Top 100 Airlines  

SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 147 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"satisfied with the experience"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Surabaya to Singapore. We flew SilkAir business class for the first time and really enjoyed it. Business class is a small cabin with 12 seats in total. The seats are quite large with generous recline. We were greeted by friendly check in agents at both airports in Sub and Sin. We were among the first passengers to board. The flight attendants were polite and helpful. They took order of our meals preference before take off. The meals itself were tasty. Upon arrival, we were among the first passengers to disembark from the aircraft. Very satisfied with the experience.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSUB to SIN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"poor crisis management"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flight was supposed to depart at 7.25pm on Sunday from Lombok to Singapore. We were told that there was a slight delay on the flight as the crew were checking the plane. The plane was delayed until 7.55 where there was supposed to be an update. 8.10 pm, no updates given. It wasn't until 8.30 pm that we were told there could be a technical fault on the plane and the pilot and ground crew would make a decision in 5 mins. At 8.50 pm we were told that the plane was not safe to take off. Without consulting Singapore HQ the ground crew have decided to put us up in a hotel. For the 200 plus people that were stranded, there wasn't clear communication. Convenient option was to send everyone to the hotel, even when everyone have Monday commitments. Terrible experience for the 200 people on board and poor crisis management by SilkAir.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLOP to SIN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no service quality at all"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Booked through SIA website and it turned out to be SilkAir flight to Xiamen. Regretted travelling with them as it turned out to be budget airline standard although you paid full fare. The cabin crew were stony-faced with no service quality at all. No head phones provided and no individual screen at all. Worse still, flight was late on arrival. Wish me luck with my return flight. Should have travelled with Xiamen Airlines which was cheaper.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to XMN
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"seat pitch was very disappointing"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew Coimbatore to Singapore with SilkAir. Check-in was smooth, cabin was bright and refreshing. Crew were friendly. Seat pitch was very disappointing. It was as bad as any other budget airline. I had flown them a couple of times over the years, but always on their A320 or A319 - this was the first time on their new B737s. Will avoid them in future, for sure, just for this reason. Meal service could be quicker.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCJB to SIN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"used to be a great little airline"

(Australia)

Davao to Singapore. SilkAir used to be a great little airline with good seat pitch, quality service and food/beverage options. Now I struggle to differentiate it from the low cost carriers. The only value proposition I see now for Silk air is connectivity to Singapore Airlines. Seat pitch seems little different to Cebu Pacific, request a beer and you get it poured half full into a small plastic cup with no refill offer. Food is bland and quantities reduced. I have flown this route periodically for 20 years and have gone from being a devotee of Silk Air to wondering why bother for the dollars paid.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDVO to SIN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"nothing special but did the job"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Singapore to Penang. First time on SilkAir so did not know what to expect given the limited reviews. Check in was T2 and used the KrisFlyer lounge in T2 which is nowhere near as good as the lounge in T3. Flight was only about 55 minutes. Cabin crew do not have the same skills or level of service as that of Singapore Airlines. After the crew serve the meal they are more interested in talking to each other than attending to the passengers. Seats comfortable. Nothing special but did the job.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSIN to PEN
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"served refreshments very late"

(Singapore)

Chennai to Singapore with SilkAir (MI435). Flight attendants served the refreshments and meal very late as there appeared to be many trainees. I had to wait for almost 3 hours to be asked by one of the flight attendant if I had been served. When I asked for vegetarian food, they said that all the vegetarian meals are over and only non-vegetarian is available. I asked if there was an alternative and they provided me with a cup noodles. They had totally missed out serving some seats - it was poor service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMAA to SIN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"disappointed with the service"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Singapore (MI705) and was so disappointed with the service. Was traveling back with a group of friends and we were sitting in the last fews rows. We could not get any rest on the way back because the staff were talking, joking and laughing so loudly. I understand at work the need to joke / socialise to pass time but I think this was way too much.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCNX to SIN
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seat was comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Flew Singapore to Hanoi with SilkAir. Transited through Singapore, so no check in. Boarding was efficient. Cabin staff were very helpful in stowing hand luggage in overheads. Flight left on time. Seat was comfortable for a short flight. Meal served was good. Cabin staff had limited English, but did their best to be helpful.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to HAN
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"pricey for a short haul flight"

(Indonesia)

Verified Review | Singapore - Medan, MI234, 16 April 2016, 6C. Transit in Singapore. Checked-in from the previous destination. Ground service was a little bit disappointing, they had changed my seats without notifying me by email or phone and because I already had my boarding pass from the previous destination I did not go to the transfer counter. However, I did not have any passengers in the middle and window seat so I could see the view and easily get out for toilet without disturbing other passengers. The seat was good and new. The cabin crews were okay. I tried the IFE by WiFi as this is one of their facilities onboard, it was great but had less choice. Food was decent for a short haul flight. Overall, it was great but pricey for a short haul flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to KNO
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes