Top 100 Airlines  

Kolkata Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 74 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"uncrowded and quiet"

(United States)

Kolkata is an airport with relatively few international flights, hence, I have always found it uncrowded and quiet. At the immigration counter dedicated for e-visa travelers, I was the only person and the paperwork including capture of biometric data electronically was quick and smooth. In less than 10 minutes I was out of the terminal. Similar experience at departure. No hassles. Quick immigration and security checks. Airline staff exceedingly solicitous. We used jet bridges for arrival and departure saving us from exposure to the August heat. Without doubt, one of the easiest international airports to use.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"better than it used to be"

(India)

Kolkata airport is better than it used to be but the one thing that remains annoying is the extra 100rs cab charge that customers have to pay if you book a cab from airport. The behavior of the personal collecting this charge is ridiculous - Kolkata is considered as city of joy but such incidents can ruin your mood.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"easiest and fastest immigration"

(United States)

I have travelled through Kolkata many times and have continued to find it be among the easiest and fastest to clear immigration and customs whether coming into the country or leaving. A separate line for "Diplomats and Business Class" passengers ensures that you are often at the head of the queue or just behind. Immigration officers are polite and passport stamped without fuss. Just before you exit customs, there is a duty free liquor shop with a small but decent selection of alcohol and chocolate - very convenient to pick up a bottle or a box for your host in the city. Upstairs there is a business class lounge used by all airlines. It has comfortable couches, a decent bar, and a selection of Indian and western foods. A bit dark, could benefit from some brighter lighting. Not crowded at all - it certainly helps that there are not many international flights into and out of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"clean and easy"

(United States)

Its a pretty big airport for the number of passengers arriving and departing and hence seemed really empty even at peak hour. Clean and easy to travel through, the airport is pretty and modern. However, duty free is small, there are not much brands or eating places or leisure activities at the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"thoroughly depressing"

(United Kingdom)

As we arrived at the main entrance we were pointed in the direction of a totally isolated baggage scanning machine. After the bags had passed through the scanner a small sticky label was placed on the padlocks. We were not required to have hand luggage scanned at this point. We then had a walk of some 50-60 metres to our airline check-in desk. The label on my suitcase was so badly attached to the padlock that it would have been the easiest thing in the world to have opened the zip and slid a 'device' from my hand luggage into the suitcase. Facilities in the departure lounge were abysmal. We only saw two fast food outlets which offered very basic menus. One of them did offer limited alcoholic beverages. There were at most seven small shops offering goods of dubious quality. The toilet facilities were, at best, poor and at worst, disgusting. In the ladies toilets, one was chocked and overflowing and in another two there was no toilet paper available. I would suggest that the personnel in charge of toilets take a trip to Abu Dhabi or Singapore or Kuala Lumpur and see how they should be run. All in all a thoroughly depressing end to our stay in Kolkata
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"had to wait for over two hours"

(United States)

Although Kolkata now has a modern international terminal, there's no easy and friendly way one can transfer from one international flight to another. We arrived via Air India's international flight from DAC at 22.30 and needed to connect to Qatar Airways flight to DOH leaving at 03.05am the following morning. This is how it works at Kolkata's so called Transfer Desk: Air India staff, the ground handler at this airport, will collect the details and ask you to provide your passports and then they'll go to the other airline's (in our case Qatar Airways) check-in counter to verify your details and help obtain the boarding pass for the onward flight. They will alert you that this can take up to an hour. We refused to give our passports so the staff accommodated by taking pictures of our passport page showing pertinent details. Once the staff leaves, you're at the mercy of sitting on uncomfortable chairs and endless mosquito bites. In our case, we had to wait for over two hours for Qatar Airways to issue the boarding pass and have another Air India staff member bring them to us. Then wait for a Customs and Immigration Security Force (CISF) staff member to show up to escort you. In our case we only had to wait a further 20 minutes. The CISF escorted us upstairs to the departure level for screening and security check to allow entrance to Departure Level. The whole transit process would have taken maximum 20-30 minutes at BKK or HKG. I have gone through the same process at BOM taking about 45 minutes. They have a very modern international terminal but haven't figured out customer friendly transit process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"condition was horrible"

(United Kingdom)

I had a connecting flight with Air Asia to Melbourne from Kolkata. Customs and security check was wonderful but the sad part was the cleanliness of the washrooms. They smelt so bad and the condition was horrible with no toilet paper and a wet floor. Airport authorities need to be stricter, when so many international flights depart from Kolkata it's our duty being Indian to welcome our international passangers and provide them with a nice atmosphere.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff are lax and not helpful"

(India)

This airport is a perfect example that good design does not improve any services provided. Customer service is non existent, even the private airline staff are lax and not helpful. The airport still does not have effective communication systems, the baggage handling is not slow but sloth. If you are travelling through this airport please have an extra two hours in hand.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"fairly straightforward"

(India)

Medium-sized airport with good design sensibilities. Fairly straightforward and efficient, with a small but nice food court. Could do with more shopping and charging points. Despite being recently renovated, the airport does not offer in-line baggage screening, meaning that flyers have to get their check-in baggage x-rayed before actually checking in. Extremely outdated and irritated practice that reflects poor management and planning. Still, a very pleasant airport to use.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"experience was as smooth as it could be"

(United States)

Arrived in Kolkata on IndiGo from New Delhi. The terminal has an airy feel which enhances customer experience. The baggage claim area is huge. Booking ground transportation was also very easy. The arrival experience was as smooth as it could be. During departure, you have to get your bags screened before they process you at the airline counter. I had arrived 3 hours early for my flight, and I was told that they won't accept my check-in bags until 2 hours are left for the flight. Their explanation was that bags can got lost if they are checked in more than 2 hours before flight. This reflects poorly upon the baggage handling procedure at Kolkata Airport. I have flown IndiGo from other airports, and no other airport has this 2 hour requirement. Once you clear security, there are a variety of really good dining options available. There is wifi at the airport, but it is free for a very limited time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 73 Reviews