Air Koryo

Customer Reviews

1 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 41 reviews
6/10
1 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 31st May 2015

I flew PEK-FNJ at the start of my holiday in the DPRK. I had a bit of trepidation flying on North Korea's state airline but was pleasantly surprised. The Tupolev was smart and modern and the plane was new. We had a reasonable amount of space and the staff were smartly dressed and friendly. The food was a burger with a mystery meat inside which was not very nice and I did not finish it. The air ticket was part of my holiday package so I do not know what it cost.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (Germany) 31st October 2014

I was flying from Beijing to Pyongyang with a Tupolev 204-300. The aircraft was in an excellent state and the service was very friendly. The flight departed and arrived in time.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 28th October 2014

A timewarp experience to say the least my flight from Beijing to Pyongyang was without hitch although you'd be hard pressed to find a team less interested in not only the well being but the safety of the passengers. For example when the purser was meant to make the safety announcement she looked around and saw a flight full of foreigners. As a result she actually shrugged rolled her eyes and sat right back down instead of briefing us. That it was a 30 year old Tupolev made that nagging feeling of 'I should probably listen to the safety announcement in case I jinx the flight' all the more pressing. That said the flight was a dream. The plane felt so heavy we barely realised we were touching down. The food was passable but the experience was unforgettable. Our seats tilted forwards rather than backwards. But for a 2 hour flight the sense of wonder far outweighs any actual discomfort. The stewardesses seemed more interested in reapplying thick strata of foundation and redoing their 60s overdone hairstyles than actually serving their passengers but the sight was certainly more entertaining than the sad slightly desperate propaganda movies played throughout the flight. My Air Koryo flight was a tremendous start to my trip.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (Canada) 28th September 2014

PEK-FNJ return in the newer Tu-204. Check in at PEK is fast and agents seem blind to overweight/over size baggage (not mine but many others). The plane is clean and seats are comfortable with very good pitch. FA's served water apple juice and a North Korean greenish carbonated drink (soda) and the "hamburgers" that were brought in from FNJ. The plane departed on time and arrived into FNJ early. The plane was parked out on a taxiway and all pax were bussed to the terminal because the terminal is under construction. All arrivals and departures were handled in a temporary terminal and can only handle one flight at a time. Fortunately there are only 4 flights a day. All 7 immigration booths were open to handle about a plane load of 150 passengers. Luggage arrived about 20 minutes after we arrived at the terminal. Return FNJ-PEK was on the other Tu-204. Check in is quick and easy. I requested a window seat and got one. Again the terminal can only process one flight at a time. We had to wait in the public area while they handle an earlier flight to Vladivostok. Once the pax for that flight boarded the bus we cleared security and checked in. Check in is quick and again I requested a window seat with no problem. All pax then were bussed to the remote parking site and boarded the plane about 30 minutes before scheduled departure. The flight left 5 minutes early. Inflight experience was similar to the last flight PEK-PNJ. This flight was originally scheduled to use a smaller An-148 but was switched to a larger Tu-204-300. The plane was about 80% full.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (Norway) 1st September 2014

PEK-FNJ-PEK 12-19 August 2014. Departed and arrived on time on both flights good FAs and great seats. Interesting airplane (TU204) and very likely the first and last time I fly a Russian built plane (not a lot operated where I spend most of my time). Flight to North-hard and bumpy landing. Back to Beijing was good - not so many turns and much smoother. Once we arrived in Pyongyang immigration took 10 mins and bags were delivered immediately. I'm glad it all went well.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money N/A
no
5/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (Germany) 13th July 2014

18 May 2013 PEK-FNJ JS 152. 25 May 2013 FNJ-PEK JS 151. Not as bad as expected. Standard level of service modern aircraft (Tu-204) similar to 757 or 320 series not any worse when comparing with some airlines of Europe or Asia. Aircraft and interior were in mint condition on time service no problems at all.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (Australia) 2nd June 2014

I flew from Beijing to Moscow on a charter flight last month I was pleasantly surprised with the service and the joy of flying on a TU-154M. I was in business class and found it to be just fine the entertainment was a tad basic but the food and cabin crew were lovely. I would have no hesitation of flying them again.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (Germany) 29th May 2014

Flew FNJ-PEK last week. Handling on ground smooth and efficient accepting a couple of kgs more weight than allowed without even a question aircraft clean and modern service friendly and with a smile both on the ground and in the air. Ok catering and a good choice of drinks given the short leg of just 1.5 hrs flight time. On time flight. I guess the bad rating comes from the "old" Air Koryo operating but since a while both their equipment and their attitude has changed strongly and it's another carrier now.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by 9th April 2014

On both legs (Beijing - Pyongyang - Beijing) the plane was a more than decent TU 204 with a reasonable seat pitch. Check in fast and efficient both at Pyongyang and Beijing: check in staff also turned a blind eye of a 2 kgs excess I had on both legs. This airline is an experience in itself: propaganda is on air during the whole flight with DPRK music. Complimentary inflight service with local both soft and alcoholic drinks. Deplaning at Pyongyang fast with rapid baggage delivery: in less than 30 minutes I was on my way (escorted by guides) to the hotel.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Air Koryo customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 27th August 2013

Beijing (PEK) to Pyongyang (FNJ) return 22-24 August in economy. PEK to FNJ was on a newish and very clean two class TU-204 with decent seat pitch in economy drop down inflight entertainment and efficient service (economy bulkhead is row 4 first exit row with extra legroom is row 7). Catering consisted of the infamous Air Koryo 'hamburger' containing some kind of mystery meat and a choice of alcoholic or soft drink. Inflight entertainment consisted of clips from classical music performances and the obligatory state propaganda about the DPRK. Although there are headphone sockets none are given out (music plays throughout the cabin). Smooth landing but long taxiing time in Pyongyang. FNJ to PEK was on an older one class TU-204 with slightly less legroom but the service was the same - short propaganda piece inflight music and catering with the dreaded Air Koryo 'hamburger'. FAs are reasonably efficient if a bit robotic with adequate English skills (better than China Eastern for example). Quick check-in procedures in both Beijing and Pyongyang. Requested (and given) a window seat on both flights. No issues with luggage although baggage delivery in Pyongyang is painfully slow (allow 45 minutes or so waiting time). Overall a decent effort. The 1 star classification is unjustified - based on my experiences Air Koryo is somewhere between 2 and 3 stars overall. Catering and safety procedures need to be improved - tray tables were down and cabin baggage blocking access during take off.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 39 Reviews