Top 100 Airlines  

LAM Mozambique

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 23 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"use Mozambique's bus services"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Airline from hell. LAM stands for late and maybe and it goes beyond that in living up to its infamous reputation. A 30 min flight from Maputo to Inhambane was postponed from 10 am to 1 PM. I checked in for the 1 PM flight only to find out the flight was delayed to 3 PM. The airline, surprisingly provided free lunch at the staff canteen. At 3 PM, they cancelled the flight due to technical snag. After countless arguments and temper tantrums, the staff put us up in a very good hotel in Maputo. Many people have written negative reviews about this airline. If you want to use this airline with the fear that your flight will be cancelled, buy a ticket and hopefully get a free lunch and delightful free hotel stay in Maputo until eternity. If you like other travellers, wish to actually move and not enjoy seeing the airline notice board, use Mozambique's bus services - at least you will get somewhere. **ASKED FOR TICKET
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMPM to INH
Date FlownApril 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid flying with LAM"

(Switzerland)

Avoid flying with LAM Mozambique Airlines - they sold me a ticket for which the direct return flight from Vilanculo to Johannesburg did not exist on that day. I bought my ticket directly from LAM for the route Johannesburg to Vilankulo return and reconfirmed the ticket few days before flying. Johannesburg to Vilankulo I had my first fright when I tried to find my flight on the Johannesburg's airport flight screen: it was not listed. I went to LAM desk to find out what happened, the lady at the counter told me that she knew about the situation and asked me to proceed to LAM check-in counter. Return to Johannesburg, 24 hours before flying, I called LAM to re-reconfirm my 2:25pm direct flight to Johannesburg and was told that my flight was not operating on Saturdays. The only alternative was a non-direct flight via Maputo departing at 12:35pm and arriving Johannesburg at 6:25pm. What could I do knowing that I had to reach Johannesburg airport before 6pm to take my return flight to Europe? After explaining the situation to their customer services, the only answer I got was: "we are sorry, we cannot put you on another's airline flight but we can put you on our tomorrow's flight to Johannesburg". At the end I had to buy a new ticket with Airlink (very good airline, new aircraft) in order to not miss my flight to Europe (It goes without saying that the last minute ticket purchase was quite pricey). I have been told at the lodge I stayed at that this is not an exceptional situation, LAM is known to frequently cancel flights because its pilots have reached their flight hours limit. When I returned to Europe I contacted LAM to lodge a complaint and get reimbursed - 2 months later, no news. As a suggestion, if you do not want to live the same situation avoid flying with LAM.
AircraftDash 8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVNX to JNB
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not very helpful"

(South Africa)

Staff at ticket office in Pemba very unfriendly and not very helpful. They should be trained in customer service and respect tourist that spent money to come to their country. Please, we do not all speak Portuguese - so basic English will help. Then we try to buy a ticket at the airport in Nampula - the same thing - terrible customer service!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePemba to Nampula
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no customer service"

(United States)

LAM Mozambique is a horrible airline. No customer service. Lost my baggage and cancelled my flight. They found my bags a day later and didn't even contact me or provide a reference number for the bags. The airport itself is horrible and disorganized. Horrible and would never come back to Mozambique because of them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMaputo to Inhambane
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never experienced anything like this"

(United Kingdom)

Our LAM Mozambique flight from Johannesburg to Vilankulos was cancelled and we were re-directed to Maputo and then got a prop 'plane from there to Vilakulos. Not a disaster but arrived later than we had planned. On the way back was another matter. Arrived Vilakulos airport to get direct flight to Johannesburg for a connecting flight to Port Elizabeth. Our flight was cancelled again. We were told that the only option was a flight that would get us into Johannesburg several hours after our LAM flight arrived. Extremely unhelpful, resigned and almost aggressive staff. Eventually we were offered a flight to Maputo (only an option as we had arrived at the airport early and the flight was leaving right then). We were told to go to the LAM office in Maputo and get tickets for a connecting flight to Johannesburg that would arrive in time for our PE flight. All nonsense. There was no such flight. If the staff were bad in Vilankulos, they were terrible in Maputo. No sense of urgency in fact seemed to deliberately take their time and implied that we had willingly changed our flight as opposed to having had it cancelled by their airline. They didn't even seem to know about this. Eventually staff at South African Airways stepped in and agreed to take us after much grumbling from the LAM staff. Again, this all took so long we almost missed this crucial flight but we made it no thanks to LAM. Had we not done so the cost implications were massive. I fly a lot internationally every year and have never experienced anything like this.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVilankulos to johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"excellent value for money"

(South Africa)

Two international flights on LAM Mozambique within two weeks - from Dar to Pemba and then to Johannesburg via Maputo and had heard endless horror stories but delighted to report that we were extremely impressed (and maybe very lucky?!) All flights on time, the Embraer from Dar was new and departed (and arrived) early, as did our flight to Johannesburg from Maputo on an older B757. Particularly impressed to be served a delicious chicken meal on the domestic sector (Pemba to Maputo). Attendants really helpful when other passengers had sat in our assigned seats and resolved quickly and smoothly without any fuss. Ground services at Pemba shocking in that only two LAM staff were checking in and boarding all flights which meant extremely long queues and frustrations on the ground before airborne, but once airborne, could not fault the service received. Excellent value for money, and generous baggage allowance of 30kg each to Jburg. Very smooth transfer through Maputo onto connecting flight to J'burg - onto a bigger aircraft (with the same crew).
AircraftBoeing 737-500 / E190
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePOL to JNB via Maputo
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"they don't care, don't fly LAM"

(South Africa)

After booking my direct LAM Mozambique flight to Inhambane from Johannesburg Airport together with my accommodation and connecting flight from Cape Town, LAM cancels my direct flights. As a result I lose my connecting flight back home. They don't care, so don't fly LAM. Don't get travel Insurance because they don't pay.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Inhambane
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend anyone flying LAM"

(South Africa)

We booked and paid for direct LAM Mozambique flights (2hours) from Johannesburg to Vilanculos. Two day before departure we received updated e-tickets with flight schedule changes (no direct flights anymore) which didn't suit us at all. Eventually we got tickets to fly directly to Vilanculos a day later. However we were stuck at OR Tambo Johannesburg for a whole day without any explanation and eventually we were informed that the flight was cancelled. We forfeited our paid accommodation for that day at a luxury resort in Vilanculos. We returned the following day and had no choice but to fly and return via Maputo to Vilanculos (7 hours). I will not recommend anyone flying LAM.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Vilanculos
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"now the second day stuck here"

(South Africa)

We are stuck again at Inhambane airport. No information given other than the LAM Mozambique flight has been cancelled. This is now the second day stuck here for some people. LAM Mozambique refuse to let other operators fly this route. But only they can service it themselves. What a pity for tourism.
AircraftBombardier
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteImhambane to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

LAM Mozambique customer review

(Germany)

Flight TM 333/TM 2332 on 14th February 2014 4 hours too late - I missed my connecting flight to CDG with AF. No help and paid all additional costs myself. The service from the office in Johannesburg was not professional.
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews