Bangalore Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 89 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"hand dryer was not working"

(India)

Trip Verified | I was disappointed to find that the hot-air hand dryer in the main toilet on the domestic arrival was not working. The management should check the status of all hand dryers in the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
5/10

"Worst security staff"

(India)

Trip Verified | Worst security staff. The guy at security was extremely rude, not only to us but with all of the passengers out there. Its such a shame that we have such arrogant staff. He was literally shouting at passengers. It was like he was the boss of all of us. There was no proper signage to differentiate international and domestic security checks or the baggage drops. Food was ok. Shopping is expansive as its at all other airport. But does not give any feel of an International airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terrible attitude of the security staff"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | This must be one of the worst airports to transit through. We arrived on Emirates and had boarding passes to connect to a Singapore Airlines flight. There was no transfer desk and even though we were accompanied by an Emirates staff member the security refused to allow us to go to the departure gates unless a Singapore Airlines staff member accompanied us. We had a wheelchair passenger but that made no difference to the terrible attitude of the security staff. The Singapore staff told us it was too early and that they would only come nearer to departure. The security is one of the worst and the immigration staff are no better. Luckily we had visas and even in spite of that the immigration was not keen to allow us to pass through. I will never ever recommend anyone to transit through this terrible airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Generally a good airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Generally a good airport, I have never had any issues from checking in to departure during my multiple visits. You need to have a printout of your itinerary to make it into the building (Indian citizens, like me, are used to this). You can pull up the itinerary on your smart phone too. Lounge area is good, so are the restaurants. Amenities are satisfactory, washrooms are reasonably clean. Immigration is fairly simple (again, from an Indian citizen's perspective). It helps to know Kannada to get by as most staff speak in Kannada. Security personnel are from the Central Industrial Security Force, so they only speak in Hindi. However, speaking in English can also get you through all the processes too. The biggest disappointment is the wifi (very sad because Bengaluru is touted as the IT city). Wifi can only be availed via a process where the system sends a one-time passcode (OTP) for authentication. This is a big issue if you have a phone with an international SIM card in it. The 'regular' process of logging in does not work, and this is revealed deep in the FAQs. You actually need to go to the airport helpdesk in the waiting lounge to get assistance to get the connection. I got the complimentary 45 minutes of free wifi and left the helpdesk with instructions to avail the paid wifi after my 45 minutes expired. However, I was unable to buy wifi, again due to the OTP issue and there is no helpdesk in the departure gates area. Wifi is something you just take for granted in major international airports, so Bengaluru really needs to get its act together and find a way around the OTP nightmare! So on my next visit, I will seek assistance at the helpdesk to just buy wifi, skipping the 45 minutes of free time. Cabs are available right outside the building, but they are the expensive ones (KSTDC). If you have an Uber or Ola app in your phone, and roaming data (assuming you have an international SIM like me), pickup stations for both these rideshares are a short walk away. If you have used Uber in the US, I am told that the same app will work in Bengaluru. If you reside outside India, make sure to have an active international roaming plan with a decent amount of data, just about everything in India requires OTP authentication. Safe travels and enjoy Bengaluru!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Security unfriendly and arrogant"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Customs & Security is unfriendly and arrogant. No please, no thank you. Was asking for a pen to fill a form quickly at the desk. No! Confiscated very small nail scissors upon stupid law rules! Come on guys. Am I allowed to breathe in the plane?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"lot of space to walk around and relax"

(India)

Not Verified | International departure and arrival late in the night. Departure: Entry into the airport 2 mins, check in 15 mins, immigration 5 mins, security 5 mins. I was at the gate in less than 30 min from my arrival at the airport! Airport is clean with lot of space to walk around and relax. Could see internet kiosks and Wi-fi points. Arrival was also a smooth affair with immigration and hand baggage check taking 15 min. Duty free had decent options at competitive prices. Only issue was with somewhat long lines at billing. Maybe this has to do with a lot of international flights landing at around the same time. Airport taxi and bus directions were clearly marked. Overall a good experience compared to many other Indian airports.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"so-called 'free' wifi"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It is a fairly beautiful airport, and they are expanding to accommodate more flights. The restaurants are good, and their international terminal restrooms are fairly clean. One thing I have a big problem with is their so-called 'free' wifi! They have this process of sending OTP - one time passcode. If you are a local and have a phone with service in India, you are okay. If not, there is no way you can connect to the Wifi. Silicon Valley of India cannot manage to verify users and manage security without OTP! Unbelievable! I am sure they can do better than that, hopefully will do something about it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"airport is surprisingly neat"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | The airport is surprisingly neat, with high ceilings and with enough signs to guide the passengers. Immigration has lots of questions though as this was my first visit to this country. There is open space in the center of the airport building with restaurants. But we can’t connect to the wifi.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"Great Wifi speeds"

(India)

Not Verified | This is a great airport! One of the best ones in the Country, only behind Indira Gandhi International Airport. Bangalore airport is one of the cleanest in India if you ask me and it is evident from my visit. Great Wifi speeds and great number of food joints as well! The only problem I have faced in queue times when I arrive from an international trip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"all the things you would expect"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Have to show a copy of your ticket and passport to get into the building. Mobile phone versions are OK but easier to have a paper copy as it "helps" get into the building more quickly. Check-in is fairly standard then up the escalator to Immigration. Extremely slow process to leave the country. This could be an issue when the terminal is busy. Next immediately after you have left the Immigration Office you have to have your Boarding Pass checked by another member of staff before entering Security scanning which is cursory. Everyone has the handheld metal detector used on them and the Boarding Pass was then stamped and you were in the Departure Lounge. Smallish International airport with all the things you would expect. The shops and café/restaurant will take Indian currency and there is a Bureaux de change to change money. It can get busy at certain times but the actual boarding process is pretty quick.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 89 Reviews