Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 269 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"airport has deteriorated over years"

(India)

Not Verified | Took us one and a half hours to clear check in and security in spite of web check in. Dirty interiors and bathrooms. Lounges ill kept. Not many options for eating. Staff shoddy. The airport has deteriorated over years.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"immigration staff at this airport are horrible"

(India)

Not Verified | The management of this airport is apathetic to say the least. I travel a couple of times a year from here and as other reviewers have pointed out here, the immigration staff at this airport are horrible. The queues build up every time and the person who is in charge of stamping your passport at the departure section is more concerned about knowing about your personal life and chit chatting with their colleagues. The worst part about all of this is that the passengers don't have an avenue to get their concerns voiced. If you contact the airport management on social media, they direct you to the contact details of the immigration office and guess what, when you email them, they never reply you back. So it seems like this is nothing but a tactic to give people a run around. They proudly say that they will invest more to expand this airport but I think the passenger experience will not improve until you sort out the mess that is the immigration department at the Delhi airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nightmarish experience"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | I did not know much about Delhi airport. I did not know that the other terminal is at least half an hour away. When I reached the airport I was shocked that there was one bus and so many people surrounded around that bus. People with suitcases and all. There was a lady in a wheel chair. No facilities, no help, no guidance. What uttter nonsense. I started panicking as after 1 and half hours was my domestic flight. I went to the taxi stand and there was such a big line there too. This is the capital of India and there is no proper transfer facility from international to domestic. In the middle of the night we are standing with so much luggage it was disgusting. Somehow I begged people to let me go ahead of the line at the taxi stand. I reached the domestic airport and there was a big line there too. It was truly a nightmarish experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

25th July 2019 : Delhi Airport response

Dear Passenger, We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit to IGI Airport, Terminal 3. Please be assured, your feedback has been duly noted and conveyed to senior immigration officials for their perusal and necessary action. You may also direct your feedback to Immigration officials on their website- https://boi.gov.in/content/contact-us-0

2/10

"Extremely long queues"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Excellent airport but immigration department is ruining the image of this airport. Extremely long queues for immigration and they take an extra ordinarily long time per person unnecessarily. I have travelled the world and nowhere do they take this much time for immigration. They ask nonsense questions and keep you waiting for no reason. I can understand if they are understaffed but thats not the reason for the delay. Its the inefficiency of these idiots thats ruining the experience of a beautiful airport. There were a 1000 people in line and every now and then the officer walks out and comes back after a 5-10 minutes. For me they kept asking stupid questions and they were just staring at my passport and computer screen for a good 5 minutes while there were a 1000 people behind the line. Otherwise the airport is beautiful and very well kept.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

27th July 2019 : Delhi Airport response

Dear Passenger, We sincerely regret for the inconvenience caused during your last visit to Delhi Airport. Please be assured, your feedback has been duly noted and conveyed to senior Immigration officials for their perusal and necessary action. You may also forward your feedback to Immigration directly on their website- https://boi.gov.in/content/contact-us-0 At IGI Airport, we would always strive to provide a better experience for our valuable guests.

1/10

"immigration department ruining the image"

(India)

Not Verified | The immigration department here is ruining the image of the airport. I boarded my flight out of here as an international student. I was pretty excited to visit a new country and discover a new culture but just like everything else in India one government department is completely inefficient. The absolute worst part about travelling abroad as an Indian passenger is the amount of unnecessary questioning that you have to go through while departing from the country. Despite having a valid visa, the government person at the departure counter was rude and kept on asking me questions. Why this humiliation for no reason? This immigration department is not doing anyone a favor by annoying people like international students, etc for no reason, especially, when they already have received permission to travel from their respective embassy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff unhelpful answering simple questions"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Awful. Once entered was forbidden to leave building despite flight delay. Took a lot of walking and asking numerous people who all passed the buck to another person further away. Going round in circles. Hard work to do basic things, staff unhelpful answering simple questions and constantly being asking for passport and ticket instead of actually helping or answering simple questions. Had to ask several times for a security guard to return my passport and was ignore. Same man threw my wifes passport onto the desk away from us and had to lean round to retrieve it. Trolley collect even pushed a trolley into me and then turned away to ignore responsibility. No management happening at all. Once checked in things improved, security and customs very pleasant but then service in food court was rude and abrasive. Was given incorrect order and then blamed by staff despite showing receipt. Felt like we were being punished for being there. After trying to feedback in airport saw many discarded feedback forms waiting to be disposed of and gave in. Feedback machine as well did not respond. How on earth anyone thinks this behaviour is acceptable I do not know, no respect or basic decency. No problem with airport structure itself just the majority of employees.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Check-in very slow"

(India)

Not Verified | Delhi Airport is one of the busiest airports in India. Check-in procedures are very slow which make passengers to wait for a long period. Security is good. Lounge facility is not that much good.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Immigration at least 30 min"

(India)

Not Verified | I flew from Dubai and had an onward Hyderabad flight. You have to clear customs and immigration, pick your baggage and switch terminals for onward flights. Immigration will take an Indian at least 30 min. OCI and foreign nationals can just walk through. People have missed connecting flights on this account. Do not depend on the airport for travel between terminals. There is one bus for a million passenger with heavy luggage. Go to prepaid taxi and book. Taxi drivers will grumble but insist. The connecting domestic flight will have a baggage allowance of 15kgs whereas for your Dubai flight it was 30 kg. Inform the check-in counter and prove that you have come by Dubai flight and they will increase baggage allowance to 30 kg.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience. Once in, no out. Stranded 10 hrs at the check-in counter and not allowed to leave the airport (even though I did not stamp any exit). Security ignores IATA rules and are rude. Avoid airport at any cost. Total chaos.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"chaotic and getting worse"

(India)

Not Verified | I recently traveled from Delhi airport and it was a nightmare. It is disorganized, chaotic and getting worse with time. The weakest link, in my opinion, is the immigration department at the airport. When departing from the country, there is always a massive queue for immigration formalities and the folks there just sit there without worrying and caring about the people. More ever, they take their sweet time and interrogate each and every departing passenger. 99/100 times they don't have any clue about what visas you're travelling with or the complex immigration laws of other countries and it's just an extremely frustrating experience to deal with these people. I don't really understand the need for interrogating people at the airport after they have gone through the gruelling process of obtaining their visas at the embassy. This also causes the lines to build up and often times no action is taken by anybody. It is really sad because the first time I travelled from Delhi in 2011, everything was organized, the staff were polite and even at the immigration, there weren't any long lines. The worst part is that if you tweet about your experience to the twitter handle of the airport, they just give you a generic email address of the immigration department for the so-called "feedback" obviously no one ever answers that email. I just hope that they read the review and at least try to ameliorate the situation a little bit so passengers can travel in peace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no