Vote Now  

Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 447 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"staff on NZ449 were outstanding"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Auckland to Wellington. The staff on the flight NZ449 were outstanding. I was travelling with my daughter back home and they topped our trip off. She had a grin on her face from the start of the flight until the end of the flight. Thank you for making her feel like she was the only one on the plane. She will definitely remember this experience!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Wellington
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not willing to give us refunds"

(Australia)

Verified Review | We were supposed to fly with Air New Zealand from Melbourne to Queenstown on Friday 31/03/2017. 9:10 am was the original departure time, however was delayed again and again without letting us know the updated estimated departure time, and without letting us know the reason for delay. This is absolutely fine, as delay happens to any flight. At about 11:30am, finally, we started boarding. At about 12:15pm, about 40min after boarding, all the passengers were pulled off from the aircraft, without letting us know the reason. Then, we were asked to wait for another hour for further instructions. At about 1pm the flight was cancelled. This is also fine, as long as they have other plans to bring us there. At about 2:30pm, after another long wait, they arranged us to fly to Sydney and then interchange to Queenstown, and the arrival time in Queenstown will be 2:30pm on the second day. This arrangement was unacceptable to us. We explained our situation again and again but they did nothing, and without a single word for apology. Immediately after that, we booked another flight that will arrive Queenstown in the early morning. After this, we did not get refunds for the tickets. The counter asked us to call the sales representative, then the representative asked us to call our booking agent, but the booking agent asked us to call airline sales representative. What's wrong with Air NewZealand? They cancelled the flight, but they were not willing to give us refunds.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Queenstown
Date FlownMarch 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"still managed to sleep"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Must say having had a fantastic experience a few days earlier to get this flight it made this flight much easier. The plane was packed full with people however, I never felt like I didn't have enough space. On a 10.5 hour flight I still managed to sleep for more than 5 hours. Really liked the staff and the way the plane was organized.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to London
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"very professional, experienced staff"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Flew from London to Los Angeles. Was curious to fly Air New Zealand expecting it would be good. After many hours of flights on all kind of airlines, I must say it was a fantastic (kiwi) experience. Very professional, experienced staff, I loved the space on the 777-300 and managed to have a very good sleep. The system to order a drink is fantastic. The inflight Entertainment is not as good as the Middle East competitors, but the comfort and staff made it much easier to deal with the trip.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 (B773)
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Los Angeles
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"plane was clean and new"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Flew from Auckland to Christchurch with Air New Zealand, plane was clean and new, seats were comfortable and the crew were very professional. Service was excellent for the short flight, complimentary tea, coffee and water were provided along with a light snack and lollies.
AircraftA320-232 (SL)
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Christchurch
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"everything was very quick and easy"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | I flew Air New Zealand from Queenstown to Auckland via Christchurch. Even with just a 35 min stop in CHC there was no problem with baggage checked in or the passengers. Everything was very quick and easy. Nice ground staff at the check in and gates. Nice and new planes (A320), with a narrow legroom, very nice and relaxed cabin crew. No wi-fi or power outlets.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChristchurch to Auckland
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a low cost experience"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Flew from Auckland to Christchurch. Flying with Air New Zealand on a domestic route is a low cost experience. You really have to add - when you buy the ticket online - any baggage to put in the hold. They will be very strict about the maximum weight (23kg wich is better then other airlines). Also be aware that carry-on lugagge really has to fit into grill at the boarding gate. Seats are not very spacious but is ok for such a flight. Just cookies and water are served. Very good creative emergency exits movie (one of the best I have seen). This cabin crew were the most clumsy I have seen, particulary the purser that never seemed to know when to show the movies, when to serve the candies, etc..
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Christchurch
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it was a pleasant experience"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Auckland to Wellington. This was my first time on Air New Zealand, and it was a pleasant experience. The cabin crew were very attentive, which made me comfortable. The plane was new, and the flight was pleasant. It was a short 1-hour flight, so the passengers were served with light snacks.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Wellington
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service on all these planes was outstanding"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew London Heathrow - Los Angeles - Auckland - Sydney and return on 5 separate planes in January and February. The service on all these planes was outstanding, food excellent and entertainment excellent. Though the 777 is not as spacious as the A380 it was still very comfortable. The only thing wrong with Air New Zealand is their lousy website which is difficult to navigate. Online check in only worked once out of 5 times necessitating expensive phone calls, otherwise the best airline I've flown.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Auckland via Los Angeles and Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"be prepared for lack of comfort"

(Canada)

My family flew from Vancouver to Auckland and I feel it necessary to let intercontinental flyers know what they are in for with a 777-200. The staff for Air New Zealand are fantastic, but the amount of seats on the plane, uncomfortable seating, and design of the new seats is very disappointing. When boarding this long haul flight be prepared for lack of comfort compared to other airlines flying the same destinations. I will avoid Air New Zealand on this type of plane at all costs. Even in the upgraded seats, its not worth the extra cost.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteVancouver to Auckland
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no