Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1271 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (New Zealand)

This is a review regarding Air NZ before we boarded: Just prior to check-in we received a message that our flight from Sydney to Rarotonga was delayed for 12 hours. We had to checkout through customs and get our suitcases back. After about 2 hours of waiting one of the staff members announced that the closest accommodation available was 1.5 drive away, this was because it was Bledisloe Cup night in Sydney. They also said another option was that they would make arrangements for us to rest/sleep at the airport. We thought that by the time we drive to the accommodation and settle the kids down to sleep then it wouldn’t be long before we had to wake up and get organized and drive back to the airport. We decided to stay at the airport as it was now midnight and our young kids (and us) just wanted to sleep. When we arrived at the ‘area’ which Air NZ said they would make available for us we just couldn’t believe it. We had be taken to one of the airports main entrances with hardfloor tiles and we were crammed in with 200 other people. It was like a bad dream. It was a very long/cold horrible night. Finally the time came to check-in again and we went through customs. We had Duty Free bottles with us from the previous days check-in. At the customs 'bag screening' we were kindly told that Air NZ should not have neglected in telling us that our Duty Free bottles should have been packed in our checked-in luggage before re-entering customs again. They confiscated our Duty Free, took a copy of one of our boarding passes and encouraged us to go and see the Duty Manager of Air NZ and they would sort it for us. We did this and the Air NZ staff were very understanding of our situation and said they would arrange to go and pick up the Duty Free from customs and get it on our flight. When we were boarding the plane to Raro the Duty Manager approached us and totally confirmed that our Duty Free was sorted and we can pick it up at the Fragile Luggage area at Raro Airport. When we arrived at Rarotonga unfortunately our Duty Free hadn’t made it on the plane at all. The lovely staff at Rarotonga made notes and said she would contact Air NZ in Sydney for us. The next day we got a phonecall and apparently our Duty Free was still sitting in Sydney airport waiting for someone from Air NZ to go and pick it up and put it on a plane to Rarotonga. After many enquiries from us it never turned up at Rarotonga which was disappointing. Air NZ staff were always very polite however it was the lack of 'follow-through' and unfullfillled expectations on Air NZ’s part which we feel extremely let down by.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSydney to Rartonga
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (United States)

The seat was comfortable because they add a foam mattress after extending the bed. The food was excellent, and the crew were lovely, cheerful and helpful. I have experienced crews on other airlines either making me feel like an idiot because I could not operate something, or acting put upon when I ask for help reaching the overhead bin (I am 5 feet tall and reaching retirement age).
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Los Angeles
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (South Korea)

I like their simple cabin design and the service. Luckily, I got a ticket at a reasonable price at that time. Cabin crews were polite and seats are quite comfy, considering it was an economy class.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteChristchurch to Wellington
Date FlownSeptember 2014
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (United States)

Unbelievably uncomfortable seating in a 3-4-3 configuration. I can see why the nickname is "Cripple 7". Also aisles are so narrow that it would be dangerous in an emergency. Asked the airline after a previous flight if it was in fact safe and got a form reply about "meeting international standards". Won't be doing this again although I have travelled a lot on AirNZ in the past (when they were a better airline). Cabin crew seem dispirited and indifferent - don't blame them.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAuckland to San Francisco
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (United States)

Stopped flying premium economy when they alternated 777-300 and 777-200 usually without warning and the premium economy on the 200 was basically the same as economy but at twice the price. So now it's economy as business is ridiculously expensive. Flew August 6. Seat was narrow and hard and pitch angle meant seat in front was 3 inches from my nose. 3-4-3 seating does not work at all plus some of the toilets seemed to have been removed to get more seats in. Also seats are arranged so that if in the aisle seat which I was you can not put your legs out straight in front of you but must sit at an angle which is bad on a 13 hour flight. Safety video was too cute and irritating for words. At least they have got over their Lord of the Rings obsession but they need to focus on having a safety video to give safety information and forget the amateurish attempts at entertainment and use the money saved to fix the product.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSan Francisco to Auckland
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (Australia)

Travelled to San Francisco via Auckland from Melbourne with 2 adults and 2 children (8 and 2) in Premium Economy. We had been given complimentary use of lounge in Melbourne. The crew were fantastic . Transfered after a 2 hour layover in Auckland for our flight to San Francisco. The food was Ok but the childrens meals left a lot to be desired. They only had once choice option so lucky we took snacks with us for them. Again service from the crew was wonderful. The space seats were great for the kids to sleep in. Maybe they could recline a bit more but on the whole they were great. Our return flight from Los Angeles was okay, but when we arrived in Auckland they did not have out stroller waiting for us. After a lot of confusion we were told it had been put in the cargo hold and was being transferred to our flight to Australia. Having a 2.5 layover in Auckland with a tired grumpy child is not pleasant, but when we boarded the flight home we were given our seats but not the extra things you get when you travel Premium Economy. No noise cancelling headphones and the children got their meals - but we didn't, until we complained. Our experience coming home was very disappointing. On complaining to Air New Zealand all we got for compensation were some airport dollars awarded to my account.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMelbourne to San Francisco via AKL
Date FlownMay 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (New Zealand)

Fantastic service as always with Air NZ. Seat quality and aeroplane upkeep was excellent. Good meals, although I slept through one. When I asked for a snack later, friendly staff took me down to the galley, and let me choose a tray of whatever I liked. I needed some assistance connecting my phone, and again, the staff handled it all for me. Didn't push the business class priority to the point that made economy 3rd class citizens, staff were friendly and welcoming throughout.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteLHR to AKL via LAX
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (Australia)

Auckland to Christchurch return on A320. Flight to Christchurch Koru Hour flight meaning alcoholic beverages and Cheese and cracker or vegetable crisps served. Bags out quickly at Christchurch. Flight to Auckland biscuits or vegetable crisps served along with tea/coffee or water. Bags out after 25 minutes. Seat room pretty good. However for the very tall, could be issue. Flight fast lasting about an hour in both directions. Seated in 23F and 23A respectively. Good value flight for the duration.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAuckland to Christchurch
Date FlownAugust 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (New Zealand)

3 hour hop across Tasman left on time and arrived ahead of time. Meal served plus drinks water and coffee. Flight crew excellent always available and friendly during service. Entertainment has loads of offerings and choices.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteChristchurch to Melbourne
Date FlownJune 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air New Zealand customer review

Review by (New Zealand)

After delayed arrival of connecting inbound flight it was always going to be a rush to catch Air NZ flight in Melbourne but Air NZ made sure all connecting passengers were on board before departure. Service was fine and a meal offered and drinks. Lots of movies and shows to watch for 3 hour hop across Tasman arriving on time back in Christchurch. It was always going to be a struggle and none of the delayed passengers luggage made the connection so remained in Melbourne. It is moments like this that AIR NZ customer service comes to the front and you can see why they look after their passengers. Details were taken and arrangements made with bags placed on the next flight arriving in late at night. Air NZ called first thing to advise bags had arrived and would be delivered that morning by van. Don't blame Air NZ for bags missing flight and the efforts to make sure the delay was kept to a minimum was good.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteMelbourne to Christchurch
Date FlownJuly 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes