Aruba Reina Beatrix Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"astonishing failure in customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Could not be worse run. The absolute model of inefficiency. The say allow 3 hours to check in, and they mean it. Line 1 - cue to enter, docs checked. Line 2 covid test verification Line 3 bag tags docs checked. Line 4 Aruba customs docs checked. Line 5 go through screening docs checked, Line 6 reclaim bags, Line 7 check bags again docs checked, Line 8 US customs docs checked, Line 9 go through screening again - I’m not kidding you have to have your carryon and yourself screened twice. You have to drop off, reclaim and drop off your bag again. My passport and boarding pass was checked no less than 5 times. I had to answer the screening questions 3 times. I booked a repeat visit and have now canceled it. The only reason for 2 stars not one is that there is a nice wine bar but chances are you won’t get to enjoy it as you waste your life away in hours upon hours of senseless lines. The airport process is an astonishing failure in customer service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I spent 4 hours standing in line at this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | I spent 4 hours standing in line at this airport to travel home. We arrived at 12.30pm for a 4.48 departure and the lines for American Airlines was unbelievable. We had 5 children and 4 adults. When I say standing in line it was every bit of standing for 4 hours waiting to get in the airport, waiting to get checked in, waiting to go through customs and security, waiting to get to our gate. I noticed this only happening to American Airlines customers. They don't tell you in the brochures how stressful and tiring it is to go through this airport. We had a wonderful trip in Aruba but the crowds and confusion were enough to make me think I will not return to this island.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely zero organization"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have never had a worst air travel experience, our flight was delayed for more than two days, the staff was insanely rude. I had my passport checked 15 times within a span of 10 minutes while standing in 10 different lines, absolutely zero organization. The island is beautiful but I will never make a trip ever again simply because of this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the most disorganized airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Aruba is a beautiful country, I cannot say the same for their airport. It is the most disorganized airport and I definitely did not feel safe. The amount of lines that need to be waited in makes people feel on edge because everyone is worried about missing there flights. People were causing scenes because of this and nobody should feel like that way before going on a plane. There needs to be directions and more organization as me and my husband would not like to return if this airport does not get it together. Because of the disorganization we then could not leave the airport without the 28 travelers we were missing due to the lines they were waiting for which is unfair.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"I would advise taking your vacation someplace else"

(United States)

Not Verified | My wife and I were traveling back home after our honeymoon, and unfortunately we had a fairly inconvenient ending to our honeymoon due to the lack of preparation of this airport. Unfortunately, we did not get the memo that it was advised to arrive at least 3 hours before our departure. We arrive two hours before. When we arrived to the airport, we had to wait in line for almost an hour just to get our bags checked in. Fortunately, there was a attendant that did allow us to bypass the line because he did see that we did not have much to check in. Throughout the two and a half hours that we stood in line, we had to go through at least 6 or 7 different lines, with a perceived lack of consideration for the fact that people were in a hurry to make their flights. Some people were allowed to bypass the long line while others weren't, with no explanation given. We had to go through two different security lines, as well as through passport control and customs. We also were not made aware that our luggage would be pulled aside in customs and just left in a room for us to pick up again, thinking that they were already on their way to our first flight. In the midst of at least a few hundred people who were also in transition as well, we were fortunate to be able to locate our bags so quickly, despite the fact that there was barely any direction or guidance given by the staff to help us locate our bags. One worker was just walking around at one point joking around instead of doing something to help those in need. There was a lot of restlessness from both kids and adults as a result, with many people have to come out of line to use the bathroom, one of them being my wife. However, probably the biggest let down at Aruba Airport was with U.S. customs. We were baffled when we saw only two people working to serve these few hundred people desperately trying to make their flights. When we asked an attendant why there were only two workers, all she said was that she was not involved with them. By the time we had reached the front of the customs line, we had unfortunately already missed our flight, and the process of answering the questions at customs took all but about 10 seconds. What is especially disappointing about this whole process is that there seemed to be no remorse by the staff for the fact that there were so many people that missed their flights. Not once did I hear a "we apologize for the inconvenience" or "we're sorry for the wait". We had to rebook our flight to return home the next morning. In all honesty, this was the worst experience that we have ever had in traveling in regards to customer service. I personally have been to airports smaller than Aruba Airport that have been more organized and efficient than this. Aruba is a really good vacation spot, but the airport experience makes it not worth traveling back to the island anytime soon. I would strongly advise everyone to avoid this airport at all costs if possible. If you have to go through this airport, be very early (at least 3, maybe even 4 hours) to accommodate any pushbacks that they may have. Otherwise, I would advise taking your vacation someplace else.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"In 25 years of traveling to Aruba I’ve never had a bad experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | We grabbed our luggage and left in single file line out of the airport, a few security people were standing around watching and chatting, someone broke a big bottle probably 5 minutes before exiting so they put a wet floor cone with no regard to people walking through the glass and the wet tile. Instead of putting someone there to tell the people to walk around they were too busy talking, my girlfriend walking behind me flies up in the air on her back and elbows and lands on all the glass. Thank goodness her beach bag went under her as it covered her back from all the glass, a security staff member came over and said if you want to file a report go online to do it. I flipped out on them because no one once said let me call someone to help you, after me letting them know how unprofessional they were only then they decided to make a report and have someone clean it up as I would not let anyone behind me go past us. In 25 years of traveling to Aruba I’ve never had a bad experience. This was totally unacceptable, 5 people standing there and not one was even trying to kick the glass to the side or stand there telling people to walk around, no she said oh it just happened.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"leaving was an outrageous insult"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Something needs to be done to alleviate the problems at Aruba Airport. Luckily, we were warned that we needed to be at the Airport at least three hours before our flight left but some people were not so lucky. It took us two and a half hours to get to our gate. After waiting in line to actually get into the airport building, we had to join multiple lines to reach our gate. We could not believe it when we reached a room where we had to locate our checked in baggage which had previously been put on a conveyor belt and, we thought, was already on route to the aircraft. Some people could not find their baggage and were actually crying with frustration. There were people who had minutes to spare to get through US Passport Control, and some people actually missed their flight. There were families with young children who had to get out of line to feed their kids, some who had to breast feed. Security would not allow people to come out of line to go through US Passport Control if their flight was imminent, and these people had to humiliate themselves by asking people if they could jump the line. We loved Aruba, and the people, but leaving was an outrageous insult to all the visitors to the island and a sad last memory of Aruba. We were planning to visit Aruba again, but I doubt whether we will ever return.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"needs a lot of work"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Every experience with this place was bad. When we arrive we waited before the plane could dock. Luggage took forever to come out. We missed the 3 hour recommendation to come before you leave and as a result we missed our flight. The security and customs process involved 7 lines. Worst I have ever seen (by far) and I fly through about 40 or so airports a year. The process here needs a lot of work. I really can’t say there was anything positive about this place. Too bad because Aruba itself is great.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"need to make some dramatic changes"

(United States)

Not Verified | We flew home Sunday and in 20 years of going to our Ocean Club time share never have seen a horrible miserable wait time and long slow lines like what everybody went through. Talked to 2 first time island visitors who said they would not go back because of the horrible airport experience. You need to make some dramatic changes in that airport fast!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What a miserable experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | We were departing from Aruba to US. We arrived 3 hrs and 45 minutes prior to our flight. They lost our luggage between the counter and US custom. My wife was flagged for additional screening which made her segregate into another screening line where only one agent was screening a line 30+ passengers. It took her 60 minutes to get through the second screening line and almost missed her flight. We then landed at Fort Lauderdale and stayed in the gate area for our connection. My wife tried to get on the connection and since she was flagged for additional screening they would not let her on the flight. Finally after pleading with the agent explaining to them that we already had the pat downs and additional screenimg in Aruba how were we suppose to get it in Fort Lauderdale if we did not leave the gate. They let us on the plane finally. What a miserable experience. Way to go Aruba airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 26 Reviews