Top 100 Airports  

Tokyo Haneda Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"modern and has great facilities"

(Japan)

Verified Review | Haneda is modern and has great facilities. The check in experience at AirAsia was horrendous. The problem wasn't just that the queues took a long time - about 80 minutes despite there being not that many people. Long queues can be understandable and inevitable. But in this case it was primarily due to logistics. People who were dropping off baggage were much more numerous and yet had fewer check lines. Problems arose in the drop off line repeatedly and it seemed the staff didn't have the skills to resolve them satisfactorily. I spoke to the service counter of Air Asia and explained the drop off line was moving unreasonably slowly. That there was no incentive at all to check in in advance. They apologised but they didn't seem to grasp the problem that the number of lines set aside for each checked in an non checked in needed to be reapportioned. I Have never seen such poor transport logistics in Japan.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"really appreciate the staff"

(Canada)

Tokyo Haneda is a lovely airport. I really appreciate the staff here no matter what area they work in. I was queueing in immigration and was told by the line manager to wait for the officer on the right hand side of the desk. Another woman had arrived before me and was waiting for the officer on the left (I originally queued behind her but the line manager asked me to form a second line). Lo and behold, as soon as I moved into the second line, I was able to swiftly go to the officer. Now, the lady who had arrived before me and stood in the other queue started to yell at me for cutting the line and pushed her way to the officer. What impressed me was that the line manager apologized to me for the woman's behaviour and the immigration officer that processed me did so in the fastest time I ever saw. They turned an experience that wasn't even their fault into something very positive for me which I was incredibly impressed with. The airport is clean and well managed in all aspects.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"it is always a pleasure"

(United States)

Tokyo Haneda is an excellent airport to hang out in a long layover. There are many shops and things to do in the airport. All terminals are welcoming and great. Security and immigration etc. are a breeze in all terminals. It is always a pleasure traveling through this airport every time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"lots of room to relax"

(Canada)

Arrived at Haneda Airport for the first time after my transpacific flight on Air Canada from Toronto Pearson Int'l Airport. The airport was bright and airy with lots of room to relax. It felt more spacious than Narita overall. Customs and immigration process was quick and pain free. Since I had a four hour stop over before my connecting ANA flight to Kimpo airport in Seoul, Korea, I decided to have some relaxing sushi lunch at Terminal 2. There is a nice airport shuttle bus that buses passengers between different terminals. Overall had an enjoyable stopover at the airport and would not mind stopping by here for a nice sushi meals sometime in the future again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"has improved dramatically"

(Japan)

Tokyo Haneda has improved dramatically since I first started using it (about 30 years ago). The only problem is that there are now three terminals, so transferring from domestic to international flights takes more time. The terminals are also quite large, so walking from gate to gate also takes some time. Nevertheless, the fact that there are international flights has made this airport far preferable to Tokyo Narita, which suffers by being too far from Tokyo and being badly served by domestic connecting flights. Transferring from Haneda to Narita is a real pain, only slightly alleviated by the efficient limousine bus service connecting the two airports. I often use Terminal 2, for ANA flights, but I have occasionally used Terminal 1, which is the JAL terminal and is just as good. The service offered by the airlines for passengers transferring between the international and domestic terminals is especially good, with a dedicated airline bus service. Using this service to transfer to the domestic terminals removes the need for a second security check.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"very clean and orderly"

(United Kingdom)

I flew from Paris to Tokyo Haneda. The experience was very different from any other airport I've been to. They say that Japan is 20 years ahead of the rest of the world - technology wise. I completely agree. As soon as we disembarked from the aircraft, I went to the toilet/restroom. I was amazed to experience a star-of-the-art toilet bowl - it can talk, can sing, and can clean you. A toilet bowl of many talents. Moreover, the airport was very clean and orderly. The staff were very friendly too. I had to by a wi-fi access for my entire trip and the lady who assisted me tried her best to converse in English. She struggled but hey, that was a 100% for the effort.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"an excellent airport"

(United States)

It was here I lost my passport. Understandably, I was very worried having such an important document go missing. I asked JAL agents and airport staff to help me find it even though it was busy which they did. An hour later, a kind soul returned it to the lost and found. Everyone at Haneda was very friendly even though they don't speak English fluently. I spent quite a bit of time here and even had to sleep here overnight. Fortunately, there's plenty of seating to rest on. They have showers. I paid ~1300 yen for a 30 min shower which entitled me to a free drink coupon at a next door vendor. This was welcome refuge given that I had been on a non-stop double digit international flight. The airport is much closer to the city than Narita which made it easier for my ride to pick me up. The only thing I took issue with was the wifi. The signal was not strong and faded in and out which made it hard to get online. All in all, an excellent airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"staff nice and polite"

(Vietnam)

Very impressed with Tokyo Haneda. The service is good. The staff are nice and polite. A lot of souvenirs available. The toilet is clean and facilities high tech. They have free WiFi and the speed is fast. However, there were some long queues.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"beautiful airport that functions poorly"

(United States)

It's a beautiful airport that functions poorly. Arrived late at night kn 1-24 and waited 2 hours to clear customs. Once clear there was limited to no good options and extremely limited public transportation after 9pm. So this airport runs on late night flight schedules, however they will not provide decent food or transportation options in the late hours and half of the immigration windows were closed with over 1000 people in line. The plus side is the wonderful Hotel in the Intl terminal. Small rooms but very nice.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"very easy to find our way"

(Switzerland)

I arrived in Haneda airport at 6.30. I was very tired and it was my second time in this airport. After getting off the plane it was very easy to find our way. Every 30m there were toilets which were very clean. The customs was very quick. When you exit the arrivals area you are near to the bank, bus or train counter and the airport exit is very close. I recommend this airport instead of Narita if you want go in Tokyo directly. It's closer than Narita and it cheaper.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 38 Reviews