Brussels Zaventem Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 129 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"very helpful overall"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | I would like to thank the person working at the info desk in the arrivals terminal today, 3.6. after 12 'o clock. First he advised me where I should go to catch my Ouibus, which I then missed because the bus didn’t leave at the spot that was given on the ticket (not the airport’s fault). He then went out of his way to help me find other connections to Lille, and was very helpful overall. The lady working at the desk was very kind as well. Would definitely give a 10/10 to the customer service at this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"The signs are really small"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is the first time I am using Zaventem airport. It is an OK airport for checking in and the queues were pretty long for both the security and for passport control. Make sure to allow at least for 30 minutes of delays here. What got me really worked up at the airport was returning here and the signage for baggage. The signs at this airport are really small. The TVs above the baggage carousel are showing information which really hard to read because it is so small. We could not figure out where our luggage was arriving.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"nothing else to assist"

(United States)

Trip Verified | No Information For Transfer Customers. I arrived on Brussels Airlines from Hamburg. I was connecting to United for ORD. I walked from Terminal A to Terminal B without seeing an airport employee, a terminal map, an information desk, or an airline employee. There is an information board that direct customers to their terminal by destination, but nothing else to assist the customer other the signage to the terminal.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a very nice airport"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Brussels Airport is a very nice airport, very nice and easy to reach. The new connection opened in 2016 between terminal A and B gives this airport prestige. I would even say that this is accentuated by the presence of this new wing. Control queues are fast and efficient. The staff is always ready to help you to find your way if you get lost in the terminal. This is not the first time that I travel from (or to) Brussels, moreover, to each of my trips that were made with a departure, I always repeat the same thing: this airport is an airport in human size, which means that everything is ready for everything, unlike the Paris CDG airport which has terminals separated by several kilometers. Here in Brussels, the two terminals are very close which allows easy access without having to take a train to reach them. Everything is done on foot and that's what is fantastic. At the level of baggage recovery, never, I say never, suitcases arrive here quickly in Brussels. Same for passport control, it is very well organized. Finally, many detractors highlight the cold side of the corridors leading to the boarding gates. I tell them it's the same for all airports whether in Asia, Europe or America. | Brussels Airport est très bel aéroport, très agréable et facile d'accès. La nouvelle connexion ouverte en 2016 entre le terminal A et B donne à cet aéroport un cachet. Je dirais même que ce cachet est accentué par la présence de cette nouvelle aile. Les queues au contrôle sont rapides est efficaces. Le personnel est toujours près à vous aider pour vous indiquer votre chemin si vous veniez à vous perdre dans le terminal. Ce n'est pas la première fois que je voyage à partir (ou vers) Bruxelles, d'ailleurs, à chacun de mes voyages qui se sont faits à son départ, je me répète toujours la même chose : cet aéroport est un aéroport à taille humaine, ce qui signifie que tout est prêt de tout contrairement à l'aéroport de Paris CDG qui a des terminaux écartés de plusieurs kilomètres. Ici, à Bruxelles, les deux terminaux sont très proches ce qui permet un accès facile sans avoir besoin de prendre un train pour les joindre. Tout se réalise à pied et c'est ce qui est fantastique. Au niveau de la reprise des bagages, jamais, je dis bien jamais, les valises n'arrivent ici rapidement qu'à Bruxelles. Pareil pour le contrôle des passeports, il est fort bien organisé. Enfin, beaucoup de détracteurs mettent en avant le côté froid des couloirs menant aux portes d'embarquements. Je leur réponds que c'est pareil pour tous les aéroports qu'ils soient en Asie, en Europe ou en Amérique.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Lines seem endless"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Very poorly run. No preferred flyer security line, but they have a “Family Line”. So they make the highest revenue yield traveler who pays the most in fees to fund the airport and is most time constrained wait the longest. Families traveling with children, almost always on lowest yield economy tickets, who travel infrequently, pay least fees, and have very flexible schedules are expitided. Make no sense. Passport control is a 40+ minute wait. Lines seem endless and officers stop to chat with associates popping by, with zero concern for how long people wait. From arrival by car to sitting on lounge to write this was 1 hour and 45 minutes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"won't recommend this airport"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | The airport is clean and modern. However I don‘t get why there is a security scan again for transit passengers. When I was flying from Zurich via Brussels to Manchester, there wasn‘t a security scan in Brussels. But in the return journey I was scanned again and had to leave my water which I bought at Manchester airport. In German airports it also works without 2nd scan. Also they had just one counter open and the queue was getting bigger and bigger. This is for me a no go. Won't recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Wrong signs for passport check at departure"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Wrong signs for passport check at departure. After a 30 mins lining up, the officer very rudely asking me to go and line up again, although it was not my fault, very offensive, yelling and accusing me of over taking other passengers. I had to go all the way and almost lost my flight. They need serious training of how to deal with passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"pure chaos"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | When leaving the terminal building I was 1 foot from the door to the outside. I was yelled at by some private security personnel, I didn't understand what they were screaming at me. The door was open and I was almost outside when a third person grabbed my arm. I replied in English that I didn't understand their language. In English they told me I could not leave thru this door. I was pushed back. I left the building thru the next door and passed the door I was not allowed to exit. Other people were going in and out thru the exit I was not allowed to use! Several elevators in the carpark were not working. Hundreds of people tried to use the remaining elevators, pure chaos. Is this the airport of the Capital of Europe. It is a dirty airport and staff are rude, it made me feel very unsafe. I will avoid it from now and will use Amsterdam or Dusseldorf.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it was a pleasant stop"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | This airport was my stop on the way to Prague and it was a pleasant stop. It has two terminals, one for Schengen and second for non-Schengen. Between those you have to go through passport check which is fast and they have automatic gates as well. Airport is really clean, signs are visible and it's easy to find your gate even when in hurry. There are also plenty of restaurants and places for shopping. So it's a nice smaller airport. I can certainly recomend it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"avoid traveling through Brussels"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It was a surprise to find out that Brussels airport (BRU) cannot handle a little bit of snow. I got stranded in Brussels for 2 nights/3 days (Dec 10-12) because of 1-2 inches of snow. The airport appeared to be utterly unprepared to deal with small amounts of snow that would cause limited if any disruption in other airports that deal with snow regularly. Instead of deploying staff along the gates to re-book flights and arrange hotel reservations, Brussels Airlines used one or two counters, each staffed with 3 customer representatives, to service the entire terminal. As cancellations continued on the second day, the number of passengers stranded increased substantially, but the airport response remained the same. Lines were as long as 400 meters and passengers would spend the whole day/night in line. I suggest both airline and airport learn from the experience of other countries that handle severe snow storms on a regular basis. My recommendation is to avoid traveling through Brussels if there is snow in the forecast.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no