Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 319 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"not a good experience at all"

(India)

Trip Verified | From entry to check in to security to boarding its a mess, and bonus is lounge. This terminal had already crossed its maximum capacity and precovid building work of new T1 building started and till the new terminal is completed this old T1 will operate with reduced capacity still more than its reduced capacity as much area is closed for operation. When you reach the terminal 1st queue starts from entry gate, I can understand CISF checking of ticket and ID is for our safety but it should be little fast and smooth, many gates remains unmanned and long queue at operating gate. Then you enter and proceed to check in desk, this depends upon airlines but what I experienced in recent days there are hardly any support staff of airlines at check in area to manage crowd and many people were jumping queue at last moment. Then comes the most important (but unfortunately most mis managed) part which is security, very few check point operating with respect to crowd and very congested area to stand before, no chance of maintaining social distancing and after every few passenger have to call airport staff for tray, and bonus every fourth fifth person is so called late and have to jump the queue, sometime queue is so long that it can easily go till airline check in counter. After security anyone proceed to have some food at food court/stand alone restaurant or lounge or directly to boarding gate. Due to renovation food court is closed (saw they constructing new one at ground floor) so crowd at whatever places remains. There is only one lounge that is Encalm lounge ,the lounge itself is good but due to over crowding again expect a queue. After that time to board the flight and boarding area is another crowded area. Very few place to sit with respect to crowd also the airport consider it self as silent airport so no announcement, in this situation cant stay away far from gate even if no place to sit Wifi is just for name, to activate need OTP on mobile, for non Indian mobile it hardly come (but if by any chance get connected then can set pin number for next use, wont need otp, if not getting OTP then can get coupon from helpdesk but even after connecting no guarantee it would work. Only saving grace was toilets, good number and clean. Don't know what is the concept of silent airport ,there are lots of different sound through out the airport but can't do flight announcement. Overall not a good experience at all and not suggested until new terminal starts.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The airport is a nightmare"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The airport is a nightmare. The security staff are rude and extremely unorganised. Even with a sick child, they do not try to make it easier for you. They do not give you any information and you do not know what is happening. There is no wifi. Terrible experience after a long flight. Try to avoid this airport for transit if you can!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"I was stuck in the T3 transit room for 5 hours"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Avoid this airport if transiting from an international flight to another. I landed Delhi at 5.20am after a long inter continental flight hoping to get a proper breakfast and rest. Instead I was stuck in the T3 transit room for 5 hours with no food and very little water. There are also no bathrooms close and no wifi. Also no customer service at all. I was told to wait for my connecting flight leaving Kathmandu (Air Vistara) at 2pm because I "had no boarding pass". I had a boarding pass I printed from where I left, in Helsinki. My bag was also checked in all the way to Kathmandu already. I think the staff are just not in a customer service kind of state of mind nor professionals. There were a lot of people who waited even longer than I. It was ridiculous and I'm so angry still to not to get this information anywhere. Note also that the airport website lies when it claims a "hassle-free transit experience".
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"The lounge and the shops area were too cold"

(India)

Not Verified | The lounge and the shops area were too cold. Feels like 22 degrees. Whereas the government itself says it should be around 26 degrees. The main halls are fine. Everything else is fine and maintained.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Never transit through Delhi"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Never transit through Delhi. They have a ridiculous transfer desk system whereby the desk people cannot get you a boarding pass, you have to wait for an airline rep to happen upon you. They will not accept an e-boarding pass, must be paper. The transfer area has no food, water, or bathrooms. I had to wait 3.5hrs to finally get a boarding pass to move to security, which means I missed my connection. There were other groups of travelers stuck up to 6 hours in transfer purgatory. I finally called Air Canada in Montreal to ask if they could track down a rep to get me a boarding pass. Wifi doesn't work, you need a username and password which, while provided by airport staff, never connected.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"wifi and air conditioning don't work"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The wifi and air conditioning don't work. Ridiculous experience. It used to be a great airport, but in the last two years it has become equivalent to a substandard domestic airport. 43 degrees outside and hardly any air-conditioning, sweating before boarding the flight and the Wifi just refuses to connect.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Security was total mismanagement"

(India)

Trip Verified | This is for Terminal 2 which is for domestic flights. This terminal is a mess, starting from entry to boarding nothing is good. This was earlier International terminal which was closed after opening of Terminal 3 but now operating as domestic terminal after refurbishment. Need to scan boarding pass by CISF personal at entry, took 15 minute to just enter the terminal. As I was traveling with only cabin baggage so save lots of time otherwise can see the never ending queue at check in counters. Security was total mismanagement, long queue, people jumping queue, no one from airport company to assist or manage, hardly half of the scanner and frisking booth operating. After that food court area, too small for such airport, no social distancing and hardly even 50 percent wearing mask (those not eating). Hardly seating arrangement for 20-25 and always waiting for 30 plus minute. Only one smoking room at entire airport and that is too small for such a busy airport, always overcrowded. This is the terminal worth avoiding.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible airport. Terrible staff and terrible Air India flight. The airport is crowded at all times of the day. No COVID protocols - everyone is standing in any random lines even if they are not going to the destination written on the check in counter. For ex, coming back to SFO we had other passengers standing in same line as us going to Canada, Dubai and etc. Staff are rude and behave rudely with passengers. They are lazy and incompetent. Worst airport in the world.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"sent me to a different terminal"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Very poor management and customer service. After completing immigration process, I had to catch domestic flight and security officer sent me to a different terminal to catch Vistara flight. He told me to exit the airport then go to second floor, that wasted more than 30 mins. The time I reached to Row-A for baggage checking, they said you can't go because boarding is closed. It wasn't my fault and airline didn't even re-book new flight. I had to book a new flight. Nobody will give you correct answer and they don't even pay attention to your query.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"low staff and poor management skills"

(India)

Not Verified | Due to low staff and poor management skills it took us almost 6 hours to complete our process of Check in, Immigration and Customs. They charged an exorbitant price of Rs 3500 for Rapid Covid test which can be done at Rs 100 anywhere in the country. The prices at Duty free are even more expensive than high street stores.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no