Taipei Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 116 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"certainly needs a refurbishment"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I had a few hours in transit so I had enough time to explore both terminals. Terminal 1 is old and tired and certainly needs a refurbishment. Terminal 2 is more modern and looks much better. I can appreciate the fact that most gates had a unique Taiwanese theme which was rather interesting. There was a wide choice of eating establishments with cuisine from Chinese to American to Italian. The Wi-Fi in both terminals was good despite occasionally dropping off.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"a very pleasant experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was my sixth time making a transit in this airport en-route to Jakarta and back. Obviously I am only in transit from one flight to another but my experience has always been excellent. Eva Air has their process very well planned and very easily you exit the plane and make it through the check point to the other level to find your outbound gate. My flight has a 3 hour layover in Taipei and you have ample time to do some sightseeing in the terminal, check some stores, (most certainly the Hello Kitty store,) and the many restaurants that are open at that hour of the morning serving breakfast. The signage all in the terminal that I walked through were legible and easy to understand and the one time I needed assistance from the Customer Service desk, they were very helpful and polite. It always has been a very pleasant experience in this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"friendly atmosphere of the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It's the most friendly airport I've been to. Not only the airport staff were always willing to help, even the cleaners were extremely friendly. Furthermore, the signs and directions were all really clear. Overall, I loved the friendly atmosphere of the airport, which truly reflects the country's citizens as well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"enjoyed the various themes"

(China)

Trip Verified | I especially enjoyed the various themes of the airport gates, including the hello kitty theme, and ones where there were exhibitions of artifacts that are an excellent representation of the vivid Taiwanese culture. Also, the food and small souvenirs there were not too expensive compared to other world-class airports, to which Taiwan Taoyuan International Airport definitely belongs. Can't wait for the terminal three to be finished.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"an overall great experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I’ve now flown into and out of Taoyuan Airport (TPE) 8 times over the past 3 years and each visit has been an overall great experience. The security and immigration control agents are extremely friendly and the lines move pretty quickly. The customs/declaration agent on my last trip was also very helpful. The airport itself is clean, the lounges are decent and the food options aren’t bad either. Some of the gates have a theme, like “Hello Kitty”. I also found another area that was setup for e-gaming with full desktop computers connected to each other via LAN that anyone could hop on and play. They also had a few PlayStation 4s setup with a little cockpit and steering wheel, also free to play. The entire airport, like much of Taiwan also has free wifi. It’s also very easy to get a local sim-card from one of the many stands once you clear immigration, just be sure to check the hours first as many of the sim kiosk close around 10pm. There is a very nice metro train that goes directly from the airport to Taipei Main Station in about 30 minutes for $160nt or a little over $5usd, take the Purple (express train). You can also take a taxi, just follow the signs that say TAXI and an airport official will get you a cab. Overall, great airport, great staff, great country!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Departing was quite efficient"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | After reading previous reviews was slightly concerned that I would miss the last train into the city as I had a late evening arrival. Need not have worried. Whilst immigration was a little slow it gave time for my bag to come around and I was through within 30 minutes. Departing was quite efficient again and the selection of duty free was very good. Given that Taipei has many late night departures it was a bit disappointing that the food court upstairs closed at 10pm so I had to board my flight hungry, One strange quirk, my mosquito repellent was confiscated even though it was in my checked baggage. Never before or since, anywhere else, has this occurred.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"Small and crowded"

(United States)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports in the world. On time arrival always slowed down by the taxiing and waiting for an open gate. Moving sidewalks are small and one way only. The international airport is designed like a local bus terminal. Small and crowded. The longest check-in line for security check every morning. Many walk-flows are wasting customer's time. No escalator to each gate. Airflow also not smooth, often feels stuffed and suffocated. In need of a brand new terminal to catch up the era compare to other neighborhood countries.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"does work really hard to provide good service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived at Taipei airport on Chinese New Years' Eve early evening. The arrival area wasn't particularly busy (assuming a lot of locals were leaving the country for their holiday). The airport was clean despite having very low ceiling. Toilets were all spotless and the wifi worked perfect. It is obvious that Taipei airport cannot compete with other major Asian hubs in terms of size and modern design but it does work really hard to provide good service. Immigration was bit slow in Terminal 1 - a hold up of up to 20 minutes and there weren't even many people queue. Once through immigration and reclaiming luggage I used the taxi service into Taipei. Taxi service is always available and the service is excellent. Departure from T1 is also smooth. Again it does not have a grand departure hall but everything is functional. It is a shame that the security queues in both T1 and T2 are always long even if you are traveling business class (there is no priority lane). The airport created a lot of "themed gates" and provided additional facilities (library, small museum and nice waiting area next to the airlines lounge).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"very slow progression"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | I frequently depart from Taiwan Taoyuan Airport. The queue at check-in counter is always one of the longest than all other airports, with very slow progression. Arriving at the check-in counter 2 hours prior to flight could take up to more than an hour to complete check-in! Limited choice of F&B after security check in Terminal One.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"behind major airports in Asia"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Opposite to a very smooth and efficient arrival experience, departure is a different story. I caught the early morning flight from TPE-LHR via BKK with EVA Air. The airport at 7 am was packed. Check in for business class was very easy as there was not a long queue but the economy check in seemed very chaotic. Once the check in was done the real nightmare started. There was a long queue for the security check - the queue extended in the main departure hall and it took me at least 15-20 minutes to reach the security. I have never experienced this before in any of the international airport. T2 of TPE airport being the home base for EVA there was no priority lane for business class passengers which was very poor. Once through the security there was another queue (slightly shorter) for immigration. It was better organised. After immigration the airside has nothing to write home about. It was dark and dated, and the EVA lounge again was substandard - very noisy and crowded. Shopping was poor not a lot of local products. The good thing about this airport (T2 in particular) is that it is a fairly small terminal and you don't have to walk miles to reach your gate. It is also kept clean and the airport company does try hard to create some "theme" in various gates. All in all it's lagging behind all major airports in Asia.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 95 Reviews