Top 100 Airlines  

Brussels Zaventem Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 114 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"failed to sufficiently staff"

(United Kingdom)

Terrible experience at Brussels Zaventum airport. We all expect a heightened level of security and therefore a longer process but on Fri 29 April it was appalling. The airport management have failed to sufficiently staff and sign the airport to meet the additional security needs at busy times. On April 29th it was chaos and took 3 hours to get through to the gate. If you can go via another airport - for now it would be best to do so.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"inadequately staffed"

(Australia)

Allow for an extra hour to get through the passport check and security. Completely inadequately staffed, super slow and not empathetic to your need for haste. This airport is massive and so you need an hour to walk from one end to the other plus 45 minutes for all the bureaucratic and security check. I shall avoid ever stopping there.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"poor passport control facilities"

(India)

Old congested airport, with poor passport control facilities. Takes more than an hour to clear passport control, if one is lucky. Security is also time consuming. To change from International to Domestic, one has to go down 3 stories, cross a long tunnel and again go up 3 stories. Has no character.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
9/10

"greeted upon getting of the plane"

(United Kingdom)

We were travelling with a person requiring assistance which we had booked with our airline beforehand. I have to say how not only my family member requiring assistance but the rest of the family were treated was fantastic. We were immediately greeted upon getting of the plane by a friendly lady who spoke fantastic English and proceeded to take us through immigration (staff were very friendly and efficient). Departing, the staff throughout the terminal, including security, check-in and all shops were very friendly and courteous and immediately offering to speak to you in French, Dutch, German or English. They are a credit to the airport and leave a good first and lasting impression of Belgium. Some parts of the airport could do with a but if care but nothing was terrible. There's excellent transport to the rest of Belgium via train directly from the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"40 minute wait to go through security"

(Denmark)

Arrived from Barcelona with transit in Brussels for my flight to Tokyo. Terminal A where I arrived from Barcelona was very nice and modern. A good selection of shops and resturants. Unfortunately my flight was departing from Terminal B. Usually when I transit from a Schengen flight to a non-Schengen flight I don't have to go through security in the transit airport (since I already did that in Barcelona), the only requirement is immigration, but in Brussels you have to do both. So first a 20 minute wait to show passport and then a 40 minute wait to go through security. So after 1 hour I finally arrived to Terminal B. The terminal was like a time travel many years back in time. There is no seats in the gate area. There is a small dutyfree shop and a very limited number of other shops. If you are planning to transit to a long haul flight I do not recommend Brussels. 40 minutes wait to get through security is my record, I don't want to do that again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"the travel experience has really improved"

(Belgium)

Since Brussels airport did some renovation works in the A-terminal, the travel experience has really improved. Great views on the tarmac and the airplanes, nice shops and decent food. We checked in online but had to drop off a bag, that went really smooth. Convenient airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"completely lacking in charm"

(Germany)

Brussels Zaventem Airport is in two distinct sections. Arrival in the new Schengen area is modern and well conceived. Departing 3 days later in the old section of the airport was like a time-travel back to the 80's. Old, dark and completely lacking in charm.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

Brussels Zaventem Airport customer review

(United States)

I will avoid this airport like the plague in the future. They are woefully understaffed in both immigration and customs, and the ongoing construction makes everything worse.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

Brussels Zaventem Airport customer review

(Slovenia)

Airport is currently under reconstruction and development (August 2015) and it is quite a challange for families to get around because of all the stairs. If you have small children you will need some help from staff. Departure area has a children's playground on the right side of the terminal building (the signs are not very visible - one little horse on the map of the airport, so you can just assume it is a playground). Acces to terminal A is renewed alredy and the access to security gates is very friendly. If you are in transit, wear the running shoes. The terminal buildings are very long. We used the Diamond lounge and it is very basic, but you can get cold and hot refreshements.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Brussels Zaventem Airport customer review

(United States)

This is an incredibly confusing airport. Check in was fine but the passage to the gates winds through poorly marked duty free stores. Security was also good but by the third time you have to ask yourself "where to now?" the frustration has built. If I had been in a hurry I would have become furious.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 71 Reviews