Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 261 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terrible experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience. Once in, no out. Stranded 10 hrs at the check-in counter and not allowed to leave the airport (even though I did not stamp any exit). Security ignores IATA rules and are rude. Avoid airport at any cost. Total chaos.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic and getting worse"

(India)

Not Verified | I recently traveled from Delhi airport and it was a nightmare. It is disorganized, chaotic and getting worse with time. The weakest link, in my opinion, is the immigration department at the airport. When departing from the country, there is always a massive queue for immigration formalities and the folks there just sit there without worrying and caring about the people. More ever, they take their sweet time and interrogate each and every departing passenger. 99/100 times they don't have any clue about what visas you're travelling with or the complex immigration laws of other countries and it's just an extremely frustrating experience to deal with these people. I don't really understand the need for interrogating people at the airport after they have gone through the gruelling process of obtaining their visas at the embassy. This also causes the lines to build up and often times no action is taken by anybody. It is really sad because the first time I travelled from Delhi in 2011, everything was organized, the staff were polite and even at the immigration, there weren't any long lines. The worst part is that if you tweet about your experience to the twitter handle of the airport, they just give you a generic email address of the immigration department for the so-called "feedback" obviously no one ever answers that email. I just hope that they read the review and at least try to ameliorate the situation a little bit so passengers can travel in peace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Never seen such behaviour"

(India)

Trip Verified | GMR tries it's best to maintain an international standard but the problem is with the government departments especially immigration and security. Customs is, surprisingly, much better and professional. While going on 22nd May 2019 at 10.30 PM there was tremendous crowds. This is acceptable since holiday season. After 45 minutes reached immigration and a lady asked me why I have got the Shenghen Visa from Austria when our first port is Prague. I told her that our longest stay is in Austria and our travel agent has booked it. This lady wasted at least 10 minutes cross checking. Does she not know that these countries have a common Visa. I am 64 years old and I cursed her for the inconveniences caused to the people waiting in long line (silently of course). On return on 4th Jun our flight was delayed and landed at 2.40 am. There were no barriers and all passengers from a number of flights crowded. Younger people kept pushing us out of the line and rushing in front. After tolerating this for 45 minutes I shouted at the top of my voice requesting immigration office to intervene but no action. When I finally reached the immigration officer her was rude and told my wife to step back. Then he very rudely told me to step in front of the camera. Never seen such behaviour anywhere in the world.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not showing any signs of improving"

(France)

Not Verified | Immigration and security staff do not treat you with respect. As a frequent traveler and an Indian citizen, I am not a stranger to surly immigration and security staff at Indian airports but it seems like that the situation is not showing any signs of improving. During my last visit outside India, I had to face a barrage of meaningless questions from the immigration officer at the departure counter. I understand that it is their job but at the same time departing passengers should be treated with at least a little bit of respect. Usually the immigration officers in India do not understand various immigration laws of different countries and can make your departure really uncomfortable as you need to recite all the immigration laws in front of them. At times they are horribly rude with passengers. Sarcastic remarks, tongue-in-cheek comments, etc are the norms. It is funny that most of this behaviour takes place when you're departing from India because when you're coming back in, there is never a problem. The security staff is the same. They would yell at anybody for any small reason. I have faced their anger many times as well during my departure. The food court is great, the infrastructure of the airport is awesome, most of it is well organized, however, the fact that many passengers aren't treated well by the immigration and security staff just ruins your whole experience of travelling overseas. This is the reason I am not going to rate this airport any more than 2/10.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I will never visit again"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | I had the misfortune to visit the Delhi airport twice in April. I will never visit again. First of all, they forced us to wait when we left the plane, to be escorted to the security checkpoint. The signs were very clear, so why did they want us to wait? Like many have written before, the staff at the security are very rude and you feel like you bother them, just by showing up. India is a fast developing country, so it must be embarrasing for them to have an airport like Delhi. Only few restaurants, limited choices for shopping and annoying music most of the time. You only get 45 minutes of free wifi. And when you return to the airport 2 weeks later, you can't get another 45 minutes. Finally the staff at the toilets get upset when you don't tip them. Come on, they are just doing a very simple job. And not a very well done job anyway.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"amount of noise pollution is mind boggling"

(India)

Trip Verified | The biggest problem with the airport is the non-stop blaring music! Funnily, the airport claims to be a "Silent" airport but the amount of noise pollution is mind boggling. I live in Bangalore and am actually frightened of passing through Delhi airport, especially if it is a longish wait. I believe this is unacceptable for a modern airport in the era of environmental awareness and should be stopped immediately. A different problem: the transfer between arrival and departure is serviced by a singly stuffy lift. It will be great if additional stairs or escalators can be added.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

20th May 2019 : Delhi Airport response

We sincerely regret for the unfortunate experience that you had during your last visit to Delhi Airport. To provide mild entertainment to passengers, we have deployed Radio Mirchi at Terminal -3. We will certainly take care the concern of volume that you have highlighted. On other note, the lift provided in transfer area is of a large capacity. Further, for passenger convenience, one lift each at Domestic and International side of arrival are available for transit passengers to reach Departure. Adjacent to these, escalators are also available for passenger use. We hope, this information will be useful for you & make your next journey smooth. Thank you for your feedback.

5/10

"its still a lot of hassle"

(United States)

Not Verified | While Delhi airport has improved over the years, its still a lot of hassle for passengers. Security check is a nightmare and the guys working there a pain, rude, on a power trip and plain incompetent. Checking and rechecking bags, putting them through the scanner multiple times, passengers just scrambling to find where their bags are after it’s scanned, just a total mess and it makes for a difficult departure experience. And what’s with the tired old Bollywood music playing nonstop at terminals? Really, no one wants to listen to that after arriving from a long flight. Avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Security is one big mess"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | Security check area is one big mess. So confusing, you don't know where to go, where to stand. The staff is telling you to stand here, go there, move somewhere else, it's very very slow and chaotic. You put your stuff in plastic baskets. They tell you to put your passport and ticket there, your basket goes further away on the belt, at some point you lose it out of sight, someone can easily take it. Then the staff say go to the different line over there. How can I go there with my passport and ticket being on that belt somewhere. But they tell me to go there! So I go. My turn comes and they ask me to show my passport and ticket. So I say that my passport and picket is back theee! So they are annoyed and send me back. So I go and the staff looks at me as if I was stupid or something and ask me why did you come here? Anyway, I passed security check and luckily my passport and ticket was at the end of the belt waiting for me. Be patient, follow the orders and hope your passport will to be lost! Good luck!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"clean, friendly, and appealing"

(United States)

Not Verified | I traveled as a family and then as an individual and found the airport to be clean, friendly, and visually appealing. We had good experience with on the ground staff - employees and contractors who helped us with young children. Some of the security and immigration procedures could be sped up, but then this is with many of the other World class airports as well. We had ample food and beverage choices and shopping options and choices are World class! All in all highly recommended.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Customer service is non existent"

(India)

Not Verified | As a citizen of India, I am ashamed that our countrymen can treat their fellow citizens with such rudeness. Customer service (especially with immigration and security staff) is non existent. The security staff uses "tu" "tera" and extremely informal language with young travelers. I was a bit shocked that being a 30 year old guy, I was being yelled by them like I was a child. The immigration always asks you irrelevant questions while you are leaving the country despite having a valid visa and ticket. The immigration process at Delhi airport is almost always borderline harassment. I do not understand how people can say that this airport is nice. Sure the building is great, the food court is nice, etc. But the staff really need a major crash course in interpersonal skills. I beg the management of the airport to please provide some customer service training to the security and immigration staff there so you don't always leave your own country in a bad mood.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no