Airline of the Year  

Toronto Pearson Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 368 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"has consistently improved"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Toronto has consistently improved over the past couple of years, implementing iPads at many seats in the international terminal E, reminiscent of Minneapolis Airport (MSP). The prices for food are still very high, despite the plentiful options of shops and restaurants. Walks between terminals are a bit long, but the transit officials were a bit freindlier than last year.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"turned into a nightmare"

(Canada)

We fly all over Asia and have been in dozens of airports. I think the self check in and baggage drop off was meant to save time, today I felt like I was in a third world country. Whatever the Toronto Pearson Airport has done to this function has turned into a nightmare. People didn't know how to attach the baggage tags, were not ready to put their bags on the belt and were pushing around - it was insane. Please give us back some humans who are paid to know what to do rather than expected untrained people speaking and reading many different languages to handle what it took an agent to do just a couple of years ago. I honestly wondered if I was in Canada. Cathay Pacific is a great airline with an awesome record of service, today being associated with this mess gives it a 2 out of 10.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a very disappointing experience"

(Canada)

Verified Review | This was a very disappointing experience. Transiting from Lima thru Toronto to Vancouver. Long lines, poor signage, staff overall not very interested in providing customer service. Twice wait lines were reconfigured for no obvious reason. You need some reconfiguration and some staff training. Only good part of the experience was the sniffer dogs who were adorable.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"mainly tired and worn"

(United Kingdom)

This is an old airport which is mainly tired and worn. The layout is poor, the signage is poor the staff are not the most helpful and the security was disorganised and slow. The services are tired and choice not great but a lot of money has been spent on some shops. Will avoid if at all possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"experience was horrific"

(Canada)

For all practical purposes disability assistance at Toronto Pearson has been all but discontinued. Our experience was horrific - both ways - leaving me without a wheelchair at various stages, and forced to run / hobble to distant gates. Worse still my 69 year old wife having to retrieve our baggage, take us through customs, take me and the baggage to a drop-off; deposit the bags on the conveyor all entirely by herself while pushing me in a wheelchair, and then forced to run to a distant gate all the while being berated by staff for not running faster. Unbelievable - but this happened both ways.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"exceptionally unfriendly at every turn"

(Canada)

We arrived from Atlanta on our way home to British Columbia. We found this airport and the people in it to be exceptionally unfriendly at every turn. Service at every leg of the journey to our connection could not possibly have been any slower. The signage is inaccurate at best. We followed signs pointing us to our departure gate only to arrive there and be told that actually the gate we were looking for was totally in the opposite direction. They make the excuse that the airport is undergoing construction. This will never allow the attitudes that staff here exude. I have flown out of much bigger airports (Atlanta, for instance) and never experienced this kind of ignorance. We will in future go out of our way to never have to visit this airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a very poor system and badly managed"

(Canada)

Verified Review | This is an embarrassing airport being a Canadian. Incredibly long security lines and people working there are totally confused and poorly trained. Their newest baggage security system is faster than they can process people through as they have one person screening and the lines are long. Since the bags keep going through someone takes the personal effects from the bins and piles it in the middle area and everyone has to rummage through to find their effects. I found my computer under a pile of roller boards. This is a very poor system and badly managed. The global entry line was also slower than the regular line as it was poorly manned, not a world class airport. Fly from Buffalo 90 min away, less expensive, friendly and professional.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"security queue lasted more than 1 hour"

(Brazil)

I arrived at Toronto Pearson Airport yesterday night and the baggage claim area was very crowded and only two people taking the declaration forms, so there was a big line. In the morning I came back to take another flight and the security queue lasted more than 1 hour, which is not reasonable as it was not that big. Me and my husband lost our flight because of that, despite asking many times if it was ok to stay in the line as it was close to boarding. The staff are really unprepared and not all scanners were in use.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"late night flights - nothing open"

(Canada)

I finally checked in at 11:45 pm at Toronto Pearson Airport, I was starving. Unfortunately virtually everything was shutting down! My flight was at 1:50am so I was hoping to grab a hot meal. Nada. The only the available was sandwiches or terribly made sushi. Is this an Western international airport - really? Quite pathetic. Apparently it has the highest airport tax in Canada! Why? Clearly it's not going to customer satisfaction. Why have late night flights when there is nothing open? Unfortunately it is what it is. What can you do? Nobody cares..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"exceptionally rude personnel"

(United States)

Verified Review | I have traveled around the world, and this is by far the worst airport I have visited. To transit through Toronto, a passenger must reclaim his bag then re-check it even though no one inspects it. There is mass confusion because (1) there is hidden signage regarding which of the ten-twelve carousels is for your flight (once you find the sign, which is hidden at one end of the carousel, you find that inexplicably the sign for the next carousel is located at the opposite end of that carousel and not readable unless you walk to the other end). (2) There is little explanation from signage or human beings regarding where to go or what to do with your bag once you find it. (3) No one having anything to do with your bag has any concern regarding whether you make your connecting flight or not. (4) When you eventually get to the ticketing area upstairs, there is even less signage, so good luck finding your airline. (4) Checking in and baggage drop-off are do-it-yourself - 3 out of 4 of the machines for checking-in that I tried did not work. (5) There was only one person assisting the many passengers forced to use these machines. (6) There was no direction regarding where to drop off the bag - the few humans working in that area seemed to be there for the primary purpose of chatting with each other and screaming at you when you make a mistake. Then you get to TSA, where there is more confusion, exceptionally rude personnel, inaccurate signage, and an obstacle course of repetitive measures (If you've been x-rayed, do you really need to be frisked when nothing suspicious shows up on the x-ray? Do you really need to scan your boarding pass 6 times going through a line?). Once you get out of the TSA nightmare, you will find that your gate is nowhere near any restaurant or shop. The seating will be inadequate and the 2 restrooms at the gate can accommodate only one person at a time. Forget charging your phone; outlets are rare. If you trudge the long distance back to the food area (you'll have to ask for directions - like everything else, it's hidden), you will find a Starbucks and two restaurants with limited menus serving hundreds of passengers, and you will be told that it will take 25 minutes just to get a hamburger. It's as though the person who designed this airport was a recluse who had never traveled before. And if you haven't already missed your flight at any point of this purgatory, it's because your fight has been delayed. (A flight at my gate was delayed because the flight crew was a now-show. My flight was delayed, finally boarded, but then we sat at the gate waiting for the flight crew to "complete paperwork.") In the future, I will avoid Toronto at all costs, and I am recommending that everyone I know do the same. ** NEEDS TICKET
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no