Vote Now  

SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 157 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"all around great"

(Singapore)

Unverified | I flew from Phnom Penh to Singapore on SilkAir and it was all around great. The staff were friendly. One positive thing about is its seats, they feel soft and amazing legroom, and the food was very tasty. I had a tomato pasta with fish and it tasted very decent. Also the flight entertainment was enjoyable. The flight was very smooth and relaxing. I would recommend it.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhnom Penh to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"good in flight service"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Yogyakarta. Very comfortable seats, only 31 inch pitch but seats are not thick so space between seats seems more than normal. Good in flight service, meal and drinks (beer and soft drinks etc. but no wine). Staff are professional and readily assist when needed. Overall good value and efficient airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Yogyakarta
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"in-flight services were very good"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Surabaya to Singapore return. It was our first time flying SilkAir's newest Boeing 737-800. This new aircraft has Sky Interior design which is very beautiful and relaxing. Our flight to Surabaya took-off on time and landed ahead of schedule by 10 minutes. The ground staff at Changi International Airport was very helpful when she gave us assistance to use the Self Check-in kiosk for the first time. It was quite simple to use. After a few clicks you can print out your boarding pass as well as your luggage tag then you can proceed to the check-in counter to drop your luggage. However, we had a minor problem when we dropped our bags at the check-in counter, an agent told us only two out of three bags were registered. Then that agent helped us to recheck-in our three bags altogether. The in-flight services were very good and the meals had nice taste. Once we landed at Juanda International Airport, there was another minor problem with the baggage delivery. We were told our baggage would be delivered from carousel number 4 and waited for about 10 minutes before it then moved to carousel number 3 . Again, it took ages to get our bags delivered; there were approximately 10-15 minutes intervals to collect all the three luggage. It was not Silk Air's fault but the delivery system at Juanda which needs to be sorted out.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to SUB
Date FlownJanuary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"SilkAir comes up short"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Coimbatore return. Check-in was efficient but the staff member was rather haughty in her dealings with us until she discovered our class of travel. A family travelling in Economy Class was rudely turned away from the Business Class line, leaving a bad impression. The SilverKris lounge in Terminal 3 was comfortable but unimpressive, though the staff were excellent. SIN-CJB flight was in SilkAir's newest Boeing 737-800 (9V-MGQ) and the flight back was in their oldest one (9V-MGA). The former was in a very good condition but the latter, despite being less than three years old, had many scuffs throughout the cabin. The service was not quite as polished as on Singapore Airlines, though this was because of the constraints of the hard product. The cabin crew were friendly and attentive, always ready to attend to the passengers while remaining unobtrusive. Meal service with a welcome drink and light snack before a three-course meal later in the flight. The meals were not as extravagant as those served by other airlines in Business Class, but were sufficient. I appreciated the small touches such as the festive cookies served with the snack and chocolates served after the main meal. The superb cabin crew were let down by the poor product. The seat, though spacious, had manual controls which seized up frequently. My seat (2A) did not recline at all. A tablet (an iPad on the outbound flight to CJB and a Lenovo on the return leg) was provided together with a pair of disposable earphones to access SilkAir's wireless IFE but the selection was paltry and the audio was drowned out by the ambient noise. Furthermore, the lack of a tablet holder made using the IFE system for prolonged periods difficult. With a price of almost SGD 2500 return per traveller, and given that several other airlines in the region (such as Dragonair, Qatar Airways and Malindo Air) have superior product and service onboard similar aircraft, SilkAir comes up short.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to CJB
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Very disappointing"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Kunming. Very disappointing for a full service airline and not worth being called the regional wing of Singapore Airlines. Seats were very similar in space and comfort to budget carriers such as Jetstar. I am 190cm tall and my knees were really digging into the seat in front of me. Not what you would expect of a full service airline. Although the Boeing 737-800 was less than a year old, the seats were already showing signs of wear - greying and tattered. For a 4hr flight to Kunming this was almost unbearable. Food was also not up to standard. I would expect a full meal service from SilkAir on such a long flight. However the meal was very small and barely enough for this sector. There are only 2 toilets available for the 150-odd passengers in economy. Together with the slow meal service, this caused the rear of the aircraft to be constantly congested. I feel sorry for those seated in the vicinity of the toilet as they had to deal with people squeezing in the narrow aisle and eating into their already limited personal space. Inflight entertainment is also poor. Not only is there no in seat IFE, the wifi IFE system is also very limited in content. The content that it did have was not recent nor popular. Worst of all, the prices paid for the flight are full Singapore Airlines fares and that sours the whole experience. SilkAir is far from the standard of Singapore Airlines and that should not be the case.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to KMG
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"substandard service from SilkAir"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Took Silkair from Okinawa to Singapore. Cabin crew was impatient, refused to pick up empty cups and food trays without wearing gloves and having trash bags with them. The 5 hour flight is on a small aircraft with only 2 washrooms. There is always a long queue. Cabin crew is very impatient with passengers who are in the queue. Food was insufficent and poor. Depart and return trip was almost identical. Chicken with rice, fish with potatoes. Very small quantities. Watermelon and pineapple was warm instead of cold. A budget airline or a full service airline with transit is better than getting substandard service from SilkAir.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOKA to SIN
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use SilkAir"

(United States)

Chiang Mai to Singapore with SilkAir. We've been traveling in SE Asia for 2 months and are heading back to the US today. On a separate ticket, we're flying to Singapore this morning on tickets purchased through Singapore Airlines online. As a Platinum Premier member on Star Alliance, my family and I are allowed 50kg each. Singapore Airlines confirmed this was accurate in an email. So, we packed accordingly. However, as the flight was operated by SilkAir and they allow only 30kg each. The ticketing agents at Chiang Mai airport are only contractors and are completely unempowered to make any decisions. The Silk Air supervisor, made a ridiculous attempt to call someone to get permission and could only tell me no and that he was sorry, which I appreciated only slightly, but sorry didn't solve our problem. We had 10kg too much and he was not budging. Finally, we unloaded as much as we could into carry-on bags and we we're still 4kg over. He would not budge. Any amount of reasoning would not work. Finally, he whimpered off and hid from me. The contract agent, who was embarrassed, finally just told him it was at weight and put our bags through. Icing on the cake: the agent told us to always choose Thai Airways and never use SilkAir, which is exactly what we'll do.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCNX to SIN
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"demonstrating good service "

(Singapore)

Verified Review | My husband and I were onboard flight MI124 25 Nov 2016, from Singapore to Lombok when we were served by a flight steward who displayed exemplary service - outstandingly attentive and a positive sense of humour. He paid meticulous attention to our meal requests, and saw that we were adequately hydrated. He made our flight a very memorable and enjoyable one, epecially for my husband, who has a low tolerance to flight travels. Thank you for demonstrating what good service and attitude is.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to LOP
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service is quite good"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Bandung. I call SlikAir "premium-lowfare" because my base is in South East Asia, so my choice is SilkAir rather than AirAsia for low cost. The service is quite good, seat comfort is standard, the entertaiment is accesible on your own device, and they served food too. The cabin crew also nice.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to BDO
Date FlownNovember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"movie and entertainment choices limited"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Bandung to Singapore with SilkAir. The food was good, we had fresh salmon for our lunch. You need to use your personal devices in order to connect to the onboard entertainment system. Movie and entertainment choices limited. The aircraft looked old and interior not so great compare with the newer cabins.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBDO to SIN
Date FlownOctober 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes