Vote Now  

Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 439 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"service on all these planes was outstanding"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Flew London Heathrow - Los Angeles - Auckland - Sydney and return on 5 separate planes in January and February. The service on all these planes was outstanding, food excellent and entertainment excellent. Though the 777 is not as spacious as the A380 it was still very comfortable. The only thing wrong with Air New Zealand is their lousy website which is difficult to navigate. Online check in only worked once out of 5 times necessitating expensive phone calls, otherwise the best airline I've flown.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Auckland via Los Angeles and Sydney
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"be prepared for lack of comfort"

(Canada)

My family flew from Vancouver to Auckland and I feel it necessary to let intercontinental flyers know what they are in for with a 777-200. The staff for Air New Zealand are fantastic, but the amount of seats on the plane, uncomfortable seating, and design of the new seats is very disappointing. When boarding this long haul flight be prepared for lack of comfort compared to other airlines flying the same destinations. I will avoid Air New Zealand on this type of plane at all costs. Even in the upgraded seats, its not worth the extra cost.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteVancouver to Auckland
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"do not honor seat selection"

(United States)

Verified Review | London to Los Angeles. Air NZ do not honor seat selection! I chose my Air NZ business class seat online two weeks prior to departure only for my choice to be abruptly changed at the last minute without notification, let alone consent (there had been no change of aircraft type). Overheard two other business class pax complaining about the same thing. What's the point of their online seat map? The cabin crew are nice, but can't mix a proper gin and tonic if their lives depended on it. Unusually, no wine list on the business class menu. You get what they happen to have on board - although the Marlborough Pinot Noir was quite good, as was the meal. Seating is the le herring bone arrangement, with seats angled away from the windows. Elbow room between the partitions is narrow. There is insufficient space for the ritual post-takeoff / pre-meal drink and snack - just a tiny foldout shelf awkwardly located behind your right shoulder. There is a full-size pull-out table, but it is impossible to deploy the video screen while the table has anything on it. A 180-degree flat bed is available, but using it involves a disruptive maneuver requiring one to stand up and get help from the cabin crew to flip the whole seat back over. By the time that is accomplished, I'm wide awake again.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Los Angeles
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"seats comfy, the food was good"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Auckland and my first time flying long haul with Air New Zealand. Comming from New Zealand I should fly them more. I have no complaints about the flight. The seats were comfy, the food was good, and the inflight entertainment was good. I was slightly disappointed by a couple of attitudes from staff, which I didn't expect. However there was a lovely attendant who we chatted too quite a bit and he looked after us. I will be flying Air New Zealand again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Auckland
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Air New Zealand never again"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Singapore to Auckland, a Singapore Airlines code share. This was a jam packed daytime flight, and the cabin crew were completely overwhelmed as far as service was concerned. The 9 across Boeing 787 in economy is a sardine can. The food was really bad (as it was when I later flew Christchuch to Sydney). I got one beer with food service. There was no second provision for a second drink. However my wife seized upon a passing attendant, and I did get a glass of 'award winning wine' slopped into the empty beer glass. I had reasonably high expectations of Air New Zealand, but never again! Cabin crew manning levels, and the dreadful food are an issue for management.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Auckland
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"our reservation was not honoured"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We had booked our ticket 6 months prior to flying, with reservations made for Skycouch at an extra cost of $799. Upon boarding our flight from Vancouver to Auckland we were seated in economy, with no explanation as to why our reservation was not honored. We both work very physical jobs, and spent a number of months saving, this was one of the major treats we were looking forward to on our journey. It was extremely dissappointing, and frustrating having paid all that money for nothing. After numerous attempts as to find out why Air New Zealand failed to provide us with our reservation, and granting our seats someone else. I am still waiting for any clarification, and refund for extra service / product not received. The customer service is awful, they ignore any inquires and deemed the situation an "unforeseen circumstance". They are quick to take your money, and that's about it. I have had very little feedback, and would have flown with a different air carrier had I known the outcome of the scenario.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteYVR to AKL
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"nuisance in my journey"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | I got Air New Zealand flight for Singapore to Auckland sector second time as it's a partner of Star Alliance, as I booked my flight mainly with Singapore airlines to travel to Bangalore. Air New Zealand flight is nuisance in my journey as they mainly I can't check in online and select my seat in the flight. My rest of the journey I could select my seat in Singapore Airlines flights before 48 hours of travelling. Last time I ended up in last middle row and the middle near toilet. I could not rest at at all because of constant toilet flushes. And my seat allotted away from my family in same flight. I requested other passenger to swap my seat hence I can sit along with my family.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Auckland
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"the seats left much to be desired"

(Nicaragua)

Verified Review | First time I've flown internationally in quite a few years, self check in at Auckland was a bit confusing but there are staff members that can assist you. Boarding was delayed by about 30 minutes but the flight still left on time and arrived in Honolulu early. For an overnight flight, everyone gets a blanket and pillow which is a nice touch but simple things such as an amenities kit with a toothbrush would be nice like I always get when I fly Emirates economy. The plane was very new and cleaned well, the seats left much to be desired, I'm not a very big person (5'5) and my knees were pushing into the seat in front of me a little bit when I reclined my seat, I would hate to be any bigger. The seat itself left much to be desired, the padding on my back was non existent, the seat was extremely hard and uncomfortable to sleep in, it felt like I was sitting against wood the whole flight, the only thing that helped me to sleep was putting the pillow behind me. The cabin crew were extremely friendly throughout the whole process from check in till getting off the plane. I was on "The Works" fare so I got movies, meals and drinks included, I honestly think that for a 8hr30+ flight that should really be included in your fare without having to pay an extra $50 for it, but I did get dinner after take off (Lamb stew which was surprisingly OK) and a continental breakfast a few hours before landing. Inflight entertainment was very fluid worked well but I didn't use it much unless it was to order a drink throughout the flight since I wanted to sleep rather than watch a movie etc. All in all the flight and experience was decent, although next time I will avoid them on a night flight due to the ridged awful uncomfortable seats.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to HNL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"surly, tired and almost angry"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Auckland to Los Angeles in economy class. Flew into Auckland from Guangzhou on China Southern and had expected Air New Zealand to offer something better. Alas I was wrong! The Boeing 777 seats are cramped, and the width is awful, made worse by the cabin being full and not an empty seat in sight. The Kiwi charm I had experienced on holiday around NZ was missing - staff seemed surly, tired and almost angry. After reading some praiseworthy reviews before about Air NZ, I'm wondering if they travelled the same airline? For me, never again, and maybe it's time one realised that lesser known airlines (even in China!) seem to have overtaken more established airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to LAX
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"summer price for premium economy was just far too much"

(Taiwan)

Verified Review | Flew economy class on Air NZ from Melbourne to Auckland for the first time in probably 5 years. The summer price for premium economy was just far too much. The seat was not properly cleaned and still had some small scraps on them but was ok on comfort. The food was not good and I only ate half of it. The staff service was good and the IFE was good too.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMEL to AKL
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes