New Orleans Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"The Rudest Airport in the USA"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The winner for The Rudest Airport in the USA goes to New Orleans! From the security check point to the drink preparer at Starbucks - they all share a bad attitude. Must be in the employee handbook - be rude to all, no need to show grace or patience, just be rude!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no urgency at all or care for the customers and flight times"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was by far the worst experience I have ever had in all my years of traveling. My boyfriend and I came to New Orleans for our anniversary. We enjoyed our trip until we arrived at the New Orleans airport to depart. We arrived 1 hour and 45 mins before our flight was scheduled to leave. We checked in out bags in 15 mins and headed to the TSA check in area. We waited 1 hour and 20 mins in line just to get through airport security. We finally made it to the lady to get our id and boarding pass checked 20 mins before the plane was scheduled to leave (5 mins before boarding was over). The worst part was we still had to place our items on the scanner and be scanned through as well. By the time we finished it was 12 mins before the plane was scheduled to leave (3 mins after boarding was over). We ran and made it at 5.50 am for our 6.00 am flight. The gate was closed. Although the plane was there they were not allowing anyone else to board the plane. We missed our flight. And could not get another flight for the rest of the day. This airport is low staff, low resources, no urgency at all or care for the customers and flight times. It’s unorganized and ruined the entire experience of New Orleans. We were not accommodated nor were arrangements made for us. This is very poor customer service and we will not be returning again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Why is there no recycling available"

(United States)

Not Verified | Why is there no recycling available in the New Orleans airport? In a city that consumes more than most, we must step it up and provide throughout the airport! We need to act like an environmental friendly, progressive city to move forward! We need a glass recycling company above all in Nola! Please act responsible and get it done!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I miss the old terminal so much"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New terminal is the worst case of the "emperor has no clothes" ever. Uncomfortable. Poor design. Passengers huddle behind the few available walls to shield themselves from the blinding sunlight flowing in unfiltered through voluminous windows. There is no place to hide. Inadequate seating. I miss the old terminal so much. What a waste of money! And the news media seems to be complicit in this boondoggle. This is not a Mercedes with four flat tyres, this is a Pinto with no tires that has been stripped for parts no one wants.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"did you recycle the toilet seats"

(United States)

Not Verified | I travel a lot and all over the world. I was happy that New Orleans upgraded to a newer facility. However, did you recycle the toilet seats from the old airport? The disgusting plastic that you have to click the green button? Well, the one in my stall was jammed! I have to say that I am embarrassed that an airport as new as this one is not as clean as most airports I fly in & out of. I'm proud of my city and wish that it would take care of itself.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"they failed to transfer our luggage"

(United States)

Not Verified | New Orleans airport (MSY) seems completely average compared to other airports, except for one thing: they failed to transfer our luggage as we changed flights to Kansas City. This was a huge problem since I had checked on a laptop and a lot of our children's clothing from a lengthy stay in Florida. They had to send my luggage through a different flight and I wasted a lot of time returning to pick up the luggage at a later date.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"this airport's cleanliness is below standards"

(United States)

Not Verified | Please have your cleaning staff clean on a more regular basis. The bathroom toilet fixture was broken, dusty and the trash bin was full with a dirty bandaid on top. The floors were dirty. It was very apparent they had not really cleaned the floors. For a new airport, I was disappointed on the conditions of the airport cleanliness. The white columns are dirty around the floor base as well and the hook on the door to the bathroom was broken. As someone who was excited about the new airport, lack of care was disappointing. In comparison to ATL, DFW, JAX, DEN, PDX, FLL, TOA, MCO, this airport's cleanliness is below standards.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
3/10

"the TSA set up was a giant fail"

(United States)

Not Verified | Poor design in passenger drop off and pick up areas. Absolutely a mess and people were so frustrated that no one could move that it became dangerous. The ticketing area was fine but the TSA set up was a giant fail as well. The agents could check people faster than the lines could clear through the scanners so the agents sat idle much of the time and the entire line just was in a dead lock. Once inside I noticed there were only a few restrooms (2 per terminal), all with very long lines (on a Tuesday mid-morning). Gate seating areas were ridiculously undersized for number of passengers on a plane. There was seating for about 50 with the gates directly next to us both filled with their own passengers so people just sat on the floor in the walkways. Not safe! If they intended for overflow to go into next gate they have to plan for that in staggering schedules. Overall I really don't understand why they built this. It is undersized for current needs with no room for growth in the industry. The trend is more people traveling and they seem to be expecting the opposite. Pretty much frustrated with poor scaling the entire morning. We are told to get there with much time to spare (by TSA) but there is no where to go. I will avoid this airport whenever possible. Yes it was pretty.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it is filthy"

(United States)

Not Verified | The new airport in New Orleans is a beautiful structure - the architect Cesar Pelli did a wonderful job. Everything else was designed by hacks and engineers no doubt selected for their political patronage - because they obviously have no design talent. The garages and drives and signage are not any better than third world airports. Think Orlando, Chicago and Miami airport landscaping and signage - all beautifully designed and maintained- not New Orleans - no design talent anywhere outside of the terminal - a waste of a billion dollars! The biggest problem with this 10 week old terminal is that it is filthy - I have been through the airport 4 times since it opened in November and I can attest that the floors have not ben cleaned once since opening. The same stains and dirt piles are on the floors. They have been swept clean by the lazy airport staff, but never washed clean. What a shame after the efforts put into the design and great layout. Atlanta and Detroit airports are all run by similar politically connected vendors- but they are spotlessly clean and beautiful. The New Orleans folks just don’t care about being clean - what a shame. Maybe the mayor is a slob and doesn’t know what clean is - because if she ever traveled anywhere else - she would understand that you need to clean floors every door when millions walk in them. Slobs - all slobs. Wake up New Orleans and clean this building!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"new airport is a real mess"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This new airport is a real mess. Baggage takes 45 minutes to come out, then on wrong belt. No signs in airport to direct you to where food might be if you don't want an expensive sit down restaurant. People in and out of airport are rude. Taxi cab people were screaming at tourists yesterday, 1/14/20. Lines are long for taxi. Uber and Lyft had at least 100 people in it. Only one lane for taxi and arrivals to depart. When my ride picked us up it took 24 minutes to get out of airport area and headed to interstate. The one lone security officer directing the gridlock blew his whistle constantly at people trying to pick up their passengers. There were several people arguing in rideshare line because of long lines and no line organization. I flew on southwest 561 from LGA.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews