Taipei Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 96 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"process is smooth and fast"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Arrived at Taipei Taoyuan airport Terminal 2 at 9am, there was not much traffic at the customs. The process is smooth and fast. The luggage arrived before I passed through customs, no waiting at all. However, the airport is a bit tired. Lighting is dim. There are not many shops. The ATM and money exchange counter has a long queue. I think more ATM machines are needed. Terminal 1 seems better. The new Metro which links to Taipei main station is great.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"airport is quite tired and quiet"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Checked in at T2 this time, used by mainly EVA Air and Star Alliance airlines. The airport is quite tired and quiet, not many people around. There are not many shops and restaurants. The custom and security check was quick and smooth, not much queuing as well. On the airside, there are some duty free shop and luxury brand shop but their prices are not competitive. The lighting on both the landside and the airside are dim.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"underrated gems in Asia"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Taipei/Taiwan-Taoyuan Airport is one of those underrated gems in Asia, and I had the pleasure of transiting, arriving and departing the aerodrome. Transiting in Taipei was such a breeze - I didn't have to walk far in Terminal 2 when I was changing planes and there were no lines at the security check sector. Arriving in Taipei from my Europe flight was also good, although the immigration queues can be a bit too long for anyone's liking. Nevertheless I was able to clear T2 customs within 30 minutes. I managed grab my bags and head to the new MRT station in less than 5 minutes, which is pretty good for a standard sized airport like Taipei. Departing T2 in Taipei was a synch - check-in counters weren't crowded and the immigration clearance was quick. What's great about this airport is its facilities - it has interesting theme gates, lots of vending machines ample eating places, hot water vending machines, excellent stores that sell lots of Taiwanese delicacies, and free showers at the lounge level in T2 (right next to Godiva). Just what I needed before a long flight to Europe. WiFi was also excellent, signs were clear and I couldn't find any corner of the airport that was dirty. Would highly recommend this airport to anyone who intends to transit in Taipei for US and European destinations.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"greeted by grumpy staff"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Touched down at Taipei airport to be greeted by grumpy staff at the immigration area who were extremely stingy with their smiles and preferred to speak in a demanding tone. Felt especially unwelcome when the airport staff who assisted me on my enquiries on directions, after realising that I am a Singaporean Chinese, chose to respond to my questions that were phrased in English using Mandarin. However, having said that, staff had no problem with communicating with Korean passengers in English. Left the airport immediately after.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"very few restaurants to choose from"

(United States)

Verified Review | Had a 4 hour layover in Taipei Airport on our way to SFO and we're looking for a good place to get something to eat. Unfortunately there are only very few restaurants to choose from. The one we chose didn't have much food to offer but mostly Chinese / Asian type of snacks. Needless to say we are very disappointed. Perhaps the airport management can add more restaurants in order to provide better choices for passengers especially to those who have long layovers waiting for connecting flights to continue their journey.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"sufficient number of shops and dining areas"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | The airport was shabby and unpleasant in terms of architectural design. You need to walk down the stairs in order to board a plane. The restricted zone was so enclosed that there was limited fenestration for aviation lovers like me to watch plane movements. The baggage reclaim went smooth, which means that the ground staff was quite efficient. The airport was not as busy as expected. Not much time spent on waiting and queuing. The immigration officers were so grim-faced, which were less courteous than those in European countries. Sufficient number of shops and dining areas. There were sitting and resting spaces designed with a specific cultural theme, which is quite interesting and creative. Clear signs. Easy connection to the airport metro.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Bathrooms and seating areas are impeccably clean"

(United States)

Although not brand new, TPE is a palace. It's my new top choice for transiting to/from Southeast Asia from North America. Bathrooms and seating areas are impeccably clean. Moving sidewalks are abundant throughout the airport. Savory food and drink options are abundant in Terminal 2, with comfortable lounge seating offering excellent runway views. Shopping is interesting and unique, with a wide variety of luxury, local, and practical goods for sale (not just miles of useless duty free shopping selling perfume, whiskey, and cigarettes). English is widely spoken among restaurant and shop employees, and US currency is accepted and returned in exchange. The airports numerous art exhibits are thoughtful, and showcase the culture of Taiwan ROC in a positive light. My only complaint is the super long walk distances involved in connecting between trans-Pacific, intra-Asia flights, and passport control (typical of Asian megacity airports). Maybe I'm sounding like an overly pampered American, but no one wants to a walk a quarter mile after sitting in an economy class seat for 12-14 hours.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"has a good food court"

(Canada)

Verified Review | We were on a 10 hour layover in Taipei Taoyuan Airport, and it was the best. Little nooks and places to sleep while waiting. The airport has a good food court on the second floor and the showers are great after a long 15 hour flight. The airport does not come alive until about 7 am. We arrived at about 5 am and the airport was nice and quiet. To have a layover in this airport is great.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"queues out of immigration were horrendously long"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | MNL-TPE return for a family holiday. Arrived at 0630H with a couple of other flights at T2. Structure was quite well organized but the queues out of immigration were horrendously long and slow considering it is not a peak arrival time. It took us the better part of an hour to exit immigration. Baggage claim was quick with our bags waiting for us at the carousel when we got there. Signages in the arrival hall was easy to read and the layout of the terminal was easy to navigate. On departure, we had a bit of a challenge looking for the departure hall as the bus we took stopped outside the arrival area and the path from arrival to departure was not as intuitive as Changi, but the signages were able to properly point us the way. Security and immigration was, like arrival, a slow crawl but a tad more efficient going out. Airside, there are numerous shopping and dining areas as well as rest areas to await one's flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"baggage retrieval was swift"

(United Kingdom)

Taipei must now rank among one of the better airports in Asia and as a frequent traveler I would give it 5 stars. On arrival in the late afternoon there were no queues at all at passport control. Baggage retrieval was swift with very little waiting. Toilet facilities were spotless. Easy to use airport wifi with no lengthy login procedures. Excellent regular bus connection to town and the High Speed Rail station.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 82 Reviews