Tokyo Narita Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 174 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"A reasonable number of seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Departed T1 on an intercontinental flight at 11:10 hrs. Check-in not too bad - Islands for each airline/group. Quite a queue for Passport Control and through to Security which was OK. Only as you got to the scanner did they make clear what you needed to remove or have separately which lead to additional delays being processed. None of the Shops open until 08:00 and neither do many of the restaurants. There are some local and international fast food cafes and a selection of Duty Free focusing on the "traditional" products along with some Japanese souvenirs. A reasonable number of seats but can get busy as a number of flights depart at similar times. Boarding by zone with individual queues at the gate. Would not recommend this airport if you have the chance to use Haneda which is a much better experience all round, and closer to the city!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"clean and well maintained"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | The airport was clean and well maintained. The airport was bright enough to have enough natural sun light inside the building. First, during the check-in counter was seamless once you have self check-in via online or kiosk. Immigration and security check also smooth even with large crowd. Shopping experience was decent but limited choice of food. Waiting hall was big enough with many seat available and with charging port as well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Immigration is quite terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Immigration at this airport is quite terrible. There are no staff on hand to direct passengers and signs are initially well placed until you get to the immigration area where they just make any sense and are not visible. It took 2 hours to make it past immigration. There is an initial line (about 1.5 hours) that breaks up to 5 individual lines for the machines that take your passport information and fingerprints. These five lines make no sense as you soon realize a staff member (probably the first one you will encounter) arbitrary picks which one gets to move. He basically let lines 1 and 2 move while lines 3-5 remained long. After this process, you move to your last line of actually getting to the immigration officer (30 minutes). Good luck and fly to Tokyo Haneda!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Queues from the start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the worst airports I’ve been to. Queues from the start to finish. Started and ended the holiday with a bad experience of Japan, which is a shame because my time in Japan was amazing. Hopefully they are planning to improve or add another terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Stay the heck away from Narita"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | I arrived at Narita with 12 of my students who had just finished a home stay in New Zealand for 3 months. Their parents were waiting and I was the foreign teacher left with the responsibility of bringing them home safely. When we arrived, we got off the plane and I was told that foreigners were to go to the left and Japanese to the right. Goodbye students? The line for foreigners to go through immigration was literally blocks long (hundreds and hundreds of seemingly un moving tourists/foreigners). I later found out that it had taken people 2.5 hours to get through immigration. Incredible. Luckily, I have a residence card and could go through with my students. Took 10 minutes. Then it hit me! Narita Airport! I have been using Haneda Airport only for the past number of years (7). It is excellent and always smooth. Stay the heck away from Narita. I really hate that airport. Maybe the worst I have ever been to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"shambolic immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Third world service, Japanese efficiency, no sign of it at Narita. Shambolic immigration. 1 desk open for a long line of foreigners. Better service in all other Asian countries, especially China. No wonder the Japanese economy is in the toilet. They could learn from China.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"navigating this airport is a nightmare"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Check in and navigating this airport is a nightmare. We flew with Jetstar and how they are still operating is beyond me. Their check-in counter staff are clueless with the most limited of English skills. I was better served at Mr Donut, at one stage there was only one check-in counter operating to check in a 787 dreamliner international flight. At most they only had two check-in counters for the flight. We arrived 3 hours before the flight departed and still it took about 1.5 hours just to check in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport was easily navigated"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Narita was designed to cater international flights only, and it's located further out of the city than Haneda. I would pick Haneda in a heartbeat, as Narita will only be good for transit purpose should you travel to/from US/CA to any other destinations. The transportation options to get to the city are limited and all are expensive. Taxi is horribly expensive (talk about hundreds of dollars) and will only be good so long if your destination is not blanketed with traffic jam. NEX is another fast and direct option, which cost a fraction of cab but still will cost you US$30 one way. The airport was easily navigated so it's a plus point.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"degradation in terms of quality"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The below applies to Narita Terminal 2 as of November 2017. Having lived 5+ years in Japan in 2012, I used to enjoy the calm and quality of Tokyo Narita. However in recent years, the airport has shown a significant degradation in terms of quality. This includes: lengthy security check despite using the Fast lane, single gift shop overcrowded and unable to cope with the recent influx of Chinese tourists (20+ minutes to check out!). Staff constantly addressing in Chinese regardless of the customer, poor choice of food at the business lounge (measly choice of completely dried out pastries). Old/dark terminal with unappealing shops layout. Compared to newer terminals Narita used to be miles ahead from western airports but has now fallen behind pretty much any airport I have been to recently. The airport management seems to solely dedicate its efforts to cater for their growing Chinese customers. It would be wise not to forget other customers especially business ones and provide a real Japanese experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"very fast and efficient"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Super easy airport to access from Tokyo using the Skyliner. Perhaps the easiest check-in experience we have had at any international airport. Security and immigration very fast and efficient. Did not spend much time looking through the retail airside but seemed extensive. Multiple lounge choices in Terminal 2 but a bit underwhelmed with the JAL First Class Lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes