. I'd definitely fly Sunwing again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteCharlotte to Punta Cana
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes