Airline of the Year  

Perth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 175 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"poor connections to the city"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Perth is an average airport. For me, it seems a bit under dimensioned for its traffic, but it is very clean, very spacious, and very convenient. There is a free shower which is a very good point for travellers who were on very long flights. In the public area, the shopping and restaurant offer is very poor, but is largely better in the secure area. This airport has 2 minuses : the distance between international and domestic terminal, and the poor connections to the city, which is reachable only by a bus with poor schedule (doesn't run at night when international flights leave or arrive), or by taxi (quite expensive).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"very frustrating and very poorly planned"

(Australia)

Splitting the domestic terminals at opposite sides of the airport is a really frustrating move. I am frequent flyer who travels Qantas and Virgin, with a 30min wait to transfer between terminals to collect my car when I depart and arrive on different airlines is very frustrating and very poorly planned, possibly unique to Perth (not in a good way).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an almost impossible challenge by a complete lack of signage"

(Australia)

Arrived at the airport with plenty of time to make my flight but, because of the atrociously poor signage and ill conceived works on the carport it took 25 minutes to navigate my way to the security parking area. What should have been a simple 4 minute exercise was turned into an almost impossible challenge by a complete lack of signage. If I wanted to test my problem solving skills I'd do a cryptic crossword thanks!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a need for more aerobridges with rear plane access"

(Australia)

Customer comfort seems to be an Australia / New Zealand airport issue and probably at a number of worldwide airports with a lack of areo bridges and / or the need to board or exit the rear seated passengers via the rear stairs on to the tarmac. Airlines and / or airports are penalising the rear seated passengers by forcing them to constantly walk up and down stairs to get to tarmac level, with hand luggage which by the way has wheels for ease of use but not using stairs. The question is why bother about a fancy multistory terminals and fancy boarding areas and aerobridges. Passengers arrive on the aircraft hot and sweaty or cold and wet and flustered. There is a need for more aerobridges with rear plane access or board or exit all passengers via the front of the plane in customer comfort. I repeat customer comfort.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"customer service appalling"

(Australia)

Perth airport in general needs huge level of improvement - starting from accessing the airport, check in area and all the way to boarding. We experienced a fair deal of delay throughout. Check in line was so long and had to wait for about an hour. Luckily we were there well before time. While understanding heavy passenger traffic during holiday time, the management should have a proper plan to ensure passengers are least inconvenienced. The general attitude of staff adds to this misery. Customer service at certain points were appalling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"passed quickly through the new entry procedures"

(France)

Verified Review | Arrived into Perth along with other large aircraft but passed quickly through the new entry procedures. The volume of passengers was barely noticed in the renovated terminal. The only issue is the snaking exit checks - but they're somewhat needed. Customs were facilitated easily and stress free. Shops are good and the Qantas lounge was roomy (but terrible for food options). The major downfall are the awful steps down to the departure jetties. How is this even allowed?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"still lacking in both efficiency and customer service"

(Australia)

For a recently upgraded airport, Perth International is still lacking in both efficiency and customer service. There are limited automated passport processing stations, and no extra desks were opened even though it was taking a long time to move through. Signs and staff are unhelpful when moving through security and customs. Watched an elderly couple who did not speak English yelled at to "read the signs" by the customs officer on duty at the automated service when their photos didn't match their passports and they couldn't walk through the gates. They were clearly confussed and upset, and the instructions were not obvious. Experienced the same when departing the airport 3 weeks later. Would also like to point out this is the only International airport I have been to where the signs are only in English. The Wifi also would not connect during my arrival, and I didn't bother to check when departing. It is embarrassing for such a large city to have tourists met with this level of unorganisation and sheer rudeness.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not a pleasant place to visit"

(Australia)

Entered domestic terminal and the place was almost dark. Not inviting. Have to pay for a trolley. Have to walk all over the place to find a screen for arrivals. Not a pleasant place to visit. Should kick Dome out and put a decent food beverage establishment in.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"nice airport with room for improvement"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth International Airport can definitely improve but for an airport with a city of only 3 million people, this airport meets the standards. The airport has recently been overhauled and is much better than it used to be. The check-in areas are easy to navigate although queues can be long on some flights. The security areas are up to standard. There are many places to eat and many shops. There is a nice viewing area where you can see the planes and the Domestic terminal. There is nice Duty-Free areas where you can do some shopping before your flight. The Departure Hall is not very good. There are few places to eat if you are not in the lounge and limited shops. Although, the Departure Hall is to be refurbished so hopefully it can be better. Overall a nice airport with room for improvement.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"simply massively inadequate"

(Australia)

The quickest I have ever got through Perth Airport is 25 minutes from getting off the plane to getting a taxi. This time was not the quickest. Okay, a rather late Emirates A380 and a Scoot 787 beat our Air New Zealand 787 to the terminal but it showed how utterly appalling the airport is when it gets busy. A Qatar A330 arrived 20 minutes later to add to the shambles. Ignoring the marathon walk from Gate 50, the queue to get through immigration was all the way through the inbound duty free store. An hour later and we are still trying to get through immigration. 10 Smart Gates and initially 2 passport control desks to handle about 800 to 1000 people is simply massively inadequate. When they opened up some more passport control desks (although one already opened desk then closed as the officer went onto a break), things started to a move a little quicker - if you were at the back of the queue from where they directed passengers to the newly opened desks. The only consolation was that we did not have to wait for our baggage - it was merrily going round and round on the carousel. However, we then join another long queue to get through biosecurity, 2 hours and 5 minutes after getting off the plane, we finally got out of the terminal. Yes it was unusually busy but there were immigration and biosecurity staff standing around seemingly doing nothing who could have been doing lots to help move the huge queues.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no