SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 573 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not seen such poor service"

(India)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to London. Checked in 2 bags, 1 arrived other did not. I was told it might arrive on the next flight. But no reference number was given initially by GBS at London and the contact details give of SAS were wrong, even though they were printed on a SAS letterhead. It took us 12 hours to manage to speak to some one at the airline in Denmark and they said they dont handle lost baggage. On the 3rd day we returned to CPH with one bag and the other not to be found. Finally some one from the airline spoke and said it might get found might not and that the airline is more concerned about getting people on the planes on time rather than find lost baggage. He also said we cannot contact anyone from the airline and they will only contact us. Im left helpless with no clue about baggage and I've written to the airline on the feedback email ID but no response, even no response after posting on there twitter. I have not seen such poor service in any sector in any airline in any country.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to London
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a terrible experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | London to Bodo via Oslo. We had a terrible experience with SAS and will never fly with them again. SAS had the opportunity to make things right, but they flat-out refused to help us. They are far and away the worst company we have ever dealt with, and have the worst customer service imaginable. Unless you enjoy being ripped-off, deceived, cheated by travel companies, avoid SAS at all costs!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bodo via Oslo
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"now pay more to avoid them"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Athens to Copenhagen via Stockholm. More expensive than Norwegian and no better. Booking: English language site is old and not mobile friendly, exposing what looks like the SAP portal. No mobile boarding pass and very confusing sms messages before takeoff (asking me to buy luggage even though I had booked some) Some groundstaff was less than helpful. Previously had bad experience with their phone center as well. In flight: Pretends to be a fancy airline but only serves coffee in flight, offers food for purchase, plane had USB ports for charging and seats were ok. WiFi only for more expensive tickets. Staff: Hit and miss with more miss. Often unfriendly and unhelpful making sure you understand that they think your dumb for asking. But if you ask enough people you’ll find someone that is nice enough to help. I now pay up to 150€ more for the same route to avoid them. Mostly they are more expensive than alternatives anyway though.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Copenhagen via Stockholm
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"A complete shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew Helsinki to Manchester via Stockholm with SAS Scandinavian. First flight was delayed by 25 minutes with no explanation. Second flight also delayed for 70 minutes. Actually been waiting 90 minutes so far at Stockholm with no explanation or update on delay. First and last time using this airline. A complete shambles.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Manchester via Stockholm
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"horrible experiences"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Hong Kong via Stockholm. After multiples flights and horrible experiences with several SAS staff and no food or water, we arrived at our final destination with nearly 11hrs of accumulated delay, only to be told 'Sorry'! They did not even bother asking us what the impact of this had been at our end. I missed the key business meeting for which I was making that trip to Hong Kong while my partner missed a family member who was in Hong Kong for just a few hours before flying back to the US. They have not seen each others in over 2 years! SAS customer care team responses following the incident were in complete disregard of the most basic standards of customer service and reach a level of unprofessionalism that I have not seen in a very long time.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Hong Kong via Stockholm
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"our experience was very good"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Copenhagen via Stockholm. We were pleasantly surprised by this airline. It was our first time flying with SAS and our experience was very good. The flight to Copenhagen was non-stop, which was one of the determining factors in choosing SAS. The flight back went through Stockholm, with a short layover. Both the flight from the US to Copenhagen, and back to the US were exactly on time - no delays. Check in and baggage check went smoothly with no problems. In-flight service was great, all flight attendants were friendly. We found the food to be tasty and the meal service was very good. The seats on the A330 were roomy and comfortable. The seats on the commuter A320 (from Copenhagen to Stockholm) were surprisingly roomy - they were scaled down and not as "cushy" as other 320s, but that scaling down gave us extra leg room. And let me mention again that the flights left on time and arrived on time or 5 minutes early. We will definitely fly this airline again if the opportunity arises.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteNewark to Copenhagen via Stockholm
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"avoid as much as possible"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Athens to Oslo. Very poor service. Practically SAS is a low cost carrier. Very limited space for your legs, they don't serve even water for free and with the new policy you don't have any free bag. This is not indicated when you buy your ticket or issue your boarding pass. In most of the airports (eg. CPH, ATH) they have very poor service, don't accept bags earlier than two hours and have very few check in counters (long lines). Try to avoid as much as possible, carriers like Norwegian are far better.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Oslo
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no apology why flights delayed"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Tokyo via Copenhagen. Flight from Berlin was 40 minutes delayed. While I had connecting flight to Narita Tokyo in 1 hour 15 minutes. Ground staff told a passenger to Chicago with narrower connecting time, that the pilot knows, if he decides to wait, he will. If he decides not to wait, he won’t. On the flight the flight attendant assured us that she will let the ground staff knows about our connecting flight. Once we landed, we had to wait inside the aircraft without air conditioner (outdoor temperature above 30°C) for more than 10 minutes. I asked her whether she had informed the ground staff, but she said she has no connection with ground. I arrived in terminal without assistance, had to rung the long corridor to my gate while hearing my names was being called throughout the terminal. The staff at the gate only said that I’m ok now, but didn’t escort me to the aircraft and I only saw closed doors not knowing which door is leading to the aircraft. Once I boarded the plane, it was announced that “boarding completed”. On the way back from Tokyo Narita to Copenhagen, the cabin crew wasn’t really professional. The connection flight to Berlin Tegel had another delay. There wasn’t any explanation at all nor apology on why the flights were delayed, even though I wrote a review at their website. Cabin crews didn't ask passengers to straight up their seats during meals. We had to ask them ourselves. I'm not sure whether economy class has to pay for WiFi, because mine didn't work, but other European domestic airline had WiFi for all passengers in 2016. The movies were very limited.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Tokyo via Copenhagen
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"barely above budget status"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Klaipeda via Copenhagen. In 2001 I took took a flight with SAS from Amsterdam to Stockholm and enjoyed one of the best short haul flights I had experienced. Great food, great service, great comfort. But, that was 17 years ago. As traditional airlines have cut costs in relation to competition from budget alternatives, I would have to say, of the airlines I've used, SAS have compromised their product the most. The only way they differentiate themselves from budget airlines when flying short-haul, is you get a little bit of extra leg room—and free coffee and tea on flights over 80 minutes. The boarding situation was fairly chaotic, full flights on both AMS to CPH and on the return leg. On this occasion I travelled with my physically disabled child who requires extra assistance. Despite communicating this this ahead of time, outbound, they were completely unprepared, and we had to wrestle a bit to have our needs met. They also had us board last, which was extremely awkward and difficult for the passengers that had already boarded. On the return leg however, they were excellent. Airport staff were ready to meet us and transport us to the connecting flight. With regard to this, and in general, the cabin staff were friendly and helpful. The A320's on both legs were not well cleaned. Slightly grimy throughout the cabin. The plane used for the CPH to AMS flight was particularly bad. During taxiing, the cabin was bombarded with what could best be described as horrible low pitched squeal. In contrast however, the CRJ900's were both very well maintained (operated by City Jet). In summary, as previously alluded to, it seems this airline is barely above budget status these days. At times, that little bit extra shone through, but for the most part, it was functional, it got us where we needed to go, but it is not worth the extra few €'s that you usually have to pay to fly with them. It's stuck between the two worlds, and it doesn't really fulfil either's criteria.
AircraftA320 / CRJ900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Klaipeda via Copenhagen
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"leg room is very limited"

(United States)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Copenhagen. The leg room is very limited for an overseas flight. You usually get snacks for free on oversea flights but not on SAS. We were charged about $4.00 for a bag of potato chips.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Copenhagen
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no