Top 100 Airports  

Air New Zealand

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 394 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"the cabin was freezing"

(New Zealand)

Flew Air New Zealand from Auckland to Bali. The cabin was freezing. After 3 blankets and the pilot putting the temp up I could hear other passengers in business class complaining about cold feet etc. I was dressed for Auckland winter. My sister-in-law had the same prob from Brisbane. Staff were very nice.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteAKL to DPS
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"a defacto hybrid carrier"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Efficient airline, but getting a feeling that the personal touch is sacrificed in the name of convenience. Awful (non-existent) food and drinks. You can preselect seats. Anything in front is "preferred seats" and it is very difficult for those with Seats Only or Seats + Bags option to purchase them. Preferred seats are $10 one way and standard seats $5. You have to pay a surcharge if booked via cards. Check in is always done by automated kiosks with no exceptions allowed. You will require assistance if you are non-machine literate or not conversant in using English. I noticed large tour group from China required a Chinese-speaking staff to press the kiosk screens to check in for them. Then you drop the bag onto the continuously running conveyor belt yourself, with poorly designed ergonomics. Also it doesn't matter if you are elite or Koru Club members - you still drop the bags yourself. There are still agents at the gate (for the time being). Boarding is done through rows in order. Often if you are sitting at rows 16 or over you are required to exit the airbridge halfway, climb down stairs walk over the tarmac and reboard via stairs at the rear door. The seats are standard, with pitch left to the bare minimum. They are often rather dirty as well. Safety demonstration is by videos. It is often slick marketing that does not really impart information easily enough to passengers especially non-English speaking ones. Inflight you are offered a cookie or crisp with only tea, coffee, or mineral water. No meals or hot snacks are available. If you fly during Koru Hours (before 8 am and 4:30 pm to 7 pm) you get cheese and crackers instead of cookies and crisps and beer and wine are available as additional options. Breakfast fare is muffins. Staff are friendly - which is the only redeeming feature. Almost all flights between Christchurch and Wellington use the ATR-72 these days which means you walk in the rain on the tarmac on wet days, plus greater chance of weather-related delays, and reduced comfort level due to narrower seats and much smaller overhead lockers. The rationale is to offer "hourly service given the current level of demand". This is a defacto hybrid carrier - not really a full service unlike Cathay Pacific or even Qantas. Decision-makers listen to what some business travellers (not all) want, yet they ended up making a the majority unhappy. Overall, I will pick Air New Zealand for domestic flights just because they are the only airline offering reasonable schedules. The only competitor (Jetstar) offers only a few flights per day and on main trunk routes only plus a few turboprop flights. However I will actively go out of my way to avoid Air New Zealand when flying internationally.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCHC to WLG
Date FlownAugust 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"service and amenities great"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Service and amenities great. Meal service lousy. Seems the finance-wallahs run rampant at Air NZ nowadays based on the (vegetarian) meal service provided - salad, roll and shrink wrapped brownie aside, hot dinner was just sauteed peppers and eggplant on rice. Mean spirited and pretty lazy menu planning. Still at least I did not have to suffer the bog standard butter chicken that seems to appear on every flight. At breafast time my meal was inadvertently given to another passenger leaving me with no hot dish until crew were able to source something from business class - but only after service was finished in J class. Got my meal 30 minutes before landing. Crew very apologetic for the slip up and did their best to put it right. Other than that, the crew make Air NZ, else its a pretty ordinary airline and a far cry from how great it used to be. Lounge great at Auckland and staff service at premium check-in exemplary in checking bags all the way thrgh to Ottawa via Houston and Newark (what is with the self service kiosks at premium check in? Hardly premium).
AircraftBoeing 773
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to IAH
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Vietnamese food was not as authentic"

(Vietnam)

Verified Review | Auckland to Ho Chi Minh City. The aircraft itself was quite old (it is the oldest among Air New Zealand fleet). The Western food was excellent, but the Vietnamese food was not as authentic. The flight attendant surprised me a bit when speaking simple Vietnamese to me. Staff were friendly, yet not very attentive. Comparing with the price among all other airlines (involving transit), Air NZ is the best airline so far that fly from Auckland to Vietnam.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to SGN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a very warm welcome"

(New Zealand)

Return day trip to Queenstown today. Nice breakfast in the Koru Lounge then straight on board with a very warm welcome. Very friendly crew and lots of information from the flight deck. Served coffee and muffin, then water before landing. Wonderful views of the Alps. Return mid afternoon flight back. Crew friendly, service not as good. Toilets not cleaned and stunk. Not a good impression.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to ZQN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"service gone out the window"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Air New Zealand service has gone out the window, be careful the website obviously has bugs in it. I booked a ticket back from the Sunshine Coast to Auckland they somehow booked me from Gold Coast to Auckland and want to charge more then the ticket to change it. On top of that they put me on a Virgin plane which has cramped seats. Warning do not book Air New Zealand I got better service from other Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to MCY
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"inflight safety video is fun "

(India)

Verified Review | Second time on Air New Zealand domestic, from Queenstown to Auckland, their aircraft are so new! I should mention their inflight safety video "Men in black", which is fun and attention grabbing at the same time, just what safety videos should be doing. Thumbs up for the innovation. The flight was around 1.5hrs, wine, cheese etc. Not bad for domestic. Attentive cabin crew, flight information by the captain, great legspace. Overall, awesome experience.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZQN to AKL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"definitely fly them again"

(India)

Verified Review | First time on Air New Zealand domestic. Christchurch to Queenstown on A320, flight exactly on time, aircraft felt new, super clean, it was a short flight, light refreshment, cabin crews were friendly. Overall, a great first time flight with Air NZ. Will definitely fly them again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCHC to ZQN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service overall couldn't be better"

(Australia)

Highly recommend Air New Zealand. Flew with them for 4 flights recently from Sydney to Los Angeles via Auckland and couldn't be happier. The entertainment on the 787s is class leading and so is the comfort and quietness of the cabin. On the long haul flight from Auckland to Los Angeles we (family of 4) were on the 777-300ER. We got a decent sleep and the food and entertainment I rate 9/10. The service overall couldn't be better, they are very friendly and proud. I take my hat off for the service I received and I loved the 777-300 (All Black) livery.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER and Boeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to LAX via AKL
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly and helpful cabin staff"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Great all round flying experience with the All Blacks from Christchurch to Sydney. Very nicely appointed aircraft with black seats and seat backs. Wide touchscreen infotainment which is full of high-quality entertainment options. On time departure, before time arrival. Polite, friendly and helpful cabin staff. Meals provided in a 3-hour flight and that too quite good quality and of a nice portion size. Free beverages available on board. Clear announcements, a short, entertaining safety briefing video. Hassle free self check-in and bag drop at the airport. All in all, my first experience with the All Blacks has been a very pleasant one. Air New Zealand definitely packs a punch above their weight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCHC to SYD
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes