Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 466 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Worst flight ever"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Singapore to Auckland. Worst flight ever - filthy toilets, terrible food. When complained to Air Stewardess about these issues was offered a gin and tonic. What sort of a response is that. I had medication that needed to be kept cold, was offered a bag of ice to wrap around it. Consequently the ice melted and I had to throw out medication as it became very wet - not impressed. Other airlines have a fridge for medication. Offered water twice only on a 10 hour flight. Will not be travelling on Aiz NZ anytime soon.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"slick and professional operation"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | I haven't flown Air New Zealand for some years and was pleasantly surprised by the premium economy product on offer flying from Singapore to Auckland. The service was excellent as was the food and ground handling. Small closed of cabin 21 PAX with own toilet. 2 dedicated flight attendants who were constantly around the cabin. Snacks can be ordered from seat screen. A totally slick and professional operation theat Air NZ should be proud of.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSingapore to Auckland
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"all flights were a dream"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Excellent family trip. Travelling with 2 children - aged 4 years and 7 months on a long haul flight - Melbourne - Auckland - San Francisco. Bulkhead row with baby basinet. Expecting a challenging trip with small children, all flights were a dream. Service was excellent from all on board and a great aircraft. Couldn't fault anything, staff were very helpful, food was good, entertainment options were great. Value for money was incredible - less than AU$900 each for 3 seats, and including a basinet for bubs.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to San Francisco via Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seats were absolutely fine"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Returned to Auckland from a holiday in Honolulu with my wife after flying Air New Zealand to Honolulu 10 days before, also on Air NZ. Both flights in Economy and both travelling on a Works (full service) ticket. Flight up was an overnight flight and the flight back was a day flight. Despite other reviews seats were absolutely fine, I slept about 4 hrs on a 8.5 hr flight up and my wife got at least that. Didn't sleep on the flight back and the seats were fine on the 9 hr return flight. My wife and I are average to smaller stature so perhaps that helped. Service on both flights was very good, lots of walkthroughs with water and decent meals. Service was usual Air NZ, ie friendly with a Kiwi flavour. AV was quite good as well. We went up in June and came back in July and noticed the July movie list seemed a bit more interesting, tho that is personal taste. One thing I really liked was that I didn't need an aircraft adapter, the Air NZ 787 has a single pin headphone socket as well as the aircraft double socket. In summary, very satisfied with both lights (and I'm not an Air NZ fanboi) .
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Auckland
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"they have friendly service"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Vancouver to Auckland. I have had six international flights in last month with them in business class and they are working hard at improving their premium product. I still don't think there are up to the standard of Asian airlines but they have friendly service, excellent food and beverage and very comfortable beds (I think the seats work better as beds than seats). I was lucky enough to have a very attentive flight attendant on the Vancouver to Auckland leg, he offered me a New Zealand newspaper (he had kept some out of sight) which was much appreciated. He also made up the empty seat next to me as a bed. Flight arrived on time, dinner and breakfast were excellent, bathrooms clean and no queuing. The IFE is a bit ordinary, they need to do better here, on Emirates there are hundreds more titles, if not thousands.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteVancouver to Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"service not up to usual standards"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew Air New Zealand from Los Angeles to London Heathrow. Check in friendly and fast, security line for Business class not too bad. Lounge was OK, only had a glass of wine but food looked tasty. Flight was delayed 30 minutes, check in was chaotic. On board in second cabin for Business Class did not appear to be as well attended as the main cabin and had to wait until the doors had closed for a pre takeoff wine while I could see in the main cabin they were having refills. Magazines only offered in main cabin. This is due to economy and premium economy passengers boarding via the second business class cabin space. British crew were a bit perfunctory, level of attention to detail was not particularly personal. First meal of blackened chicken with kale and pumpkin mash was adequate, breakfast undercooked and not edible (e.g. raw potato). Was not asked if there was anything wrong with is despite it being barely touched. Wine excellent, seat and bed very comfortable, best thing to do on the flight was to sleep. IFE was fine and being able to watch to the gate was appreciated so that I could finish a film. Bags there before we were and surprisingly in a cab within 30 minutes of an on time arrival feeling well rested but overall service was not up to usual standards.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLos Angeles to London Heathrow
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seats were comfortable"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Tokyo-Auckland return. The out-going trip was excellent - one of the best I've had in economy class. Incredibly attentive, friendly, proactive crew. If they saw our water bottles were empty, they offered to refill them, and as we were sitting near the galley where some passengers were congregating, they offered us noise-cancelling earphones from Business Class. I love that Air NZ offers five quality wines, and that with breakfast on both legs they served Sparkling Wine. Food, service and IFE was great. On the return trip, it was good but lacked any spark. Crew tended to be going through the motions, and the food was very average - which was surprising given it departed from Auckland. But the wine and IFE made up for it, and the seats were comfortable and the legroom was spacious.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"perfect service all the way"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Air New Zealand were fabulous. From the time you get to the gate (could not rate check in as we had a connnecting flight with AC before Vancouver) to the arrival in Auckland: perfect service all the way. The ground personnel and flight attendants are polite, attentive, empathic. Air NZ even has wine expert in economy class onboard. Although the flight is very long, service was so smooth and well done that it went quickly. We were booked on a codeshare with United on the way back: absolutely terrible. Whenever possible I will travel Air New Zealand.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Auckland
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"was as good as business class gets"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Check in was fine, no time for the lounge at Brisbane. The first sector was perfect, wonderful crew, great food and wine. Called by name by all crew including inflight service manager on departure. Auckland lounge was full and had plenty of food and drink variety. SFO flight left on time and arrived early. Crew not as warm as previous however food and wine was better than most restaurants. Meals were surprisingly good, especially the Michael Meredith designed menu items. Bed was extremely comfortable. IFE good. Overall was as good as business class gets, was in a cab leaving SFO airport within 30 minutes of landing and 15 minutes ahead of scheduled arrival. Other than the second crew being more jaded than the first this was as good as any business class that we have ever flown on.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrisbane to San Francisco via Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"from boarding to disembarking - exceptional"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | On my flight from London to Auckland via Los Angeles from boarding to disembarking Air New Zealand are exceptional. The fantastic welcome and genuine care and attention from the team onboard really make this trip a treat. Service and onboard team are genuine, smartly dressed, cabin interior spotless and onboard service offer is what I would expect and then a little extra. Ondemand offer and inflight entertainment plus transit through LAX - a job made easy through a great supply chain with Air NZ team on board and on the ground
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Auckland via Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes