Top 100 Airlines  

SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 381 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"worst customer care ever"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Stockholm to Manchester. Appalling customer service. Flight cancelled at 3pm for 5:05pm flight on 19th May even thought it was evident flights were being cancelled earlier due to radar issue. No information given by SAS either by printed A4 sheet (how hard is that to do!!) or staff on the ground. Total chaos around the SAS desks for re-booking. Supposed numbering system by a little ticket from machine (which we found out about by word of mouth) turned out not to be operated and people were seen by simply queuing so we could have been seen earlier had we (an multiple others) known. No refreshments offered until 6pm, a bottle of water, and no voucher for anything more substantial. Some passengers had been waiting since 12 noon and this was their first drink as they were worried about leaving the desk area. No overnight accommodation offered when flights only available next day. We were basically all left to fend for ourselves. In the end we got a flight from Copenhagen to Manchester on 20th but no attempt to help us get there, no bus/coach, and that despite there being 17 of us. Had to arrange own car hire and drive 650km or thereabouts. Will never fly SAS again. Worst customer care I have ever experienced.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteARN to MAN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"sort the seats out"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Stockholm to London Heathrow with SAS Scandinavian. Please sort the seats out! No room for anyone who is over 6 foot to travel comfortably in SAS Go (Economy) I couldn't even sit straight and had to bend my knees into the people next to me to be able to fit into the seats. A two hour trip from hell could easily have been avoided by just being a little more generous with the seat pitch. I wasn't the only one either, I'm surprised that the flag carrier airline for Scandinavian countries has such limited seat space given the fact that there are so many tall people from there. It's a shame as I'd like to give this airline more as staff were very friendly and plane was clean etc but I will never travel SAS again unless something dramatic changes with seats on these short haul flights.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteARN to LHR
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very poor service"

(Netherlands)

Very poor service on SAS Scandinavian, on the way to and from Düsseldorf to Stockholm. The planes were delayed, seats changed - boarded online early, but what is the use of this service if you are changing the plane and the seating anyway? You might as well stuff people in the plane at will),no window seats anymore, smaller plane.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteARN to DUS
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"tainted by poor customer service"

(United States)

Recently booked to fly Washington to Copenhagen on SAS and did so at double the price of other airlines flying to the same destination. Paid the extra expecting that we would travel more comfortably. I found out after booking that unless I pay an additional fee I won't be assured of sitting with my wife who was booked at the exact same time with the same surname. I'm used to airlines in the US trying to suck every bit of spare change out of your pocket but did not expect it with SAS Scandinavian. I spoke to four different people at Scandinavian who confirmed that there is no assurance of sitting together unless I pay the additional fee, otherwise I have to wait until 22 hours before the flight and hope that I can find seats together. One of the SAS people told me that I'm "making a big deal of nothing". I've been on flights where I've watched a mother having her four kids scattered around the plane because she was unable to pay the up-charge. It's bad policy and bad customer service and a trip that we were excited to take has been tainted by poor customer service. Had I known, and believe me I'll be far more wary in the future, I would have booked on one of the discount airlines and then spent a little of the difference to upgrade seats. You don't expect to order a steak dinner (a really expensive steak) and then get charged for the plate.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteIAD to CPH
Date FlownMay 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"SAS is worse than EasyJet"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Geneva to Copenhagen. Every single time I use SAS it goes wrong on the luggage cost. When I booked there was no warning about having to book bags additionally. Nothing seemed to indicate that they have the same system as Easyjet or similar where you know you have to add bags additional. At the airport I find out, and I am charged $75 for one bag check-in. This is rip-off. SAS is represented in Geneva through another ground service company, and they tried to reach someone from SAS but for 30 minutes it was not possible to get through to any representative. I rarely use SAS, but on earlier flights every single time they found something that cost me considerable extra money regarding luggage. Companies like Easyjet you know they will go for it at the airport and you prepare. Now I know SAS is worse than Easyjet, and I will never use them again. Seems cheap and by the time you have checked in it is more expensive than flying Lufthansa. The no communication and nobody available is the other point that is upsetting.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGVA to CPH
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"ground service was nice"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to Stockholm, a 7.20am flight, so up very early. SAS Plus (SAS Premium Economy), took up all the first 21 rows, thus cabin crew was very busy serving breakfast. Not really a memorable flight, though seat 10A is the best seat on the plane. Breakfast box is quite boring, though the warm bread offered was of good quality. There were a lot of people in CPH, thus the ground service was nice, since SAS Plus gets you fast track, so security only takes 2 mins.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCPH to ARN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impressed by interior"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Stockholm to Los Angeles and my first flight with the new SAS Scandinavian cabin. Generally very impressed by the interior. Even-numbered window seats offer the most privacy. Seat is phenomenal (1-2-1 layout) and the crew were friendly (better than on the way back from SFO). Food was nice, but took them 1.5 hours to start serving - that's too long. WiFi worked for most of the flight, though upload was tedious. The A330E is wonderful, and the cabin-pressure feels higher than on the older A340s, thus skin doesn't dry out. Very satisfied with my trip.
AircraftA330-300E
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteARN to LAX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"overall a very nice trip"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Copenhagen, a great new cabinwith full flat bed and Hästen pillow/blanket. Seats are in a 1-2-1 configuration. WiFi worked for most of the time (complementary in business class), but blackout at some times. Heidsieck champagne as pre departure drink and soon after a 3-course menu. Breakfast 1.5 hours before arrival. During flight there is a food pantry where you can grab snacks and Illy-coffee. Crew was very professional, though not the friendliest crew out there. But overall a very nice trip.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSFO to CPH
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"pleasant flight in business class "

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Oslo to San Francisco via Copenhagen with SAS Scandinavian. Pleasant flight in new business class cabin. The new business class seats are okay and probably qualify as flatbed, but they are narrow compared to Singapore Airlines. Relaxed Scandinavian service - a positive feature was the snacks buffet open through the flight - again Scandinavian self service.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteOSL to SFO via CPH
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"absolute bare minimum"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to London Heathrow. I normally travel BA on this route , this time the one way price was decent so I thought I would try SAS. Check-in was painless. Onboard it really is the absolute bare minimum with SAS, the crew don't seem to enjoy their work , no smiles very stern not the best representation of the Nordic countries. I'll stick to BA from now on this route.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPH to LHR
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no