Gdansk Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 24 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Very bad experience"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Very bad experience. In the morning very large queue for security screening, but not all the security checkpoints were working. Lack of any queue organization from airport staff. Security staff very rude, all the time screaming on people. On arrival, extreme large queue to passport control, with 2 booths working and 3 or 4 remaining closed. Even travelling with an EU passport it took almost 30 minutes to pass the control. Polish border guard personnel very rude and incompetent. They don't even know with what documents you can travel, so they have to call and ask their supervisor if they can let a Polish citizen enter into Poland! I've heard them screaming and talking in very rude way to foerginers, just because the foreginers don't speak Polish, while the passport control personnel can't speak English. Currency exchange points - never ever exchange the money there! Exchange rates are very low, it's total rip off! Exchange your money in the city centre, you will get much better deal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"new form of torture"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible. It's a new form of torture. I am British and I am well-versed in the art of a good queue - Nope. Nope. Nope. Not the case in Gdańsk. Everything was lovely until we reached passport control. At this point, there was no lines exclusive to EU passport holders; Only 'All passports'. Okay, no big deal, right? I was wrong. Very wrong. It took us an hour and a half to get through passport control. I'm willing to bet that our entire flight's baggage had already made more miles on the carousel than our flight did overall. It was awful, and once we finally got through the sweaty, smelly and overall disgusting passport control, we finally got through to be greeted by the most ironic sign in history: Gdańsk - Voted 4th Best Airport in Europe. I've been to a lot of airports in my time, some no larger than a hangar with a small plane inside and I would argue this is 4th Worst Airport in the World. I haven't seen a passport line so slow since the Cold War. Absolute joke - I got through checkpoint Charlie in less time than this ridiculous nonsense! To anyone that works here, I apologise but tell passport control to fix their nonsense! Everyone in Europe has biometric passports these days - Why is there no biometric checkpoint? I get that there's a lot of travellers without these passports but every Polish citizen has one as far as I am aware? Absolute joke. I'd rather rub salt in a fresh wound and sit on a cactus than go to this airport again. I'd rather drive to Poland from the UK than go through this again. I'm just that unhappy with the experience I've faced here (and trust me, I've had many bad experiences when travelling. Usually in US airports but even they are more efficient than this horrid place). No disrespect to Gdańsk as a city - Love the place. Your airport is awful though.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"newer airport with flaws"

(United States)

I saw a sign that Gdansk Airport is rated 5th in the world. That's incorrect by any standard. The airport may be relatively new but its also too small. Many flights I embark on let you walk to the plane or get bussed which during the long winter is very uncomfortable. Security staff have always been very unpolite, as I read in some other reviews and waiting times can be very long. Compared with what it once was it's a small regional but mostly newer airport with flaws; mind you the old terminal is also still in use. Connections with downtown Gdynia and Gdansk are too infrequent. Still a taxi airport. Majority flights are budget so long check-in and security lines and for me, not near 5th - that's a bad joke
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"security staff helped"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Quite new and not busy airport. The most obstructed place is the security control. My departure flight soon so I was in hurry. The security staff helped me went in quickly, I even had enough time for a little shopping. Shop's staff was also helpful, leaded me to empty cash desk.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"very uncomfortable experience"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | In Gdansk I only experience kindness and politeness. That’s why I’m really surprised about the airport security. Asked kindly if they wanted me to remove my shoes, and no answer, just a rude look. I removed them and afterwards I was told to remove my shirt - no please will you remove it, as in DK, but instead commanding. I felt uncomfortable because I was only wearing a small top underneath, but removed it. Then I was told to take my shirt up to swipe for drugs on my lower stomach. It’s ok to swipe the hands, but see the reason for the stomach. Overall a very uncomfortable experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"just shocking and unacceptable"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Yesterday I had a very bad experience at Gdansk airport. Nearly missed the flight because there was a huge security queue. Why? Because only 1 of 3 control gates (other queue after passport check gates had same lenght) was open which made passengers wait around 1hr 20min. This is just shocking and unacceptable. No customer service personel were assisting us and no one was calling out passengers that had flights in 15–20min. I felt like taking this role. When some desperados rushed forward a few passengers were arguing and became irate. When I asked the security person why only one channel was open she could not answer me. This airport becomes a total mess when 6-7 flights depart within 2 hours. Especially during holidays. Another thing, when stairs take you upstairs, doors to hall dont open, you have to run through all the big duty free shop and around boutiques which adds to the stressful experience. I will fly to other polish cities for a short break next time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"WiFi quality has deteriorated badly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | WiFi quality over the years since the airport was rebuilt has deteriorated badly and during the constant changing of service providers has definitely reduced the ease of use of what is expected to be a free service. It turns out to be so poor and for 20 minutes access at a time, when the access let's you in. I now leave my devices switched off. It is annoying. Bad news Gdansk. Services to fee paying travellers must improve please, especially in the airport building which itself is an admirable building. Why make cheap WiFi in the lounge spoil the experience?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a big minus for the service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I never saw such a poor service to elderly people like here in Gdansk Airport. An old man with 83 years did not got permission for prior safety check after check in. They ask this old person to line up in the normal queue for about 40 min. The man almost collapsed. Even after I ask the lady who checked the boarding card she refused to help the man. It’s a big minus for the service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
10/10

"efficiently organized"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | Small and maybe because of that, everything was efficiently organized. Security staff at the gates polite but strict. Cleanliness of all public areas is above lots of airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"modern, clean efficient airport"

(United Kingdom)

A modern, clean efficient airport that puts others to shame (Luton take note). Seamless arrival, fast retrieval of luggage and the only tiny criticism would be that the taxi rank wasn't that well signposted. Departure was the same- speedy check in, Security very quick but very thorough. Spotless large departure area. Plenty of seating with great views of the runway. If required free 15 minutes WI-Fi which was a bit mean but better than nothing. This is a new terminal but Wizz Air still departs from the old original gates which are a bit dreary in comparison but still no big deal. Wish though they used the air bridges as boarding in the snow was not much fun. A very good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 24 Reviews