Toronto Pearson Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 403 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"it has been abysmal"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I suffered the misfortune of traveling many times using this airport. There seems to be a race to the bottom which the management of this hellhole are determined to win. I need wheelchair assistance. A few years ago it was really great. The last couple of times it has been abysmal. Flew to LA last Christmas, waited about an hour in the security area because there seemed to be a shortage of wheelchair pushers, even the supervisor of the area phoned to get things moving and there were 5 waiting. Flying to Indianapolis in July, waited for a long time for the lone pusher to take me to the awful little waiting area for the Air Canada flight. This has got to be one of the worst, user unfriendly, damn ugly airports with very few amenities for food and drink. By the way, flew out of Edmonton last year in the spring and it is a very nice attractive airport. Are customers just freight and not considered people? Another thing the designers of this monument to bad thinking is the fact that the washrooms are few and far between. The one on the plane returning was inoperable and the nearest washroom was in the baggage claim area! It is as friendly and welcoming as a morgue. Also this is an Airport not an 'air strip' and it is the only one that the small planes are not connected by a tunnel/bridge, you climb into them after walking outside on the tarmac in any weather condition.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"this is simply insufficient"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terminal 3. Very helpful guides on hand to assist with directions and information. This terminal is undergoing upgrades so it has lost space to refurbishment and no Swiss Chalet for a pre departure meal. Will it be brought back? Food options limited to the usual fast food and one Irish pub. For such a busy airport this is simply insufficient. The security check was slow, mostly because only 3 staff operated the entire system and they all looked bored witless. They could use some customer service training! At the gate area (C32) there was plenty of connectivity options but reduced seating areas. It must be bedlam when an A380 is at the gate. However, my major gripe is the very lame Christmas decorations, if indeed you can find any. No tree or lights to be seen anywhere. Probably so as not to offend anybody, but come on, put some cheer into the place, its dull at the best of times.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no help to find amenities"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am in The B departure area. It is under construction with no help to find amenities, specifically nicer restaurants or bar. You can see better options through the glass partitions but apparently those are in area A and not accessible. What a dump this area is.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"security is a fiasco"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | T3 arrivals is beyond a joke at the moment, I can only assume they are using the passengers as guinea pigs to beta test the new immigration computers. Filling in a form on a computer, something you’ve already been asked to do on a plane, then completing various other checks, and then you just go and see the immigration people anyway. Location and number of computers are both very poor creating long queues. Signage next to useless for finding where you go to get the UP express train into town. On the return, security is a fiasco, staff have no idea who can use priority queues or not, check in area for one of the airlines means queuing passengers block access to security. Complete shambles and so easily fixed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rude and unhelpful airport staff"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Recently traveled to US for vacation, but treated by rude and unhelpful airport staff on the way to the destination and return. There is simply not sufficient signs to guide you thru the custom process on-route and return, and when I tried to ask the airport staff for direction and they simply treat you with a bad attitude instead of trying to help. As a Canadian, I feel ashamed with such a poor standard from Pearson, and it is just not up to the standard as a world class international airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really reflects poorly on Canada"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Toronto Pearson Airport is the worst airport I have ever traveled through in my 45+ years of traveling, and the experience I had at both arrival and departure will make me think twice before I again visit Toronto. I make approximately 20 international round trip journeys each year and I have certainly had my share of bad airports - Mumbai and LAX stand out as bad airports. But Toronto Pearson was horrid, absolutely execrable, far worse than any sub-continent third world country. Who ever heard of an APEC country without an APEC queue? And no priority lanes for anyone, no matter what! It really reflects poorly on Canada which seeks to position Toronto as a financial services, fintech hub. Let me tell you this: we won't be jetting in for a couple of days of fintech on Adelaide Street if we have to spend over 5 hours in queues at the airport on such a short itinerary! Horribly rude staff who seemed to rejoice in business people having to queue. Especially American Airlines - and yes I was first class. Never again!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Over 6 years of constant delays"

(Canada)

Unverified | This is a constant theme here. Baggage getting to the claim carousel are the worst here than any aiport I have travelled to in all of North and South America. Delays of over 40 minutes are common. If I had another option for my "home" airport I would never use this again. Over 6 years of constant delays. Ths people are either lazy or the airport does not care about its customers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"It falls short"

(Canada)

Unverified | Expedited Customs when arriving from the US, and doing a domestic connection in Canada. It falls short! Great idea, very efficient pass through customs, what a great idea! Except it's ruined by forcing D-gate (domestic connections) travellers onto a bus that sits there for 15 minutes and after this big delay, the bus only drives 100m! Why would they do this! Just make it so that people have the option to walk it, it would take 60 seconds.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
10/10

"baggage handlers are just incompetent"

(United States)

Unverified | Just had the worst airport experience in over 40 years of traveling at Toronto Pearson. Been waiting over 2 hours for my bags so I can clear customs. The bags are here, they know where they are, but they can't get them delivered to baggage claim. It's not too busy, their baggage handlers are just incompetent. Don't fly through here if you can avoid it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Why not spread the machines out"

(Canada)

Unverified | The Customs hall at Pearson Terminal 3 is the most useless exercise in pointless automation that I have ever seen. Imagine two or three international flights worth of tired passengers being herded into what they think is Customs, but instead turns out to be a huge meandering line up to electronically fill out Declaration forms that they have already filled out on the plane anyway. This is all guided by a bunch of people who seem to have only just been trained or just started doing this job (though I'm told this room has been like this for a few years now). After waiting in line for what feels like forever you are sent over to one of these computers that scans your passport and takes you picture. Finally you finish filling out the electronic declaration form. Then you realize that you have to get into another line, just as long as the first, to get to an actual Customs Agent. This takes just as long as the first line. I realize that the whole procedure is to try and improve things for Customs and The Agents but this isn't the way to do it. Why not spread the machines out along the couple of miles of hallways between the Gates and the Customs Hall? And also, tell the airlines they don't need to hand out the old forms anymore.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no