Mumbai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 333 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"officers need to learn some manners"

(India)

Not Verified | I am a frequent traveler and have visited many countries in the last 6 years. I have never suffered so much in any other country to clear immigration than my own country India. These officers have no control over their language, they show very unprofessional behavior towards the people standing in the queue for hours. Yesterday I witnessed a very rude officer. A passenger was in queue for more than 1.5 hours for check-in luggage and to clear security, and then more than 1 hour to clear immigration. He spent 2.5 hours in the long queue. Finally he realized that his boarding had already started so requested the officer who was in charge of 'Child in Arms' queue to clear his immigration. But the officer became angry and took him back only to warn him to go back or he will unload his luggage. Such a rude unprofessional people are maligning India's name on a global platform. These officers need to learn some manners.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"endless, pointless bureaucracy"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | I regularly travel through Mumbai T2 and while it's a vast improvement on the old airport, it's still no fun, mainly due to endless, pointless bureaucracy, huge queues and India's outdated and ubiquitous policy of separating men and women at security. Security is beyond a joke with most of the staff standing around like lobotomised lemons leaving passengers to fight for a place in the disorganised scrum to get their bags scanned. Women are filtered via a separate, single line, while the men among us get the luxury of six or seven conveyor belts. Staff are generally rude, unhelpful and seem determined to make transiting this airport as unpleasant as possible. Not good enough India. Wake up!! It's the 21st century already.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Immigration was a nightmare"

(Germany)

Verified Review | BA139, London 10.15 flight to Mumbai, 23.45. Jet Airways 484, Mumbai, 02.30 flight to Kolkata, 05.10. Immigration at Mumbai was a nightmare. Horrible to clear immigration for a connecting flight. I had less than 2 hours to catch a domestic connection after an international flight from London. I would like to mention on 24 October between 12 to 1 am at night, the superviser at Immigration. It was after 40 minute waiting at the normal queue at 12.45 am, I knew I would never make it, so I came for help at counter 3 & 4, showing them that I had a connecting flight in an hour. This gentlemen told me it was not his problem and that I should go back to the normal queue as it would only take half hour. He started screaming at me and told me it was my fault if I missed the flight and I should have booked a different one. I am ashamed that this is the behaviour you recieve as a common man when you are in trouble. This counter was empty while no one bothered to help me out. Further I begged the GVK staff to help me out, they said madam this is an immigration issue we cant help you. This is ridiculous.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Facilities provided were clean"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Facilities provided were clean, my flight was early in the morning so lines were not that long, fairly easy transaction. Airline representative was knowledgeable, immigration officer were polite as well as security officers. Long walk to the gate was compensated by flat electronic escalators good experience overall.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"How is this an efficient system?"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | I will never travel to Mumbai Airport again. The security process for transit passengers is repeatedly traumatic. On the latest egregious occasion, it took 40 minutes to an hour to get through the security checkpoint, which was complete chaos after at least 150 passengers from five different flights were stuck there, some almost having nervous breakdowns at the prospect of missing their flights - which probably happens often! Why? 1)There are sections for men and women, but within those sections there is no clear system of queues or no ropes or tapes to guide everyone, such that everyone herds around the conveyor belt, before forming another mass around the sole operating full body scanner for women. The security officer behind the curtained section takes her sweet time, too. Why not double your staff immediately when you see giant queues forming? 2) You place your things on the conveyor belt and have to form a separate queue before the body scanner. Often this means that your things will be scanned way ahead of you and will be sitting there at the opposite end of the X-ray machine, unattended. This is illogical. What if you leave a wallet or a laptop there for 40 minutes while you wait to get through the scanner? What's to stop someone from taking them? 3) This also means that the terrible X-ray security staff cannot match belongings to their owner immediately when they spuriously decide to do further inspections. There's a cattle call at the end of the conveyor belt (if by some miracle you get through!) asking the security staffer to please send along the bags or at least inform the owner if their bag needs to be inspected further. This does not happen. Recently my bag had to be checked five times. Each time, it was not disclosed what I needed to show or take out. I was accused of bringing a lighter. I don't even smoke. Hoping he had some semblance of reason, I asked the officer to open my entire bag if he wanted to double-check that I did not have a lighter. All he said was "take out your lighter." Again, I did not have a lighter. He then proceeded to let it go through the X-ray two more times. How is this an efficient system? It is a complete nightmare! Moreover, isn't this system precluding paying fliers from enjoying the revamped airport and shopping or dining at restaurants, contributing to profits? 4. Speaking to the airline I flew with, staff at the airport are completely aware of the problem with transit security. But nothing is being done by the airport authority. It should look to airports that handle crowding well, like Hong Kong airport or even Charles de Gaulle in Paris, which is where we traveled from. Until that happens, Mumbai is a no-fly zone for me.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"immigration control was overcrowded"

(India)

Verified Review | Mumbai Airport immigration control area at 5am was overcrowded. The queue was moving very slowly. No administrator was seen around. Less than 50 percent windows were manned. People were skipping queue and arguing. Wheel chair queue was being misused by people and attendants. Wheelchair used 4 Windows. Others had to use fewer. Even the stamp checking guy had a big queue. Customs checking another 15 min queue. After Istanbul experience this is a shock.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"immigration was a nightmare"

(India)

Verified Review | Departed Mumbai on late night flight to Zurich. The check in facilities at the airport were fine however immigration was a nightmare - huge queues. Most counters were open so the queues moved fast but was still a 40 minute wait. Security was fast. Food options at the airport were limited and crowded and mainly fast food - there are only one or two nice places to sit and eat. Airport clean and efficient otherwise - many ground personnel to help you find your way to the very poorly signed gates. Lots of seating at gates plus charger points for phones.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"poor seating arrangements"

(India)

Verified Review | It's pathetic that customers have to organise for their own transportation between domestic and international terminals. It's not only adding to the cost but also time to travel to get a taxi and time to travel in between terminals. Too much time for immigration at the time of departure and poor seating arrangements. Although this airport T2 is built recently and much later than Delhi T3 but still Delhi airport is the best by far. Probably GMR have better commonsense than GVK.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"worst terminal to parking experience"

(India)

Worst terminal to parking experience. Took me 20 mins to walk from aero Bridge to exit without any check in baggage. Also security wise too unconventional. Only airport in recent times who confiscate your body sprays. This is after travelling over 20 airports within India with the a body spray every time. AAI has not managed to standardize this across airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"lack of adequate signage"

(Qatar)

Verified Review | Modern airport with ample space. Immigration was very fast and swift. Ample counters to tackle large crowds is welcoming. Arrived to transit to domestic flight so it was like arriving and then newly departing by checking in the luggage. Liked the airport with plenty of eatout options. Lack of adequate signage was the only downside noted and the domestic flight security check was at a snail pace contrary to immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes