Top 100 Airlines  

SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 415 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"a waste to go SAS-Plus"

(Switzerland)

Harstad/Narvik to Oslo. Check in is all self-service, but if you have a question there is an agent you can turn to. We left 10 minutes ahead of schedule thanks to the small size of the airport (only one flight at this time). The staff was very friendly, helpful and accommodating. Our arrival was not delayed by any traffic congestion at OSL. What was not ok was the seating in the ex-business, now premium economy class, called SAS-Plus. The cabin had no curtain divider. The seats were the same in the whole cabin, which is not unusual in Europe, but the fact that they do not leave the middle one of the three seats on each side free as do other (better-rated) European national carriers led one to believe it might have been a waste to go SAS-Plus. The only difference in service is that you get your cold snack and drinks for free up front, but they are the same as in the back. What made up for this minimalistic approach to comfort was the exceptionally good job the cabin crew did. There was no business lounge at EVE, but the airport is comfortable otherwise.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteEVE to OSL
Date FlownSeptember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seats with direct aisle access"

(Austria)

Verified Review | Stockholm to Chicago. After a fast and efficient boarding process the plane took off on time. Two FAs dressed as chefs were in charge of the meals which deserved at least one Michelin star. Fresh vegetables and fruits, perfect meat and a gorgeous presentation, accomanied by fine wines, made dining a pleasure. Moreover, the treatment of the cabin crew made me feel like at home. The wifi connection worked well compared to other transatlantic flights. The new business class has all seats with direct aisle access and staff handed out thin mattresses for the seats which helped me to sleep well. I landed refreshed in Chicago and was looking forward to my return flight with SAS.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteARN to ORD
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"SAS said we have to buy new tickets"

(United States)

The first trip from Los-Angeles to Stockholm-Arlanda was flawless. New airplane, usual service. Two weeks later we stuck in traffic in Stockholm and arrived 20 minute before start. The staff said it's too late and SAS staff said we have to buy new tickets. Further they said we have to pay 2600 for two tickets, twice the booking price. Luckily we checked prices offered by Norwegian Airline and got two tickets for 1300.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLAX to ARN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"a very pleasant trip with them"

(Italy)

Verified Review | I flew SAS for the very first time (Copenhagen to Milan) as the last segment of my return trip from USA to Italy with Icelandair (indeed it was a code share flight): everything went smoothly and I had a very pleasant trip with them. Upon landing in CPH at dawn coming from Iceland, I walked to the Service Desk where I got my boarding pass within minutes, then enjoyed the very pleasant Kastrup airport before proceeding to my gate. Flight took off on time, operated by a very clean A320 with elegant interior. Service on board was friendly and professional and pilots provided plenty of information during the 1h45min hop to Milano. I could't have asked more for the final leg of my (long) trip back home from Seattle.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCPH to MXP
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"staff were helpful and service minded"

(Norway)

Verified Review | I had a SAS flight from Oslo to Hong Kong via Stockholm. Business outbound and premium economy (SAS Plus) inbound. Great service and a fresh new cabin on the A330. The premium economy cabin is spacious and one of the most comfortable premium economy cabins I've had. Business had great capsuled flatbeds. Wifi was stable and available during the flight except from the Chinese airspace. Food and drinks were tasty and good. Staff were helpful and service minded, but there is a small gap up to Qatar, Thai, Singapore and Emirates in terms of service level. Overall very satisfied.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to ARN
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"it was comfy enough"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Flight from Dublin to Oslo was about 30 mins delayed, but time was made up on the journey. SAS needs to update its fleet. Its aircraft are old and outdated and normally SAS are very expensive but don't offer a flagship service ie apart from tea and coffee you have to pay for everything. This time I got a great value SAS GO (23kg checked luggage included) cheaper than a Norwegian flight. On these occassions SAS is good. Check in online and seat selection in advance (which some airlines do not offer, when not flying from one of their bases) and tea and coffee included and a sense that you are flying with a decent airline with experienced pilots. Check in was also very quick and smooth as SAS avail of the permanent star alliance based staff who man the desks for all flights. Sat in an emergency exit seat, with no seat infront 17F and it was comfy enough. If SAS continues to be more competitive on price, then I will be more likely to fly with them. Too often SAS is overpriced for a service that doesn't include a newer fleet, slick cabin interior and the wifi and live flight map that Norwegian offers to all pax.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDUB to OSL
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"a most agreeable flight"

(Portugal)

Lisbon to Chicago via Copenhagen with SAS Scandinavian. A most agreeable flight with Danish cabin crew very pleasant, good flight conditions, good entertainment provided and good food. In the return flight to Lisbon, through Stockholm, the Swedish cabin crew was not nice or polite unfortunately, they skip passengers when serving drinks and were a bit rude when talking to passengers.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIS to ORD via CPH
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"partially satisfied by experience"

(Italy)

I booked a flight from Stockholm to Lulea with an extra cost for booking the seat. On the plane the seat was occupied by another passenger - I told to hostess but, because of avoiding debates I chose to sit in a free seat in the row before. Not a graceful experience. However the plane was clean and flight good. The beverage was sufficient, but they charge 1 euro to drink a glass of orange juice. Price of internal flights acceptable, quite expensive the prices of travel from Italy. I am partially satisfied by this experience. Kind the assitant at ground at arlanda.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteARN to LLA
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"experience was excellent"

(Australia)

Flew Copenhagen to Boston with SAS Scandinavian. While the seats on this aircraft are not up to the standard of most other trans Atlantic options, it was fine for a daytime flight. An iPad was provided to watch movies etc, although selection was limited. But those negatives aside, the experience was excellent due to the cabin crew (who obviously enjoyed their jobs) and quality and presentation of the food. Ground service was also excellent, and the lounge in Copenhagen was a nice place to wait before the flight. This was our first experience with SAS and it was a very good one.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCPH to BOS
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"the worst business class experience"

(United Kingdom)

Manchester to Oslo. This was beyond doubt the worst business class experience I have ever encountered. The seats on the aircraft were 3x3 and every seat was the same. Business class had no different leg room, seat size or any other comfort than economy. On some airlines when travelling short haul the middle seat is left empty, not with SAS. The only discernible difference was that business class passengers had free drinks and a meal. No choice in the meal. Whatever it started out as by the time it got to me it was utterly inedible. OK we got a greater baggage allowance but it would have been cheaper to buy an extra bag than pay for a non existent business class seat! Never again. The positive was the friendly and professional attitude of the cabin crew.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMAN to OSL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no