Airline of the Year  

Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 460 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"seats were comfortable"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Tokyo-Auckland return. The out-going trip was excellent - one of the best I've had in economy class. Incredibly attentive, friendly, proactive crew. If they saw our water bottles were empty, they offered to refill them, and as we were sitting near the galley where some passengers were congregating, they offered us noise-cancelling earphones from Business Class. I love that Air NZ offers five quality wines, and that with breakfast on both legs they served Sparkling Wine. Food, service and IFE was great. On the return trip, it was good but lacked any spark. Crew tended to be going through the motions, and the food was very average - which was surprising given it departed from Auckland. But the wine and IFE made up for it, and the seats were comfortable and the legroom was spacious.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"perfect service all the way"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Air New Zealand were fabulous. From the time you get to the gate (could not rate check in as we had a connnecting flight with AC before Vancouver) to the arrival in Auckland: perfect service all the way. The ground personnel and flight attendants are polite, attentive, empathic. Air NZ even has wine expert in economy class onboard. Although the flight is very long, service was so smooth and well done that it went quickly. We were booked on a codeshare with United on the way back: absolutely terrible. Whenever possible I will travel Air New Zealand.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Auckland
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"was as good as business class gets"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Check in was fine, no time for the lounge at Brisbane. The first sector was perfect, wonderful crew, great food and wine. Called by name by all crew including inflight service manager on departure. Auckland lounge was full and had plenty of food and drink variety. SFO flight left on time and arrived early. Crew not as warm as previous however food and wine was better than most restaurants. Meals were surprisingly good, especially the Michael Meredith designed menu items. Bed was extremely comfortable. IFE good. Overall was as good as business class gets, was in a cab leaving SFO airport within 30 minutes of landing and 15 minutes ahead of scheduled arrival. Other than the second crew being more jaded than the first this was as good as any business class that we have ever flown on.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBrisbane to San Francisco via Auckland
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"from boarding to disembarking - exceptional"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | On my flight from London to Auckland via Los Angeles from boarding to disembarking Air New Zealand are exceptional. The fantastic welcome and genuine care and attention from the team onboard really make this trip a treat. Service and onboard team are genuine, smartly dressed, cabin interior spotless and onboard service offer is what I would expect and then a little extra. Ondemand offer and inflight entertainment plus transit through LAX - a job made easy through a great supply chain with Air NZ team on board and on the ground
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Auckland via Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"not be as loyal in future"

(United States)

