Vote Now  

Taipei Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 86 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"queues out of immigration were horrendously long"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | MNL-TPE return for a family holiday. Arrived at 0630H with a couple of other flights at T2. Structure was quite well organized but the queues out of immigration were horrendously long and slow considering it is not a peak arrival time. It took us the better part of an hour to exit immigration. Baggage claim was quick with our bags waiting for us at the carousel when we got there. Signages in the arrival hall was easy to read and the layout of the terminal was easy to navigate. On departure, we had a bit of a challenge looking for the departure hall as the bus we took stopped outside the arrival area and the path from arrival to departure was not as intuitive as Changi, but the signages were able to properly point us the way. Security and immigration was, like arrival, a slow crawl but a tad more efficient going out. Airside, there are numerous shopping and dining areas as well as rest areas to await one's flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"baggage retrieval was swift"

(United Kingdom)

Taipei must now rank among one of the better airports in Asia and as a frequent traveler I would give it 5 stars. On arrival in the late afternoon there were no queues at all at passport control. Baggage retrieval was swift with very little waiting. Toilet facilities were spotless. Easy to use airport wifi with no lengthy login procedures. Excellent regular bus connection to town and the High Speed Rail station.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"not a single normal shop is open"

(United Kingdom)

Very frustrating to find that although the terminal looks nice behind all the covering sheets, not a single normal shop is open. I do understand we have come early (at 5am) but I expect at the very least we should be able to buy a drink or some food. If you fly flights that early you should provide basic food/drinks. We are left starving with only a vending machine for water - unless we buy alcohol at duty free and drink that? Think Taoyuan Airport should think again about its facilities for its passengers. We also just spend 20 mins in the queue for security before even entering the terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"really nice efficient and super-clean"

(United Kingdom)

Not the most modern but a really nice efficient and super-clean (like the rest of Taiwan) airport. I was off the plane with Cathay Pacific and landside with baggage in less than 20 minutes. Security was busy but professional, efficient and cordial - English proficiency like most of Taiwan isn't so great but the helpful, friendly nature of Taiwanese people comes through despite sometimes the language barriers. The only thing that would be useful is if Telecoms shops were open until the last flights - so tourists such as myself can buy a SIM card which is essential if you are not a Mandarin speaker to get around. Happy to travel through here again though and one of the best Airport experiences I've had across the world.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very clean and organized airport"

(United States)

Very clean and organized airport with lots of dining options, from Burger King to pasta to drinks. Also security checks go fast with great service. Very spacious as well. There is free WiFi at the airport and it is pretty fast. Major hub for EVA Air and China Airlines. Good airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"you won't get bored"

(United States)

Taipei is a nice, clean airport. Lots of shops and restaurants available in both terminals if you arrive early - you won't get bored for as much as 3 hours. Wait times for customs and immigration are not terrible. Wait times for security can be a bit long when departing, depending on the time of day, but it's not any worse than with TSA in the US.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"feels very clean and spacious"

(Netherlands)

The airport is a modern looking airport that probably meets a lot of top level standards. Every inch of the building looks and feels very clean and spacious. There are plenty of shops and great foodcourt in the basement of the airport. Immigration process was very efficient and quick. Very friendly airport staff. It has very large check in area and good signage and directions everywhere. Security checks area more than sufficient to cope with a large amount of passengers. Modern tools and devices are used for security checks.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"great smoking area"

(Hong Kong)

Terminal 1 on arrival was negative. Unbearably long queue (one hour) at immigration, poor choice of cash machines (nothing for HSBC cardholders who need Bank of Taiwan ATMs), long queue to take a coach into down. No easy alternative into town: expensive taxi or not user friendly high speed train. Positive: scratching my head. Oh yes, it's clean and you are in wonderful Taiwan. At departure TWD 1,260 from the centre of Taipei in taxi fare. As mentioned by others, some xray checking for luggage but quick and easy. Once you have walked a little after passport checking you are in a long corridor with boarding gates on one side and duty free shops on the other. Not very welcoming. I have never checked the cost of pineapple cakes (to take back to the office) but really they are expensive. Essentially TWD 450 for 15 biscuits if you are lucky. Positives are fast immigration and security on departures. Great smoking area near gate 8 which is outdoors but enclosed enough to shelter smokers from bad weather.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport has shown huge improvements"

(Hong Kong)

This airport has shown huge improvements since my last visit a few years ago. The terminal looked very new after major renovation work and was comfortable to use. I was rudely yelled at by an airport cleaning staff member carrying baggage trolleys to keep out of her way, but other than this other airport staff members including airline ground staff and security / immigration were all quite polite and friendly. The airport was mostly clean and toilets were mostly neat and tidy. Airport dining options were slightly below satisfaction and shops were just up to standard. It took us ages to get through immigration upon arrival as only around 5 counters were open for many big flights arriving at the same time. Nonetheless a very good airport in terms of efficiency and hospitality.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"horrible immigration process"

(Singapore)

Horrible immigration process in Taipei - waiting time is 1 hour plus. Only 3 immigration windows are open to non-Taiwan citizen. I have been travelling to Taiwan in the last couple years and the government doesn't seem to have the incentive to improve the process at all. Avoid traveling to Taoyuan Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 74 Reviews