AirAsia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 477 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"staff were a little cold"

(India)

Verified Review | AirAsia charges its passengers for practically everything that it possibly can. Did web check-in 14 days prior but could not select seat of my wish free of charge. Was alloted a seat by the system randomly. The ground service at Bhubaneswar airport was pathetic with the airline staff not clear about the transit rules. There was no line at check-in counter and people were literally crowding at the counters to get their check-in done. flight departed 15 mins late but arrived on schedule. The staff were a little cold on this flight. Did not have any issue with seat pitch (my height is 164cms). The pilot made periodic announcements regarding flight progress which was nice. Had pre-ordered kabali biryani which was served with coke. Quantity of the meal was fine.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBhubaneswar to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"sorry we are not responsible"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | I bought a ticket Padang - Kuala Lumpur in february 2017 for a flight in August. With this flight we had 6 hours in Kuala Lumpur to catch the other flight. After a month I a got a message of a reschedule for about two hours later. It still should be enough for the transfer in Kuala Lumpur. On the day of departure when we arrived at the ariport a next reschedule of the flight. This means about two hours for transer. This is very tight for a transer in Kuala Lumpur, due to the two different terminals. We informed the AirAsia staff, they arranged a Priority luggage handling. The man took a picture of our passport and ticket and send it to Kuala Lumpur to inform the office there and probably inform the Oman Air counter, our connecting carrier. Finally, at the gate we waited for three hours to found out that the flight was delayd for almost an hour! The plane had a fast and smooth trip to Kuala Lumpur. At arrival we ran to the luggage band, picked up our luggage as first and run to the next terminal. At the second terminal we found out that the connecting flight of Oman-Air has left already. The result was that I had to buy 4 new tickets to Amsterdam. Back home filling in the e-form and ask for help or compensation. But the only response of Air Asia, sorry we are not responsible. We can not be charged for costs due to delay or rescheduling. This means that you cannot trust AirAsia if you have a connecting flight. If you cannot trust the schedule you better don't fly with AirAsia. Im sorry because the flight and onboard service is okay. The lesson is that a cheap ticket can turn to be very expensive.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePadang to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"please make sure it's consistent"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | I was travelling from Bali to Hong Kong, where I had to transfer at KL. I only had a cabin size suitcase, and a drawstring backpack with me. I have been travelling with AirAsia many times in the past, due to the it's competitive price, even though the seats are uncomfortable, but I don't mind it for short hauls. I have always been using the same cabin size suitcase when travelling with them. So size wise, I know my suitcase is definitely fine. For my drawstring backpack, anyone who has one knows you can't really put much in it. I only had my personal documents in the bag, plus a jacket to use while on the flight. After I finished checking in, a guy stopped me and wanted to weigh my luggage. The total weight of my 2 pieces were just slightly over 10kg (the total permitted weight is 7kg for AirAsia). This is exactly what I came with, perhaps less. I threw away an old top and flip flops after this trip too. They weighed my luggage on my outward flights, I can't remember the total weight for that, but they let me through, but gave me a little advice to make sure I was within limit the next time. However, on my return flight, this guy did not let me through, he took my boarding pass away, even when I told him I was running late, I only had less than 10min left before boarding time! He said I had to check in my suitcase. So I had to quickly rearrange things in my suitcase again! After all this messing around, my suitcase was finally ready for checking it, and I was charged IDR 800k for that! My flight was only IDR 1,380,400! I could have pay a little bit more, and flew with Cathay, which comes with 20kg check-in luggage, a much comfier journey with entertainment, plus direct flight. What really annoyed me was that after I went to the other side at the boarding gate, I saw so many people with over-sized luggage. I spoke to 2 staff there to make a complaint, but they ignored me. As soon as I landed, I sent an email to AirAsia to make this complaint, there were a lot of emails back and forth, but they were not willing to do anything about it. I'm fine if they want to follow their rules strictly, but please make sure it's consistent.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Hong Kong via KL
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"flight departed on time"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | This was AirAsia, AK356, an afternoon flight from Kuala Lumpur to Surakarta. The flight departed on time and arrived at Adi Soemarmo International Airport 20 mins ahead of schedule. The flight generally was in fine weather, except for a bit of turbulence during descend into SOC. Landing was good.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Surakarta
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"generally a good flight"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | This was flight AK329 from Semarang to Kuala Lumpur, a morning flight which departed 10 mins behind schedule. The captain made a flight-related announcement after attaining cruising altitude. It was generally a good flight in fine weather. The plane arrived in KUL as scheduled and landing was okay.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSemarang to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"no official communication"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Our booking from Kuala Lumpur to Kota Kinabalu was for 17h30, got email that delay until 19.30. Checked in 16.30 and went to departure area. By 19h00 notification of another 1hr delay. 20h45 no official communication but flight staff member informed us that entire flight crew for our flight had been rerouted to another flight. All AirAsia staff disappeared and at 21h00 an announcement over public address system informed us that flight was delayed until 02h40. At customer service cubical in departues there was one AirAsia person with a queue of at least 50 customers waiting to be served. We then went home, no point staying in KK for 30 hrs as our return flight was at 15h00 on Sunday
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Customer Service is non-existent"

(India)

Verified Review | One of our passengers wanted to upgrade to the Emergency Upgrade Seats. For two days before the actual travel date we could neither reach the AirAsia listed telephone no, nor could we re-login. After boarding the flight we saw a vacant seat and offered to pay but we were not allowed. Same thing happened on the way back from Bali. Neither the online check-in works nor the telephone no. Customer Service is non-existent. There is no AirAsia counter in KL Airport for the service of en route passengers. Even water is not served, which is being too stingy. The A320s flying to India are too cramped. On the way back from Bali to KL, we were unfortunate to get the last row seats. besides the constant sound of the toilet flush, the Cabin Crew, who did not have much work, were chatting away at the top of their voices like excited school children. Flights were late by minimum 1 hour on all four legs. Overall one of the lousiest flights that we have travelled. No professionalism at all.
AircraftA320, A330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHyderabad to Denpasar via Kaula Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"received very poor attention"

(Spain)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Male via Kuala Lumpur. Horrible experience with AirAsia. We suffered a delay of 2 hours so we lost the conexion flight and after long time and queues we were re-scheduled 24 hours later. We were provided a horrible hotel voucher and received very poor attention.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Male via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"The flight went well"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur. The flight departed late, I had to wait about an hour. There was a technical difficulty, it seemed. The announcement about the delayed departure was made at the airport about 30 minutes before departure, and through email, which surprised me since the email was received shortly before the originally scheduled flight should have left. The flight went well.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"I would recommend AirAsia"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Bandung to Kuala Lumpur. The check in was fair, but I asked to pay the baggage fee - I didn't know that the ticket fare I bought online was not covering baggage. The airport boarding room in Bandung was not too big, some passengers were standing. The flight delayed for 30 minutes. The ground staff didn't arrange the queue according to the seat area, so people started to queque 30 minutes before call. I was not aware about pre meal order and decided not to order on board. The seat space was enough for me, maybe near emergency exit was wider. For low cost flight, I think I would recommend AirAsia.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBandung to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes