Tokyo Haneda Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 62 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"nobody seems to care"

(United States)

Not Verified | Took local bus (Keikyu) several times from Kawasaki to Haneda with no problem. Not today. After finally arriving at the International terminal, driver swiftly bypassed this very important stop, Tokyo International Airport. I sat right behind the driver and called out to the driver that I need to get off. He didn’t. He could have. Instead, I was dragged to the far away Domestic Terminal, and given the wrong info to catch the inter-terminal shuttle. All in all wasted valuable 25 minutes where I didn’t have to. So be extra-vigilant in riding public transportation to HND. When trying to lodge a complaint within Haneda Airport, nobody seems to care. Please note in the past drivers always stopped at this terminal without me doing anything. Did he have a bad day today?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Baggage retrieval extremely slow"

(Japan)

Not Verified | Baggage retrieval extremely slow. PR422 from Manila people still waiting 1 hour after door opened. Other planes/airlines seem to get preferential treatment.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a stress free, easy to navigate experience"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | My first time to use Haneda and it was a stress free, easy to navigate experience which I would happily repeat again in the future. Had a very early flight so we opted to stay in the airport hotel which had an entrance lobby connected to the flight check in area so it couldn’t have been any more convenient. There are a wide variety of very affordable, healthy, non fast food food options to be had which makes a very welcome change from the usual burgers and fries. There are also quite a number of restaurants with vegetarian/vegan options which was a nice discovery particularly for eating out in Japan. Check in was slick and hassle free, security were polite, helpful, smiling and gentle which is also a massive change from the usual European treatment. Another nice touch was that the shopping area was distinctly separate from the areas for checking in and security so you aren’t herded through clouds of perfume and besieged by sales people as you head to the gates. The only slightly negative thing could be that the majority of the shops close quite early so if you have a late flight you could have your shopping and eating options a bit more limited. Overall I would recommend Haneda over Narita if you have the choice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"hope that my experience is just a rare occurrence"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Haneda may not be the biggest airport, but the combination of cleanliness and friendliness is what makes this my favourite airport in the world. I also prefer Haneda to Narita for its proximity to Tokyo via Airport Limousine and public transit which is integrated with the international terminal building. My only criticism of the facility itself is the lack of coin lockers prior to security. Having a Lawson/FamilyMart/7-11 inside the departures area would be a nice feature to consider as well, but I am already quite satisfied with the convenience stores prior to entering security. However, this time in immigration was unpleasant. I have been to Tokyo before for vacation multiple times, and every time, I have had a smooth experience with security and customs. I am respectful to everyone and I always re-read the rules and regulations before travel (rules can change). I also have no criminal record and all my visits have been problem free. This time, an older male officer was just unnecessarily aggressive in asking me if I had undeclared cash and other prohibited items. I said I had none of those and that I also knew the contents of my luggage. Then he pulled out a binder and kept pointing towards pictures of fake credit cards, undeclared cash, or bullion and asked me again. I said no, no, and no. He then went through my luggage and even checked the interior walls. Obviously he found nothing, and seemingly disgruntled by that, he handed me my passport and did not say a word. I understand that officers have a challenging role in keeping the country safe and I have the utmost respect for them. Overall, Japan is better because of these people. However, I have been searched at this airport before and every time was actually a pleasant experience. By following the rules and responding to questions politely, I have always received polite service at this airport. I have no problems with being searched, but having a scowl on your face and asking the same questions over and over will not magically change the contents of my luggage and land you the drug bust of the century. All in all, I hope that my experience is just a rare occurrence because I really enjoy Haneda and visiting Japan in general.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"staff are professional and friendly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The international terminal of Haneda Airport is very clean and offers many restaurants to dine, as well as a convenience store. The staff are professional and friendly. Only the public transportation to the airport stops at midnight and night buses run not often, but the overall location of Haneda airport is quite close to Tokyo.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the nicest airports"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Yet another visit through both international and terminal 2 here, and it has to be one of the nicest airports in the world. Spotlessly clean, quick and efficient and staff that are truly polite and pleasant. Go there and experience excellence.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"the best airport"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Review about the International terminal! This is, for me, the best airport. The airport is well deserved, two different trains, you can be in the city center of Tokyo within 20-30 minutes, lot of different routes with coaches, and taxis. Before check-in: Well indicated, airport staff available a little bit everywhere, some shops are not too far if you need to fait a little bit. Security check: Fast, some indication are telling you which one is the less crowded (if you are in hurry), police personnel usually don't smile but it's not their job and they are still friendly and professional. Waiting for gate to open: Lot of seats available, some massage chair in some area if you want to relax, plenty of shops but often crowded. You can also find some restaurants if you want to eat a little bit. Also, no need to walk for hours to reach your gate, maybe 10 minutes MAX.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"this is one of the best airports"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have transited at this airport several times. In my opinion, this is one of the best airports. The airport looks pretty clean, new and has convenient facilities. All the services including WiFi,seats, food and hospitality of staff are at the top level. The only con is that the terminal is far too long from south to north.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Staff smiling and helpful"

(France)

Trip Verified | Japanese class. The airport is easy to find in Tokyo and the counters are quite easy to check in. Staff is always smiling and helpful. Toilets are really clean, wifi airport works well, it is easy to find the way out. They take care of your luggage. Duty free are various and with a big range of shopping stores. The lounge can enjoy a view on Fuji San and almost all the seats have a plus to charge a phone. Seats are comfy.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"airport was so crowded and noisy"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | At check-in time, I arrived at the airport 3 hours before my departure time but there was a long line before the check-in counters of Delta Air Lines. Fortunately, the SkyPriority counter was almost empty. This airport was so crowded and noisy. The security and immigration process was fast and did not take too much time. After customs, there were several duty free shops with Japanese souvenirs. There were also many restaurants where you can find Japanese foods in the airport. The cleanliness was the most impressive thing for me.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 62 Reviews