SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 556 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"did not apologise properly"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Amsterdam with SAS Scandinavian. The flight was delayed 40 minutes first without any prior announcement, we were supposed to depart at 16.15 and then several minutes before the actual take off time it was changed to 16.55. then, when we got on the flight, it was announced that the plane had missed some its takeoff time and the next time to take off was at 17.55. The cabin crew did not apologise properly, they just asked to "have more patience". Also, they didn't offer any free beverages and drinks despite the delay. Even drinking water was only available to buy. I don't think they deserve even those three stars status they claim to have.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"What a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | London to Tokyo via Copenhagen. What a nightmare this airline was! There was absolute chaos with them at Heathrow after they cancelled the flight to Copenhagen just one hour before it was due to depart (lack of crew and we actually saw the plane depart the airport with no passengers on!). Of course, this can happen with airlines but what was really the problem was the lack of knowledge and bad attitude of their staff ground and call centre staff. I received an SMS telling me the flight was cancelled and immediately went to the SAS transfer desk - a queue had already formed so I called the SAS call centre while waiting in the queue. To cut a long story short I had to make two phone calls and argue with three different SAS employees throughout the day in order to get onto a flight to Tokyo. SAS seems to have a very dysfunctional computer system and very little slack. In the end, I got onto an ANA flight 8 hours later. The return from Tokyo was late and I very nearly missed the connection back to London. And I am still waiting for my luggage to be returned 48 hours later! On board is OK - fairly basic food and no choice of food, but it was the chaotic scenes at Heathrow that would put me off flying with SAS again. If there's a problem they clearly don't have the capacity to cope and it shouldn't be the case you have to argue to get onto a flight in order to reach your original destination.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Tokyo via Copenhagen
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"winning the race to the bottom"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Berlin. Flew SAS for the first time in many years. I remembered a punctual airline with good service. What I received this time was anything but. My route was TXL to TLL via ARN. Besides the fact that all four segments were late, I was mostly miffed about the idiotic way SAS now handles something as simple as serving a cup of water inflight. On three of the four segments water was served to every passenger who wanted some along with tea and coffee for no cost. Because SAS aspires to be a budget carrier they cater ALL flights with small bottles of water. However, flights less than 80 minutes are deemed too short to sell water at exorbitant prices so they serve it for free. The problem is they use many more plastic bottles than an airline would use if they had the normally-used big bottles. So much for SAS’ supposed concern for the environment, or for their passengers. Those who were served this “precious” water were given a ration of less than a small cup full and no refills. On the final segment I was told that the only way I could get some water at no charge would be if I stated that I needed it for taking medicine. SAS seems to be winning the race to the bottom handily.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Berlin
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"price was good for us"

(United States)

Not Verified | San Francisco to Copenhagen. I was not sure about this Airline becuase of the reviews, but still decide to give them a chance, because the price was good for us. We flight from San Francisco in June and back from Copenhagen to Boston in July. Customer Service at the airport was good, no problems at all, same with flight crew. We have meals in our flights (both ways), good portions, movies to choose, not many but some. Also in the way back, we buy extra room to Economy plus.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Copenhagen
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no better than low-cost airlines"

(Macedonia)

Not Verified | Vilnius to Copenhagen. The expected departure time for this flight was 15:00, however at 14:55 there was no evidence that this was going to happen. The monitor at the departure gate wrote "New information at 15:00. Expected departure 15:00". I don't know what this means in English, but fact is there was no SAS flight. No information was given. At 15:35 someone came up and annouced (only in Lithuanian) that the flight was delayed. I don't understand Lithuanian, so had no idea. I then asked a security worker in the airport about where the Information desk or Service Desk was located, only to be told that no such thing exists in Vilnius Airport. I would have to leave the departure zone, then come back. I decided to do just that, left departure zone and went straight to the SAS / Star Alliance office to ask what was going on about my flight to Copenhagen. The woman behind the desk then told me the flight was delayed, but that was all she knew. What an impressing service. I then tried to call SAS in Copenhagen only to learn that SAS customer service have no information about current flight operations. However, travelling on SAS Plus, I anticipated that I would have access to the business lounge in Vilnius Airport. This turned out to be untrue. As the only carrier in Star Alliance, only SAS business customers are not entitled entry to the business lounge even if SAS sell their business tickets with the understanding that you can access the business lounges. Finally boarded the flight two hours and 15 minutes after planned departure and got my seat in row 3 in the extremely cramped CRJ900 aircraft. Food served was actually OK, only later to see that deserts were one month over expiry date! Bottom line is that I fly SAS around 28-30 times per year, and even if they leased out the Vilnius-Copenhagen route to Air Nostrum and CityJet, it still states SAS on the airline ticket. Fact is, that I have had 6 cancellations and 5 major delays the past 7 months. SAS used to be a quality airline, and had a world known brand for service and punctuality, but how times have changed. To me SAS is now no better than low-cost airlines, and the quality and punctuality is long gone in the race towards being cheap which SAS is not. Other airlines in the Star Alliance are way better than SAS. Even flying SAS Plus is like flying cattle class. I have booked my final ticket with SAS, and will never come back.
AircraftCRJ900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVilnius to Copenhagen
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not what we had paid for"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Munich to Oslo. Paid for premium Economy got cattle class. Given boarding passes with the seats that we had reserved no problems at the check in counter. Got to the gate and our seats had been changed. Travel as a couple and shocked to find that we were no longer even in the same row, but squeezed between two other strangers. No space left for our bags the bins were filled by other passengers walking to the rear ended up put in the staff locker so could not access. No form of entertainment a very uncomfortable flight and certainly not what we had paid for. cabin crew seemed unfriendly and just going through the motions. I guess we were lucky only delayed for a short period before take-off but not a flight I would like to repeat in a hurry.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMunich to Oslo
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"comfortable to fly with SAS"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Oslo to Amsterdam. Smooth boarding at OSL. Free coffee and tea. The Swedish crisps they sell are the best I have ever tasted. Could have included free food and WiFi. Crew is very pleasant and professional. Feels really safe and comfortable to fly with SAS.
AircraftBoeing 738
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOslo to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

SAS Scandinavian customer review

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Stockholm to Newark via Copenhagen. I did not use the WIFI on this flight. There are mostly two things that set SAS down, Cabin crew and the IFE. Although on the flight down to CPH had amazing cabin crew, the one to EWR was less impressive. The IFE was good/decent. It will probably keep you entertained for a flight this long. The IFE offers some movies (around 58 if i remember correct) and some TV shows (Around 1-5 episodes for each one) That and the non-interactive route map. Although it might keep you entertained for just over the atlantic, maybe not a super long haul flight like from Scandinavia to LAX. SAS offers the In flight magazine and the menu digitally. Now this is a part with takes the IFE on this flight down. The games. There was only Chess under the "Games" category but there is some more under "Kids" and "Games" like tetris or something. The food selection for the cold part was good but a little bit overpriced although I do like that you can pay with Eurobounus Points on SAS so if you are a frequent flyer with them you can pay around (I think it was) 1,100 Eurobounus points. Although the cold food was food hot food can get a little bit bigger in selection in my opinion. You get a free meal and breakfast/pre-landing meal for free. The free meal was 10/10 according to my tastes. The seat was good, The recline was decent as well as the comfort of the seat. The seat came with a pillow, blanket, water bottle and headphones. As well with induvidual USB ports under the IFE and universal power outlet under the seat.
AircraftA321 / A340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Newark via Copenhagen
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"avoid if at all possible!"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Stuttgart to Reykjavik via Copenhagen. The flight between Stuttgart and Copenhagen and return was on a small jet as expected and of a duration of slightly more than an hour. No problems with either flight. The primary flight from Copenhagen to Iceland was the problem. - both outbound and the return. Having never flown SAS, I'd previously thought of them as a reasonably good national carrier. My assumption was mistaken. My experience with SAS ranks them as a cut-rate discount airline, but one that doesn't advertise themselves as such or acknowledge they are. I know what to expect if flying a discount airline so I'd have no rights to complain for lack of services/amenities, it would be expected - but this does NOT apply to SAS, nor their pricing! The 3 hour flight on the A320 to Keflavik had zero entertainment options, closely spaced rows, very narrow seats, and no more than a few degrees of "recline" - so the word really doesn't apply to these seats. No-charge amenities equaled exactly coffee, tea, and water. On the return flight we asked for a second cup of water (was give a max. of 200 ml in the first cup), but were informed we were "allowed" one cup and we'd need to pay €3 if we wanted more. Outward flight: aircrew arrived at gate 23 minutes prior to scheduled departure. The broadcast delay was blamed on "lots of baggage" which is a bogus explanation; the passenger and bag information is a "known" well before the flight. They were simply late and must think all passengers are mindless cattle. In the future if this airline's rates are competitive with other "discount" airlines, now that I know what to expect, I might use them again. But if that is not the case and unless hundreds of $ are saved per ticket we will never fly SAS again! I attempted to review/give feedback on the airline's site using the site info from the feedback card given us by the aircrew; I constantly receive a "404" error. Priceless! In closing, avoid if at all possible!
AircraftCanadair 900 / A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStuttgart to Reykjavik via Copenhagen
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"airline is completely incompetent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Chicago via Stockholm. Just awful. Was scheduled to leave at 4:30pm. They announced a delay due to the plane needing digital scanning. About an hour later they announced another delay in boarding. At 6:30pm they let us know that all the beverages onboard needed to be scanned and they would keep us posted. At 7:30pm we were told we would leave at 8:30. At almost 9:00 they announced the flight was canceled. After waiting over 4 hours at the gate we had to stand in line another hour to get a hotel assignment. The staff was totally unhelpful. They wouldn’t tell us any new flight information, we were just told to go online. When I went online to look for my new flight it said I have already taken my flight. I feel like I’m being held hostage by SAS. This airline is completely incompetent. If there is a problem with the aircraft, bring in a new one. If there are problems with the beverages, take them off and load new ones. The staff wouldn’t answer questions, they were completely rude. I hope to never have to fly this awful airline ever again. I’m hoping when I get back to the airport I can get some answers as to when I will be able to fly home. I would not recommend flying SAS. United, Lufthansa and IcelandAir are much niceer and more competent.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Chicago via Stockholm
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no