Taipei Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 93 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"greeted by grumpy staff"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Touched down at Taipei airport to be greeted by grumpy staff at the immigration area who were extremely stingy with their smiles and preferred to speak in a demanding tone. Felt especially unwelcome when the airport staff who assisted me on my enquiries on directions, after realising that I am a Singaporean Chinese, chose to respond to my questions that were phrased in English using Mandarin. However, having said that, staff had no problem with communicating with Korean passengers in English. Left the airport immediately after.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very few restaurants to choose from"

(United States)

Verified Review | Had a 4 hour layover in Taipei Airport on our way to SFO and we're looking for a good place to get something to eat. Unfortunately there are only very few restaurants to choose from. The one we chose didn't have much food to offer but mostly Chinese / Asian type of snacks. Needless to say we are very disappointed. Perhaps the airport management can add more restaurants in order to provide better choices for passengers especially to those who have long layovers waiting for connecting flights to continue their journey.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"sufficient number of shops and dining areas"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | The airport was shabby and unpleasant in terms of architectural design. You need to walk down the stairs in order to board a plane. The restricted zone was so enclosed that there was limited fenestration for aviation lovers like me to watch plane movements. The baggage reclaim went smooth, which means that the ground staff was quite efficient. The airport was not as busy as expected. Not much time spent on waiting and queuing. The immigration officers were so grim-faced, which were less courteous than those in European countries. Sufficient number of shops and dining areas. There were sitting and resting spaces designed with a specific cultural theme, which is quite interesting and creative. Clear signs. Easy connection to the airport metro.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Bathrooms and seating areas are impeccably clean"

(United States)

Although not brand new, TPE is a palace. It's my new top choice for transiting to/from Southeast Asia from North America. Bathrooms and seating areas are impeccably clean. Moving sidewalks are abundant throughout the airport. Savory food and drink options are abundant in Terminal 2, with comfortable lounge seating offering excellent runway views. Shopping is interesting and unique, with a wide variety of luxury, local, and practical goods for sale (not just miles of useless duty free shopping selling perfume, whiskey, and cigarettes). English is widely spoken among restaurant and shop employees, and US currency is accepted and returned in exchange. The airports numerous art exhibits are thoughtful, and showcase the culture of Taiwan ROC in a positive light. My only complaint is the super long walk distances involved in connecting between trans-Pacific, intra-Asia flights, and passport control (typical of Asian megacity airports). Maybe I'm sounding like an overly pampered American, but no one wants to a walk a quarter mile after sitting in an economy class seat for 12-14 hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"has a good food court"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We were on a 10 hour layover in Taipei Taoyuan Airport, and it was the best. Little nooks and places to sleep while waiting. The airport has a good food court on the second floor and the showers are great after a long 15 hour flight. The airport does not come alive until about 7 am. We arrived at about 5 am and the airport was nice and quiet. To have a layover in this airport is great.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"queues out of immigration were horrendously long"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | MNL-TPE return for a family holiday. Arrived at 0630H with a couple of other flights at T2. Structure was quite well organized but the queues out of immigration were horrendously long and slow considering it is not a peak arrival time. It took us the better part of an hour to exit immigration. Baggage claim was quick with our bags waiting for us at the carousel when we got there. Signages in the arrival hall was easy to read and the layout of the terminal was easy to navigate. On departure, we had a bit of a challenge looking for the departure hall as the bus we took stopped outside the arrival area and the path from arrival to departure was not as intuitive as Changi, but the signages were able to properly point us the way. Security and immigration was, like arrival, a slow crawl but a tad more efficient going out. Airside, there are numerous shopping and dining areas as well as rest areas to await one's flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"baggage retrieval was swift"

(United Kingdom)

Taipei must now rank among one of the better airports in Asia and as a frequent traveler I would give it 5 stars. On arrival in the late afternoon there were no queues at all at passport control. Baggage retrieval was swift with very little waiting. Toilet facilities were spotless. Easy to use airport wifi with no lengthy login procedures. Excellent regular bus connection to town and the High Speed Rail station.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"not a single normal shop is open"

(United Kingdom)

Very frustrating to find that although the terminal looks nice behind all the covering sheets, not a single normal shop is open. I do understand we have come early (at 5am) but I expect at the very least we should be able to buy a drink or some food. If you fly flights that early you should provide basic food/drinks. We are left starving with only a vending machine for water - unless we buy alcohol at duty free and drink that? Think Taoyuan Airport should think again about its facilities for its passengers. We also just spend 20 mins in the queue for security before even entering the terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"really nice efficient and super-clean"

(United Kingdom)

Not the most modern but a really nice efficient and super-clean (like the rest of Taiwan) airport. I was off the plane with Cathay Pacific and landside with baggage in less than 20 minutes. Security was busy but professional, efficient and cordial - English proficiency like most of Taiwan isn't so great but the helpful, friendly nature of Taiwanese people comes through despite sometimes the language barriers. The only thing that would be useful is if Telecoms shops were open until the last flights - so tourists such as myself can buy a SIM card which is essential if you are not a Mandarin speaker to get around. Happy to travel through here again though and one of the best Airport experiences I've had across the world.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very clean and organized airport"

(United States)

Very clean and organized airport with lots of dining options, from Burger King to pasta to drinks. Also security checks go fast with great service. Very spacious as well. There is free WiFi at the airport and it is pretty fast. Major hub for EVA Air and China Airlines. Good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 79 Reviews