SAS Scandinavian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 542 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"bothersome procedure"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Traveling from Longyearbyen, SAS has established a very dysfunctional and bothersome procedure. The ticket is sold as LYR-OSL, but is in reality LYR-TOS-OSL. You do, however, not earn the miles for two legs. As you arrive in TOS, you have to pick up your luggage and clear it through customs. That’s fair enough, but it seemed like no-one, including the data-system, knew ee were comeing, as Bag-drop did not work. The personnel manning the check-in was to busy talking to her colleagues. There is NO fast track for SAS passengers at the security check, and the security personnel seemed to be sleeping. This resulted in loong lines. Due to this mess, LYR-passengers entered the plane last, resulting in an uncomfortable trip, as there were no room left for hand luggage over head. On top of this, the incompetent it-department SAS is employing has also this time failed, resulting in us not being able to reserve the seats we wanted.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLongyearbyen to Oslo
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very comfortable experience"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Tokyo Narita. SAS is a comfortable and excellent airline to travel with. I have choosen SAS for travel nearly 40 years, domestic Norway and international. I have tried other airlines, but my favorite remains the same. My flight to Narita was on time, relaxing and with excellent comfort. Staff made me feel welcomed and was professionals who knew what service is required. Food tasty with a variety of dishes to choose from. Inflight entertainment with a large selection of movies, mostly new, but also some classics from the past. Seat comfort in business gives plenty of room for sleep or just lounging. Wifi needs some improvement, Smooth journey and a very comfortable experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"our flight was cancelled"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Me and my family are booked on the SK595 flight on 8.30am in the morning. We got there early waiting for our flight and at around 9am we found out that our flight was cancelled. Luckily they rebooked us on the other flight at 2.30pm. I hate this airline and wouldn’t consider flying with it again. They really ruined our plan for the day. Star alliance should really consider kicking them out of the group!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Reykjavik
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"crew were very welcoming"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Hong Kong. First time flying with SAS, the experience is a mixed one, mediocre on the ground, but quite good on the sky. The lounge was very underwhelming which was mentioned in my other lounge review. Boarding is by class and row, it was ok and not chaotic. Once on board, crew were very welcoming and spoke good English. For this Hong Kong flight, 3 Chinese crew were on board, a thoughtful touch from SAS. Typical forward facing 1-2-1 flat bed seats, with touch screen TV. Basic toiletry kit provided, blanket, pillow and bed lining as well. Meals and drinks selections are very good, food tasty. I find their service is quite good actually. Free wifi offered to all biz class passengers, and the connection quite good. Breakfast served 2 hours before landing once again, good offering and tasty. Overall, I am quite impressed by this airlines. However after landing, my bag arrived without being tagged with priority (I checked in at biz counter at Stockholm), queue a serious oversight. Would have been an easy 8 out of 10 if the lounge and bags were right.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteStockholm to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"compassion and cooperation"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Berlin. Had planned a surprise trip for my mother as she is turning 80 this week. Took her to the airport, when she discovers her purse is gone (incl ID/passport). Before heading up to the check-in counters, I call SAS and explain the situation and also mention that I am Star Alliance Gold (on SAS). The guy answering does not have a clue. After repeated nudging, it turns out that for 600+USD, we could potentially fly on a later flight. I am not asking for the moon, but a little compassion and cooperation now and then with your most loyal customers would go a long way.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Berlin
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"put me in a very bad seat"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Berlin via Stockholm. Compared to my premium economy review, where I did say much about the airline, flying economy put me in a very bad seat, with little space, for a long haul not the best experience. And we were "full house", this adds even more to the bad experience. You get used to it but 10 hours are not pleasant. It was a daytime flight so I didn't need to sleep, which was good, given the seat and the entertainment system was well equipped with movies and series to keep me occupied for the whole flight. The screen was small, of course, but the image and sound were good. the food was nothing better than the premium economy so I don't see the difference here in paying more for the other product.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Berlin via Stockholm
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"they aren't bad in anything"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Berlin to Hong Kong via Copenhagen / Stockholm. I was flying economy and was able to get an update at the gate for premium economy for a really good deal. The downside was that i have paid for my seat in economy and I didn't get any compensation for that. I have flown SAS before, in premium economy as well and I must say, the overall impression is the same. They don't excel in anything, I don't remember a part of the journey that made me say "wow" but also they aren't bad in anything. You get a relatively okayish experience for an okayish amount of money. The new things in premium economy this time were: free Wifi on board and the possibility of using the lounge at ARN. About the lounge in review separately. The inconvenience here was that making the upgrade at the gate, I had to go back through passport control, walk some good steps and then go back through passport and security control to get back to the gate. I ended up 15 minutes in the lounge. And also, I had to ask them at the gate if I was able to use the lounge, they didn't tell me when I did the upgrade. Because it was new, I had to see it. The seat I got was indeed huge, although not as comfortable as expected. I was alone on the whole row and the cabin, even with so many upgrades was still empty. The food was average, not what you would expect from a premium cabin and the service was in the same line. I couldn't log in automatically with my e-ticket number so I had to ask the crew to provide me a voucher in order to access the Wifi. It was unlimited, but I couldn't browse the internet, it worked just for social apps, so it was a nice plus, anyway. The seats had plugs for charging devices. The flights were almost all on time, only when coming back the delay made it impossible to make my 30 minutes connections, but I was rescheduled and got in TXL at the same time. Landing in HKG was 45 minutes ahead of schedule. As an airline, better than average, premium economy not.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBerlin to Hong Kong via Copenhagen / Stockholm
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Not a good experience"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Athens to Copenhagen. First time with SAS. Not a good experience. 1 hour late boarding. No one let us know the new hour of travel. The staff were not friendly at all. On economy class you have to pay 3€ for a bottle of water. Not recommended for sure.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Copenhagen
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such a bad experience"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Copenhagen to Berlin. Delayed flight and not really low fare. Wondering, why, when having such strong competition with Norwegian and easyJet being punctual and such low cost, how could you consider selecting SAS next time after such a bad experience? I got an acknowledgment that the flight was actually overbooked and didn’t get any seat assigned, fortunately two passengers didn’t show up. Amazing really.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Berlin
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"surprised and disappointed"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to London. I was just rather surprised and disappointed. My 3 year old son was undergoing surgery in London so I rushed back to the airport and given a call ended early I was able to just show up at the gate as the earlier flight was boarding. Explained my situation - would love to see him when he wakes up from general anesthesia. Then I was told I needed to wait to see whether there are any free seats. Of course! Then I was told that there are four seats free in coach but they deny to take me because I had booked an inflexible ticket. Offered to pay and they have no ability to take payment even at customer service. I don’t know what to say other than I am stranded at the airport for another three hours and feel that I was just treated a bit inhumanly. Gold star with star alliance back and forth, they’d rather let an airplane leave with empty seats and have me sit here than making an exception, or charging me for it. Oh well the surgery went well and the little one is OK. It’s the important things that count.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to London
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no