ANA All Nippon Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 531 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"they go above and beyond"

(United States)

Trip Verified | No one enjoys a long flight, and ours was over 12 hours, but we really appreciated the quality and friendliness we found on All Nippon Airways! The food was delicious and came just when we felt a little hungry. The airplane was spotless and so well cared for, with lots of amenities even for those of us in Economy seats. The flight was flown steadily and comfortably even though there were storms in the area, and the flight attendants were amazing - professional and kind. What really impressed us though was when my mom accidentally dropped her phone on the plane. It had her ID info in it, and when they found it they sent someone all the way across the airport, through customs, to a different terminal to where where we were waiting at our next gate in order to hand deliver it to us. I wish we would’ve gotten the name of the man who brought us the phone because he even stayed around just to make sure we were taken care of since he knew our original connecting flight had been canceled. We highly recommend All Nippon Airways for the best flight experience possible. To say they go above and beyond is absolutely an understatement. Thank you!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Washington DC
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"the flight service was outstanding"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Since travel to Southeast Asia has resumed under normal conditions, I purchased a Business Class RT. All the ANA personnel were very helpful in every way. Business Class were boarded in group 2. It was a very structured and quickly accomplished. Flight service was outstanding and very efficiently done. Food was quite good and well presented. Connecting flight from NRT to BKK was a 789-9. Business Class was maybe half full. Once again the flight service was outstanding. I did think the food could have been a little better amount for a 6.50 flight. We arrived 20 minutes early and very smooth immigration and customs. I changed my flight from Business Class to First Class from BKK to ORD. There was no First Class on NH808 from BKK to NRT. So, I flew Business Class and there was no food until about 1.30 before landing in NRT. Once again the flight attendants were outstanding. After arriving in NRT, I was escorted to the ANA First Class Suite lounge for the 8 next hours. Not very many people in the lounge. I was escorted to NH012 and boarded. Only 3 of us in First Class. The most outstanding flight service began. All the Flight Attendants introduced themselves. After the take-off and the meal service started. It really looked as if was going to a feast. I became quite ill and very cold. They set up my bed and gave me many blankets and I slept for about 8 hours. They constantly checked on me, which I appreciated very much. I did feel better when I woke up. We had to land in Rockford due to weather and did not get to ORD until about 6pm. I would recommend ANA Business class an First Class at any time. US airlines could learn a lot from Asian airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteChicago to Bangkok via Tokyo Narita
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"FAs were fantastic, attentive, polite,"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | ANA boards in groups and aisle seat passengers board last, ie group 5. FAs were fantastic, attentive, polite, treated everyone well. The Premium economy cabin is laid out in a 2x4x2 seating and I was on the aisle, 26D. Be aware that C, D and H seats on the 777 have an entertainment box limiting your leg space but in because the width of the seat is wider, so it wasn't too bad but just annoying. The flight was punctual and everything ran smoothly. IFE was available and featured movies in English but had an extensive Japanese menu. There were no English TV shows, only Japanese TV serials. My food was awful. The main course was very small and very salty and not well presented.It was an odd mix of cold soba noodles, a sushi roll with edamame, a bun with butter and a salad, usually Japanese style potato salad with mayonnaise. They handed out a half sandwich halfway through the flight (egg salad) and drinks were offered regularly. The wine selection was dreadful and my sparkling wine undrinkable. We were offered eye masks, toothbrushes and earplugs. Everyone had a pair of slippers and earphones in their seat. There was a blanket and pillow but the plane was too hot for use of the blanket. The staff responded promptly to calls and all requests and I was impressed with them. They are way better than SQ and gives SQ a run for its money. After a 2 hour wait in Narita, boarded the 787 for KUL. Again, a smooth journey, food offerings again small, salty and a confusing mix of Japanese and Western on a tray. Note that food offerings in PE is same as economy and their website says they provide PE passengers with a business class dessert but that never appeared. However, we were served Hagen Das ice cream which was welcome. I would highly recommend this airline for punctuality and attentive staff but bring some snacks and avoid their wines.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 / 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteChicago to Kuala Lumpur via Narita
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"could not upgrade my seat to Premium Economy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was looking forward to this flight as it would be my first time flying with ANA and heard great things about the airline. I chose and paid a little extra for Seat 30A, which turned out to be a mistake. The seat does not recline, and is up against the bulkhead. The seat is also more narrow due to the built-in tray. Most uncomfortable seat for a long flight. Disappointed that I could not upgrade my seat from Economy to Premium Economy. Crew was attentive and courteous. There were two meals served on this flight, which were average at best.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Manila
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"FA's were fantastic, attentive and proactive"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | KUL-NRT-IAD, Premium Economy service. There were multiple emails from ANA prior to travelling leaving instructions on what to do during travel in the Covid era. Some of these instructions are hard to follow and complicating. At KLIA, no dedicated check-in counter but joint check-in with Economy. Check-in staff were good, efficient and handled things without too many issues, lounge access at MH golden lounge which was fine. The ANA lounge at Narita was very busy and had inadequate toilets and seating areas. On boarding, no preferential boarding with PE unlike when I travelled with them 3 years ago. ANA board in groups and the boarding process in KLIA is poor with instructions from the gate staff which cannot be understood. On board, FA's were fantastic, they were attentive and proactive. No noise cancelling headphones on KL-NRT sector but they were offered on NRT-IAD flight. Where ANA falls short is in the meal service. Their meals are small in size and for a 12 hour flight between NRT-IAD, the quantity of food served is inadequate. The food is reasonable tasty but generally noting to shout home about. The cabin was kept clean throughout and toilets were immaculate. The IFA was mediocre. No TV shows, just movies. The seats are starting to show their age but they were comfortable. The leg rest was useless as it didn't offer much support and the buttons used to operate the recline and leg rest were stiff and hard to press. Overall, the flight is good value for money but catering needs to be improved.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteKuala Lumpur to Washington DC via Narita
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"continues to deliver outstanding service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | ANA continues to deliver outstanding service both on the ground and in the air. The flight attendants take care of one's every need. Very obliging and incredibly polite. My business class seat was very comfortable and allowed me to sleep for some time on this evening flight into Bangkok which takes some 7 hours. And the food is some of the best available. Unless you don't enjoy Japanese food, always select the Japanese over the Western meal. The dinner they served was one of the best I have ever had on an aircraft.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I was very comfortable"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Before the pandemic, I flew a lot, though this was my first trip with ANA. The staff were very warm and friendly, as well as professional and courteous. I dread flying, it's something I usually like to be over with as soon as possible. However, my flight was most enjoyable and the time went by rather quickly! Though I flew in coach, I was very comfortable. Even the food, something not usually celebrated out of business class, was quite enjoyable. Your staff on this flight should be commended for their professionalism, attentiveness, and, immense friendliness. I will make ANA my go-to airline.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to San Francisco
Date FlownFebruary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I strongly recommend ANA"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I flew with ANA from Jakarta to Washington DC with a transit in Narita on Nov 2021. Boarding and disembarking went quite orderly, everybody waited until it's their turn, so there's no jostling at all. The flight was pleasant and the aircraft was clean and spacious enough. Cabin crew are kind and helpful. Even though the second flight was delayed due to technical problems, it was a pleasant experience. The return date on my ticket is 30 March. But I decided to return this month, in february. I called ANA customer service this morning and got Ms Hisae on the line. She was very courteous and patient with me while trying to reschedule my booking, she waited on the phone all the time when I was trying to punch in my credit card numbers to pay for the difference in taxes, which is a minimal amount. It took quite a long time for the process of rescheduling and submitting the credit card number and Ms Hisae guided me patiently through the whole process which took about an hour to complete, and she chose aisle seats for me too. Thank you so much for your kind services Ms Hisae, I really appreciate it very much. I look forward to fly ANA again on my return home this month. I'm certain the services will be as good as my outbound flight in Nov. I strongly recommend ANA for travelers to Japan or the USA.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Washington via Tokyo
Date FlownNovember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very courteous, polite and helpful"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We flew ANA flight NH 12 from Tokyo Narita (NRT) to Chicago O'Hare (ORD) on January 13th 2021 as part of trip home to Houston after a SE Asia Family trip. We connected to NH 12 from another ANA flight so after passing security we go directly to our boarding gate. ANA requires all passengers to keep their mask on all the time while in the airplane and while transiting except when eating or drinking. Several ANA gate attendant were making rounds checking people's documents to ensure everybody can legally enter the US. This is better than the UA process of lining everybody up in just one line and clueless on what is the requirement for entry for different countries like we experienced in SFO on our outbound trip. Boarding was announced a few minutes early. Boarding was done in groups; Business Class passengers going first then they start loading Economy from back to the front. They called by rows so there is minimum line formed at the gate, and people can social distancing while lining up. The aircraft was a 14 years old B777-300ER (JA875A) but still in good condition. The flight was quite full but boarding was done quickly. Even with the announcements on cleanings already done on the aircraft cabin, we used Clorox wipes to clean tray tables, seatbelts, armrest and screen when we got to our seat. The seat has fixed back and pivots on the upper section and slides the seat cushion forward for reclining, so there is no risk of person in front of you reclining and intruding into your space. There is footrest under the seat in front of you. Entertainment was OK but for an 11 hour trip like this more choice of movies and TV programs will be appreciated. We used our 3.5" jack wireless transmitter and bluetooth earphones to avoid cable tangles from the provided earphones. The FAs on this flight were relatively younger than the other ANA flights we flew last few times. They are very courteous, polite and helpful, and they are cheerful when they were doing their job and their positive attitude helps passengers to relax. Rice crackers and wet towelettes were handed out with the first drink service. Afterwards we were served dinner along with another drink cart service. Dinner was either beef sukiyaki or braised seafood. I opted for sukiyaki and it was really good. Later breakfast was served and the choices are salmon flake omelette or pancakes. I chose pancakes and the pancake was good, infused with lots of syrup along with a chicken sausage. Before we land we got a tomato cheese bread snack. we were properly fed during the trip compared to American airliners. In between meals the FAs going around offering water bottles or snacks every couple hours or so. They also set up a snack and drink basket that we can help ourselves at the back galley. There were two teams of FAs and I can see them all working hard and all were very cheerful and helpful to the passengers. They were all so good that I decided to give them a box of chocolate I got from Narita during our transit. They initially refused saying this is too much for them but I told them they deserve it for their good service and to share with the other Team, and they finally obliged. We had to wait for late transferring passengers so we were around 15 minutes behind schedule, but we caught up along the way and arrived at 1.13 pm, 37 minutes early to Chicago O'Hare's Terminal 5. Deplaning was done very orderly, they called by the rows to deplane so there is no line waiting to get off the plane.
AircraftBoeing 77W
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita (NRT) to Chicago O'Hare (ORD)
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"very polite and courteous"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Tokyo Narita on 13th January 2021 on the way home to Houston after a SE Asia trip. Checked in online and was able to secure bulkhead seats. Bag drop counter person worked very quick and professional, and put a priority tag on our luggage. Boarding was done in an orderly fashion, Business Class first, then Economy by row from back to front. The aircraft was a 5 year old B789 (JA875A). The seats were spacious, with footrest and leg rest, and a small tray for holding drink in between the seats, and an individual reading light. Aside from us, there is only one other person in the whole Premium Economy section. The aircraft is clean, but we still use the Clorox wipes to clean the tray table, seatbelts, armrest and the screen when we got to our seat. The tray table and screen in the bulkhead seat is folded into the seat and the touch screen is quite responsive. There is enough movies and TV series to occupy us for this 6.5 hours flight. We left 22 minutes late because we have to wait for some late passengers. But we arrived at 3:13 PM local time, a good 27 minutes ahead of schedule. FAs for this trip were very polite and courteous, and quite helpful and cheerful, a better crew set than the previous ANA flight from Tokyo 2 weeks before. We were given rice crackers, drinks and wet wipes after takeoff, then the breakfast cart start making their rounds. Choices are pancakes and white fish, and I chose the pancake. The pancake was fluffy and infused with syrup, and the accompanying chicken sausage and veggies are quite decent. The drink cart making its round again with the lunch/heavy snack before we arrived in Tokyo. Altogether this is a nice flight with ANA, and everything was going very smoothly during the trip.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteJakarta to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes