Catania Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 26 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst airport I've been to"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Seriously the worst airport I've been to in years. Long queue and then there was basically nothing to eat but sweets after the security. It was very crowded, we had to slide down and hide in a corner when we ate our very poor sandwiches. Never coming back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"long queue more than an hour"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We had to wait in a long queue more than an hour for the passport control. We have British passports and usually a situation should not be so difficult and stressful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. Check in desks use strict 2hr check in policy, going through security area was quick, but currently waiting for passport check to actually open. People are worried about missing flights, airport security staff seen laughing at front of the queue, and shop assistant advised us that it can only be opened up by the police. After 45 mins of no activity, the police have now opened passport control. However it appears there is only one person on now as the rest of the passport security staff have now left. Complete farce and not good for people who require assistance, refreshments and seats. To be honest, giving the heat and simmering tensions and distinct lack of any communication, anarchy may ensue. The one woman who was on duty has now given up the effort. It may be due to a police incident on the other side, but this is not a way to treat customers. Even the airport security staff are getting antsy as the queues are backing all the way back to security gates now as well. And if it is a police security incident, it means something has failed at the security search. I don’t think anyone would mind it being a security incident if we were actually told what’s going on!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst Airport I have ever experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst Airport I have ever experienced. Totally ended our holiday in a very bad way. It has put me off ever going back to Sicily ever again. 65 minutes to check your bags in! 45 minutes to get through security! 70 minutes to get through Immigration Control! This was in the quiet holiday period. Cannot imagine what it would be like in the middle of the summer holidays.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff impolite"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Catania Airport is disorganised. Staff impolite, hardly speak English or pretend not to understand English. Poor service, got very annoyed after standing in a long queue, spoilt my day. Just one person working while checking passports, the rest doing nothing. The lady who was checking passports and boarding passes before entering the plane was rude, there are no words "thank you", "please", etc. Cannot recommend this airport to my family and friends. Need to improve the service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"we wait an unreasonable amount of time"

(United Kingdom)

I have been in the queue for passport control for more than 30 minutes. It extends the whole length of the airport. There is no one to check our passports and so we wait an unreasonable amount of time. This is not the first time I have experienced this poor service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"wait an unreasonable amount of time"

(United Kingdom)

I have been in the queue for passport control for more than 30 minutes. It extends the whole length of the airport. There is no one to check our passports and so we wait an unreasonable amount of time. This is not the first time I have experienced this poor service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"plenty of seating and good signage"

(United States)

One of the easier, better run regional airports in Italy. It is situated relatively close to the city, taking only about 30' to reach most points. The departures area is large and modern, with plenty of seating and good signage. Security in the norm for waiting and hassle. Only thing to keep in mind is that public transit, while it exists, is not terribly smooth or reliably on time (you'll get there, but it'll take a bit longer than you expected).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"nearly missed my flight"

(United Kingdom)

One would have to queue for less time in an abattoir. Absolutely dreadful. Queued for 1h30m for Alitalia check-in, then for 25m for security. When I asked the check-in agent whether she might mention these most terrible queues to her managers, she looked angrily at me and then pretended not to understand English (which, theretofore, she had been very competent in). Not helped by prolific queue jumpers in leather jackets and sunglasses, with whom (in standing my ground) I nearly became embroiled. Nearly missed my flight. Awful place - Lord only knows what it must be like in mid-summer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"staff were very friendly and helpful"

(United States)

Catania Airport was clean (including bathrooms), the security line was quick and easy, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an issue with not checking in online and the ticket staff managed to check in for us online with only 10 minutes left before we were going to have to forfeit out tickets. I suggest that flyers get there early so that they don't have issues that cannot be addressed. We felt very fortunate that there were people there willing to help us fix a situation that occurred to our own lack of experience with a particular airline and limited experience flying within Italy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 25 Reviews