Phoenix Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 62 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Delays have the entire airport behind"

(United States)

Not Verified | Delays have the entire airport behind with counter attendants giving half answers in order to get you to leave them alone so they can to the same to the next person. No compensation given for when their construction delays cause me to miss my connecting flight resulting in an 18 hour layover and expensive last minute sleeping arrangements as well as missed earning potential.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"was deliberately misdirected"

(United States)

Trip Verified | “Everyone is TSA Pre Check Today”. Was travelling with two children and was deliberately misdirected by two male airport security employees when asked to be directed to the TSA Pre-check despite being an TSA approved traveller. No good reason for doing this except to harass a female parent travelling alone with two children. What a shame. I saw other passenger behind me being directed to TSA without hitch so I went back and entered the line without seeing their “assistance”.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Most poorly laid out airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Cannot for the life of me figure out why someone designed an airport where to connect between the terminals you have to exit a terminal and go through security again. I was traveling with a friend who was in a different terminal so I went to the friend’s terminal to have breakfast. No one bothered to tell me I was in the wrong terminal or warn me I couldn’t get to my terminal from where I was. I had to go outside, walked a lot, and re-enter security. Most poorly laid out airport I’ve ever been in.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"poorly managed Duty Free"

(Canada)

Verified Review | I travel to/from Phoenix at least twice a year and this is an ongoing issue: Out of all the airports I have ever visited Sky Harbor wins for most unreliable, ill-prepared, poorly managed Duty Free ever. For this most recent flight Nov 15th 2017? Just the littlest kiosk was open in the B gates. No alcohol and no cigarettes. Sad.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst airports I have been to"

(Canada)

Verified Review | This airport is the one of the worst airports I have been to. It was September 5th at 4.30 am, and I was heading to Screening zone before heading to the gate. There was a huge line up at that time and they opened 3 lanes for screening. 1 for express and 2 for general boarding. Apparently a screening-machine was malfunctioning in one of the 2 general boarding lanes. Instead of opening another lane to deal with the congested line, staffs merged two lanes into one. That resulted in adding extra 10~20 minutes of everyone's waiting time and limited space for people pick up their belongings after passing the screening line. While I was picking up my belongings after passing the screening-machine, staff said "you are taking up too much space and not letting others having the space for picking up their belongings". This was very upsetting because all this happened due to their malfunctioning machine and merging two lanes into one. I had never problem with this kind of situation because I pick up my belongings pretty fast. Lots of people were complaining at that time but staffs did nothing about it and did not want to open another lane to deal with this situation, that was very lazy of them and stupid. There really needs to be procedures to deal with this kind of situation. Otherwise it will happen again and that would be just silly, because this is an easy fix. Hopefully whoever works in Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport see this review and bring it up in their meeting and come up with better procedure for this kind of situation. Plus, the wifi is horrible too. This is 2017 and there is still issue with weak signal. Come on.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Very disappointing"

(United States)

Unverified | Very disappointing. The guy at the information desk gave me misinformation - not once, but twice. Wrong information about baggage claim and about airport shuttles. Seemed very bored and disinterested in helping anyone. The American Airlines baggage claim was a mess. Signs giving the baggage claim area for my flight were all wrong. What a mess.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Baggage Claim area was abysmal"

(United States)

Unverified | Baggage Claim area was abysmal. Frontier Airlines from COS arrived with info that bags would be on 4. No signs were at Carousel 4, but they were switched to 5. Bags came from 5, but stopped before the last bags came out. Someone noticed a flashing yellow light. No one was in the area to assist. Delta said the problem was Frontier's not theirs and we'd have to go to the ticket counter. The info counter person said she didn't have a phone and couldn't call. She has a phone. Frontier ticket counter said it's not their problem, the carousels belong to the City of Phoenix. City of Phoenix said that the carousel doesn't stop unless there's a jam and that's Frontier's problem. After about 45 minutes of this a Frontier ticket agent went into an elevator and got someone to finally react. Some mysterious guy apparently pushed on the flashing yellow light and the belts started moving. This shouldn't happen at what is claimed to be a Friendly Airport. Someone should be available to assure the carousels are working properly, regardless of which airline is using them. Bad experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst airports in the US"

(United States)

Verified Review | This is one of the worst airports in the US. The terminals are spread out all over the place, making connections a chore. If you have a connecting flight in a different terminal than you've arrived, be prepared to walk a lot. It also seems that this airport is unable to accommodate the number of airlines/flights arriving and departing. I've taken several departing flights that have left the gate early or on time, only to end up delayed 45-60 minutes because of taxiing and other tarmac traffic delays. Avoid this airport if you can!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"direct route back to the main lobby is blocked"

(United States)

Occasionally, when my flight is delayed and arrives at the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport after about 10.00pm, the direct route back to the main lobby is blocked after deplaning at Terminal D. Subsequently, hundreds of passengers from various gates at the terminal and myself are re-directed to Terminal C, that adds about 750 feet (that's about 2 1/2 football fields long) to our tired trek home. It's rather disheartening and seems the City is too cheap to provide the needed security guard to watch us exiting Terminal D.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"unnecessary and badly organised"

(United Kingdom)

I have no problem with security checks - keeps us safe but after a 10 hour flight - the equivalent of 3 am for us we waited at passport control for over an hour, with, at times, only 1 booth dealing with the non American, non special assistance passengers. It was unnecessary and badly organised. Experience certainly didn't feel like "Welcome to America".
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews