SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 524 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they just cancel the flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Oslo. I live in Philadelphia, but I flew from Newark because there is a non-stop flight to Oslo. I checked in for the flight EWR to OSL, but when I arrived at Newark Airport at 5PM for a 7PM flight, SAS told me they had canceled the 7PM flight and moved me to an 11:30 flight to Copenhagen. I had received no text message or email, though they had both my mobile and my email address on record. The service agent added the information that the same flight had been canceled the day before as well. I had the feeling when there aren't enough people on the flight to run it profitably, they just cancel the flight and route everyone through Copenhagen.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Oslo
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"rude/stubborn staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience flying with SAS Scandinavian from London to Copenhagen. For starters, the baggage costs are something that is subtly mentioned when booking, meaning if you miss this, you will pay full price when you arrive at the airport. We were then told by someone that on our way back we should check in our luggage whilst checking in online (within 24 hours of our flight) for the cheaper price, turns out you have to check in your luggage 24 hours before your next flight - which meant we were charged full price for luggage costs again! No customer service number, rude/stubborn staff at the airport and on the phone (could only get through to their sales department). Avoid.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Copenhagen
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely useless"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chicago O’Hare to Copenhagen. Absolutely useless. Only one free meal and one free drink on the flight. Better service on a budget carrier in Europe than on this plane. To make matters worse, I lost my laptop on the flight, and they haven’t helped me get it back. Every time I call one of their numbers, they just give me another on. It’s nearly April and I’ve got no idea where it is and no one is looking for it. Their lost baggage number is a dud. I called it 28 times and still no response back. If you’re flying with SAS, you better make sure you don’t lose anything, or you’re on your own. Furthermore, almost missed my connection to KCMO as the flight was delayed and baggage reclaim was so slow; the lost items desk was mayhem and no staff member was helping, merely waving off anyone who came close with an annoyed look. Don’t fly with SAS. There are cheaper, more customer friendly and better options out there.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago O’Hare to Copenhagen
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"trying to avoid the family flyers"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Flew SAS Scandinavian from Copenhagen to Athens. Worse than a low cost at premium price. This time we were travelling with our baby and the service was simply horrible. They wouldn't allow us to take the trolley to the plane door even though it is an ultra compact trolley. Had to pay one extra piece of luggage for the baby carrier (babybjorn backpack). Disallow a sound book to calm a crying baby (nobody complained). Charged 3 euros to refill the baby bottle with water (really?). Seemed that they are trying to avoid the family flyers. We had much better experiences with any low cost!
AircraftA320-100/200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Athens
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"turned into a low-cost airline"

(Lithuania)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Vilnius via Riga. SAS has delegated operation of the route between Copenhagen and Vilnius to Air Nostrum. Ever since that happened, there have never been so many delays and cancellations on this route, much to the irritation of frequent flyers like myself. This Friday was no exception. 5 minutes after boarding, the flight to Vilnius was cancelled, and all passengers were told to go to the Transfer Center in Copenhagen airport. I was then told I had been re-routed to Vilnius with AIr Baltic via Riga. I thought this was no big deal, however SAS refused me to get a Business Class seat with Air Baltic claiming "the product you bought doesn't exist". I then argued and asked how the product cannot exist when it clearly stated on my boarding card I was in business. I even provided the invoice stating my purchase in business. Bottom line is that SAS couldn't care less, and with their normal arrogant attitude I was sent onto Air Baltics old propeller machines in Economy Class, and eventually got to Vilnius with a 4 hour delay. All this is just not good enough. SAS has really turned into a low-cost airline, and at this time I have no confidence in this cheap airline. They sold me a product, and claimed it doesn't exist? Sorry, that is downright dumb. If SAS wants returning customers, they should really sharpen the pencil regarding customer service - in the airport as well as on board. Their prices are horribly high, and they still have monopoly on some routes, which is why they can charge € 350 for a 1½ flight. Not recommended at all.
AircraftDH8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Vilnius via Riga
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"so irresponsible"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Rome to Helsinki via Copenhagen. I missed the flight of Norwegian due to the delayed trains in Italy so we had to book new airplane ticket to go back Helsinki on the same day (because I have to work on the next day). I booked a SAS airplane ticket with 8 hour transit at Copenhagen airport which means I had to sleep at the Denmark airport that night and guess what. When I woke up, I got a message from the SAS airline apolozing that my flight from Copenhagen to Helsinki was cancelled !!!!!!!!!! And they said they would pay back the portion of money to me. Why can they be so irresponsible? I couldnt find or book any flight to go back Helsinki in that morning because all the tickets of another airlines were inavailable and I had to skip a work day.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRome to Helsinki via Copenhagen
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"First and last time"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We arrived at Oslo airport to receive an email saying our flight had been cancelled, went to the desk where they had no reason why. Was told we had to fly to Stockholm and wait for a connecting flight to London. What should of been an 2 hour flight turned into a 4 hour flight plus hours of hanging around airports. Oslo airport at 11.30 got into London Airport at 5.40. First and last time using SAS Scandinavian.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Oslo
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"overall very happy with my flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Prior to choosing SAS I used to take the non-stop flight for the San Francisco to Munich route with LH. This time I was looking for a cheap ticket and found the SAS flight for $1100 for the SFO-MUC route, with a stop in Copenhagen (2/23/2018). I read some reviews to make sure it won't be a hassle. Some reviews made me think twice as to whether I should choose SAS. Got my ticket anyway and was overall very happy with my flight. Staff were great, food was good. The plane itself was an A340-300, not the A340-600 that LH is using. I like the LH plane, due to the large number of rest rooms in the lower part of the plane. The entertainment options were pretty good too, didn't listen to music, but a bunch of movies TV, docs aso. No soccer, but still great, helps a lot to kill time on the flight. So overall for the prices they offer, pretty good deal. Oh, BTW, they had a chef as well on board. That was pretty cool too. I talked talked to him a bit, very nice guy.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMunich to San Francisco via Copenhagen
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"one big disorganised clown show"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Flew SAS Scandinavian from Copenhagen to Beijing. Unbelievable that you pay for a premium economy class ticket which should include WIFI but the staff on board have no clue on how to get it to work. Would you not expect that there was a mechanism for them to turn it on manually? Yes, you would but there is not, you can either be lucky that the system works and accepts your ticket number and by the way you have to sign up for Eurobonus even that you are a Star Alliance Gold member. The whole thing makes absolutely no sense and this was one big disorganised clown show.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCopenhagen to Beijing
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will not fly SAS again"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Washington to Copenhagen. Exorbitant fees: will not fly SAS again. Fee for change of return date: $300, plus pricing policy that made it more expensive for me to change the return date than to buy a new return ticked with the same airline (SAS), on the same distance and the same date. Total cost given by SAS for changing the return date for this transatlantic flight: $800. I ended up buying a one-way ticket with a different airline rather than changing my return date with SAS. On the inbound flight, the extra luggage fee for this transatlantic flight was $120 per item, additional $120 for overweight on the same item: Total $240 for each overweight additional item. I have not paid fees remotely as high as this with any other airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Copenhagen
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no