Tokyo Narita Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Terminal 3 is absolutely stunning"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I've flown via Narita Airport before and always found it to be excellent, especially the connection between Terminals 1,2 and 3 via the free shuttle bus. This review is specifically about Terminal 3, which serves only a handful of regional airlines like JetStar Japan, Spring and Jeju Air. Pre-pandemic it was a functional, but drab location. By comparison, the new Terminal 3 is absolutely stunning, easily the most spacious (per number of airlines served) I've ever seen. There are huge seating areas, several appealing food outlets, a bookstore, and a Lawson's convenience store. The beautiful art work complements the peaceful, relaxed atmosphere - an immediately noticeable contrast to the crowded scene at most of the world's terminals. I really didn't want to depart! Congratulations to those responsible
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"They had no vegetarian sandwiches"

(Japan)

Not Verified | It was 6:30 pm at night and the only eating option airside at terminal 2 was a small coffee shop that had sandwiches. They had no vegetarian sandwiches. I asked if they could make one and they refused even though they had bread and salad. I went to the information desk to ask what I could eat. They eventually persuaded an extremely reluctant staff at the coffee shop to make me a vegetarian sandwich. I am baffled that an international airport offers zero vegetarian options. I’ve raised this at Narita before and nothing changes. It’s a shame because it is otherwise a nice and friendly airport. But in terms of catering for vegetarians, it is probably the worst I have ever experienced.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"performed its functions adequately"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terminal 2 at Narita was pretty sparse by today's standards. (It didn't help that I arrived at around 7 AM, when most shops were still closed.) Overall, it was a straightforward airport to use and its performed its functions adequately. My main grievance was that the air conditioning was turned way up and made for a chilling experience. The gates could be accessed by stairs or elevators and they should be replaced by escalators. The restrooms seemed dated and kind of grungy by Japanese standards. They could use a facelift.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Narita Airport is still a great airport"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Narita Airport is still a great airport despite my flight with JAL being awful. Airport is still clean and still modern though. Many stores sadly are still closed right now, so are the restaurants etc there. But hopefully, when we return to normal, everything is great again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"Baggage claim was pretty efficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I've been to this airport twice. The first time, two years ago, I flew in from Australia using Qantas. That particular terminal had a crammed, cramped and dingy immigration and customs area, but was nice post-security when I was leaving Japan. Immigration and customs officials were stern, even a bit gruff, but courteous enough. Baggage claim was pretty efficient. Signage to the express train into the city was fine, and I made it to the train, which was a smooth, modern ride into the city. This time, I flew in from the USA using JAL, transit only, and that particular terminal was borderline impressive. Even in the midst of construction, what has been completed so far is clean, somewhat spacious (despite having a fairly low ceiling), and just has a welcoming vibe. Oddly, I didn't even have to go through security in transit (no, seriously, I didn't!), and queuing for my next flight to Singapore was an absolute breeze. The only issue I see both times in Narita is that any coffee shop or store of interest is either sparse, or spread out and required a long walk. Maybe I wasn't in the right terminals. All in all, this isn't the best airport in Asia, but it's still significantly better than most major North American ports of entry.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"There are no airbridges"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The low-cost terminal 3 at this airport is the most disappointing I’ve experienced internationally. The amount and quality of shops is appalling and it does not showcase Japan in any good way. There are no airbridges, no decent seating, check in is old fashioned.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"such a bare bones airport"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Narita Terminal 3 is a bad joke, and T2 is little better. I’m astounded that a metropolis such as Tokyo has such a bare bones airport. There’s not a lot of shopping and food landside, and almost nothing airside. And they’ve removed the vending machines so you’re forced to use the one and only extortionate café! Never again,
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"This airport blew me away"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | This airport blew me away. It was so clean and the process of our connecting flight was so smooth. Ground staff are quick to help and very excellent in handling in transit passengers. Customer service and signage are very clear. Toilets are also squeaky clean.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Worst airport I've ever been to"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I've ever been to. Would rather fly into Haneda or fly into Osaka and take a train to Tokyo. The signage is neat, stating how many metres away something is. Immigration line was more than 2 hours long. Then got to the front of the 2 hour line to only see 4 inspectors during peak season/time. I made a joke to my family that "we would wait so long, our checked bags would be at the lost and found", and that's where we found them. The airport is very far away from the city centre of Tokyo, so the prices for busses and trains were fairly high and took a long time. When we departed, the outbound immigration was a mess. No actual lines with ropes, and everyone was lining up at 1 line, even though there were plenty on the other side blocked by a column. Both inbound and outbound immigration places were kind of dirty since they were renovating. The shopping selection was good but not as good as Haneda. Food was non-existant near my gate. Seats waiting for boarding were hard and uncomfortable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"one of the cleanest airports I've visited"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Narita airport is one of the cleanest airports I've visited. The staff were nice and helpful. What's most important is that they allocate enough staff to security, immigration and other counters so there were no long queue and thus save your time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes