Johannesburg Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 151 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I thought the service couldn't get any worse than before"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I thought the service couldn't get any worse than before and surprise! From arriving in international, my bag was grabbed by one of the employees "to assist me where to go" a simple "good afternoon, could I be of assistance to you" would be much more sufficient. When visiting the bathroom the cleaner said "can you give something extra for me?" I do not tip to pee! Maybe the airport company should adjust their pay, so no employees need to beg for money, just think what international visitors must think. I was at coffee bar inside domestic (coffee and cream?), first off no service, then when I wanted to pay, I needed to call someone over. Paid R50 for a R38 bill and ask the R10 back, and gave R5 extra for the tip (iow R7 tip for R38 bill, that is around 20%. For service I didn't even receive). But after 12min and standing up to go to the counter to get my R10, the lady just gave me R2 back, so she expected a R15 tip for a cup of coffee, when I corrected her, we went to the counter and the man behind the counter clicked his tongue at me, and made like I was stingy. I feel ashamed that this is the introduction what overseas visitors see first when visiting our beautiful country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"the whole experience went pretty smoothly"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | I recently passed through OR Tambo on my way from Tokyo to Harare and had a long layover. I was changing airlines so I needed to pass through immigration and check in again with the new airline. I found the whole experience went pretty smoothly. My COVID documents were checked, Immigration was pretty quick and I didn't have to wait long for my luggage. Check in for my second flight was also smooth and easy and I passed easily into departures with out any hassle. All the staff were friendly and polite. The departure lounge is fine with a good duty free and a small but decent selection of shops. There didn't appear to be many dining options though. As i had a 6 plus hour wait for my flight and I had just been on a 15 hour flight from Tokyo to Zurich and a 10 our flight from Zurich to Joburg I decided to pay to enter the Bidvest lounge. The lounge was $30 to enter and had a fully stocked bar, wifi, decent snacks and very nice and clean showers. All in all the airport is pretty good although the free airport wifi only last 4 hours so i you have a long stay it could be a problem.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"airport doesn't broadcast any flight information"

(Kenya)

Trip Verified | OR TAMBO has a good public address system that it doesn't use for its intended purpose. The airport doesn't broadcast any flight information or passenger updates. Attending staff have to keep shouting at the top of their voices for check in or boarding, with those large halls, the shouting is of no use. I saw passengers being left by flights while sitting there. I missed my flight sitting there. If the airport is too big and busy, please segment your PA system into smaller divisions to cover different boarding sections. Don't just keep broadcasting about protect you, protect us, when we are missing flights. As the South Africa we here about, you ought to do better in Africa.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very rude and ignorant"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | The most disgusting customer service. Very rude and ignorant. I vowed never to use that airport again. It should be closed. How can you call it an International airport when you dont even USB charging ports, only round sockets. Round sockets are only used in Africa
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"incredibly attentive service"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | A shout out to the incredibly attentive service I received during my check-in at OR Tambo on 24/03/2021. This staff member is truly an Ambassador for Kulula.com. Individuals like her make the difference! I have difficulty walking and did not know about the wheelchair assistance that should be done at the booking stage. She went out of her way to make the arrangements for wheelchair assistance on departure and arrival in Cape Town. She even took the time out of her busy schedule to assist me to the bathroom before boarding to make sure that I am safe.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Security Staff are excellent"

(Namibia)

Trip Verified | Security Staff are excellent. I would like to thank ACCSA security staff for a job well done, special thanks to the two men and a lady at the control room around 4pm in the afternoon of the 10th of February 2021. You made my day great I shall forever be grateful. To Eagle Eye Security and the information desk ladies (gate nearer to the police post) thank you so much. I do appreciate your help. You went out of your way to assist a desperate mother. We found all the documents, my mistake which I do apologise for.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Worst security staff I have ever had"

(Germany)

Not Verified | As operating Cockpit Crew Member we have arrived at Tambo Airport in the afternoon. COVID Test: First we had to do a COVID-19 Test. After 10 hours duty and minimum rest its not a pleasure to wait 30 minutes for the nurse and proceed another 30 minutes through a ton of paperwork. At the end we got our results in the hotel. Nobody was asking for this document again. So, why we had to do it if nobody is interested in the result. That was just a waste of time. Health Declaration: We filled the same document 3 times! 1 at arrival and 2 times at departure. Security Check: Security staff claimed Crew Baggage as "hand luggage". Security staff removed 1 screwdriver, 1 little scissor and shampoo. First off all, crew baggage is crew baggage and not hand luggage. What would a pilot do with a scissor. Worst security staff I have ever had in more of 20 years being a pilot. Handler: That was a highlight. Super friendly staff. Quick service and knows absolutely what he is doing. Thumbs up for this guy.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rudeness at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | To be honest I am not sure what is going on as the staff used to be very friendly however i have had to fly to Johannesburg twice now in the last 3 months and to be honest the staff are rude and unfriendly. I am really shocked about the level of rudeness at passport control. My message to the staff is this: If you guys want people to enjoy coming to South Africa you really need to become friendlier and more helpful.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"more than an hour to get through"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Only 2 staff at border control for extremely long and continuously growing queues. Took me more than an hour to get through. And when I asked one of the guys on duty as to why management hadn't send more staff to assist he said 'more staff are around but it's the ladies and they just want to talk talk and not work work.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The staff were so rude"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | I had the worst experience at OR Tambo, I was with my four kids traveling back to Ireland from our holidays. The staff were so rude! They couldn't let us through as 2 of my kids have their father's surname but I am the sole parent and I had documentation for that and they didn't accept it telling me they need a consent letter from the father and all even though I'm their sole parent with documents to prove it! They were rude and had attitude towards me and my kids until my children got frustrated and started crying and shouting, they treated us very badly. OR Tambo has to improve with their staff so that their customer service improves. Fine I called their father in Ireland and asked him to write down consent he did and still they were just being nasty taking us back and forth until we missed our flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no