Verified Review | Dunedin to Los Angeles via Auckland. For this flight, the booking agent put me on a connecting flight with a non-star alliance carrier. And at the check-in gate, I was informed that I might have to pay an extra $800when I got to the US because it was a non star alliance flight. This was not advised when I booked the flight, otherwise I would have chose a different connecting flight! Not what I call great service for a $4000USD++ ticket. The attitude tone of the gate agents was not helpful either. Generally service on the flights is excellent, but I do notice that overall customer service is declining significantly outside of the flights. Service from agents varies significantly. Information provided on baggage policies etc is inconsistent or not disclosed by all agents so be very careful to ask and keep a record. Not all agents disclose full fee policies. For example, one time the airline tried to withhold a service fee from a refund. Fortunately, I was refunded but only because they reviewed the phone recordings which confirmed that I explicitly asked the original agent about the policies (and the agent hadn't mentioned a service fee withholding). As background, I have been flying on Air NZ for over 13 years and been an elite or gold airpoints member for over 8 years. With the non-flight service experience declining, I will definitely not be as loyal in future.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDunedin to Los Angeles via Auckland
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"absolutely fabulous trip"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth to Auckland. Haven't flown Air New Zealand for some time but we had an absolutely fabulous trip. The staff were really great, the wine wonderful and the food tremendous. The flat bed is narrow after Singapore Airlines but it was fine and we had a good sleep. We were very impressed and are about to do the next leg to LAX. We did have an over 13 hr hold over but booked into the Novotel and after a kip went into Auckland on the sky bus. The crew on NZ 176 were maybe the best we have ever experienced and that includes SIA. This route was by far the cheapest for BC.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RoutePerth to Auckland
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"most uncomfortable journey"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | My wife and me flew from Auckland to Singapore by Air New Zealand. The flight was full, it was the most uncomfortable journey my wife and me have ever undertaken. Seats were tiny. The food tray kept sliding off the tray tops. Brought it to the attention of flight attendant who replied she couldn't do anything about it. Service was atrocious. Midway toilets were filthy. Meals unappetising. Nothing cheerful but dreary looking. Never again on this airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Singapore
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"crew were always friendly and professional"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | I flew Auckland - Los Angeles return on NZ6 & NZ5 recently. The business class cabins on this route are always full these days. With that, service levels were never compromised, the crew were always friendly and professional. One of the stewards remembered me from the same flight in February and remembered that my drink of choice was Single Malt Whisky. The main course choice for me on the outward route was the most sublime Beef Rib Roast that I have ever tasted. All through the night there is a crew member available for anything you need and a good range of snacks and drinks are available. The inward flight was 30 minutes late leaving due to passengers not turning up for the flight, but we still arrived back in Auckland early. Without a doubt Air New Zealand would always be my airline of choice for this route.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never use this airline again"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Christchurch to Sydney via Auckland. As Air New Zealand does not have business class trans tasman from some cities I had to take my flight via Auckland. We took off on time but, unfortunately there was a medical emergency on board and the flight had to land back in Christchurch. I understand and support the fact that the aircraft turned around to ensure the health of the passenger. There were numerous passengers connecting on different flights. I asked the crew member and she told me that the airline had made arrangements on arrival in Auckland for connecting flights and that we would need to hurry to catch the connecting flight. Arrived in Auckland and were met by an Air New Zealand staff member and were put on a bus to international terminal. At no time was I told that they would not hold the connecting flight NZ105. Had to run through the terminal and immigration to try and catch the flight, there was an Air New Zealand representative outside immigration who told me the gate had closed a few minutes ago and that I needed to go to the international transfer desk. I attended the transfer desk only to be advised that I would be put on an alternative flight, I was happy with that but it was not a business class flight. I have paid for a business class flight so I expect to be put on a business class flight. Staff at the transfer counter could not give a dam about it, just rolled their eyes and said oh well. I asked for a refund and the lady handed me the telephone of which there was a long wait to talk to an Air New Zealand staff member for my refund. I hung up and then asked to speak to the manager who told me that I could get a refund at the ticketing office in the departures hall or by submitting a email. I then had to proceed back the other way though immigration and customs to the check in terminal and book a business class flight on QF so I could get back to Sydney. I managed to get a flight immediately and I paid full fare for the flight. Under advice from the manager at the transfer desk I then proceeded to the ticket office to get a refund. I was then told that this could not be done and I had to ring up. Emailed the Air New Zealand executive teams personal emails with a complaint over a week ago and still have not heard anything back. Will never use this airline again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteChristchurch to Sydney via Auckland
Date FlownMay 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"poor customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | After looking forward to flying with Air New Zealand from Auckland to Hong Kong we were extremely disappointed with their poor customer service. We upgraded to a Skycouch as my wife has arthritis and we paid an additional £300 for this. On boarding we discovered they had made an error and not booked us the Skycouch. We were promised a refund. Almost 2 months later they still owe us £300 and have failed to respond to any emails, or return phone calls when promised they will arrange someone to phone us back. Their lack of customer care is appalling. We were not the only ones they made a booking error with and we were told by inflight staff that the service centre are always making errors. They clearly do not take care with their service and can't be bothered dealing with their customers. Even before we flew they failed to answer emails. At the airport didn't offer any help to my disabled wife, just passing us between one person and another who couldn't just advise us where to go for the necessary wheelchair.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no