SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 503 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"I enjoyed flying with SAS"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very good flights London to Tromsø via Oslo / Stockholm. Generous legroom on all aircraft and the Recaro seats are extremely comfortable on short haul sectors. Online check in opens 22 hours before departure and is quick and easy to use. Tea and coffee are free in Economy, but all food and other beverages have to be paid for. The airline did a great job of keeping customers continually informed by text message when one of the flights was delayed by adverse weather. A320neo on the ARN-LHR return leg was less than six months old and is a very impressive aircraft. I enjoyed flying with SAS Scandinavian.
AircraftBoeing 737 / A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTromsø to London via Stockholm
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"devoid of any customer service skills"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | SAS appears to be devoid of any customer service skills. There is a very off-hand attitude that is rare even among some budget airlines that have a bad press. We arrived for our flight at Manchester Airport. We were informed the flight was delayed, the plane changed and our seat allocation unilaterally changed. We had booked seats with extra legroom at £17 extra per person. No apology given - just a shrug. We endured a cramped flight (we are all tall) with one of our party a fairly claustrophobic traveller - three hours of misery for her! On our return a letter to head office was totally ignored. A subsequent email elicited an automatic acknowledgement. Eighteen days later I received two emails stating that two tickets would be refunded £17 each. It also included the delightful sentence: "System generated e-mail, please do not respond." The email was impersonal - nobody named to respond to. I emailed (to the original address) about the third ticket - no response again. Two weeks later on checking my bank statement I found the third ticket had been credited. Utterly impersonal to the point of rudeness. No apology or explanation, no compensation beyond the minimum legal refund. An email then arrived with the heading "Help us Improve" and a link to a survey. Useless - the survey was a few tick-boxes with no option to explain any issues. Our return flight was with Ryanair - first time with them as well. They were much cheaper and got things right. No prizes for guessing which of the two airlines I won't be using again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Stockholm
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Oslo to London. Absolutely no customer service. Two cancelled flights, spanning 10 hours in Oslo Airport and no food or drink offered. No alternate flight to last cancelled flight offered. As we were offloaded from the second cancelled flight at 10.30pm the cabin crew announced there was no hotel accommodation available so we were 'on our own'! Literally used those words. Also announced that there was food available from the flight but not enough for everyone so 'if you don't need it, please don't take it'. No communication regarding alternate flights. Seriously, they didn't care! Would never fly this airline again. I recommend Norwegian Airlines who really stepped up to help me!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOslo to London
Date FlownNovember 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"non existent customer service"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Flew Stockholm to London. This airline has an almost non existent customer service, if you should ever have any issues with your booking. I tried to recover money for over 1 year when they charged me 3 times for one ticket. I probably spent near 6 hours on recovering the money. Regarding the actual flying. The staff are usually nice but it's a low price airline experience. With the only difference that SAS usually have older planes and more expensive food. I only recommend flying SAS if there is no other alternative. I have flown SAS a lot and is a gold tier traveller as Star Alliance. Norwegian and Easyjet are far better than SAS, but Ryanair is possibly worse, however at a fraction of the price.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to London
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"satisfied with the value for money"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | London to Oslo return, SK806/809. Very quick and easy check-in at both ends, both flights departed on time. Flights were smooth and service was friendly and efficient, with reasonable prices for goods though I bought my food and drink on the ground. Paid a reasonable price for my ticket and was very satisfied with the value for money.
AircraftBoeing 737-600
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Oslo
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight cancelled altogether"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to Hong Kong via Stockholm. The transfer flight from Stockholm to Hong Kong was delayed from 2.30 to 5, then 5 to 7.40, then got cancelled altogether. The initial delay was informed through SMS, however, the subsequent delays and cancellation were not notified through any channel including SMS or email. Passengers were not updated until the very last min at the gate when they were actually lining up for boarding! 2We were told that the delay was caused by a lightning struck on the wing, and they were doing everything they can to get it back on the air within a couple hours. Unrealistic expectation! We saw nobody working on the plane which was parked right at the gate. If they were welding the hole as what we were told, shouldn’t that be performed in a hanger? It’s a Sunday, do you expect any Swede to work at all? Since we had access to the Lounge, we were told by the staff at gate to head to SAS Lounge located at the other end of the terminal; not only it’s incredibly far, we also had to go back out through passport control and security check again. Other passengers without lounge access were told to wait near the gate. After sitting in the lounge for an hour or so, we went to the service centre (right below the lounge) to get an update. We took a ’fast’ ticket for Plus/Business and still waited 45 mins for anyone to assist us. There were no seats available nearby so everyone waiting were standing in front of the counter with luggages. At counter, staff told us that the flight was cancelled altogether. We were upset because I was due to be a grooms-mate for a wedding at destination. We requested another flight and did not want to wait till the next day. The staff couldn’t make decision and told us to wait for the supervisor. The supervisor did not appear for another 40mins and we just stood there waited! When she finally got out, her attitude was not at all helpful despite we were being incredibly polite.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteCopenhagen to Hong Kong via Stockholm
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just a disaster"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | Don’t buy tickets if it’s more than 100€ because it isn't worth it, SAS is a low cost airline with a disaster service and assistance. Your flight can be canceled more than once and delayed in the same time. Then you will fly through a connection. This is my story, just a disaster.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Gdansk
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"No food or cold drinks offered"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Copenhagen to Stuttgart. Absolutely another budget airline that doesn’t deserve to be part of star alliance. Besides the horrible flight I had with SAS 2 years ago this flight here proved that they can’t even compete with Germanwings. No food or cold drinks offered on board - only tea and coffee. Rubbish airport with no silver lounge - definitely not meeting star alliance standards. Of course flight was delayed.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Stuttgart
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"similar to low cost carriers"

(Belgium)

Verified Review | SAS long haul product is similar to low cost carriers like Norwegian or WOW Air, so absolutely not worth your money if you can fly cheaper on a low cost airline. You get one free soft drink with you meal, all other drinks (extra soft drinks on a 10hr flight, alcohol) is to be paid extra. For the meals: no choice at all, everybody is to eat the same. There are extra snacks on purchase. Crew wasn't rude, but not friendly either. If you can fly for the same price on actual carriers like Lufthansa, Swiss or KLM I wouldn't hesitate and avoid SAS.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"flight was unspectacular"

(Sweden)

Verified Review | To make it short and sweet. When I booked the price difference between Economy and Business wasn't that big. I also wanted to treat myself to Lounge access and fast track at Copenhagen airport. The flight itself was unspectacular, priority boarding was smooth and the food and drinks offered were ok. The downside is that unlike other airlines SAS is selling the entire seat row so the middle seat is occupied. Leg room was acceptable since it was row 1. If the price difference was bigger I wouldn’t be so gentle.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Chania
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes