Perth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 179 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Feels empty and sad"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Terminal 3, brutal. Good options are "Hudsons Coffee" or "two brews." Cheapest hot chips, $12.50, are you serious. Get a fast food joint in here stat to make the wait bearable. Otherwise it's so awful waiting for a flight and being ripped off massively to eat/drink/read anything. Feels empty and sad.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Do your homework beforehand"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Immigration was quick - I can't think of any other countries that use automatic clearance for non-citizens, although there was a delay of 15 minutes waiting for baggage as the handling agents were dealing with an outbound flight, but this was explained well. Arriving around midnight I had assumed that there would be courtesy phones for airline hotels and had managed to overlook noting the phone number down and didn't have a smart phone. There were not any. This might not have mattered if there had been a comprehensive enquiry desk (as there was in other cities on my trip) or many staff around. I had noted the address of the hotel but the taxi took me to the branch of the hotel in the city not the airport - not a problem I had at Singapore. Do your homework beforehand! I left from the Qantas domestic terminal which as other reviewers have said is the other side of the runway - a planning mistake found at most Australian airports other than Melbourne. The Qantas terminal was more than adequate.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"confusing signage"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I've just wasted 20 minutes driving between Perth Airport Terminal 2 and 4. Confusing signage saw me enter car parks, construction zones and eventually another 2 kilometre drive to the other side of the airport. When I returned my hire car, the Avis staff told me they receive many complaints from customers who experienced the same problems as me. My advice to tourists unfamiliar with Perth airport is to allow an extra 30 minutes for exploration travel.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"not a big airport, this is it's charm"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth is not a big airport, this is it's charm. Lots of flights tend to come and go in the middle of the night, Perth is at the end of the line, it is where airlines in Sydney and Singapore send their planes overnight to avoid curfew. A lot of investment has gone in over the last few years, it is not perfect but actually it's not bad at all. Turn up late for international check-in, after the hordes have subsided and you have no queues at baggage drop or immigration (now automated). X-ray is cheerful and efficient. The old international departures area is cramped in the middle but now expands massively at either end (Emirates or Bar). The steps down to the plane are still very 1986 and must, one day, be replaced by an escalator? Upon return the automated passport gates rarely have congestion, baggage reclaim could be faster (esp. when delays mean all flights arrive at the same time), the AQIS inspection is now so much quicker than before and there is a new Uber pickup area outside. The new road network has cut 10 mins off the access time to/from the airport. The last couple of times through here I thought, well, this is pretty damn good. You don't have to walk miles, either. Staff are cheerful, unlike US.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"poor connections to the city"

(Ukraine)

Verified Review | Perth is an average airport. For me, it seems a bit under dimensioned for its traffic, but it is very clean, very spacious, and very convenient. There is a free shower which is a very good point for travellers who were on very long flights. In the public area, the shopping and restaurant offer is very poor, but is largely better in the secure area. This airport has 2 minuses : the distance between international and domestic terminal, and the poor connections to the city, which is reachable only by a bus with poor schedule (doesn't run at night when international flights leave or arrive), or by taxi (quite expensive).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"very frustrating and very poorly planned"

(Australia)

Splitting the domestic terminals at opposite sides of the airport is a really frustrating move. I am frequent flyer who travels Qantas and Virgin, with a 30min wait to transfer between terminals to collect my car when I depart and arrive on different airlines is very frustrating and very poorly planned, possibly unique to Perth (not in a good way).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an almost impossible challenge by a complete lack of signage"

(Australia)

Arrived at the airport with plenty of time to make my flight but, because of the atrociously poor signage and ill conceived works on the carport it took 25 minutes to navigate my way to the security parking area. What should have been a simple 4 minute exercise was turned into an almost impossible challenge by a complete lack of signage. If I wanted to test my problem solving skills I'd do a cryptic crossword thanks!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a need for more aerobridges with rear plane access"

(Australia)

Customer comfort seems to be an Australia / New Zealand airport issue and probably at a number of worldwide airports with a lack of areo bridges and / or the need to board or exit the rear seated passengers via the rear stairs on to the tarmac. Airlines and / or airports are penalising the rear seated passengers by forcing them to constantly walk up and down stairs to get to tarmac level, with hand luggage which by the way has wheels for ease of use but not using stairs. The question is why bother about a fancy multistory terminals and fancy boarding areas and aerobridges. Passengers arrive on the aircraft hot and sweaty or cold and wet and flustered. There is a need for more aerobridges with rear plane access or board or exit all passengers via the front of the plane in customer comfort. I repeat customer comfort.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"customer service appalling"

(Australia)

Perth airport in general needs huge level of improvement - starting from accessing the airport, check in area and all the way to boarding. We experienced a fair deal of delay throughout. Check in line was so long and had to wait for about an hour. Luckily we were there well before time. While understanding heavy passenger traffic during holiday time, the management should have a proper plan to ensure passengers are least inconvenienced. The general attitude of staff adds to this misery. Customer service at certain points were appalling.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"passed quickly through the new entry procedures"

(France)

Verified Review | Arrived into Perth along with other large aircraft but passed quickly through the new entry procedures. The volume of passengers was barely noticed in the renovated terminal. The only issue is the snaking exit checks - but they're somewhat needed. Customs were facilitated easily and stress free. Shops are good and the Qantas lounge was roomy (but terrible for food options). The major downfall are the awful steps down to the departure jetties. How is this even allowed?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes