Top 100 Airports  

LAN Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 331 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"seats were very comfortable"

(Monaco)

I took LAN airlines from Santiago to Easter Island. I was in business, the seats were very comfortable and cabin crew were very helpful and kind. The food was good, the flight was on time and the cabin was clean. It was a very good experience with LAN for my first time. Would recommend.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSCQ to IPC
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"lower quality than other airlines"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | I normally fly with another airline, but this time had to choose an option with LATAM for Bogota to Santiago (return) and Bogota to Cali (one way) route. Overall, the service was acceptable but of a somewhat lower quality than the other airline. Firstly, the planes are dated and started showing their age. The inflight entertainment system (BOG-SCL) is not very reliable. The touchable screen does not work well while the entertainment system wired control is in the seat, and any wrong body movement in the seat might cause its acting by itself. Besides, there is no power outlet either. Since I am accustomed to use my flight time to work, on this occasion I was disappointed that it was not possible because my computer’s battery died out quickly. On another note, the staff is doing their work but as many other reviews here have noted it is rather cold and not exactly very smiley. Half of my flights had been delayed though apparently due to the weather issue or airport traffic beyond the airline control. Yet, I almost missed my connection in Santiago because the luggage delivery was late, while the airport international arriving area is small and crowded and there is a long line for customs. Only half the time the boarding is done by turns (according to the rows of seats assigned), when it is enforced is very convenient. What stands out, however, is the quality of food provided on the longer legs in economy - quite tasty, with metal and not plastic fork and knife used. Unlimited and good quality wine and other spirits. However, there is not even a glass of water offered on the domestic Bogota to Cali flight. All in all, I will try to fly with another airline next time since LATAM did not achieve to convince me to change my preferences.
AircraftBoeing 767-300 / A320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCLO to SCL via BOG
Date FlownJuly 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"seats are too narrow"

(Australia)

Sydney - Santiago via Auckland on 787-9. Above average flight with an average meal, very good crew and reasonable IFE selection. However, the 9 abreast in economy is too tight. The seats are too narrow and the aisles are tiny. The meal trolley only just fits through. The tray table is also very small. On the return leg, a passenger fell ill immediately after takeoff. The crew managed this very well. About 2 hours into the flight, it was determined that we'd have to return to SCL. The airline put us into hotels. As a transit passenger through SCL, the airline arranged to pay our reciprocity fee (US$100) to enter into Chile. This was a long process (over 1 hour) but at least they paid for it. The airline wasn't able to arrange a single large bus to take us to the hotel at the last minute and so there was another long process (about 1.5 hours) of getting all of us into separate mini buses. The hotel was excellent and included free food. Back to the airport, this time in a big coach and a very long check-in process. Our bags were checked through to SYD, and we were advised we'd been put onto a Qantas flight from AKL to SYD. The flight was again reasonable - good crew, OK food (definitely not up to Emirates standards) and bathrooms kept clean. Due to our delayed arrival into AKL, we had to overnight there, and again LAN had arranged a hotel, meal and bus transfer for us. Overall, LAN managed this stressful situation which was out of their control quite well, ensuring we had a place to rest and food to eat and made sure we all got to our final destinations. My lower marks are for the standard and quantity of the food and the cramped seating (that almost all operators of the 787 have adopted).
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSYD to SCL via AKL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"excellent service throughout"

(United Kingdom)

Quito to Galapagos with LAN Airlines. Excellent service throughout. Had never encountered this airline before but would recommend highly. Lovely staff with excellent English and nice snacks. Both Quito and Galapagos airports are nice indeed, with easy check in and plenty of space. Aircraft seats are leather and comfortable.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteUIO to GPS
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"plane a little bit dated"

(Argentina)

Verified Review | Buenos Aires to Lima with LAN. The plane looked a little bit dated and not completely clean. Seat space is good, fully flat bed but with a lot of divisions on the seat, so in the bed position it is slightly uncomfortable. Weak cushioning. Food was not the best. Amenity kit was Ferragamo in brown colors with Tuscan Soul toiletries, highly acceptable.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteEZE to LIM
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"it was disappointing"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Santiago to Sydney via Auckland with LATAM Airlines. For now the largest airline in South America (LAN merged with TAM to form LATAM) it was disappointing from perspectives of Cabin Crew service attitude, Crew presence, Meal service and choice of liquors on particularly the longest leg (13+ hrs, SCL-AKL). AKL-SYD leg was slightly better crew. The service crew behaviour was cold. The cabin staff disappeared in the pantry for almost 20 minutes - there was no pre-meal drinks service unless requested. Although biz class was only 70% full, they seemed peeved by anyone ordering the standard full meal and breakfast (vs. an express option), the main of veal and semolina arrived cold, only a choice of one of each of whiskey, rum, vodka but the choice of Argentinian or Chilean wine was better. Noteworthy that it is one of the airline's longest routes on a B787 twin-engine, over the South Pacific.
AircraftBoeing 787-900
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSCL to SYD via AKL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"flight had been cancelled"

(United States)

Verified Review | I had purchased a ticket between Buenos Aires Aeroparque and Santiago, Chile. On the date of my return to Buenos Aires, when I went to check in at the LAN ticket counter, a LAN staffer told me my flight had been cancelled and she sent me to be rechecked in a line for a flight to Ezeiza, the airport 45 minutes outside of town. Instead of the exit-row aisle seat I had reserved for the Aeroparque flight, I was placed in a middle seat on a full flight to Ezeiza. However, once I landed at Ezeiza, I discovered that not only had the Aeroparque flight not been cancelled but that it was arriving at Aeroparque 10 minutes after I arrived at Ezeiza. The LAN ticket counter staff never provided an explanation for why I was bumped off the flight I had purchased, nor was I offered an apology for being taken an hour out of my way. All I got was a free transfer into the city. To add insult to injury, LAN has not credited my LANPass kilometers for this flight.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteEZE to SCL
Date FlownJune 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the service was fantastic"

