Rhodes Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 63 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"we found it to be bright and clean"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Had a late flight home with Jet2 on Saturday 11th August. Having read the reviews I expected a third world country airport. This is a modern building and we found it to be bright and clean. There was the separate screening of hold luggage after checkin but didn't prove a problem. There was 7 of us travelling together. Security was quick and friendly. Although airport was very busy we found seats together in departures. Some lovely shops there too and a small bottle of water was only 50 cents. The loos were clean too.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Total chaos and indifference"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Total chaos and indifference. Due to system outage the waiting time for check-in was finally 6 hours. No water provided, no place to sit in a totally overcrowded airport hall. Families with little toddlers ending up at the end of the queue because of pushing people. Rude behaviour, shouting, heat. During the 6 hours no communication at all from airport staff on whether planes would go or be cancelled. No diapers or help provided upon request for support for feeding and cooling of baby child. Again long waiting and chaos before security check. If there would have been a fire or other incident the crowd would have been out of control, without any management or organization from the airport. An experience not to repeat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"zero help or information"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It’s hard to believe that this airport was not situated in a third-World country. Their systems were down and they were having to manually check luggage in. We queued almost 4 hours in muggy heat to do this with zero help or information from Jet2. Amazingly the flight time on the board stayed constant the whole time - no updates were provided whatsoever. Jet2 were utterly useless - affording people one bottle of water per party only when you had reached the front of the queue. You would have thought that they were handing out Bollinger by their attitude! Minutes later you had to drink/abandon it as you went to passport control to wait some more. There was no update information at the gate - the flight was still showing 10pm even though by now it was after 11pm. Finally got on plane and we sat on the runway for a further 1 hour and 45 minutes waiting for 3 passengers or so they told us. The ‘three passengers’ never actually got on and we were eventually told that ‘ all paperwork has been verified’ after one of the airport staff on a high vis jacket had bumbled back and forth between the terminal and the plane, we finally embarked on a four hour flight. Shockingly bad service. Avoid both this airport and Jet2 like the plague.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"pax waiting and sleeping on floor"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | About 1000 pax waiting and sleeping on floor. Computer problem, no flights landing or departing. No drinking water available at airport! No air-conditioning on or working. Ignorant management. No information at all. After waiting 6 hours we had to find a hotel at 4am without any assistance’s of the unwilling to help airport staff. Don’t travel to Greece, if you don’t have to.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Hundreds of people waiting"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | When we arrived we had to wait outside on the runway because 4 or 5 other flights arrived at the same time. Hundreds of people waiting to have their passports checked, took a good hour before it actually started moving. It only started moving when they got a couple of policemen checking passports, my wife has a Czech passport the policeman had to go ask the immigration officer if it was ok to let her in! How safe are these passport checks not to mention how safe is it to keep hundreds of people on a runway? We even had an airplane turn and park about 10 metres from us.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the queues were massive"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | During my many years traveling on both business and personal reasons, I’ve flown into some terrible airports, some of which were in the developing world, but for an EU member state country such as Greece, Rhodes airport has to be up there at the top of the pile. Upon arrival, it took the ground staff a good 10-15 minutes to get steps in place, but as we arrived at the immigration area, the queues were massive. There was no organisation or layout, just a total free for all. 45 minutes later we made it through to the baggage reclaim where our flight was not listed on the carousel listing. It appears they just limp every inbound flight onto the same carousel - nightmare. Coming to Rhodes this summer, expect chaos, disorganisation and very unmotivated staff. Visit the other Greek islands instead, they at least seem to have their act together.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"we were pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having read many worrying reviews regarding this airport, we were pleasantly surprised at the speed and efficiency we experienced! The staff were very useful and friendly, it was the quickest process at any airport I have experienced so far.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a lot of very irate people"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Got to Rhodes airport at 20:30. Baggage check-in was fine. There was a 30 minute queue to get hand luggage scanned which wasn't a problem. After your bags are scanned you then need to go to passport control. The queue for this was 4 deep and stretched the whole length of the building. As you can imagine a lot of very irate people thinking they would miss thier flights. No one at the airport was giving out any information as to why the queue was this long. It was moving very slow and I was in doubt if I would get past in time for my flight at 22:20. Suddenly the queue started moving at a much faster rate. When I got nearer the front it became obvious why. All the desks had been opened and manned by the police who just glimpsed at your passport and ushered you through. As policemen further down the line told people to hurry up. As luck had it my flight was running 60 mins late so I got through with time to spare.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport, totally chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport, totally chaotic. We were collected on Saturday from hotel and arrived at airport with 2 hours to spare. Problem was TUI seem to organise it so badly that coaches all arrived at the same time. Check in desks were 39-44 and initially we queued outside airport as queue so long. We finally reached check in desk after one hour and 25 minutes! We therefore had only 35 minutes to our flight! Trouble was people were being diverted to front of our queue as they were in danger of missing their flights. Couple in front removing items dumping them on floor as they were over allowance. People running around panicking, it was awful. When we eventually reached check in, our cases were weighed and this is serious, as we had 20kg allowance each, and I was astonished our cases jointly weighed 39.5kg. On our return I weighed our cases on accurate scales 36.5kg! Incidentally on our outbound flight we were 34kg and the items bought on holiday weighed 2kg ish totalling 36.5. It's clear their scales are inaccurate, anyone who was charged extra £15 per kilo may not have been over their allowance. Make of that what you will. After an hour and a half wait for check in, you remove luggage and join yet another queue to put cases through scanner, dash through up escalator, through security and reached gate 14 at 22.00, our flight 22.05. Two solid hours queuing. Would never go there again. No staff no help. Read reviews on another site all saying the same.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not fit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is old, chaotic and not fit for purpose. However, do not blame the Greeks. The Germans bought this airport lock, stock and barrel over three years ago and have not spent a penny and have reduced staff numbers. They have bought up most of the assets on the island and are doing the same thing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews