Bologna Marconi Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 37 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"extremely stressful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Getting to the airport is fine as buses from Bologna Centrale are very regular if a little chaotic. However this does not prepare you for the drama which lies ahead. Unorganised security with a strange double scanning system which is not helped by the highly strung staff who continually shout at passengers and herd them through the barriers. Once past security there is no space between security and passport control meaning crowds gather and often confusion and bedlam ensues. Multiple passport control desks depending on which gate you’re departing from. Passport control staff either spend their time arguing with people telling them to go somewhere else or don’t bother to check most EU passports. Limited food and drink airside with again extremely rude highly strung staff. Queuing is disorganised and the rules seem inconsistent. Were the staff to be more helpful or pleasant and less stressed and rude you may be more inclined to be more tolerant however this is not the case. All in all Bologna airport is an extremely stressful experience and one which I would be loathe to be repeat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"endless queuing"

(France)

Not Verified | Here are four points which describe the airport quite well: - Very few seats - dirty toilets - No smoking area - Endless queuing (check in + security)
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very chaotic Airport"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Very chaotic Airport. Departure was at 6:30 in the morning and the queue for the security check was endlessly long! Luckily, after waiting 30 minutes already, a nice lady let me through the priority lane, as my boarding was in 25 minutes. Otherwise I would have easily waited an hour. The gates are cramped. While multiple gates are Bording at the same time, it’s hard to make out which gate was right. Staff is friendly. The bus ride out to the tarmac was also very chaotic, especially in the morning hours, as numerous flights departure at once. Worst airport I have ever been to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"long queuing times"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Poor logistics, poor indications, long queuing times and too small areas for the number of flights and travellers. Car rental facilities seem to be temporary and are located away from the terminal. Avoid!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has grown too much"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | I'm very disappointed with this airport facilities and services, but every time I use it my business travel become quite troublesome. The attitude of most of the staff working at this airport is "I don't care" (to be fair some are still doing a good job). So instead of helping travellers, they make their life even more troublesome. Before to travel from home I have tried many times to contact the "information desk" by phone for general informations, but every time nobody pickup the phone even after waiting for long. boarding gates are too near to each other, and many times you find yourself in the wrong boarding queue or in a messy mass of peoples because there is simply no space. Somebody has decided that the space must be sacrificed for the duty free and restaurants. Boarding is done by walk or by bus. Informations screens once you enter in the checkin area are not located in front of you, as they usually are in all airports, but just behind. So you enter at the checkin area and you want to know the checking counter ? Turn yourself back, move at side and only then you can spot the informations screens. Many times you need to wait for very long time before your luggage can be delivered on the baggage collection belt (some times more than 1 hour). My personal conclusion is that the airport from a small air-field in the years has grown too much for it's available space and services, and obviously management have to take immediate actions to solve chronic issues. Other than this, even with all the troubles, life can be easier if you are welcomed by a smile and courtesy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airports"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very likely one of the worst airports in Western Europe. Drop off: one lane road. Cars stopped at roundabouts. After decades of restructure and renovation, all planes still accessed by bus or walking, no sky bridge. No priority bus for business travellers who often end up boarding the plane after economy travellers (exception is for Emirates Business to Dubai - possibly due to higher traffic). So you pay for priority boarding and you end up boarding last if you're on the wrong side of the bus. The business lounge, 'Marconi' has highly processed food except possibly prosciutto. Staff are often busy in conversing among themselves, noise level is high. No work area. No international magazines. Pathetic little round tables amidst a high traffic area. Desktop computers require byzantine sign in protocol. No small, cold bottled water airside in the non-Schengen (eg flying to UK). There are huge bottles in the bar-restaurant fridges usually lukewarm, elsewhere, bottles of Panna or San Pellegrino are hidden in cylinders at room temperature at the duty free shop right after passport control. Rarely - even in summer - are they ever cold. And each small bottle costs about 1.20. That same bottle of San Pellegrino in Boots Heathrow airport costs less - 1.09 pounds, even though it's imported. The most disgraceful, disgusting, filthy bathrooms I've ever seen anywhere - W Europe, Africa, Asia airports combined. And no hot water in faucets. In March 2018, I had to go to the police at the passports check area to ask if the bathroom attendant could be sent to clean - no airport staff is responsible for this, apparently. And no one showed up. Customs/passport Non Schengen: woefully inadequate space. Inept signage. Currently there's a sign that says EU passports, and non EU. Italians with ID cards are clueless and stop in the EU line which now has passport scanners. But there are no scanners for ID cards. No one had the big idea of writing a sign saying don't use scanners if you are travelling with an EU ID and no passport. So everything stops. Baggage handling - no priority for business travellers on most flights (exception was for an Emirates flight I took from Dubai earlier this year). You leave the airport (all arrivals), pass a homeless woman sleeping on the floor in front of a display window with a Lamborghini and alight at a sidewalk that is one big smoking room. You can't avoid it. No one imposes smoking bans. And this is an area that has a cement roof overhanging so the smoke stays trapped. Yes, there is a smoking area guess where? Right next to the taxi stands. So you cannot avoid smoke inhalation if you want a taxi, even though people smoke everywhere. This is, of course, in addition to carbon monoxide from the passing cars. Taxis require an interminable wait in the second hand smoke. At JFK (not my favorite airport) they can still manage to have 4-5 taxis line up and pick up passengers simultaneously. In Bologna, it's a surprise that a plane lands after 11 p.m. or during a holiday - no taxis or a long long wait. They think they've solved the problem: sky train which if all proceeds will be ready in 2020. It will stop in Bologna main rail station where there's another taxi rank. Guess what? No taxis there, either on weekends, after 11 p.m.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"immigration was very quick"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | When we arrived we were pleased that immigration was very quick and our bags arrived within 5 minutes. On leaving Bologna there was no queue for British Airways bag drop and the security queue wasn’t too bad, about 15 minutes. The airport is quite nice landside, with lots of shops and restaurants, but once through security there is nothing – just a duty free and a very expensive cafe bar. This may be just for non-Schengen departures. It was incredibly hot and crowded when we arrived and we struggled to find a seat. The toilets were filthy and there was constantly a queue for both. Then gents was then closed for an extended period for cleaning so all the men in the departure lounge had to queue for a single disabled toilet. So this left a rather poor impression. It is rather strange but on both arrival and departure we had a to get a bus to our plane (even though it was easily walkable) but it seems to be only British Airways that have to do this, all other planes had air bridges from the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Most disorganised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Most disorganised airport I have ever come across, having flown extensively in the USA, Europe, Australia and South Africa. Long queues for everything. Hopeless system of food ordering and paying at the café once through security. Then a long wait for a bus to take us all of 100 metres to the plane - should have been able to walk over. Never again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Not enough seats at gates"

(Belgium)

Unverified | Small airport, good transport between airport and city. (central station). Not enough seats at gates and it was too warm. Air-conditioning wasn't working very good. Lots of people have to stay and wait without seats, not pleasant for older people. Staff ok. Some friendly, some just fine. Wifi terrible and slow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"A pleasant experience"

(Romania)

Bologna to Bucharest on March 16. A pleasant experience. The airport is well connected to the city center. An express bus runs every 15 mins from Central Railway Station to airport (6 euros/ pers.), but the best choice is a taxi. (15 euros, including a tip). The airport is OK, clean and spacious. Ferrari and Lamborghini are well represented here. The fastest drop-off baggage I have seen and fast and smooth security control. At the gate, enough space to stay and amazing views over the tarmac and runway. Shopping area is so,so, I don't really care about this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 37 Reviews