TUI Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 11 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"service as a whole was very good"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flight to Cancun, cabin premium. Evening check in of baggage at LGW is helpful if staying overnight at the airport and was easily done. As part of their premium package they include premium security passes and lounge access, security was quick, the No 1 traveller lounge was busy but fine for quick snack. The aircraft was only 4 months old so was clean and well presented. Welcome drinks offered shortly after priority boarding and Rituals amenity pack handed out. On time departure. The inflight service as a whole was very good, bar service after take off and menu choices taken crew very attentive with a real can do attitude. The first meal was nicely presented with main course brought out separately after started finished. Good inflight movies etc and regular bar services during flight for those that wanted it. A tasty afternoon tea was served prior to landing with sandwiches, Victoria sponge cake and scone/roddas clotted cream. The first officer made announcements during the flight which being both a day and leisure flight was a nice touch. Baggage off belt quickly. A very good flight. I have to conclude by saying that holding a high tier status with our flag carrier, they were the alternative consideration. However, having flown with them regularly, they would not have emulated the service TUI provided in their premium economy cabin and a 20 year old 777 would have struggled to compete with the Dreamliner!
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLondon Gatwick to Cancun
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"farce at the bag drop"

(United Kingdom)

CNot Verified | Manchester to Palma. Arrived 3 hours before our morning flight from Manchester to Palma. Done everything we were asked to do, had our printed boarding cards so all that was left was to drop off our luggage. When we arrived at terminal 2 we were greeted by a queue almost the full length of the terminal which we were told to join. After about 30 minutes we got to the zig zag line so thought that we would soon be through, only to find that the queue extended down the tunnel towards terminal 3 for some 200 metres, doubled back then you got to the zig zag queue. After almost 3 hours with our flight time approaching we got to the root of the problem. Only 3 tui staff supervising travellers to check in their luggage using the installed self serve machines. We managed to check most of our luggage in, but the machine wouldnt accept one of them. We asked for assistance 3 times and waited but got no assistance for over half an hour. We then had the security checks to contend with, which is another story. We eventually made the flight but only because all TUI flights had to be delayed due to the farce at the bag drop. Never again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Palma
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"helpful and very friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | First time flying TUI long haul, this time from Manchester to Orlando Sanford. Very impressed on both legs. Staff genuinely helpful and very friendly. Flights left bang on time. Two rounds of free drinks 0 food not bad for economy. Afternoon Tea great. On return leg we had a row to ourselves. Would make it a priority to fly to Orlando with this operator again.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Orlando
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Check-in chaotic and disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Birmingham to Malaga. Check-in for the flight was extremely chaotic and disorganised. Queuing barriers were arranged near escalators causing unnecessary congestion and confusion amongst passengers. Airline staff were no where to be seen to offer assistance and guidance to passengers. Boarding seemed to go smoothly however this was probably because the Cabin Crew were not asking to see boarding passes. My seat was uncomfortable and unsupportive due to the padding being worn out. Food and drinks were very expensive (even at airline prices) so would recommend you buy in the airport before the flight. The in charge crew member was putting on some silly voice whilst making announcements which literally made me cringe and squirm in my seat. My seat area and tray table were filthy and the aircraft looked as though it had not been cleaned properly in a while e.g. large clumps of dust around air vents etc. Some of my travelling party are former cabin crew and spotted numerous things that the crew were not doing e.g. not checking boarding passes? How do you know who is getting on the plane. Noticed a crew member not allowing passengers to put their bags in emergency equipment compartments however then noticed the same crew member shoving her own shoes, coat and toiletries bags in the same area? Crew in general seemed very complacent when going about their duties.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Malaga
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"operated by Sunwing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Norwich to Rhodes. TUI flight in fact operated by Canadian carrier Sunwing. Plane clean and tidy with seats that were more than adequate for the 4hr flight to Rhodes. Staff friendly enough, and stewardesses were British, but flight crew Canadian. Only two gripes, firstly, why do the airline try to get you to check in on line when, upon arriving at both departure airports, you are made to stand in a long queue with those who'd not checked in online? Complete waste of my time. And secondly (and TUI are by no means the only offenders) why did they have no food for purchase on the return leg? It is not rocket science to calculate that on a long-ish flight like that that passengers will want something to eat in both directions, so for goodness sake order enough from the caterers for BOTH legs of the flight. From TUI's point of view it makes sense as they missed out on making a fat profit on sandwiches etc they could have sold ! Otherwise, a decent product in the leisure market.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNorwich to Rhodes
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"told they had now closed the flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Las Palmas. The customer experience made Ryanair look like a 5 star airline. Recently tried to fly with TUI to take my partner on holiday and get engaged. Unable to check in online for an unknown reason. Arrived at the airport check in area later than planned due to traffic, but on time according to the terms and conditions on the ticket. I was concerned about the length of the queue so sought assistance from a member of staff in Tui branding at the self check in desks, explained the situation and she checked flight times etc and told me we had plenty of time and to queue. After queuing I was told they had now closed the flight (while we were queuing) and we couldn’t board. I then had to run around the airport to find another flight. TUI’s customer services teams response, computer says no issues (effectively we can’t be bothered to investigate because we don’t want to have to compensate you) and the airport staff don’t work for us so we do my care (despite then wearing our branding). We flew with Tui on the return flight so I can review the flight experience which was nothing special.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Las Palmas
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"facilities and food were atrocious"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew London Gatwick to Cancun. TUI should stick to short haul - they obviously have no experience of managing long haul. Apart from messing up our extra legroom seats, we then had to pay to 'downgrade' to get seats together. This was an 8-10 hour flight, but the facilities and food were atrocious - the cheapest, disposable, plastic earphones were totally unsuited to listening to a film - we both gave up. The quality of food served was on a par with airline food 30 year's ago - plastic chicken served going out and same on return. There are absolutely no frills whatsoever despite high prices. There is no comparison with recognised long haul carriers such as Virgin, Emirates, BA etc. This is short haul behaviour at long haul costs, with the added issue of paying to sit together (a Ryanair Scam). Dreamliner? Nightmare liner would be more apt.
AircraftBoeing 787 Dreamliner
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Cancun
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Cabin crew were friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Excellent flight with TUI on the Dreamliner between London Gatwick and Barbados. Check-in was a breeze and queue not very long. Boarding was done by rows, which seemed to help with congestion. Seats were leater, which were ok for the flight duration, seat back screen clear and had the latest films and entertainment. Cabin crew were friendly and always on hand to get a new drink or answer any questions. Two hot meals provided on this 8 hours flight, one large and one small, which was nearly the same as what we received with BA on a 13 hours flight! Impressive! Captains were great and very informative, it was also nice having them come on the PA mid-way during the flight to provide an update on the conditions and how we were progressing, which doesn't happen that often any more on these flights. I would have no hesitation in flying TUI again.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon Gatwick to Barbados
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"excellence of her performance"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Stansted to Las Palmas. On January 29th I sustained an injury to my leg 5 minutes before boarding the aircraft caused by a rack of 3 wheelchairs striking my shin heavily as it was pushed away from the aircraft door along the narrow passageway by a Stansted employee. I was seated in an opposing wheelchair using assistance provided by the airport. On impact which caused me to cry out with pain and and the staff did nothing and continued on her way. On entering the cabin with great difficulty the Cabin Manager assessed the situation and seated me in the first available seat and applied a pack of ice to the injury. She carried out first aid throughout the flight raising my leg and applying ice and compression also as she could see I was somewhat shocked. Her care was exemplary and greatly reduced the bruising and severity of the injury. I didn’t secure her surname but I wish you to note the excellence of her performance. Consequently I have minimal swelling and bruising and discomfort so am able to continue my holiday. Many thanks to her!
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Las Palmas
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a really good airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Departure Airport - Firstly, an overview of the airport. We were checked in for our flight so quickly as we were called to an empty lane at CMF (their queues work differently there!). The staff were chatty and friendly. You are advised to go through security once called as there is not much on the other side. The queue was a bit long but we got moving within half an hour. After boarding, we had 20 minutes to relax until pushback. THE FLIGHT took off, and it was only five minutes late - rare that a TUI flight I go on is on time. The cabin service soon followed, but the rear trolley had to return to the galley as we had a lot of turbulence for the first half an hour. We descended and that turbulence went. The back trolley was back in service and we ordered our food. Unfortunately, they only had a bacon baguette or a ham and cheese toastie - in small numbers. Luckily, we were able to get two bacon baguettes. They were yummy, but a bit expensive. After that, there were final checks for the descent into Manchester. We were served well by the crew. Arrival Airport - We landed nice and punctual, but a little bottleneck happened as it said 'All bags will be delivered before 14.50'. Well, a little lie there as I only had one of my three bags by 14.50! The belt stopped and started again and we finally got all our bags around half an hour later. All in all, a really good airline, would fly again, but side note: they removed the seatback pockets and made this little storage area behind the tray table (when you see the photo below, you'll understand what I mean), where they put all the magazines and safety card.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChambery (CMF) to Manchester (MAN)
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 11 Reviews