Top 100 Airlines  

Perth Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 167 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"still lacking in both efficiency and customer service"

(Australia)

For a recently upgraded airport, Perth International is still lacking in both efficiency and customer service. There are limited automated passport processing stations, and no extra desks were opened even though it was taking a long time to move through. Signs and staff are unhelpful when moving through security and customs. Watched an elderly couple who did not speak English yelled at to "read the signs" by the customs officer on duty at the automated service when their photos didn't match their passports and they couldn't walk through the gates. They were clearly confussed and upset, and the instructions were not obvious. Experienced the same when departing the airport 3 weeks later. Would also like to point out this is the only International airport I have been to where the signs are only in English. The Wifi also would not connect during my arrival, and I didn't bother to check when departing. It is embarrassing for such a large city to have tourists met with this level of unorganisation and sheer rudeness.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not a pleasant place to visit"

(Australia)

Entered domestic terminal and the place was almost dark. Not inviting. Have to pay for a trolley. Have to walk all over the place to find a screen for arrivals. Not a pleasant place to visit. Should kick Dome out and put a decent food beverage establishment in.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"nice airport with room for improvement"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Perth International Airport can definitely improve but for an airport with a city of only 3 million people, this airport meets the standards. The airport has recently been overhauled and is much better than it used to be. The check-in areas are easy to navigate although queues can be long on some flights. The security areas are up to standard. There are many places to eat and many shops. There is a nice viewing area where you can see the planes and the Domestic terminal. There is nice Duty-Free areas where you can do some shopping before your flight. The Departure Hall is not very good. There are few places to eat if you are not in the lounge and limited shops. Although, the Departure Hall is to be refurbished so hopefully it can be better. Overall a nice airport with room for improvement.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"simply massively inadequate"

(Australia)

The quickest I have ever got through Perth Airport is 25 minutes from getting off the plane to getting a taxi. This time was not the quickest. Okay, a rather late Emirates A380 and a Scoot 787 beat our Air New Zealand 787 to the terminal but it showed how utterly appalling the airport is when it gets busy. A Qatar A330 arrived 20 minutes later to add to the shambles. Ignoring the marathon walk from Gate 50, the queue to get through immigration was all the way through the inbound duty free store. An hour later and we are still trying to get through immigration. 10 Smart Gates and initially 2 passport control desks to handle about 800 to 1000 people is simply massively inadequate. When they opened up some more passport control desks (although one already opened desk then closed as the officer went onto a break), things started to a move a little quicker - if you were at the back of the queue from where they directed passengers to the newly opened desks. The only consolation was that we did not have to wait for our baggage - it was merrily going round and round on the carousel. However, we then join another long queue to get through biosecurity, 2 hours and 5 minutes after getting off the plane, we finally got out of the terminal. Yes it was unusually busy but there were immigration and biosecurity staff standing around seemingly doing nothing who could have been doing lots to help move the huge queues.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not enough baggage handlers"

(Australia)

Arrived at Perth airport same time as per the last 6 years - month of July. Now 2016 Passport control very efficient this time. But took 45 mins for our luggage to come out on the conveyor belt. Obviously not enough baggage handlers. By that time another plane had landed so of course chaos in the queue to check out. Can't cope with x2 A380s landing at the same time Eh? There is always something Perth airport. Never had any of these issues in Europe. Writing this still stuck in queue. Probably get through in about another hour.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"WiFi service was good"

(Singapore)

Perth airport signs were helpful but the staff was not so great for the departure hall. Shopping options was not as good as expected. The queue was long for departure where they have to check the passports and the security check but the WiFi service was good and I was able to connect easily. Overall, some areas were disappointing but I will recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"the queue was so long"

(Hong Kong)

After writing a very positive review about this airport for the arrival, this airport faired just average on departure. Check in part was good, as it's been expanded and newly built. Come time for immigration, it was only minded by 2 officers at 8am peak time, the queue was so long. No priority given to any first or business class passengers, unlike in Sydney. The lounge and departure hall more or less remains the same old format. Unless major renovations and procedures of immigration improve, I can only give them a passing mark. I was told change is in the air and very soon. Lets hope the next trip it will be fantastic.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"we were very surprised"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived here from Singapore expecting the worst because its earlier reviews are fairly awful. We were very surprised. Immigration took seconds (literally) and we were through both sets of machines without any problems helped by the fact that there were no queues and that there was someone there to ensure we did things the correct way. Our cards were then stamped by a BioSecurity representative (after a few questions) and we proceeded to baggage. It took about 15 minutes for both bags to arrive, a very short queue at Customs and BioSecurity and we were outside possibly 30 minutes after landing. A helpful security person at the roadside directed us to the taxi rank and even radioed his colleague at the rank to tell him we were coming. $45 later, we were in downtown Perth. A total "no worries mate" for us.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"what a huge improvement"

(Hong Kong)

What a huge improvement Perth airport had gone through since 2 years ago. Arrived at 7am, we were the only flight, now immigration was not manned by staff but using an electronic system instead, very modern and efficient. Upon arrival, priority bags were quickly delivered (TG), hardly any queues at quarantine, I was out of there in about 20 minutes, this was truly amazing. Thinking back in those days, where we had to be processed rude staffs, one queue and all that, all were things of the past. I was told that Perth airport is the most modern airport in Australia at the moment. I am not sure of that, but it sure has improved in leaps and bounds.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"lacking staff training at customs"

(Australia)

I'm here every few weeks. I was hoping the upgrade would improve a basically country town airport. It did not. Still lacking staff training at customs, rude and abrubt staff. Still only one duty free shop with some items cheaper to buy at Coles. Only one bar/cafe run by what seems like untrained backpackers. Limited comfortable seating, lots of seating but not much comfort. My plane was delayed but no available staff to answer any questions once through customs. The only degree of friendliness was an I.S.S. cleaner who guided myself and a family of 6 close to me as best she could.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no