Toronto Pearson Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 392 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"uncoordinated, disrespectful staff"

(Canada)

Verified Review | On October 13 we returned to Canada from Montego Bay, Jamaica with arrival at 7:15 pm and connecting flight to Winnipeg at 9:30 pm. We were immediately funnelled towards 2 flights of stairs and a non-operational escalator, with no visible signs of an elevator. At the top of the stairs we were confronted with a snaking line of people back and forth, approximately 300 deep. This was to use new customs kiosks where you enter your passport (not all machines accepting the passports properly), have a facial photograph taken and issued a "receipt". This lineup was timed and took 40 minutes to reach the kiosk. Then we were ushered into a 2nd hall of approximately 500 people snaking back and forth in a state of chaos with people upset about connections and insufficient, uncoordinated, disrespectful staff, some with poor grasp of English. After flagging down an unhelpful staff person we just jumped lines and eventually got to the ticket booth where the customs agent just said "go". What the point of that 40 minute line was is unclear. We were then stampeded to the baggage carousels and herded along to the exit with verbal directions someone in our party heard, to go left and then take an escalator. There did not seem to be any clear signage. At no point in the baggage area or the long queue to drop off the bags again, were signs visible to remind international passengers to put their duty free liquids in the bags to be rechecked or they would be confiscated. Nor was there time to think of this, as the place was mayhem. We proceeded directly to the security area, with our duty free bag, where another huge line up was ahead of us. With now less than 15 or 20 minutes to get to the gate for departure the security people were abusive of their authoritarian position, deliberately slow, confiscated our duty free purchases in a haughty manner and didn't have courtesy to say sorry. If I didn't know this was Canada, I would have said I was in an Orwellian state. My husband, age 66, ran to the airline gate. At 65, with a sore back I could not run. I still had not had a moment in this unbelievable scenario to go to the washroom. The first time I saw a washroom sign was just by the airport departure gate. I and another late family were the last to board the plane within 5 minutes of departure. 2 hours 15 minutes between flights should have been plenty, instead the couple we were travelling with would have missed their connecting flight if not for a delay at the airline end. When one comes off a flight of 4 hours to an airport and has to clear customs and make another connection, one should not be treated worse than a stray dog. This is how I was made to feel. I for one, will never be foolish enough to plan a trip going through this poorly managed, poorly signed, airport with staff who have not been informed that the flying public are paying a good price and should be treated with some civility.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"careless of customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | We visit Toronto regularly. Last year we arrived at 18.00, cleared customs / immigration within 15 minutes, then had to wait 50 minutes for baggage to appear on the carousel. When departing two weeks later there were continual changes to the boarding gates. October 2017, same problem with baggage taking 40 minutes after clearing immigration to arrive at carousel. Much worse when departing on flight AC 848. Gate was changed from E77 to E74, but a flight to Rome was at gate E75, so AC848 could not approach gate E74 until the Rome flight had departed, which was 20 minutes after AC848 was scheduled to depart. Further short delay until AC848 arrived at gate, flight crew then boarded to make operational and safety checks (why couldn't they have boarded the aircraft earlier to do these tasks?) and passengers loaded soon after. Actually pushed back from gate 54 minutes later than scheduled departure time. There was a further hour delay due to mechanical failure on taxiway, but this not the airport's fault. It is obvious that at Pearson Airport there is an appallingly low standard of customer service skills, either because the airport staff don't care or, more probably, because the management is careless of customer service or has zero competence in customer service skills. Also, there seems to be little or no effort to learn from their mistakes. Perhaps they all should be reminded that customers made angry by bad service will vote with their feet and never return.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"not the best terminal I have used"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Terminal 3 at YYZ is not the best terminal I have used, I much prefer Terminal 1. Upon arrival into T3 from a BA flight we went straight to immigration where the queue looked larger than it was, and we were through after 15/20 minutes, although we were sat toward the back of the airplane and another international flight had landed. The bag claim area has an extremely low ceiling which causes some uncomfort, and then exiting into the arrivals area, there are so many people about. The access to the UP Express is still convenient and tickets are available for purchase just down the hall. Departing is not a great experience either. The signage is easy to understand, and finding out where to go is fine, however security took thirty minutes at a time which 'wasn't busy'. The choice of shops and restaurants lacks, with a few news stores and coffee shops. I would happily fly from T3 again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"incompetent and arrogant staff members"

(Italy)

Verified Review | Entire airport is very poorly organized, very impolite employees and signs not clear. Even if the structure / building is nice all the rest is just poor. The check in process as well as the security check is just insane, lots of incompetent and arrogant staff members who do not know their job and slow everything down. Forget this airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"entire airport just felt poorly organized"

