Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 550 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"attendants were super helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Raratonga return. I came to write this review because when I was looking for positive reviews on this airline I couldn't find many great ones and none from the route I was flying. We did economy regular and were comfortable on our long haul 10 hour overnight flight. The attendants were super helpful and concerned with comfort and safety. My bf had an injured foot and was wearing a boot and they even upgraded us on one of the routes. Entertainment and food were great too. Plane wasn't too big, but big enough and it was def one of the newer ones. One thing I wouldn't recommend if you're over 5' is getting the sky couch. I watched folks wish they could fully extend their legs. I wouldn't do it unless I had little kids with me or if i was by myself. I hope this helps anyone on the fence.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRaratonga to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"expect this flight to be cancelled"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Whangarei. Have come to expect this flight to be cancelled, the reason I pay so much (nearly $200) for this 40 minute flight is so it takes 40 minutes. Plane was cancelled again today and had to take the bus replacement. This probably wouldn't be so bad if there was some sort of refund considering a bus doesnt cost $200 per person for a 3 hour ride. Seems like revenue gathering at the slightest hint it might rain.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Whangarei
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"extraordinarily bad seating"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Christchurch to Sydney. Cabin Manager had her birthday on the day we flew so champers all 'round plus it was my 60th so a lot of fun. Sadly let down by extraordinarily bad seating, the seats are a nightmare for people with lower back issues and I was almost crying from pain by the time we landed. Could never fly longer than a trans-Tasman route with them. I can only recommend the airline based on their crew, I would warn against the airline if you have any sort of issue with your back.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChristchurch to Sydney
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"this is absolutely indecent"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Trans-Tasman flight on an A320 in economy. Rating 1 out of 10 for the nice cabin crew, the rest is worth 0/10. Seats are crammed so tightly that physically being able to sit is not obvious when you are 6ft3. Compared with Virgin Australia's 737 cabin, this is absolutely indecent. Then there's the service, if you can call it that. Don't forget that this is a full price airline, yet you don't get any food or snacks unless you pay extra. Want to check in your luggage? Pay extra. Want to use the IFE to watch a movie? Pay extra (!). For your Trans-Tasman trips, fly with VA or Qantas or even Jetstar, they're better value and infinitely more enjoyable than this parody of a bad airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Christchurch
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Low cost services"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Honolulu. Low cost services at full price, that's all I can say. We did buy our tickets last minute (due to a cancellation with another airline) and they were very expensive, and all they included was the seat and bags. No food service whatsoever on an 8 and a half hour flight. You could purchase snacks on board, however for the price we paid, we would not have expected this budget airline style behavior from a Star Alliance member airline. Moreover, even though we were supposed to fly on the Boeing 787, the flight was on a very old (Singapore Airlines decommissioned) Boeing 777 with an antique entertainment system (to be fair the website did warn us about this fact before ticket purchase). Other than that, legroom was fine and the seats were as you would expect from a very old 777: not that comfortable, but tolerable.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Honolulu
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lacking common sense"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Christchurch to San Francisco via Auckland. I was to fly on the 14 July from Christchurch (NZ558) to Auckland at 4PM and from Auckland to San Francisco (NZ8). I arrived at the airport at 1.30PM which is early for a domestic flight only to see that my flight was cancelled. I then proceeded to the information counter and told the staff at the counter that my flight was cancelled. They then checked the computer and told me that the 3PM and 5PM flight to Auckland was full. After 10 minutes they tell me that they would put me on a 3PM flight from Christchurch to Wellington and then a 4.30 flight from Wellington to Auckland. In hindsight, I managed to get to Auckland in time to catch the flight to San Francisco but what would have happened if I did not get to the airport early? Why wasn't I informed of the cancellation? On the return flight AirNZ managed to screw up my flight once again. I was on NZ7 from SFO to Auckland (arrive at auckland at 5.45.am) and on a 8AM flight from Auckland to Christchurch. Instead AIrNZ had cancelled the 8AM flight and put me on a 7AM flight. How does one land at 5.45am clear customs and immigration and drop of luggage to make a 7AM flight? Again in this instance, I was not informed, not told of the cancellation of the 8 AM flight, and even if the flight was cancelled would it be common sense to put me on a later flight after 8AM from Auckland to Christchurch rather than an earlier flight? Lacking common sense and logical thinking here AirNZ, shame on you.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChristchurch to San Francisco via Auckland
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Top class services"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Flew Air New Zealand from Auckland to Tokyo. Top class services, tasty lunch and breakfast, high resolution screens, On demand food and drinks, comfortable seats, high quality cushion and blanket. An airline for five star upgrade.
Aircraft787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Tokyo
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"toilet was dreadful"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Auckland. First time on the Boeing 787 and the new economy seat was well designed. Everything has been throught off even down to the headphone jack and USB socket being up under the screen instead of being on the armrest so you don't get the cable caught up in your blanket when fidgeting around. There an electric socket for plug-in items down below. Entertainment system was good, crystal clear screen just like a tablet and simple to use. Just not the massive selection of movies and programs other airlines have unfortunately. Foods were good for both of supper and breakfast and you get a proper size mug when you have hot drink. Crews were helpful and nice. Only bad thing that let the experience down was the toilets, the one time I went to use towards the end of the flight was dreadful. Obviously not checked and cleaned often enough. They smelt pretty bad with dirty floor. I personally waited until we landed.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

Air New Zealand customer review

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | No better than the cheap budget airlines. Very average meal, the staff did smile which was good, but it took a long time to come back to remove the meal trays which meant a fair chunk of the flight was sitting bolt upright. But when we were checking in for our connecting flight the woman who was meant to assist in weighing bags was absolutely terrible. No eye contact, didn't know her job, didn't spend 1 min with us just said to go over to another staff and was clearly not interested in us at all, so she handed us onto a trainee who confidently spouted what turned out to be misinformation, and was rude and very defensive. The third Air New Zealand staff member actually knew what she was talking about but in stead of sympathising tried to defend the staff. Not what I would expect of a so called award winning airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Christchurch
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"an almost perfect flight"

(Sierra Leone)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Auckland, this was an almost perfect flight. The crew were friendly, engaging and chatty - the purser spent time chatting to passengers and welcoming them aboard. There were top-ups of the champagne before take-off and the airline really excelled with their food and wine. They have a large list of high-end wines available, and were very proactive about getting passengers to taste them. The food was innovative and delicious - I had my first ever burger on a plane, and it was very good. IFE was well selected and varied. The amenity kit was great and high quality, and included lip balm and hand cream by a quality NZ company. Whilst the seat faced away from the window, I found the product itself very comfortable for both reclining and sleeping, and really liked the fact that they have a mattress on the bed, and large pillows - I slept really well. Loved everything about the trip!
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Auckland
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes