Delhi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 265 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"one of the worst airports"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | As a frequent traveler (over 50 international flights last year), I can absolutely say that Delhi is one of the worst airports in the world. I have flown though Delhi 7 times in the last year - twice my luggage was lost, and twice my flight so delayed that I missed connecting flights. Greater than 50% major failure rate. The staff in Delhi airport are the most unhelpful, lazy, disinterested people I have ever come across - from AI staff, to Celebi, to the airport attendants, the most you will get from them is a shrug and a wave of their hand. The transit area is terrible - a small pen where you have to wait for hours, with no toilets or food and drink. Transfer process is ridiculous - staff manually write your details into a paper book as big as a phone directory, then call someone upstairs to print and carry your boarding pass down. In 2019! They made a family of 5 spend 14 hours in this enclosure on my last trip because of mindless Indian bureaucracy. Immigration is terrible. Last night I waited 2.5 hours in the chaotic immigration queue. Airport staff offered no guidance and would straight up ignore you when you ask which queue to join. As others have noted - no wifi! In 2019! Mindless, useless security checks everywhere, filthy bathrooms. Truly this airport is a disgrace to India - avoid at all costs! So that I'm not completely negative - there are some nice food places and the interior of T3 departures is well designed. Everything else terrible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is an absolute disaster"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | The airport is an absolute disaster, stay away if you can at all costs - probably worst international airport in the world, by a huge margin. I've spent about 8 hours there transferring from a domestic flight, and of those 4 were spent in cramped spaces waiting to be let in the departure hall, and the rest was various forms of waiting in queues. Airport staff are either incompetent and just doesn't bother doing their job properly, but most likely it's a combination of the two. Travelling with skiing equipment makes your situation there even worse - after getting a baggage tag for ski bags, we've been asked to wait for 30 minutes for staff to arrive to pick them up. Various airport officials came and left, just shaking their head, so it took in the end 1.5 hours. Further the cartridges for avalanche airbags for a few people in my group were taken away, despite being allowed in both checked-in and carry on baggage in the rest of civilised world. We've been told that we either leave them and proceed to our flight, or we miss the flight. On question why they are not allowed despite IATA rules explicitly allowing them, we got no answer whatsoever - security guy just turned his back to us and started talking to others. All in all, being the main gateway to the country the airport is a shame. But to be fair, it sets the correct expectations for level of services you get if you travel further in the country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"might have seen better days"

(United States)

Trip Verified | DEL might have seen better days, it’s hallmark is akin to wildebeest migration in Africa. Hence DEL cannot handle the passenger volume. Filthy and odorous washrooms, soiled dirty carpets, excessive loud noise from rubbish music, and disorderly passengers can be overwhelming and sickening. Staff likely want to help but they seem numb. Outside is no better, poor passenger flow, nauseating taxi traffic etc. makes it among the worst, like Lima.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Wonderful airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Wonderful airport, clean and beautiful. Its brand new airport in New Delhi. Immigration staff and other airport staff were very friendly. They do their best to make you feel happy and comfortable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"avoid Delhi airport"

(India)

Not Verified | Delhi airport is probably the worst airport in the world. It's difficult to write all the problems one can face at this airport. There are security guards all across the departure checking your ticket almost every 20 steps. Delhi airport doesn't let you go inside the terminal if your flight is departing with more than 6 hours in hand. If you are in transition or simply using a domestic and then international then you will be locked in a little space without any restaurant or washrooms. Being Indian this is a shame to invite people from other countries to the worst airport. I would encourage passengers to avoid Delhi airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

18th February 2019 : Delhi Airport response

We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit to IGI Airport. We have taken up your feedback with the respective departments. Passenger are only allowed to enter the Terminal building 6 hours prior to the Schedule flight departure. IGI Airport being a hyper-sensitive Airport with regards to security, entry and exit inside the Terminals is restricted. Airport security at IGI Airport is governed by regulatory authorities i.e. Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) of India. Passengers are allowed to use washrooms adjacent to transfer area. Soon we will be introducing more Food and Beverages options at various locations for passenger convenience. Thank you for your understanding.

3/10

"useless and waste of time"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible. 1. Free wifi only works with Indian number 2. Vending machines steal money and their team never came 3. Long lines for everything. Very unorganized. The immigration officers close a booth leaving the whole queue stranded and confused. 4. To get to terminal you have to walk through a maze of a shops, useless and waste of time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Idiotic and illogical"

(Germany)

Not Verified | All ok, but the queues for immigration are very long and slow-moving and check-in process is very unorganized. The Wifi mentioned at airport works only if you have an Indian phone number which is most illogical to have at an international airport. They mentioned it everywhere but I cannot get through this idea that only locals need Wifi. Idiotic and illogical.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes

18th February 2019 : Delhi Airport response

Dear Passenger, We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. Please be assured, your feedback pertaining to Queue management at Immigrations and Airline Check-in counters has been shared with the respective departments of IGI Airport for corrective measures. To access internet, there is a regulatory requirement in India due to which OTP is required for authenticity. Our Information desk staff helps passengers who face trouble getting an OTP. Thank you for your understanding.

4/10

"a nightmare to go through"

(India)

Trip Verified | Delhi airport is a nightmare to go through in the night especially for international flights. Where you expect 8 to 10 immigration officers you would only see 4. This leads to a long line to clear immigration (usually exceeding 30 minutes). This has happened pretty much every time. In addition, for larger international flights I have often waited close to an hour at the baggage belt to get my luggage. The airport, however, has good shopping and eating options and is large which is a plus. Security has also been crowded all the times I have traveled and there is a clear lack of staff to manage the number of people at the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst airports"

(United States)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports for signage, cleanliness and experience. The staff all the way from immigration, check in to the restaurants are rude and apathetic. The carpets are graying, the gates at T3 require long walks to get to.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"we did not find trolleys"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | ✅ Trip Verified | We came out of the International arrival and at the exit their was no proper sign as to which way we go right or left to go to Domestic departure. Then we saw at a distance ‘domestic transit’ but the security person refused to allow as we did not have boarding passes and were directed to take the elevator to next floor. The only elevator is small and can hardly take two passengers with trollies and as such had to wait on line till 10 mins. Finally reached the hall and find about 50 people waiting to enter the hall as the security line person was taking three minutes per passenger. One other security person advised us to go out and enter through gate no 2 which we did and it was empty. Why not put proper sign boards directing passengers how to go about? The whole airport has carpet making it difficult to move the hand bags with wheels and the walks are long. Finally after security we were looking for signs to find the lounge and somehow spotted the lounge. Before this on arrival at the arrival hall from overseas we did not find trolleys as a few trollies were kept near belt 3 and not at any other belts.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no