(Canada)

Unverified | Definitely not the greatest airport in the world, especially the check-in area. The line-ups are huge and the entire space is not very well organized. A struggle for us was the luggage drop-off zone. Everything was supposed to be automatic but there were constant problems with the boarding pass reader, then with the bag weighing mechanism that kept rejecting our bags. One of the error messages we received from the luggage weighing computer is that our bag was too light (it was a fully packed huge bag!). The airport staff were trying to help but there were just too few of them around and the crowds are big. Just as our bags were disappearing the lady who was helping us noticed that we didn't have a special "airport sorting" tag on them. Somebody was supposed to give them to us but they didn't and because of that our bags would not be sorted automatically and somebody would have to manually put them in the correct bin, but since some workers were on strike they may not be willing to do it! The bags were gone and there was no way to return them. We asked if that meant that we may not get our bags at our destination airport to which she responded "let's hope for the best!". Nice start to a trip! The security checks were reasonably quick but again everything is not very well organized. The shopping/restaurant area behind the security checks were OK but nothing at all special. The entire airport just felt poorly organized and not very clean.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport halls were drab and the bathrooms dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I am a Canadian who has lived abroad for many years, My wife and I used Toronto Pearson airport for our return flight on BA to London on Sept 17. It was our first time using Pearson and alas it was the worst experience involving a long-haul flight from a Western airport in 35+ years of air travel. First, the airport was difficult to track down in Mississaugas vortex of high-rises and spaghetti highways, even with our hire car's GPS, because of poor (sometimes non-existent) signage that forced us to make decisions within seconds amidst careening traffic to take this or that lane or turn-off. Second, the airport halls were drab and the bathrooms dirty. Third, there were almost no duty-free shops of interest, food was mediocre at best (only options were salt-laden fast food), and the shop and restaurant staff indifferent, sluggish and even rude, and some scarcely spoke English - all surprising for an airport serving a city as huge and international as Toronto. Security staff screening baggage were brusque and terse towards passengers as we were being processed. But, strangely, no one except airline staff checked our passports and boarding cards en route to our plane. Immigration/customs personnel who check/stamp passports in any other airport we've used were nowhere to be seen, and neither was a single uniformed police officer - all of which raised doubts in our mind whether passengers are adequately monitored at Pearson, a serious issue in this age of terrorist threats in public places. To top off our dismal experience, our plane was forced to wait at its docking position for more than an hour after passengers took their seats because of what the pilot said was a problem loading hold luggage. "Everything that could have gone wrong has gone wrong," the pilot told passengers over the intercom by way of explanation. All in all, Pearson airport does a disservice to Toronto's image as a vibrant international business and cultural centre and needs to get its act together for my wife and I to ever use it again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"completely inadequate signage"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Toronto Pearson Terminal 3 international arrivals is awful. Tiny, dark, low-ceiling arrrivals hall crammed with reader kiosks and completely inadequate signage. This is a dump with passport and Nexus kiosks that don't work and signs that mis-direct arrivals into wrong lines. The baggage hall is even worse. After travelling throughout Africa, Asia etc this had to be the worst! Unbelievable.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is absolutely ridiculous"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | This airport is absolutely ridiculous. It's a disgrace in every possible way. Seating areas are inefficient making is hard to find a chair. Food is miserable and overpriced. Terminal 3 capacity is too small to handle the number of passengers making it a very crowded area with people hunting for a place to sit and walkways blocked by people queuing for boarding. The terminal smells greasy from all the open kitchen restaurants. It's a truly horrible experience. Avoid his airport if you have a choice. This airport is not built or managed with the traveler in mind. Internet/wifi is terrible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Disappointed to say the least"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Impossible to find a sit down restaurant in B terminal, only grab and go except for Corso. Overpriced fake "gourmet" food, don't waste your money go to Timmies or Starbucks instead. Even the smaller airports have a Chillies, or some other kind of chain that you can actually sit down and be served at, important after getting up at 6.30 am, not getting breakfast because your hotel couldn't get it together, and then finding out your 4 hour layover in Toronto is now 5 1/2 hours. Dissapointed to say the least.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"definitely need to work on people skills "

(Canada)

Verified Review | Worst service ever. I'm from Canada but am so embarrassed that we have an airport like this. The staff (not all but most) that work there are so rude and unfriendly and make you feel unwelcome when you travel. It's already a lot to think about, the last thing you need is people try to stress you when they should be helping you and making you feel at ease after, all that's what the staff are paid for. They definitely need to work on people skills and how to be friendly. Very unfriendly environment, very sad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no