Top 100 Airports  

Perth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 165 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"nice airport with room for improvement"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth International Airport can definitely improve but for an airport with a city of only 3 million people, this airport meets the standards. The airport has recently been overhauled and is much better than it used to be. The check-in areas are easy to navigate although queues can be long on some flights. The security areas are up to standard. There are many places to eat and many shops. There is a nice viewing area where you can see the planes and the Domestic terminal. There is nice Duty-Free areas where you can do some shopping before your flight. The Departure Hall is not very good. There are few places to eat if you are not in the lounge and limited shops. Although, the Departure Hall is to be refurbished so hopefully it can be better. Overall a nice airport with room for improvement.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"simply massively inadequate"

(Australia)

The quickest I have ever got through Perth Airport is 25 minutes from getting off the plane to getting a taxi. This time was not the quickest. Okay, a rather late Emirates A380 and a Scoot 787 beat our Air New Zealand 787 to the terminal but it showed how utterly appalling the airport is when it gets busy. A Qatar A330 arrived 20 minutes later to add to the shambles. Ignoring the marathon walk from Gate 50, the queue to get through immigration was all the way through the inbound duty free store. An hour later and we are still trying to get through immigration. 10 Smart Gates and initially 2 passport control desks to handle about 800 to 1000 people is simply massively inadequate. When they opened up some more passport control desks (although one already opened desk then closed as the officer went onto a break), things started to a move a little quicker - if you were at the back of the queue from where they directed passengers to the newly opened desks. The only consolation was that we did not have to wait for our baggage - it was merrily going round and round on the carousel. However, we then join another long queue to get through biosecurity, 2 hours and 5 minutes after getting off the plane, we finally got out of the terminal. Yes it was unusually busy but there were immigration and biosecurity staff standing around seemingly doing nothing who could have been doing lots to help move the huge queues.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not enough baggage handlers"

(Australia)

Arrived at Perth airport same time as per the last 6 years - month of July. Now 2016 Passport control very efficient this time. But took 45 mins for our luggage to come out on the conveyor belt. Obviously not enough baggage handlers. By that time another plane had landed so of course chaos in the queue to check out. Can't cope with x2 A380s landing at the same time Eh? There is always something Perth airport. Never had any of these issues in Europe. Writing this still stuck in queue. Probably get through in about another hour.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"WiFi service was good"

(Singapore)

Perth airport signs were helpful but the staff was not so great for the departure hall. Shopping options was not as good as expected. The queue was long for departure where they have to check the passports and the security check but the WiFi service was good and I was able to connect easily. Overall, some areas were disappointing but I will recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the queue was so long"

(Hong Kong)

After writing a very positive review about this airport for the arrival, this airport faired just average on departure. Check in part was good, as it's been expanded and newly built. Come time for immigration, it was only minded by 2 officers at 8am peak time, the queue was so long. No priority given to any first or business class passengers, unlike in Sydney. The lounge and departure hall more or less remains the same old format. Unless major renovations and procedures of immigration improve, I can only give them a passing mark. I was told change is in the air and very soon. Lets hope the next trip it will be fantastic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"we were very surprised"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived here from Singapore expecting the worst because its earlier reviews are fairly awful. We were very surprised. Immigration took seconds (literally) and we were through both sets of machines without any problems helped by the fact that there were no queues and that there was someone there to ensure we did things the correct way. Our cards were then stamped by a BioSecurity representative (after a few questions) and we proceeded to baggage. It took about 15 minutes for both bags to arrive, a very short queue at Customs and BioSecurity and we were outside possibly 30 minutes after landing. A helpful security person at the roadside directed us to the taxi rank and even radioed his colleague at the rank to tell him we were coming. $45 later, we were in downtown Perth. A total "no worries mate" for us.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"what a huge improvement"

(Hong Kong)

What a huge improvement Perth airport had gone through since 2 years ago. Arrived at 7am, we were the only flight, now immigration was not manned by staff but using an electronic system instead, very modern and efficient. Upon arrival, priority bags were quickly delivered (TG), hardly any queues at quarantine, I was out of there in about 20 minutes, this was truly amazing. Thinking back in those days, where we had to be processed rude staffs, one queue and all that, all were things of the past. I was told that Perth airport is the most modern airport in Australia at the moment. I am not sure of that, but it sure has improved in leaps and bounds.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"lacking staff training at customs"

(Australia)

I'm here every few weeks. I was hoping the upgrade would improve a basically country town airport. It did not. Still lacking staff training at customs, rude and abrubt staff. Still only one duty free shop with some items cheaper to buy at Coles. Only one bar/cafe run by what seems like untrained backpackers. Limited comfortable seating, lots of seating but not much comfort. My plane was delayed but no available staff to answer any questions once through customs. The only degree of friendliness was an I.S.S. cleaner who guided myself and a family of 6 close to me as best she could.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a truly unpleasant experience"

(Australia)

Terrible queues. Passport check in is extremely slow, especially for Australians. Customs had a mammoth queue which took forever to get through. An embarrassment for Australia. No seating around the place. Signage was poor. Not enough toilets. All in all a truly unpleasant experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"let down by the airport staff"

(Australia)

I have been in and out of this airport dozens of times over the last 5 years and without a doubt it is seriously let down by the airport staff. In particular the International Arrivals service by Australian Customs is a disgrace. All the facilities appear to be in place for a smooth operation but invariably as an arriving passenger you are subjected to an hour long wait in the baggage claim area waiting for customs clearance. It is particularly poor when more than one flight comes in at the same time. It is almost as if the Airport Management are too incompetent to adapt staffing rosters to suit when flights are scheduled to come in. As a sweeping generalisation I have found that more often than not the staff are rude when you eventually deal with them. I had one incident about a year and a half ago where the queue took about 2hrs to get out from baggage claim with 1 staff member checking arrivals cards and about 5 watching on. This was particularly infuriating watching 3 full plane loads of people waiting for these clowns to get to work. Unfortunately the formal complaint I submitted never got a response. This just shows what the Perth Customs Team approach to customer service is like. Other than that - international departures is normally OK and domestic is good if you are a frequent flyer and about average if not.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no