Tokyo Narita Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 125 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"Baggage claim was pretty efficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I've been to this airport twice. The first time, two years ago, I flew in from Australia using Qantas. That particular terminal had a crammed, cramped and dingy immigration and customs area, but was nice post-security when I was leaving Japan. Immigration and customs officials were stern, even a bit gruff, but courteous enough. Baggage claim was pretty efficient. Signage to the express train into the city was fine, and I made it to the train, which was a smooth, modern ride into the city. This time, I flew in from the USA using JAL, transit only, and that particular terminal was borderline impressive. Even in the midst of construction, what has been completed so far is clean, somewhat spacious (despite having a fairly low ceiling), and just has a welcoming vibe. Oddly, I didn't even have to go through security in transit (no, seriously, I didn't!), and queuing for my next flight to Singapore was an absolute breeze. The only issue I see both times in Narita is that any coffee shop or store of interest is either sparse, or spread out and required a long walk. Maybe I wasn't in the right terminals. All in all, this isn't the best airport in Asia, but it's still significantly better than most major North American ports of entry.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"There are no airbridges"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The low-cost terminal 3 at this airport is the most disappointing I’ve experienced internationally. The amount and quality of shops is appalling and it does not showcase Japan in any good way. There are no airbridges, no decent seating, check in is old fashioned.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"such a bare bones airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Narita Terminal 3 is a bad joke, and T2 is little better. I’m astounded that a metropolis such as Tokyo has such a bare bones airport. There’s not a lot of shopping and food landside, and almost nothing airside. And they’ve removed the vending machines so you’re forced to use the one and only extortionate café! Never again,
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"This airport blew me away"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | This airport blew me away. It was so clean and the process of our connecting flight was so smooth. Ground staff are quick to help and very excellent in handling in transit passengers. Customer service and signage are very clear. Toilets are also squeaky clean.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Worst airport I've ever been to"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I've ever been to. Would rather fly into Haneda or fly into Osaka and take a train to Tokyo. The signage is neat, stating how many metres away something is. Immigration line was more than 2 hours long. Then got to the front of the 2 hour line to only see 4 inspectors during peak season/time. I made a joke to my family that "we would wait so long, our checked bags would be at the lost and found", and that's where we found them. The airport is very far away from the city centre of Tokyo, so the prices for busses and trains were fairly high and took a long time. When we departed, the outbound immigration was a mess. No actual lines with ropes, and everyone was lining up at 1 line, even though there were plenty on the other side blocked by a column. Both inbound and outbound immigration places were kind of dirty since they were renovating. The shopping selection was good but not as good as Haneda. Food was non-existant near my gate. Seats waiting for boarding were hard and uncomfortable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"one of the cleanest airports I've visited"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Narita airport is one of the cleanest airports I've visited. The staff were nice and helpful. What's most important is that they allocate enough staff to security, immigration and other counters so there were no long queue and thus save your time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"It's completely unacceptable"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I would like to complain about the lack of food and drink services after security in terminal 3. It's completely unacceptable. There are no signs saying limited food services. Every other airport has at least 3-4 places where you can get food or a drink. I am disgusted with the lack of service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"very far from Tokyo"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Review about the terminal 3 (low cost). First, Narita Airport is very far from Tokyo, it takes me about 2 hours to get there but it is well served; two high speed train to Tokyo and a local train, many bus line for Tokyo, Kanagawa and Yokohama. From terminal 2 to the terminal 3, we have to walk about 15 minutes outside or use a shuttle bus (about 5 minutes). This terminal has the minimum required, few shops before security check and not much inside. I could not buy some snakes in the international area. The airport stays very clean and well indicated. I always had to take a bus from the gate to the plane, I do not know if it is possible to jump into the plane from the gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"lot of food court restaurants"

(United States)

Not Verified | It was clean, staff was nice, we went to all 3 terminals. Terminal 1 was nice, Terminal 2 was clean and Terminal 3 has a lot of food court restaurants.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"A reasonable number of seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Departed T1 on an intercontinental flight at 11:10 hrs. Check-in not too bad - Islands for each airline/group. Quite a queue for Passport Control and through to Security which was OK. Only as you got to the scanner did they make clear what you needed to remove or have separately which lead to additional delays being processed. None of the Shops open until 08:00 and neither do many of the restaurants. There are some local and international fast food cafes and a selection of Duty Free focusing on the "traditional" products along with some Japanese souvenirs. A reasonable number of seats but can get busy as a number of flights depart at similar times. Boarding by zone with individual queues at the gate. Would not recommend this airport if you have the chance to use Haneda which is a much better experience all round, and closer to the city!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no