SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 484 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"I received an upgrade"

(Iceland)

Verified Review | I booked a flight between Reykjavik and HongKong via Oslo and Stockholm and Shanghai to Gothenburg via Copenhagen. I was satisfied in my experience with SAS. The intra-nordic flights were all good experience. The new food concept of SAS PLUS is an improvement over the food that was before. Also the service with additional drink and snack offering has improved. Stockholm to HongKong suffered a 80 minute delay which almost made me to lose my onward connection to Singapore. Luckily I had already checked my luggage through, so the Singapore airline ground crew was aware and booked me on the next available flight. On the flight between Stockholm and Hong Kong I received an upgrade to Business which was a nice surprise on this long over-night trip to Hong Kong. The return flight in SAS Plus was very pleasant. Food was good and the cabin crew very supportive and attentive in providing drinks and snacks even between the main meal services. Free WIFI is slow but seems to work now even over Chinese airspace. Another negative aspect was the slow baggage delivery in Gothenburg (priority luggage was delivered last).
AircraftA330 / A340 / A320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteReykjavik to HongKong via Oslo, Stockholm
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"this was terrible"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Berlin Tegel to Copenhagen. I like SAS in general. But this was terrible. The problem was the plane and its seats are dated. The seats were so used that you were like sliding to the middle. This meant that both me and the gentleman sitting next to me spent the flight trying to seat in our own seats. The staff were nice though.
AircraftATR
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBerlin Tegel to Copenhagen
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"seats have direct aisle access"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to Chicago. SAS has a fantastic business class product for long distance flights. I love the fact that all seats have direct aisle access. The food was fab and staff amazing. I also like the buffet bar. Never got the WiFi to work though and gave up on that.
AircraftA430
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Chicago
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"SAS attendants are always nice"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Flew London Heathrow to Copenhagen. I really miss the old SAS Business Class in Europe. They used to be ace. Then they had the horrid idea of scrapping it. Now they offer this hybrid product. It is however really good, the food is good, SAS attendants are always nice. The only thing that is different to european business is that the middle seat is not empty. This is really irritating.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLondon Heathrow to Copenhagen
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"SAS is a budget airline"

(Denmark)

Verified Review | In a cost saving effort, SAS has discontinued the lounge access in Billund for all their passengers. With this latest reduction in service, it just confirms SAS is a budget airline and not worthy of being a Star Alliance member. In my view, SAS is hurting the Star Alliance brand. Next time I will take the train on the domestic routes in Denmark.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBillund to Copenhagen
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"every year is worst than the previous one"

(Italy)

Verified Review | I've flown a several times with SAS and I have to say every year is worst than the previous one. The service from Tromsø to Rome via Oslo / Zurich was very basic, there is no snack on the board but they "offer" only coffee and tee for free. I can't even imagine that SAS is a flag carrier because their behavior is exactly the one used by all the low cost companies. The worst part is the "SAS go Light", they offer you to travel with "lower" price without checked luggage, but actually the price is not much more lower.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTromsø to Rome via Oslo / Zurich
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"SAS is definitely the worst"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Berlin to Trondheim via Oslo. I fly with SAS frequently since I live in Norway and it is the only alternative of Star Alliance companies when moving around Europe. Compared to the others of the alliance SAS is definitely the worst. I cannot recount how many times flights are delayed for more than 40 minutes. Service is at a lower standard than even low-cost or charter flights. The planes are old and smelly. Above all, SAS is an expensive airline, and combining this with the provided service and the quality of the aircrafts warrants it as one of the worst value-for-money. Even their domestic rivals, Norwegian, although being a low-cost airline have a lot better aircraft and services. The low quality of SAS is making me think of not only never flying with them again but also switching to other alliance partnerships.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Trondheim via Oslo
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"stop bragging about benefits"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | What is the use of "SAS Plus" on European routes? Flew Stockholm to Lisbon and back in SAS Plus (former business). On SAS website there are a list of benefits when traveling in Plus. But what do you really get? On board: Seating: no difference at all from economy, except for being seated in the first rows. One benefit is supposed to be chosing your preferred seat when booking, but be prepared that they try to give you a another (worse) seat at the gate - happened to me on both legs. Food: a cold meal is included, OK quality when departing from Stockholm, worse on return leg. Drinks for free. Power outlet: should be available according to SAS website, but was not. At the airport Fast Track should be included - works brilliant in Stockholm but in Lisbon there was no sign of a fast track at all. Lounge access should be included - good lounge in Stockholm but in Lisbon there was no lounge at all admitting SAS Plus passengers. No information of the lack of fast track/lounge was given in advance. Check-in in advance: works fine in Stockholm, but not possible in Lisbon, only manual check in. (Separate SAS Plus check in counter, though.) Strange and confusing is that the booking is not possible to retrieve from the SAS App several hours before check in. What remains of the benefits of Plus is the possibility to rebook and cancel your ticket, more luggage and more eurobonus points. SAS should stop bragging about the other benefits as long as they are only partially available. More confidence would be gained if passengers were duly informed of what actually is available on their particular flight - when booking.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteStockholm to Lisbon
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"reverted to a low cost airline"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Milan via Copenhagen. It is required to pay to reserve seats on SAS. It's $40 per person, per leg, which if you're doing a multiple leg flight (plus return flights) adds up very quickly. You can pick seats for free up to 12 hours (?) in advance online, which I did about 10 hours before the flight. Unfortunately my wife and I ended up separated from San Francisco to Copenhagen and there were nothing SAS staff could do, or felt like doing. Once I arrived in Copenhagen I went to the SAS desk to get some help, and hopefully get some better seats for the return flight 2 weeks later, I was greeted by a stone-faced lady that said the same thing as everyone else, she couldn't do anything. That seems to be the theme of SAS, stone faced workers that would rather not do anything, along with very strange seat policies designed to rip off the customers. The flights itself are decent, the A340 was in good condition with good individual in flight entertainment screens. I was under the impression that SAS was better than this, I guess it's reverted to being a low cost airline striving to penny pinch to the every end.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Milan via Copenhagen
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"definitely worth the premium"

(United States)

Verified Review | Newark to Oslo return, SAS Plus (Premium Economy). A great product - comfortable seats with foot rests and decent recline (analagous to domestic First), a very large monitor with good IFE choices, plenty of food including a main meal, midflight snack and a pre-arrival small meal. Cabin crew were professional and friendly throughout. Free WiFi (although it is slow as to be worthless). SAS Plus is definitely worth the premium from SAS Go (regular Economy) which is aimed to compete with low cost carriers and suffers for it.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNewark to Oslo
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes