Gdansk Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 29 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Horrible experience with security staff"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Horrible experience with security staff. I'm writing this because, sadly, I need to use this airport often, and each time I'm there, already with bad experiences, they still managing very well to climb on new levels of bad behavior towards me and other passengers. They just bark and yell on travelers. Word “please” does not exist in their vocabulary. If you try to talk to them, it only magnifies they bad attitude. My last adventure there was about pants belt, which was not a belt, it was part of pants attached there for good. It was impossible to take it off, and yet they were demanding it. Explaining, showing – pointless. Had to rip out whole thing, and ruined the cloth because of some lady having bad day. Cannot wait next visit there… avoid as long as it’s possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Workers from the airport without masks"

(Spain)

Not Verified | Again a negative experience at this airport. Security is of a low level, there is a negligence on the part of the security body. The X-ray control is shameful to see how a policeman, without being well uniformed, rumbling in a chair says a lot about himself. Pressure to pass the trays with hardly any passengers. Workers from the airport without masks in this time with the Coronavirus Rising Up again. Today is 27/11/2021. First flight of the morning with LOT, horrible company too. Don't take except if you don't have other choice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"none of the staff were wearing their masks correctly"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Health and safety rules are very loosely followed. I was marked for a random check (the one where they check your hands for traces of explosives). The female security worker was not wearing her mask and I asked her to put it on before approaching me. Since then she was plain rude to me and barked orders. The two hand sanitizers that I could locate were empty. When I looked around practically none of the staff were wearing their masks correctly even though it was crowded.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"People do their job efficiently and quickly"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | A newly build airport of a modern and clean design resembling sea waves. The terminal building is quite big and feels very spacious. Staff, security check, duty-free shopping are all great but also nothing out of the ordinary. People do their job efficiently and quickly. The terminal was also exceptionally clean. Boarding was quick and efficient. Only letdown is the crude design of the seats and not having much charging points.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Very bad experience!"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Very bad experience! Lack of any organization of security process (eg. what needs to be put in a tray separately and what not) and from airport staff. Had to go back with laptop and leave other belongings unattended. Security staff very rude, impolite and not able to communicate in English. And yes, I travel a lot and have seen many airports and security checks.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very bad experience"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Very bad experience. In the morning very large queue for security screening, but not all the security checkpoints were working. Lack of any queue organization from airport staff. Security staff very rude, all the time screaming on people. On arrival, extreme large queue to passport control, with 2 booths working and 3 or 4 remaining closed. Even travelling with an EU passport it took almost 30 minutes to pass the control. Polish border guard personnel very rude and incompetent. They don't even know with what documents you can travel, so they have to call and ask their supervisor if they can let a Polish citizen enter into Poland! I've heard them screaming and talking in very rude way to foerginers, just because the foreginers don't speak Polish, while the passport control personnel can't speak English. Currency exchange points - never ever exchange the money there! Exchange rates are very low, it's total rip off! Exchange your money in the city centre, you will get much better deal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"new form of torture"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible. It's a new form of torture. I am British and I am well-versed in the art of a good queue - Nope. Nope. Nope. Not the case in Gdańsk. Everything was lovely until we reached passport control. At this point, there was no lines exclusive to EU passport holders; Only 'All passports'. Okay, no big deal, right? I was wrong. Very wrong. It took us an hour and a half to get through passport control. I'm willing to bet that our entire flight's baggage had already made more miles on the carousel than our flight did overall. It was awful, and once we finally got through the sweaty, smelly and overall disgusting passport control, we finally got through to be greeted by the most ironic sign in history: Gdańsk - Voted 4th Best Airport in Europe. I've been to a lot of airports in my time, some no larger than a hangar with a small plane inside and I would argue this is 4th Worst Airport in the World. I haven't seen a passport line so slow since the Cold War. Absolute joke - I got through checkpoint Charlie in less time than this ridiculous nonsense! To anyone that works here, I apologise but tell passport control to fix their nonsense! Everyone in Europe has biometric passports these days - Why is there no biometric checkpoint? I get that there's a lot of travellers without these passports but every Polish citizen has one as far as I am aware? Absolute joke. I'd rather rub salt in a fresh wound and sit on a cactus than go to this airport again. I'd rather drive to Poland from the UK than go through this again. I'm just that unhappy with the experience I've faced here (and trust me, I've had many bad experiences when travelling. Usually in US airports but even they are more efficient than this horrid place). No disrespect to Gdańsk as a city - Love the place. Your airport is awful though.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"newer airport with flaws"

(United States)

I saw a sign that Gdansk Airport is rated 5th in the world. That's incorrect by any standard. The airport may be relatively new but its also too small. Many flights I embark on let you walk to the plane or get bussed which during the long winter is very uncomfortable. Security staff have always been very unpolite, as I read in some other reviews and waiting times can be very long. Compared with what it once was it's a small regional but mostly newer airport with flaws; mind you the old terminal is also still in use. Connections with downtown Gdynia and Gdansk are too infrequent. Still a taxi airport. Majority flights are budget so long check-in and security lines and for me, not near 5th - that's a bad joke
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"security staff helped"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Quite new and not busy airport. The most obstructed place is the security control. My departure flight soon so I was in hurry. The security staff helped me went in quickly, I even had enough time for a little shopping. Shop's staff was also helpful, leaded me to empty cash desk.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"very uncomfortable experience"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | In Gdansk I only experience kindness and politeness. That’s why I’m really surprised about the airport security. Asked kindly if they wanted me to remove my shoes, and no answer, just a rude look. I removed them and afterwards I was told to remove my shirt - no please will you remove it, as in DK, but instead commanding. I felt uncomfortable because I was only wearing a small top underneath, but removed it. Then I was told to take my shirt up to swipe for drugs on my lower stomach. It’s ok to swipe the hands, but see the reason for the stomach. Overall a very uncomfortable experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 29 Reviews