Top 100 Airlines  

Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 371 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"leg space was very good"

(United Kingdom)

I found that this leg of my journey from England to New Zealand via Munich and Singapore, was easily the best leg. I had already been in transit for around 18 hours and had a 9hr 55min flight with Air New Zealand on a B787 Dreamliner. The food (3 meals) was pretty good and the IFE was of a very high standard and I felt that it was incredibly easy to use. The cabin cleanliness was also very well managed and I will say the same about the lavatories as well. Cleanliness of the entire cabin gets 5 stars. The Flight Crew were very friendly and treated everyone with the utmost respect. The flight itself was a little bumpy but that is innevitable on a long haul flight, turbulence was not a problem but did stop the Cabin Crew from serving drinks for a while, I felt that the Pilots handled it well and kept everyone properly updated. The Economy Class seats were very comfortable and were easy to fall asleep in, the cabin temperature was not too hot/not too cold and the leg space was very good. I did not use the inflight WiFi but others that did use it said it was very good.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to AKL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"attentive and friendly crews"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Tauranga - Los Angeles on NZ6 on 18 Feb with Air New Zealand. I used a recognition upgrade to go from Premium Economy to Business Class. Very nice regional lounge in Tauranga and a somewhat overcrowded new lounge in Auckland, but once you navigate around the Auckland lounge you can find a quiet spot. I was in the main Business Class cabin on the 777-300 and was attended by one of the most professional, attentive and friendly crews. Dinner and Breakfast was superb, along with an excellent selection of alcohol, which was constantly topped up. We arrived at LAX ahead of schedule.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTRG to LAX
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly and helpful"

(United States)

Verified Review | We recently went on a trip from the US to Australia and New Zealand. We were so pleased with the customer service Air New Zealand offered. A conflict arose with one portion of our trip and the customer service representatives were so great to work with to resolve this issue for us. The flight attendants on the plane were also very friendly and helpful. We also were very happy with the quality of the aircraft we flew on-convenient, comfortable, good food, and the bathrooms were nicer and cleaner than any other airline we have flown with (including on the long trans-Pacific flights).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to LAX
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a superb business class product"

(Canada)

San Francisco to Perth via Auckland on Air New Zealand. Boarding in SFO was orderly and quick. On board, the aircraft interior was in pristine condition. The FA's on both legs were simply outstanding in the service they provided as well as in how they engaged with the passengers. Seats were very comfortable although I prefer the ones on the B777 to those on B787 as they seem to offer more space. The seat in the flat-bed position is very comfortable thanks to the additional padding used when the seat is converted into the bed. Food and wine selection were great on both legs and the presentation was top notch. Bathrooms were kept clean throughout both flights. IFE had a wide range of movies and music to satisfy all tastes. The lounge in Auckland had great variety and the made-to-order coffee bar was a huge hit. Air New Zealand offers a superb business class product and I highly recommend them.
AircraftB777/787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSFO to PER via AKL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"food was excellent"

(Canada)

We flew Air New Zealand in Business Premier from Melbourne to Auckland to Vancouver on April 8 and thought it was excellent. The lie-flat bed was very, very comfortable, allowing me to sleep for over seven hours on the AKL-YVR leg. The food was excellent, especially dinner, the lamb being of restaurant quality. Staff were very attentive and cheerful. Overall, an excellent experience, highly recommended.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMEL to YVR via AKL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"in all a pleasant journey"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Auckland to Wellington. Checked in at the premium desk which was fast and friendly. Auckland domestic lounge pretty well stocked with food on the buffet so you could eat dinner before boarding. Lounge was very crowded and initially hard to find a seat. Flight was delayed by 40 minutes which meant we could have a whole meal and not just a snack. We were kept regularly informed re the delay and boarding was fast. Smiling and happy crew who interacted well with passengers, snacks and tea/coffee or water all that was on offer but fine for this short flight. Comfortable and clean aircraft and in all a pleasant journey. Bags took about 10 minutes and carousel was also very crowded.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to WLG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service overall was very good"

(United Kingdom)

We flew Air New Zealand outward from San Francisco to Auckland and back from Queenstown to London via Los Angeles. We chose them because of the Space Seats"in Premium Economy and were not disappointed. The seats were the extremely comfortable with plenty of leg room; meals were were tasty and offered good choice and the wine selection was good. The exceptional service offered by our cabin attendant on the outward journey to Aukland was not repeated on the return flight and I was a little taken aback when the attendant handed me my breakfast on a tray where the yoghurt had leaked with an apology but with no attempt to wipe up the spill. That said, service overall was very good and the crew were very pleasant. The in flight entertainment offered a wide choice of films, music etc. We would definitely fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteZQN to LHR via AKL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"delightful staff, great snacks"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Singapore to Auckland with Air New Zealand. Check in good. Seat chosen not per the website plan so a middle row scenario. Not happy so complained and fortunately for all of us an aisle seat was available once I stood and waited 25 minutes until the aircraft was loaded. Delightful staff, great snacks but a long way off actual meal size. Screen snack ordering I loved and so fast! Very noisy vacuum toilets after 50 or so times it was a bit much. Two of the cabin crew were so big in the hips one hit me half a dozen times on the shoulder - I am pretty wide myself. They were lovely people ... but! Great flight, funny Pilot who had staff and passengers laughing. Next time Premium economy for me though.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to AKL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a very pleasant flight"

(Australia)

Brisbane to Auckland with Air New Zealand was a very pleasant flight, cabin staff attentive and engaged. Check in reasonable with minor delay, lounge has seen better days in Brisbane but was the last week before the new lounge opened and was OK. Food good onboard, wine excellent. Left on time and arrived on time, bags off relatively fast.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBNE to AKL
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"everything is an upcharge"

(United States)

Flew from Auckland to Perth. Everything is an upcharge on Air New Zealand, beginning at check in. Their peculiar system requires you to occupy only your assigned seat, which is how the cabin crew knows what you are entitled to. My codeshare (Virgin Australia) did not show up properly on the Air NZ system, so I was required to attempt to watch a movie in order to determine if I had to pay for a Coke. (I was.) Flight departed an hour late from AKL due to mechanical issues. Overall, very average for a carrier which (used to) get good reviews.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to PER
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no