(Germany)

Verified Review | LAN is a true premium airline. Flew in their Premium Business from Milan–Malpensa to São Paulo Guarulhos late night and the service was fantastic. Had only hand luggage because it was a short trip. As soon as I got onboard I was welcomed and escorted to my seat by the purser. Immediately I was offered a glass of champagne. Other offers were Pisco Sour and water. Dinner orders were taken quickly and served promptly after the take off. Their business class cabin has the configurartion of 2-2-2 which is good if you have company. If not you might find yourself sitting to a stranger for 12 hours. I had this several times and the comfort was still good. My breakfast order was taken seriously: I got everything I wanted. I need to emphasize this because there are other "premium" airlines who fail to arrange the breakfast according to customers wishes. The crew just seem to enjoy their jobs and you can see that: the service is personal, you get addressed by your name and you pay business class but you get almost first class treatment. LAN is always a great choice and will always stick to them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMXP to GRU
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"loved the cabin interior"

(France)

Verified Review | Santiago de Chile to Isla de Pascua. Had the opportunity to fly with LAN from Santiago de Chile to Easter Islands, a trip I had been expecting tor a long time. Although the LAN web site indicated that you should report to check-in a whole 3 hours before scheduled departure time, I decided to play it cool and only arrive at the Santiago airport at 7.00 for a 8.30 am. flight, just to see that check-in was still well in progress, without any rush. Upon boarding the Boeing 787 I just loved the cabin interior: very light and roomy with nice LED lights around. When finding my seat, I soon realised however, how small it was. I’m sure is the narrowest airplane seat I’ve ever seen and the legroom was very short for someone of 181 cm. I was happy that I was only going to spend 6 hours and not 12 on this plane! However, I soon found the IFE which offered a great selection of top recent films, certainly far too many for this six hours flight. As I hadn't downloaded the LAN application on my tablet beforehand, there would have been even a greater choice of entertainment available for this flight. Soon after take-off, an excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and an omelette was served. During the rest of the flight, drinks and coffee were served several times. The best part of this flight was however the Chilean LAN cabin crew. The steward serving my section was chatting around, making jokes and asking several times, if I needed something more. This is the kind of service I would have expected in First Class, but here I was, enjoying it in Economy. Well done LAN!
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSCL to IPC
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"crew friendly and attentive"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Recently during April I flew from Australia to South America with LAN on the following routes. Sydney - Santiago (NZ stopover en-route) - Bogota - Medellin - Bogota - Santiago (NZ stopover en-route) - Sydney. Sydney-Santiago LA800 (6 April - Dreamliner) Flight was excellent. Dreamliner is a very nice plane, comfortable/modern/quiet, possibly due to air recirculation system, seats in business class were excellent as was the food. Staff were excellent, professional and attentive, also the replacement crew from the NZ to Santiago leg. Arrived in Santiago and baggage got misplaced (looked like it was going to continue on to Bogota), the dates on the tag stated I would have 2 nights in Santiago. Spoke to 2 LAN baggage handling staff who quickly escalated the matter to their superior and kept following up on this, one went to lunch but they continued to pursue the status of my bag and were always keeping me updated. About an hour later I had the bag and was heading to the hotel. Thanks to the baggage handlers who made an error into a very good customer service experience. Santiago-Bogota LA574 (8 April - 767 I think, older plane). Cabin crew and attendants were excellent, professional and attentive throughout this flight. LAN need to speed up the maintenance/replacement of planes on longer internal routes. Plane issues - Twice before takeoff/taxing the overhead locker dropped open. Upon takeoff the foot locker of an adjacent seat fell open. An air-conditioning section dropped down and had to be taped up with "gaffer tape", I had issues with the electric seat and controls which did not initially respond due to the age of the equipment and gears not catching. I had to replace the headset as reception was scratchy and then when done if I bumped the section where the plug connected with the seat then it would switch the volume to the loudest level. Heaps of small issues due to the age of the plane. Credit and thanks to the flight crew who soldiered on and had to perform duties when the plane is falling apart on them. Bogota-Medellin-Bogota LA3016 Reasonable, smaller plane, On the return flight from Medellin to Bogota the transport from the plane to the lounge, the internal (On runway transport) at Bogota is not well organised. Bogota-Santiago LA575 (23 April, 767 I think, an older plane) Flight was trouble free. Crew excellent, friendly and attentive throughout. Upon landing to the return connecting flight to Sydney was directed to speak to ground crew in relation to location/timing to head to make my directing flight. Upon getting off the plane and inquiring where I was to go, was grunted at by a LAN ground staff member who pointed in the direction of the airbridge and continued her texting on her mobile phone (Job well done). Santiago-Sydney LA801 (24 April, Dreamliner) Very nice flight on this new plane, appointments, take off noise very quiet, good seats and controls. Cabin crew continued on a similar theme from the other flights, all were excellent, helpful and professional throughout the flight as was the crew from NZ to Sydney. Best Points - Quality of the Dreamliner and the flight. Professionalism, friendliness, attentiveness of Cabin crew/attendants throughout all legs. Professionalism of the baggage handlers at Santiago with helping find my bag. Worst Points - Deterioration on the older planes that are being used on internal South American routes.
AircraftBoeing 737, Boeing 767
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSYD to MDE via SCQ, BOG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes