Top 100 Airlines  

Royal Brunei Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 289 reviews
7/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"incredibly low price"

(Australia)

Melbourne to London via Bandar seri Begawan and Dubai with Royal Brunei Airlines. Overall a very good experience for an incredibly low price. Outbound at check-in we were offered emergency exit seats for all three legs at no charge - a major bonus for me, being over six foot. Staff were attentive and reasonably friendly, seats comfortable, meals ok and the Boeing 787 really is a up there in the running as the most comfortable long-haul aircraft. IFE modern but only so-so in terms of choices. Music options were particularly obscure. Minor complaints were the two stops (Dubai and Brunei) dragging things out, especially the Brunei stopover where food, drink and shopping options remain limited. Staff did very few water or soft drink runs when the cabin lights were out. Also the three seven hour flights make food servings slightly difficult: one meal or two? Sometimes it was only one meal, which was a stretch (hungry), sometimes one plus a quite tasty and satisfactory hot wrap, but mostly one plus a serving of either sweet or savoury biscuits, which was enough to tide one over but rather odd.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to LHR via BWN / DXB
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"didn't handle this well at all"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Bangkok to Melbourne via Bandar Seri Begawan, but we never actually flew with Royal Brunei, so I cannot comment on their inflight product. I can however review their handling of cancellations, delays etc. We arrived at BKK airport at 11am for our 1.30pm flight, only to be told that the Brunei to Melbourne sector was 'not operating' today, or the next day for that matter. Although Royal Brunei knew this the previous day, no e-mail or sms was sent to advise passengers of this. We could have stayed at our Bangkok hotel and opted for a late checkout if we had known. The Royal Brunei representative told us to 'take a seat' as they were 'organising' an alternative routing for us. This dragged on for well over an hour, and still they were 'organising' and 'waiting for confirmations'. I approached the counter and asked if we could avoid a late night departure if at all possible, given the fact that midnight departures and our 7 year-old daughter do not go well together. They replied: 'ok we will see. Just take a seat'. Eventually, we were told that we had all been booked on the direct Thai Airways flight to Melbourne, departing after midnight. There were no other options. According to Royal Brunei, Thai doesn't operate a morning flight from BKK to MEL, but 'if there was a morning flight, you could certainly have taken it'. Well of course there is a morning flight with Thai: TG 461, which operates daily. At that stage we had all been booked on TG 465, so we had to go with it. We transferred to an airport hotel around 2pm for 7 hours, and then back to the airport. It is how certain airlines handle unexpected issues such as cancellations, delays etc that set them apart from the truly good carriers. Sadly, Royal Brunei didn't handle this particularly well at all.
AircraftNot Applicable
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBKK to MEL via BWN
Date FlownApril 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"economical full service airline"

(Australia)

Travelled Singapore to Kota Kinabalu via BWN and Kota Kinabalu to Jakarta via BWN using frequent flyer points. Both flights had a stopover in Brunei. Whilst I regularly travel Business Class with Royal Brunei this was my first time travelling Economy Class with them. All flights were on time. As short haul flights there was no IFE of note. Meals were served on all flights, even the short distance from Brunei to Kota Kinabalu. Royal Brunei is a dry airline so there was no alcohol. Food was good and well served and the choices were available. Desk staff in Kota Kinabalu were very good and at short notice, after seeing how I was walking, arranged a wheelchair for me in Brunei and then Jakarta. In Brunei, I had a relatively long stopover and staff bought water and dinner for me (I had asked for some water and was given both). I will continue to fly Royal Brunei airlines - an economical full service airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to BKI via BWN
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"not a premium service"

(United Kingdom)

London to Brunei via Dubai with Royal Brunei Airlines. Cabin half empty, row 11 has no windows adjacent to seat which requires passengers sitting in 11A and 11K to lean forward to see outside the window. Despite half empty cabin one of the three main menu options were not available. As airline is a dry carrier, only basic fruit juices, fizzy drinks and hot beverages are served. Cabin crew polite and efficient but not a premium service. Complimentary goody bag is a joke when compared to most other carriers. Crew change in Dubai and next sector to Bandar seri Begawan only had four pax in the cabin. Both service and food on offer much better on this sector. Seat and flat bed comfortable. IFE choices are limited and seat configuration 2x2x2 is not ideal for long sectors. Toilets clean. The product difference between Royal Brunei and a premium carrier such as Qatar Airways is substantial. Paying the additional premium in order to get a much superior product and service delivery may well be justified.
Aircraft787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to BWN via DXB
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the food was excellent"

(United Arab Emirates)

We thought we would try Royal Brunei's Boeing 787 as opposed to our usual monthly trip to the UAE on the larger competitors on this route from London to Dubai. Check in was fast and efficient. Fast track immigration and security at LHR T4 and the use of the Etihad lounge was appreciated. The lounge was very quiet as very few other flights were using it. Boarding was fine - priority for business class. Nice seats together at the front of the aircraft as they operate two classes only. Plenty of room and space to stretch out - just as good as EY and EK offerings. We took off on time. Amazing for Heathrow. Service was good and the food was excellent and plentiful. Its a dry airline so we brought our own bottle of wine but be cautioned - they used to be happy to let you drink your own alcohol on board but this time it was permitted only reluctanly and provided we drank it out of plain paper cups so as not to upset other passengers. We were given comfy pillows and duvets to help a good night's sleep but you have to make your own bed. We landed early in Dubai, excellent stuff. Would we use Royal Brunei Airlines again? Maybe. The crew were not particularly friendly although very efficient snd the price is very competitive. They need to tighten up a little on the friendliness and general spproachibility of staff.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLHR to DXB
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"ticket costs represented value"

(Australia)

We were aware that Royal Brunei Airlines flights were alcohol free and this was a plus for us as we are both teetotallers. We found staff extremely helpful. Business class only had 16 seats which converted to flat beds. The toilet facilities were cleaned through the flight. The food was excellent and could be ordered to suit your timetable with 30 minutes notice. The stopover at Brunei and Dubai were for refueling and cleaning. Showers were available in the Business lounge at Brunei and this was appreciated. We would recommend this airline to other passengers. We thought the ticket costs represented value compared to the top flight airlines, bearing in mind that top airlines may be more fancy in business class.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to LHR via BWN / DXB
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"very basic airline"

(Australia)

After trailing Royal Brunei Airlines on the Kangaroo route 5 years ago, it seems to have improved on the hard product, but there are still issues with service and inflight entertainment. Brunei airport (BWN) seems to have upgraded its cosmetic appeal, yet it is worse than ever. It's a basic airline with no small touches. The airline delivers its service and that's it. No hot towels and no menus while flying economy. It's a very basic airline. Crew keep to themselves and the constant stopovers become tiresome. The Boeing 787 is a wonderful aircraft, but more entertainment options are a must and hot towels would be nice. Still a basic 3 star airline, no more than that. A long way to go for this south east Asian airline competing in a huge market.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to LHR via BWN / DXB
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"the best deal on the market"

(New Zealand)

I have found Royal Brunei to be a very comfortable airline to fly with, the food is of a good standard just as any other airline, yes no alcohol, but that is ok. Plenty of refreshments offered throughout the flight. Movies were good. Not much at Brunei departure lounge but hopefully will improve with upgrades going on. Most of all the price offered by Royal Brunei is truly the best deal on the market flying from New Zealand to London for $1630 return.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to LHR via Brunei/Dubai
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a straightforward airline"

(United Kingdom)

My wife and I have just booked on Royal Brunei Airlines for the fourth time to visit family in Australia. It is a straightforward airline - no unnecessary frills but all of the needs attended to. No alcohol as Brunei is a devout Muslim country, but that doesn't bother us at all. Very friendly, helpful staff on board and at Brunei airport (there is time for us to nip outside for a smoke). The food is very good and plentiful, drinks come round regularly and on-board entertainment up to spec. The best bit is the price - booking in UK, off peak, is just over £700 return each.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Melbourne
Date FlownMarch 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"staff friendly and helpful"

(Australia)

Royal Brunei Airlines on the Dreamliner from Melbourne to Heathrow with stops at Brunei and Dubai on Boeing 787. No real complaints only that the coke and sprite they served was flat. There was enough room for me as I am about 6'2 and about 115kgs. There's not much at Bandar seri Begawan Airport, but it is undergoing upgrades. Would recommend this airline for the price as it was only $3000 or so return for me and my wife. Staff were friendly and helpful.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to LHR
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes