Taipei Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 102 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"behind major airports in Asia"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Opposite to a very smooth and efficient arrival experience, departure is a different story. I caught the early morning flight from TPE-LHR via BKK with EVA Air. The airport at 7 am was packed. Check in for business class was very easy as there was not a long queue but the economy check in seemed very chaotic. Once the check in was done the real nightmare started. There was a long queue for the security check - the queue extended in the main departure hall and it took me at least 15-20 minutes to reach the security. I have never experienced this before in any of the international airport. T2 of TPE airport being the home base for EVA there was no priority lane for business class passengers which was very poor. Once through the security there was another queue (slightly shorter) for immigration. It was better organised. After immigration the airside has nothing to write home about. It was dark and dated, and the EVA lounge again was substandard - very noisy and crowded. Shopping was poor not a lot of local products. The good thing about this airport (T2 in particular) is that it is a fairly small terminal and you don't have to walk miles to reach your gate. It is also kept clean and the airport company does try hard to create some "theme" in various gates. All in all it's lagging behind all major airports in Asia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"efficiency was first class"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived in Taipei late evening. The airport is not as new as other Asian competitors but the efficiency was first class. Very short queue at the immigration and the luggage was out even before I reached the reclaim belt. From leaving the airplane to getting into the taxi it took me less than 20 minutes. Very pleasant arrival experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"dread coming through its immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | In all of my years traveling I have never seen immigration so poorly managed and staffed like Taoyuan Airport. I love Taiwan but dread coming through its immigration as out of 50 booths they only ever staff 5-10 max and you will queue well over an hour! If I worked here I’d be embarrassed! It’s basically unprofessional.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"very easy to transit through"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | I was flying from Bangkok to New York JFK with a 55 minute lay-over in Taipei for a change of planes. I was a little concerned about the short time in between flights as I did not want to miss my second leg flight to NYC JFK. However, Taipei Airport is very easy to transit through and the gates are fairly close together. As my plane landed early, it took only 20 minutes to taxi to the gate, exit the plane, pass through security and walk to my new gate with plenty of time to spare. The signage for transit was very clear and there was a priority lane through security for business class passengers. The bathrooms were clean and the free airport WiFi was easy to log-on to and was fast. I did not have time for any other airport services.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"process is smooth and fast"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived at Taipei Taoyuan airport Terminal 2 at 9am, there was not much traffic at the customs. The process is smooth and fast. The luggage arrived before I passed through customs, no waiting at all. However, the airport is a bit tired. Lighting is dim. There are not many shops. The ATM and money exchange counter has a long queue. I think more ATM machines are needed. Terminal 1 seems better. The new Metro which links to Taipei main station is great.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport is quite tired and quiet"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Checked in at T2 this time, used by mainly EVA Air and Star Alliance airlines. The airport is quite tired and quiet, not many people around. There are not many shops and restaurants. The custom and security check was quick and smooth, not much queuing as well. On the airside, there are some duty free shop and luxury brand shop but their prices are not competitive. The lighting on both the landside and the airside are dim.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"underrated gems in Asia"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Taipei/Taiwan-Taoyuan Airport is one of those underrated gems in Asia, and I had the pleasure of transiting, arriving and departing the aerodrome. Transiting in Taipei was such a breeze - I didn't have to walk far in Terminal 2 when I was changing planes and there were no lines at the security check sector. Arriving in Taipei from my Europe flight was also good, although the immigration queues can be a bit too long for anyone's liking. Nevertheless I was able to clear T2 customs within 30 minutes. I managed grab my bags and head to the new MRT station in less than 5 minutes, which is pretty good for a standard sized airport like Taipei. Departing T2 in Taipei was a synch - check-in counters weren't crowded and the immigration clearance was quick. What's great about this airport is its facilities - it has interesting theme gates, lots of vending machines ample eating places, hot water vending machines, excellent stores that sell lots of Taiwanese delicacies, and free showers at the lounge level in T2 (right next to Godiva). Just what I needed before a long flight to Europe. WiFi was also excellent, signs were clear and I couldn't find any corner of the airport that was dirty. Would highly recommend this airport to anyone who intends to transit in Taipei for US and European destinations.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"greeted by grumpy staff"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Touched down at Taipei airport to be greeted by grumpy staff at the immigration area who were extremely stingy with their smiles and preferred to speak in a demanding tone. Felt especially unwelcome when the airport staff who assisted me on my enquiries on directions, after realising that I am a Singaporean Chinese, chose to respond to my questions that were phrased in English using Mandarin. However, having said that, staff had no problem with communicating with Korean passengers in English. Left the airport immediately after.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very few restaurants to choose from"

(United States)

Verified Review | Had a 4 hour layover in Taipei Airport on our way to SFO and we're looking for a good place to get something to eat. Unfortunately there are only very few restaurants to choose from. The one we chose didn't have much food to offer but mostly Chinese / Asian type of snacks. Needless to say we are very disappointed. Perhaps the airport management can add more restaurants in order to provide better choices for passengers especially to those who have long layovers waiting for connecting flights to continue their journey.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"sufficient number of shops and dining areas"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | The airport was shabby and unpleasant in terms of architectural design. You need to walk down the stairs in order to board a plane. The restricted zone was so enclosed that there was limited fenestration for aviation lovers like me to watch plane movements. The baggage reclaim went smooth, which means that the ground staff was quite efficient. The airport was not as busy as expected. Not much time spent on waiting and queuing. The immigration officers were so grim-faced, which were less courteous than those in European countries. Sufficient number of shops and dining areas. There were sitting and resting spaces designed with a specific cultural theme, which is quite interesting and creative. Clear signs. Easy connection to the airport metro.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 86 Reviews