Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 286 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"thoroughly enjoyed the overall airport experience"

(India)

Trip Verified | I thoroughly enjoyed the overall airport experience. CISF staff at the entry gate were polite and nice. Check in and security check was a breeze. Had waited inside the plaza premium lounge, which was fantastic
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"non-stop in queues"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Queue management is one thing that Delhi airport can do something about at all three places I.e. tickets, immigration and security. Even after arriving 3 hours earlier I was standing non-stop in queues before I made it to the plane. If you have a long journey ahead it only makes it more tiring for passengers. In comparison say at Amsterdam airport the whole thing hardly takes 45 mins to one hour. The thing is there is enough infrastructure at the airport to make these queues shorter but not enough personal on the counters to make those queues shorter. Hope someone can do something about this to make passengers journey less stressful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"super slow and inefficient officials"

(India)

Not Verified | This has to be the most frustrating airport ever! One’s flight doesn’t take as long as the broken and inefficient immigration check system. Out of 40 counters, it’s rare to see more than 15 operational at any time. Not only that, they’re manned by super slow and inefficient officials who ask pointless questions. Simply creating large shopping areas doesn’t make an International Airport. Accessing wifi is tougher than undergoing a root canal treatment. Every single process that can be quickened is slow!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"no repair or frequent services"

(India)

Not Verified | Airport keeps its standard except for a few things. The young lady at the information desk was not so welcoming. She might be thinking that the airport belongs to her, let her go and see other International Airport help desks. Phone charging pin are broken and secure lock and pin pads were not functioning. Only in India, establish everything, new technologies but no repair or frequent services.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"departure from this airport is extremely stressful"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | The departure from this airport is extremely stressful, if not traumatizing. The whole mess as others have pointed out is created by the rude, lethargic, and super slow immigration staff. These people are supposed to be the last government interaction of passengers moving overseas for either for work, studies, or even tourism, however, they make sure that it is as painful as possible. They literally yell at passengers, disrespect them openly, and even laugh at them if they make any mistakes. Also if you are a young man travelling abroad for any reason, they tend to be extra rude with you and ask you all sorts of irrelevant questions. The Delhi airport management also doesn't seem to care a bit about it as they receive the complaints about Indian immigration every single day and yet the system remains unchanged. I guess, that's the way it is in India.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Something should be changed"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | The check-in requires 5-times more time than at any other airport (the staff are slow and mostly disorganised). One-third of the people don't even know what a queue means. They were just cutting in front of everyone - at least there should be some guards to show them, how to queue. We almost missed our flight because of these things. Not to talk about the baggage carriers, who kindly offer their help and then unexpectedly ask for money - they must have told that in advance. The air quality is terribly unhealthy all the time, citizens and travellers should know that, before they go to Delhi. The other thing is, that it is dirtier than other big airports, but much cleaner then Delhi itself, which is sunk in trash, sadly. Something should be changed. When people exit the airport they should know the level of pollution. This is a mush, it has serious health consequences.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Arrival: the signage at the international arrival was very unclear to not present at all. Luckily, I finally stumbled upon customs/immigration. Another passenger asked me for help on where to go for a transfer. I couldn’t help because that signage was just as vague or non-existent. Luckily there was no line at all for customs/immigration. It was very quick. Unfortunately, the agent was rude. After that, I personally really hate it when airports make you walk through a mall to get out. It’s very unpleasant after a long flight. Departure: This was an absolute mess. Luckily I had a hotel concierge to guide me where I needed to go and there were special queues for Business class travelers. Without that, I would easily have spent a half-hour just trying to figure where I needed to be. It was chaos and the signage, again, was woefully inadequate. Queuing time for Business/First Class is just fine, but it looked awful for everyone else. The customs/immigration agents were just as rude as the arrival agent. I understand that English is not their first language, but a few soft skill practices would go a long way—responding at all when I say thank you, for example. After customs/immigration is okay. However, the holding area at the departure gates is downright dehumanizing. No bathroom access? Seriously? WiFi: many people mention that you can’t access it without an India phone number via SMS. This has been fixed and US numbers work. However, the 45 minute limit is not up-to-par with the rest of the world’s airports. Overall, I would avoid this airport unless you simply have to go here. On departure, definitely ask if your hotel transfer includes a guide through to customs/immigration—it will save you a lot of time in this mess of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Inadequate and inefficient staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Amongst bad airports - along with Air India one of the worst airlines. Huge queues, at least twice - one at check in, another at security. Inadequate and inefficient staff with broken processes. Not sure why and how they were awarded best airport award by Skytrax.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Good shopping experience"

(Sri Lanka)

Trip Verified | Great Airport. Good shopping experience. The staff at counters were very helpful. The Airport tends to get crowded and you may have to expect long queues at the ticketing counters and the immigration.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"the queues were gigantic"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Arrived at DEL from PBH with a valid e-Visa. The e-Visa counters were only partly manned by immigration officers, whereas the queues were gigantic. Some officers left but were not replaced. The whole situation was a total disgrace. I wonder why DEL received an Skytrax rating when it takes 90 minutes to pass immigration. Horrible. Horrible. Horrible
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no