Airline of the Year  

Kolkata Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 80 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"1.5 hrs for immigration"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Infrastructure at Kolkata airport is just a one time factor, but most important is the efficiency which the responsibility of the airport. What is the point if it still takes "1.5" hrs for immigration. This would not be acceptable at any other airport in the world. I don't mean to present the problem and not indicate at the solution, I also do not intend to point fingers at the immigration officers, who were doing their jobs. I see this as a problem of flight planning, either there are no flights or the place is full. There are times say at 830pm when immigration is completely free and the officers are waiting idling. After a little while the queue is almost until the airport entrance. The best part is no one seems to complain, its another queue in life at Kolkata. Personally, with all the millions spent to upgrade the infrastructure attention needs to be given to this key issue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"fast check-in to boarding route"

(India)

Verified Review | Kolkata is a vast and expansive airport. Needs a little warm colours to represent the city's warmth. Has very good food joints including Irish House. Easy and fast check-in to boarding route and plane. Very sustainable design with ample natural light and solar powered to an extent. Great customer service with cooperating personnel. Cabs (yellow cabs) as well as app cabs apart from luxury private cabs are ample and available 24/7 unlike my experience at Hyderabad Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"don't expect efficiency"

(United States)

Verified Review | My flight arrived at and departed from Calcutta literally at the dead of night. The flight was full and the immigration checks both times took longer than they needed to. It is a mystery to me as to why some times the examining of documents takes a minute or so and at other times almost 5 minutes - for the same passport and visa! A short form - a sort of landing card - is filled out for presentation to the immigration officer; no such forms at exit. A currency exchange kiosk with four individuals were changing foreign currencies into rupees - given that the Indian government had outlawed the 500 and 1000 rupee notes, one needed notes of lesser value to pay for the transport into town. Despite the kiosk being amply staffed only one transaction was executed at a time, because everyone was checking on the other's work and verifying all documentation. The prepaid cab service worked. I reached my destination in quick time. At departure, the check in was smooth but immigration again scrutinized my documents carefully. All in all, this remains an easy, uncomplicated, functional airport. Don't expect efficiency.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

Kolkata Airport customer review

(United States)

I was visiting Kolkata during their big cultural festival - Durga Puja - and thus both times arrival and departure was unusually crowded. Immigration checks to get in took longer because of the long lines. The officers at the counter were also rather slow. There is a duty free store with a selection of imported liquors and chocolates just before exiting the terminal. Good to pickup alcohol as the price is markedly lower than what it is in the city. On departure, there were long queues for security and immigration formalities but there was a counter for business class passengers for immigration which was quick but with no similar privilege for security check, it took longer to be processed and the baggage checking was quite thorough. The business class lounge had several dishes of festival food but the presentation was totally unappealing. The wifi service on the sole desk top computer did not work satisfactorily. I have used this airport many a time and it seems to function smoothly when passenger traffic is light. The festival-induced higher than average passenger footfall seems to strain the airport set up and diminishes the overall travel experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"uncrowded and quiet"

(United States)

Kolkata is an airport with relatively few international flights, hence, I have always found it uncrowded and quiet. At the immigration counter dedicated for e-visa travelers, I was the only person and the paperwork including capture of biometric data electronically was quick and smooth. In less than 10 minutes I was out of the terminal. Similar experience at departure. No hassles. Quick immigration and security checks. Airline staff exceedingly solicitous. We used jet bridges for arrival and departure saving us from exposure to the August heat. Without doubt, one of the easiest international airports to use.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"better than it used to be"

(India)

Kolkata airport is better than it used to be but the one thing that remains annoying is the extra 100rs cab charge that customers have to pay if you book a cab from airport. The behavior of the personal collecting this charge is ridiculous - Kolkata is considered as city of joy but such incidents can ruin your mood.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"easiest and fastest immigration"

(United States)

I have travelled through Kolkata many times and have continued to find it be among the easiest and fastest to clear immigration and customs whether coming into the country or leaving. A separate line for "Diplomats and Business Class" passengers ensures that you are often at the head of the queue or just behind. Immigration officers are polite and passport stamped without fuss. Just before you exit customs, there is a duty free liquor shop with a small but decent selection of alcohol and chocolate - very convenient to pick up a bottle or a box for your host in the city. Upstairs there is a business class lounge used by all airlines. It has comfortable couches, a decent bar, and a selection of Indian and western foods. A bit dark, could benefit from some brighter lighting. Not crowded at all - it certainly helps that there are not many international flights into and out of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"clean and easy"

(United States)

Its a pretty big airport for the number of passengers arriving and departing and hence seemed really empty even at peak hour. Clean and easy to travel through, the airport is pretty and modern. However, duty free is small, there are not much brands or eating places or leisure activities at the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"thoroughly depressing"

(United Kingdom)

As we arrived at the main entrance we were pointed in the direction of a totally isolated baggage scanning machine. After the bags had passed through the scanner a small sticky label was placed on the padlocks. We were not required to have hand luggage scanned at this point. We then had a walk of some 50-60 metres to our airline check-in desk. The label on my suitcase was so badly attached to the padlock that it would have been the easiest thing in the world to have opened the zip and slid a 'device' from my hand luggage into the suitcase. Facilities in the departure lounge were abysmal. We only saw two fast food outlets which offered very basic menus. One of them did offer limited alcoholic beverages. There were at most seven small shops offering goods of dubious quality. The toilet facilities were, at best, poor and at worst, disgusting. In the ladies toilets, one was chocked and overflowing and in another two there was no toilet paper available. I would suggest that the personnel in charge of toilets take a trip to Abu Dhabi or Singapore or Kuala Lumpur and see how they should be run. All in all a thoroughly depressing end to our stay in Kolkata
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"had to wait for over two hours"

(United States)

Although Kolkata now has a modern international terminal, there's no easy and friendly way one can transfer from one international flight to another. We arrived via Air India's international flight from DAC at 22.30 and needed to connect to Qatar Airways flight to DOH leaving at 03.05am the following morning. This is how it works at Kolkata's so called Transfer Desk: Air India staff, the ground handler at this airport, will collect the details and ask you to provide your passports and then they'll go to the other airline's (in our case Qatar Airways) check-in counter to verify your details and help obtain the boarding pass for the onward flight. They will alert you that this can take up to an hour. We refused to give our passports so the staff accommodated by taking pictures of our passport page showing pertinent details. Once the staff leaves, you're at the mercy of sitting on uncomfortable chairs and endless mosquito bites. In our case, we had to wait for over two hours for Qatar Airways to issue the boarding pass and have another Air India staff member bring them to us. Then wait for a Customs and Immigration Security Force (CISF) staff member to show up to escort you. In our case we only had to wait a further 20 minutes. The CISF escorted us upstairs to the departure level for screening and security check to allow entrance to Departure Level. The whole transit process would have taken maximum 20-30 minutes at BKK or HKG. I have gone through the same process at BOM taking about 45 minutes. They have a very modern international terminal but haven't figured out customer friendly transit process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 77 Reviews