SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 167 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"in-flight entertainment is available"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Siem Reap. Flight was about half full, with most passengers seated at the front of the aircraft. Short videos are played from the overhead screens. The crew also announced that SilkAir Studio, the airline's wireless in-flight entertainment is available for this flight. Movies, short films and music options are ample for this short flight time of approximately two hours. Charging ports are available between seats. Only one breakfast option was available with a choice of drink. Meal trays were cleared soon after prior to arrival into Siem Reap.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Siem Reap
Date FlownSeptember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"crew were not friendly"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Took SilkAik flight on 21 Augustfrom Siem Reap back to Singapore. The crew were not friendly and not attentive to passenger. Their attitude was rude especially when clearing the trays from us, without even asking. No smiling faces at all.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSiem Reap to Singapore
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Seats were comfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Half full daytime flight from SIN-CTU with SilkAir. Seats were comfortable with typical economy spacing. No seatback IFE, instead you logged into the aircraft WiFi (no internet) to download an Android APK for their Studio app. Not exactly the most efficient means for anyone not technically minded. The Apple version is available in the app store. Even so, once logged on there was a limited choice of movies, about 8 per genre, and music. Very paired down compared to the Singapore Airline parent IFE. Meal was also a simplified choice of either of two dishes. However drinks were plentiful and free flowing through the whole flight. The quality of the staff was the equivalent of SQ, so no complaints there. My return flight was a full overnight flight, slept most of the way, so was uneventful.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Chengdu
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"friendly and efficient"

(Australia)

Verified Review | I was impressed by my SilkAir flight from Singapore to Koh Samui. Check in was easy. The plane left on time and the service was both friendly and efficient. For a short flight there was a very tasty meal as well. The wine served was very good as well. I was impressed that they offered me another glass of wine! Very little IFE, but it was no big deal on such a short flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Koh Samui
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"quality of service is missing"

(India)

Verified Review | SilkAir is a sister airline of Singapore Airlines but the similar quality of service is missing. The flight from Singapore to Kolkata was delayed and so was arrival at the destination though the weather was good so some makeup was possible. Very smooth flight but seats are a bit cramped. Food served (dinner) was good though a limited choice. The crew were very friendly and kept attending to every passenger. Toilets were clean and had the basic amenities. However I would prefer the actual SQ airline service over the Silk Air, makes one feel a bit cheated if you have booked the entire flight on SQ.
AircraftBoeing 738
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Kolkata
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"seats were very worn"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Chiang Mai to Singapore. Departure and arrival was on-time with no incidents to report. Staff was friendly and attentive. The cabin interior, however, had seen better days, and the seats were very worn. Also, leg space was on the tight side with seating size and comfort similar to a budget airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Singapore
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Lots of corporate double talk"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Recently I flew Silkair Cairns to Surabaya return via Singapore. On the Cairns to Singapore leg I was seated next to an obese person who intruded as much as 15cm into my seat. I had booked and paid for an exit row because of my height. I am 192cm, 90kg fit and healthy 71yo. I continually asked him to keep to his own seat but it was impossible for him. If he leaned forward his stomach forced his legs into my seat squab. He threatened to punch me. I reported the threat to the attendants and they spoke to him. I was offered a middle standard seat which I had to refuse because of my height. He could have easily been moved to the business section which was occupied by only one staff member passenger. I wrote to them asking for a FOC on only the CNS-SIN sector next time I fly to Eastern Indonesia but they offered a free exit seat CNS-SIN-CNS. Lots of corporate double talk and insincere apologies. If you buy a car and it has no motor you can ask for and get a replacement. I purchased a seat and only got 66% of it and I want a replacement.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairns to Surabaya via Singapore
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a worthy and solid performer"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore to Luang Prabang return in April, with a stopover in Vientiane on the outgoing leg to Laos. Second time on SilkAir this year and I was very pleased with the service to Luang Prabang. Check-in went without a hitch and boarding for the flight was quick as it was a low load on the Singapore to Vientiene sector. I was served a total of six times on my flight to Luang Prabang by a very cheerful bunch of cabin attendants - snacks, drinks, wine, meals desserts etc! The main meal of chicken pasta was alright but I wish they didn't skimp on the salad. Flight wasn't full so I had lots of room to stretch. Arrival in Luang Prabang was on time even with the slight delay in Vientiane. On the return flight it was a direct trip to Singapore without a stopover - this time round I think they were running short of wine as they only served this in a cup and didn't give out bottles. The main meal was seafood pasta, which was way better than the lunch I got. Once again, they skimped on the salad. Inflight entertainment was quirky and the app crashed a lot. Good thing that I got newspapers on both legs of the journey. All in all the cabin crew service was top notch and I really felt that they provided a great service. This airline does have room for improvement, but I can say that SilkAir is still quite a worthy and solid performer.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Luang Prabang via Vientiene
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a positive experience"

(Greece)

Verified Review | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore on SilkAir. Departure on time. Plane was new a Boeing 737-800. Usb ports were available under the seat. Crew was polite. No snack was served during the 45 min. flight, only drinks. Onverall a positive experience both way in and out. Would fly again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin service exceeded my expectations"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Singapore - Penang - Singapore in late March and early April. SilkAir's cabin service exceeded my expectations. Boarding on both legs were orderly and efficient. On both the outbound and inbound flight we had some really friendly and cheerful cabin crew who'd go out of the way to help their passengers. Refreshments on the two flights were served as soon as the flights were airborne, and the sandwiches served were tasty. Seats on both flights were comfortable enough for the short one hour journey each way with sufficient pitch and width. Outgoing flight to Penang had a late departure but on time arrival, but the return flight left the gate ten minutes early and arrived in Singapore well ahead of schedule. If there's one area where I was dissatisfied it would be the inflight entertainment system which involves streaming content to mobile devices or computers. Android users (like myself) have to download the SilkAir IFE app in order to log on to the entertainment system, and by the time I got it running properly on the outbound flight the aircraft was ready to land. On the return flight the inflight entertainment app worked well for a while, until it started to crash while playing certain songs. All in all, I'm happy with the SilkAir experience, but I can't give them full marks for the IFE - I really hope they are able to make their inflight entertainment system more user-friendly in future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Penang
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes