Catania Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 30 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Such a humiliating experience"

(Romania)

Not Verified | I had to wait in a queue for passport control along with other 300 people for hours. There was nobody working for passport control and everyone was actually waiting for someone to show up and start checking documents. Finally, after 1.5 hours, 2 men started checking the passports. After a while they decided to close again, although there were still many people waiting in line. There were no messages with info posted for the passengers. Nobody knew how long we were going to wait. I am never coming back to this airport. Such a humiliating experience. I do not recommend it. Not to mention lack of cleanliness, no water nor soap at the toilets. Exagerated prices for dutyfree, goods and drinks.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"absolute rubbish"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As previous reviewers have stated, up until you get to passport control, it all seems okay, but then there is a huge queue and nobody at the desks. When questioned staff say ‘10 minutes’ but that has been the same answer for already 40 minutes. Restaurants consist of a rubbish snack bar with very few seats. Signs to a pizzeria lead you to a construction site. Absolute rubbish!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An absolute nightmare"

(United States)

Not Verified | An absolute nightmare, mostly because of its size. It is one of the most crowded airports I have ever travelled to. Stay away if you can. While agents do the best to assist you, there isn’t enough space to accommodate the number of flights and passengers. Checking in take more than one hour, renting a car more than two hours!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very long queues"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Very long queues especially for passport control at gates 19 to 22. Still had not opened just 50 minutes before departure. Overcrowded. Poor restaurants. Overall a very weak performance. I have visited 6 airports this year and this is by far the worst. Would not encourage me to return to Sicily.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I've been to"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Seriously the worst airport I've been to in years. Long queue and then there was basically nothing to eat but sweets after the security. It was very crowded, we had to slide down and hide in a corner when we ate our very poor sandwiches. Never coming back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"long queue more than an hour"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We had to wait in a long queue more than an hour for the passport control. We have British passports and usually a situation should not be so difficult and stressful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. Check in desks use strict 2hr check in policy, going through security area was quick, but currently waiting for passport check to actually open. People are worried about missing flights, airport security staff seen laughing at front of the queue, and shop assistant advised us that it can only be opened up by the police. After 45 mins of no activity, the police have now opened passport control. However it appears there is only one person on now as the rest of the passport security staff have now left. Complete farce and not good for people who require assistance, refreshments and seats. To be honest, giving the heat and simmering tensions and distinct lack of any communication, anarchy may ensue. The one woman who was on duty has now given up the effort. It may be due to a police incident on the other side, but this is not a way to treat customers. Even the airport security staff are getting antsy as the queues are backing all the way back to security gates now as well. And if it is a police security incident, it means something has failed at the security search. I don’t think anyone would mind it being a security incident if we were actually told what’s going on!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst Airport I have ever experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst Airport I have ever experienced. Totally ended our holiday in a very bad way. It has put me off ever going back to Sicily ever again. 65 minutes to check your bags in! 45 minutes to get through security! 70 minutes to get through Immigration Control! This was in the quiet holiday period. Cannot imagine what it would be like in the middle of the summer holidays.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff impolite"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Catania Airport is disorganised. Staff impolite, hardly speak English or pretend not to understand English. Poor service, got very annoyed after standing in a long queue, spoilt my day. Just one person working while checking passports, the rest doing nothing. The lady who was checking passports and boarding passes before entering the plane was rude, there are no words "thank you", "please", etc. Cannot recommend this airport to my family and friends. Need to improve the service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"we wait an unreasonable amount of time"

(United Kingdom)

I have been in the queue for passport control for more than 30 minutes. It extends the whole length of the airport. There is no one to check our passports and so we wait an unreasonable amount of time. This is not the first time I have experienced this poor service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 29 Reviews