Sichuan Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 42 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

Sichuan Airlines customer review

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Beijing to Auckland via Chengdu. Horrible experience from flight delayed, no accomodation provided, the manager at the airport doesn't speak English in Chengdu doesn't understand a word. No specific meal requirements we were told to go here and there wasting our time and energy, no clear info give or as part of service recovery for their flight being delayed for nearly 8 hours. My fault to trust Sichuan and booked because it was cheap - but you will go through a lot for the money paid. Way behind other competitors in market.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Auckland via Chengdu
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"fly Sichuan in the future"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Auckland to Chengdu. Their cabin was fresh and clean and being a newer aircraft, was kept very well. The service is warm and professional. The seats fold flat and my kids slept for most of the 13 hour flight. We arrived relaxed and stress free considering that we had 2 young kids to look after and worry about. Night flights with kids are the way to go. The food was very tasty. The flight attendants were very polite and accommodating. They never made you feel you were a burden to them. I will happily fly Sichuan in the future.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAuckland to Chengdu
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"recommend not to catch"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was travelling from Melbourne to Kathmandu. I had two transit Chendung and Lasa. On flight to Chengdu I receive beef curry with rice however I ordered Hindu vegetarian meal. I ask for Hindu meal and air attendant replied me “we don’t serve Hindu meal. Really if you don’t serve why it’s in the option? I had one hour transit on Chengdu . One that time I have to claim my luggage go through immigration process standing on huge queue and drop my luggage and check in and pass through security area within one hours and there was no one to assist. Whenever we ask some one for help or anything same reply “no speak English “ “No English”. On Lasa I crossed the security area but mistakenly my partner’s visa slip was with me. I request one security office to give that to my partner who was standing on another side of security area. But security man as just saying “you go “ “you go” and he even physically push me on my shoulder. He was not even speaking basic English and becoming aggressive, unprofessional, manner less behaviour. Plane from Lasa to Kathmandu was smelling horribly, sit was very old and looked like old local bus. I request two sit together they provide one on row 14 and another on row 15. I will never catch any Chinese flight in my entire life and recommend not to catch.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Kathmandu via Chengdu / Lasa
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stay away from this airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Dalian via Jinan. I renewed my passport and I called to update my passport info. But the airline does not allow me to update my passport information. The only way to update passport is to cancel the ticket with charge. They said this is national policy. I recommend people stay away from this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Dalian via Jinan
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

" Something isn't right"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Chengdu to Taipei. I actually heard myself say out loud well into the flight that I will never fly this airline again. I fly a lot. Sometimes the service is great, sometimes not so great; sometimes the food is actually good, sometimes it's just barely edible and I don't really care and I never complain. But there was something about the rudeness, the abruptness of the staff that just annoyed me. I felt singled out as a westerner. Their English wasn't the best (which for an airline is unusual) but I speak some Mandarin so I can get around that and and usually Chinese seem to appreciate that. Not so this lot. The food was awful. Some kind of rancid pork fat suffusing the rice. I have a return flight today (which I would lose the money on) and I am at least this time mentally prepared. I certainly won't be getting on hungry. Nor will I be expecting a relaxing glass of wine and a smile from the girls. Are they actually trained like this? Something isn't right.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChengdu to Taipei
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"never fly this airline"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Shanghai to Sydney via Chongqing. The fleet is new and spacious. The thing I didn't like is food for the vegetarians. The food they provide is vegetarian vegan. No provision for the hot milk tea. In the night flight they even didn't provide dental care kit. The worst experience I had was at the Chongqing airport. Our flight from Shanghai arrived Chongqing at 9.25pm and we have to catch Sydney bound flight at 11.10pm. It was a nightmare for us that we have to collect our checkin baggage and then check in back for the Sydney flight. How can one accomodate all this within 2 hours, especially when there is no facility for the transferring passengers. We have to walk for 15 minutes outside the terminal to catch a free airport shuttle bus to take us to the international terminal. That was ridiculous and joke of the century. There were no officials present at chongqing who could direct us where to go. The shuttle bus came full and we have to wait for the next shuttle bus, very badly managed. Will never fly this airline especially through Chongqing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Sydney via Chongqing
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I cannot complain too much"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Chongqing to Lanzhou. This was a typical standard of domestic flight in China. Flight was full as usual and the boarding process was not too bad. No IFE was available in Economy, no English literature or newspapers either but I was not expecting it. Meal service for the short flight was a simple fish or chicken option, with a few Chinese style snacks added in. I opted for Apple Juice but was a little disappointed on realising it was not 100% juice. Seat was okay with spacing a little tight. Overall, I got to where I needed to go for a decent price, so I cannot complain too much.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChongqing to Lanzhou
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"polite and well-trained attendants"

(China)

Verified Review | Ordinary short-haul experience from Dalian to Xuzhou with Sichuan Airlines. Quite affordable. Cheaper than CRH train. Polite and well-trained flight attendants. Free drinking water and snacks provided during the 70-minute flight. Economy class seats are not so spacious as expected. No Wi-Fi.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDalian to Xuzhou
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impressed by the quality of service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I've been on many flights and I must say that I've been very impressed by the quality of service displayed by Sichuan Airlines. Cabin crew were very kind, and made me feel at home. Pilot flying skills were pretty good, I must say this was actually one of the most stable flights I've been on, with limited turbulence and I felt very safe.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Lhasa via Chongqing
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"is completely unacceptable"

(United States)

Verified Review | Kunming to Los Angeles via Chengdu. Sichuan Airlines and the way it treats its customers is completely unacceptable. They not only cancelled our international flight last minute (one we had booked months prior) but refused to help us over customer service and gave us two terrible options, to either fly home two entire days later or get a refund. There was no way we could fly home that much later due to other commitments, health issues, and connecting flights so we were forced to take the refund. Even then, our refund has not come in and they are refusing to get back to us. They should not only have gotten our refund immediately but compensated us for having to pay for a last minute international flight. I have never been more frustrated and upset with an airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteKunming to Los Angeles via Chengdu
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews