Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 514 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"it's a pleasant trip"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Sydney. The cabin staff are very welcoming and polite, ready to help those need assistance for the entertaining system etc. Food and beverage service is good, they offer good bubble wine. We were offered priority boarding and meal service for free, and extra leg space with a discount rate, since I booked it by redeeming my Air Canada miles. Anyway, it's a pleasant trip with Air New Zealand.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Sydney
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"is well worth the fare"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Buenos Aires via Auckland. Staff are amazing and attentive from booking through to travel, check in easy, premium economy is well worth the fare (if bought at a good time), food and entertainment of prem economy is business class quality. There were some minor hiccups with flight changes/delays but apologetic staff as well as some compensation offered made up for any concerns i had.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePerth to Buenos Aires via Auckland
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I won't fly with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Auckland via Los Angeles. Uncaring customer support post booking has ensured I won't fly with them again. They take your money and then you are on your own. Such a shame as three/four of our long haul Premium Economy flights were good. Even contacting customer support is very frustrating and once you do you might as well have not bothered. I began to wonder if I were asking questions in a language foreign to them as they never addressed any of them but came back with some stock answer. In the end I gave up and decided just to give them a miss in future.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLondon to Auckland via Los Angeles
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with this airline"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Napier to Dunedin via Wellington. I am really disappointed with this airline. The flight from wellington was delayed by several hours, we were not even kept in the clear as to why this was the case, i spent hours and hours at the airport receiving delay after delay texts. The fact that I cant even buy a ticket for a friend or partner is also very poorly thought through. I bought a ticket for my partner as a surprise and had it emailed to me but now due to Air New Zealand taking it upon themselves to monitor Facebook sites like NZ flight swap, they flag down people on flights where there has been a swap or sale monitored, and flag down people, refusing to let them on the plane. At least let people who have paid for your service and bought this seat, give the ticket to someone, if they can't themselves make it or if it was a present. Monitoring these seats and not letting people on is in my opinion ridiculous. Why wouldn't you allow a service like a name change? Allowing us to pay a fee of perhaps $20 to change the name on the ticket so that you can still use the flight? The only good this about this airline at the moment is the cookies and the coffee they offer on the flight. Flights from Dunedin to Napier are more expensive than flying to the gold coast for a week. are you serious.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNapier to Dunedin via Wellington
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"leg room was enough"

(China)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Christchurch. A320 economy class was almost full. Self check in and self drop off luggage were convenient and fast. The meal was very simple, just a cup of coffee and one cookie. The leg room was enough, so it made me comfortable.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Christchurch
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"an excellent product"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Auckland - Melbourne in Premium Economy. Air New Zealand Premium Economy is an excellent product, the seats were comfortable with generous legroom. The meal service was business class standard and the cabin crew exemplified the usual friendly Kiwi service we have come to expect with Air NZ.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAuckland to Melbourne
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"SkyCouch useless as a bed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My wife and I flew SkyCouch Houston to Auckland on February 2 and Auckland to Houston Feb 23. It is worth the USD 600 paid to have an empty middle seat, but the three seats are near useless as a lie-down bed for a normal size adult. For two adults side-by-side, it’s almost impossible. On two flights nobody on our plane tried to use SkyCouch as a bed. I suffer from chronic leg cramps and excruciating muscle spasms in my legs [if not stretched every hour or so]. Not to mention the possibility of pulmonary vein thrombosis in a 73-yr-old person such as myself. I did have one episode of a terrible muscle spasm, which necessitated me having to unbuckle my seat belt and stand up to put weight on my leg to relieve the spasm. Luckily, the flight was smooth at the time and no flight attendant had to order me to sit down [without regard to the severe pain that would cause me]. However, as I was stretching my leg and walking to a restroom, an attendant told me I needed to return to my seat when the captain activated the fasten seat belt sign. I’m a veteran traveler and know it is almost impossible to have a rational discussion with a flight attendant following airline rules and guidelines and will not or cannot make exceptions no matter how much pain and discomfort a passenger might endure. Nonetheless, I did take a moment to explain my difficult situation to the young stewardess, who probably could not imagine my 73-yr-old condition. Of course, she showed no sensitivity or understanding whatsoever, and told me - in a tone which indicated she thought I may have been senile - that I might bump my head in rough air if I were not seated and secured with a fastened seat belt. The fact that may have caused me excruciating pain did not register at all with her. She could have cared less. In such a situation the risk to my safety and good health was far worse if I were seated and buckled-in than if I were allowed to stand for a few minutes until the spasm passed and the pain lessened. I doubt that this review will result in a more tolerant and enlightened approach by ANZ [or any other alrilnes’ flight attendants], but I hope this description of my situation on NZ28 [departure from AKL on Feb 23] might result in attendants having a more open-minded approach to dealing with a passenger’s medical issue. But I sincerely doubt it. On a non-medical issue, how about ANZ joining the 21st century and providing satelite WiFi with Internet on the IAH-AKL route?
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Houston
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"limits the length of the name"

(Cuba)

Trip Verified | Nelson to Auckland. Air New Zealand has a serious problem with the online booking in that it limits the number of characters of the name to 28. They say it is a legal requirement of international aviation, which I know is not the case as I book online and travel internationally with many different airlines, and no other airline limits the length of the name! This problem has caused hours of head-ache for myself and everyone in my extended family and I’m sure other people with long names. I have sent emails to the 'top’ of Air NZ and no-one is listening. They keep repeating the same old story about 'it's a legal requirement to limit the name to 28 characters’. Sadly I made the mistake of booking a flight again this May with Air New Zealand flying co-share on Singapore Airlines, but I'm told by Singapore Airlines they cannot issue a ticket and cannot guarantee that I can board the flight, because my name is not correct! I've called Air New Zealand 3 times with very long phone queues at $1 a minute from Cuba where I live and they say they can't do anything about it. The computer won't allow them to add all the letters in my passport! So now I am left with a ticket on Singapore Airlines that I don’t know I can use on the day of the flight, because Air New Zealand prejudices against people with long names under the premise that it is aviation law. And do they care about this annoying complaint from a small section of their customers, probably not. I chose AirNZ because I am a Kiwi and I wish to remain loyal to my country but I'm seriously regretting my decision.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNelson to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2017
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Exceptional service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Exceptional service - the business class cabin is superbly laid out matched by friendly considered service, sublime entertainment IFE and great menu and offer befitting this short hop from Auckland to Melbourne. Well done Air New Zealand on getting this just right. Thank you for the upgrade from Premium to Business.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I came away impressed"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | First time on Premium Economy with New Zealand on a long-haul flight from Auckland to Houston, and I came away impressed. It was by far the best Premium Economy-Experience that I have had. The seat was a very comfortable recliner seat with generous legroom and recline. The legroom on NZ is noticeably greater than on most other carriers with PE. Furthermore, all seats have a leg-rest. The inflight service was comparable to Business Class service. The quality of the food was excellent, and the service very friendly and attentive.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteAKL to IAH
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes