Virgin Australia

Seat Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing TV 12345
Customer rating from 13 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"force taller people to upgrade"

(Australia)

Verified Review | We paid a premium price to fly Virgin Australia economy from Brisbane to Denpasar return in July. We could have flown Malindo Air or Jetstar for $200 per ticket cheaper but preferred Virgins flight times. Big mistake. They use an aircraft that should be on regional flights, not international flights with only enough legroom for anyone under five foot six tall. They force us taller people to upgrade to economy X at an extra cost of $69 each. Their economy X seats have the legroom of standard economy on most other international aircrafts. I have renamed Virgin's economy class to sardine class. Economy X to cattle class and anyone who fly's business class has more money than sense. None of these classes are value for money. Then they send us emails to bid for an upgrade to their idea of business class at an extra minimum cost of $250 per seat. They have reduced the legroom of the economy seats to a ridiculous width to fit in the economy X seats at the front of the plane behind business class. The solution to me is also obvious. Take a row of economy X seats out and increase the width of the economy seats back to what they should be. They will reduce their revenue from the loss of a row of economy X seats but have happy customers in economy again. Their economy seating configuration should be illegal.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownAugust 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
2/10

"will have troubles to fit in"

(Slovakia)

Verified Review | If you are anything above 170cm height you will have troubles to fit in and sit comfortably in Economy seats. Additionally my partner's seat recline did not work at all. There is no in-flight entertainment on screen, you just can download the app and watch on your phone, however there is no place where you can fit your phone properly so you need to hold it in your hand for few hours if you wanna enjoy the IFE.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownAugust 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
8/10

"plenty of leg room in 15A/15C"

(Australia)

Verified Review | As a couple we were made to feel special for our first premium economy trip from Brisbane to LAX and return. We really appreciated the Fantastic friendly, personal service, the real glassware, cutlery and cloth napkins, and hot cleansing towels a treat. Seats were wide and comfortable, plenty of leg room in 15A/15C. Both trips were not very busy in PE so it was quiet and a real pleasure to feel cocooned in our personalised cabin. I told the attendants that VA should change the class name to pure premium. Economy doesn't do it justice. The food and beverage quality was terrific, more than I expected and I love my food and a good Pinot noir!
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownApril 2017
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
7/10

"recline wasn't much"

(United States)

Verified Review | I sat in a window seat on the left side of the plane in row 15A. The recline wasn't much, but it was enough to get me through the flight from Sydney to Auckland. Overhead bin space was just enough, as was aisle space. The service however was somewhat sub-par, as it took forever for the flight attendants to service beverages.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
9/10

"made the journey a delight"

(Australia)

Sans kids on our most recent flight, we decided to upgrade our SYD-LAX return tickets from Economy to Premium Economy Saver fares. Arriving at the Premium Economy check in was a breeze. There was no line and the next Business Class window called us over and processed our documentation. Priority boarding alongside Business Class passengers was wonderful - the FA's call you by name and introduce themselves personally. You are offered champagne, juice or water while the plane loads, then your dinner preference is taken. Our 12J/K seats were a private retreat and we loved being amongst the first to disembark at LAX. Seats were wider, the comfy blankets and a 38" pitch made the journey a delight. Larger IFE screen, amenity kit and a feeling of reasonable indulgence was our first impression. At over $6k it was probably way more than people would justify - but to us - it was a 14 hour extension of our holiday. The 2 (smallish) dedicated PE restrooms were mostly available throughout the flight, but they were clean which was a huge bonus. Return leg was uneventful, but I hated the middle row of four seats and made sure we booked next year's flights well in advance to get window seats. We didn't hesitate to choose Virgin Australia Premium Economy again, the newer 24 seat configuration and 41" pitch will be something to get excited about.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 777-300
Seat Layout2x4x2
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
Power Supply 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
2/10

"most miserable airline seats"

(United States)

Brisbane to Dunedin. Been looking forward to it for weeks. The unfriendly and irritable check-in agent changed our already-booked seat numbers (which we had chosen with some consideration) without even telling us - surprise, and I was shocked that my friend had to pay over $100AUD to have his single 6 kg bag checked! Then we scrunched in for three hours in the smallest, narrowest, most miserable airline seats. The flight attendant got all defensive and huffy when I tactfully pointed out an adult passenger ignoring the fasten seatbelt during heavy turbulence. His seatbelt was hanging into the isle. Basically, she implied it shouldn't be my concern. Having watched people hit the ceiling in turbulence, I felt it was in the interest of safety of other passengers. She didn't say a word to the unbelted passenger. My first experience with Virgin won't be my last - I'm already booked for two more flights. Please tell me that my 15-hour Virgin Australia flight from BNE to LAX in a few days will not be as miserable as my first. I am just over 6' and weigh 198lbs and admit that I am remembering flying in Australia in the past, but this is shameful. What a disappointment.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Date FlownNovember 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
1/10

"Chairs very uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Sydney to Perth in Business Class. Very disappointed with Business Class. Seatback entertainment not available. Chairs very uncomfortable for the flight from Sydney to Perth. Usually experience an A330 on this flight which would have been a welcome change. Service was to standards expected but that was the only shining light. Flew Qantas on the return leg - both airlines need to lift their game. To offer Samsung tablets as entertainment and then take over the table space for over half the flight is silly. The aisle was frequently the venue for intimate encounters. Have done this flight many times and enjoyed it immensely - all on the A330, but Virgin dropped the ball by using the Boeing 738, it is too long a journey in such an uncomfortable seat. Without entertainment, there is what you carry aboard to occupy you - not expected in business class. Photo shoes the stuffed toy that came with the child in the window seat. In the photo, the toy was on the floor between the seats in front. For take off and landing, it had to be stowed in an overhead locker for safety.
Aircraft TypeBoeing 737-800
Seat Layout2 x 2 in Business Class, 3 X 3 in Economy
Date FlownAugust 2015
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
no
9/10

"sufficient leg room"

(Australia)

Seat was reasonably comfortable. I had sufficient leg room without putting my knees into the seat in front. A short flight and I didn't test the recline to see how far it would go. For an economy class seat there was sufficient room and comfort for a short flight.
Aircraft TypeEmbraer 190
Seat Layout2x2
Date FlownOctober 2015
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Seat Storage 12345
yes
6/10

"welcome change not to feel so compressed"

(Australia)

Mel-Syd. Economy seat 25A. As flight was near full having a window seat was a good choice. Seat width was wider than on an A320A330 or A340 and it was a welcome change not to feel so compressed in terms of the seat area and legroom. The downsides however were the constriction from the left side wall tapered inwards from shin to toe and headroom when standing to get out. Cabin felt dated despite the aircraft being younger than 5 years - this came about due to visible cracks in the plastic fittings as well as rather old looking mould on the seat in front and no tv screens anywhere.
Aircraft TypeBOEING 737-800
Seat Layout3x3
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
6/10

"comfort is good"

(Australia)

13D (DAR-MEL) exit seat. LOADS of leg room but there are seats in front. Comfort is good but can feel not so on 4hr+ flights. Armrests seem quite weak don't stay upright if you want to lay down but you still can. Exit seats don't recline which is a pain. But if the plane isn't full then its all good you can stretch out.
Aircraft TypeBOEING 777-300ER
Seat Layout3x3
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
Seat Legroom 12345
Seat Recline 12345
Seat Width 12345
Aisle Space 12345
Viewing Tv Screen 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 13 Reviews