Top 100 Airlines  

Mumbai Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 310 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"very good dining and shopping options"

(United States)

Flew round-trip between Mumbai and London on Jet Airways. Upon arrival in Mumbai, I was done with Immigration, baggage claim, and customs in 45 minutes. While departing Mumbai, passport control lines were very long. I really liked the ambiance in the boarding area, very pleasant lighting, decor, and music playing in the background. The airport also has very good dining and shopping options. I was not impressed by the bathrooms (both the quantity of stalls and their cleanliness).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"one of my worst airport transfers"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | One of my worst airport transfers. Usually at other airports, you get out of an aircraft, walk a few meters and the transfers area allows you to clear security and join the hold area without any hassle. But here at Mumbai, once you're out of an aircraft, walk all the way to the exit and and then go up to the check-in hall where again you walk miles to get to the gate. Although the terminal is swanky and clean, the process of transfer can be made easier on passengers. Then one has to sit in the aircraft for hours until we get clearance for take-off. The traffic out here is too much and a single runway cannot handle these many flights.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"most horrible experience"

(Oman)

Verified Review | On 11 Aug was returning to Oman with my elderly parents, travelling by business class. If you hold a business class ticket, Mumbai International airport has no counter for business class passenger (has a counter but not operational) and have to queue in the economy class line. Very rude immigration officer - have no respect if you are an elderly lady or an elderly on wheelchair. The police at the security check counter (four of them on two counters) were busy chatting away, taking their own sweet time to even check the computer screens, least bother to stamp the hand luggage (this is how Indian airport security functions) - for their negligence I had to go back in the queue to go through the security check all over again. The whole thing took us more than 90 minutes to be done and hardly had any time at the business class lounge. Most horrible experience. Such police men and immigration officer are disgrace to our country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"truly exceptional airport"

(Canada)

Mumbai is an airport that has character and personality. It has all the amenities of a western airport. Clean washrooms, excellent shopping and food options are all there. And being in India, it is very Indian in architecture and feel. Truly an exceptional airport - I enjoyed both my arrival and departure as both were smooth and without any issues at all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"quality of service is good"

(India)

One of the best airports in the world. The quality of service is good. The wifi is free, the net has decent speed to use. The toilets are very clean, no smell and the staff are helpful. And best part of all was there was no queue either at immigratin or customs or during security checks while departing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"between the future and the past"

(United Arab Emirates)

Great design and a vast improvement over the old international airport. Immigration is really short staffed but for the most part I have made it through in reasonable amount of time. The big issue that I seem to have is the shortage of immigration forms on departure and arrival. Once I had to pick up a half filled form off the floor and make it work. Whenever I've asked staff for more forms I get a blank stare. Definitely room for improvement there. Interestingly enough the bathroom attendants are very helpful and plentiful. They seem to be everywhere. The airport seems to be stuck in some twilight zone between the future and the past.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"great design but staffing is pathetic"

(United Kingdom)

Mumbai airport has a great design but the of course finishing in terms of staffing and coordination is purely pathetic. The airport is clean but immigrations take ages to clear, which is horrible since you have more than 50 counters yet half aren't even ever in operation. Complaints to staff fall on deaf ears, with the only answer provided is to complain on their websites, which is also useless. All the more if someone is ever wishing to travel to the city, be assured this airport is going to give you a very horrible travel experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"architectural marvel, service needs improvement"

(Germany)

So, the relatively new Mumbai airport terminal 2 (inaugurated in 2014), mainly used for international flights is beyond par excellence in some sense at least when compared to other Indian airports (haven't yet used the well renowned IGI Airport Terminal 3). Extremely fancy, swish and glamorous, giving you a very good feel both in departure and arrival. Infused with Indian art and cultural elements, it is beyond doubt an architectural marvel. When it comes to service however, it seriously needs improvement. The queues at passport control (when fully-staffed) move at a snail's pace. They could have more trained staff handling this kind of stuff. Again, go through passport control and you enter even more beautifully designed parts of the airport and airline ground staff is especially efficient with getting their passengers on the flight due to this new 'silent-airport' policy in place. I don't really know how much of a good thing that is. I guess time will tell. One particularly frustrating thing was not being able to make a local call once I entered the airport (I don't own an Indian SIM card). There were swanky telephone booths all across the terminal, and you needed something like a pay card to access them which were apparently available at the Info Desk (I didn't consider using my credit card as minimum payment was INR 100 and I didn't need to spend more than 10-20 as I was calling within Mumbai). This involved me going all the way back across the terminal to buy this card and they didn't end up having it because of some miscommunication. The man at the desk wasn't very supportive either. Connecting through WiFi was impossible if you didn't have an Indian number because you can only connect to it when you receive a password through their portal which requires entering an Indian number (at an International airport?). I ended up informing my family on entering my Emirates flight which had amazing WiFi connectivity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"many immigration counters but no staff"

(India)

Mumbai is one of the finest airports I have ever seen. The decor is perfect and it is grand but government should immediately action on the immigration queue which I have not seen anywhere else. There are so many immigration counters but no staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"excellent by all standards"

(India)

I landed at Mumbai's Chatrapati Shivaji International Airport on my return from New York. Undoubtedly, this is one of the finest airports I have visited. Large spaces, excellent decor, numerous eating joints and of course a large duty free shopping complex. The WiFi worked perfectly and there was abundant seating arrangements for passengers. Excellent airport by all standards.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes