LAM Mozambique

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"return an absolute nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Our flight from Johannesburg via Maputo to Inhambane was delayed in Maputo by an hour. The return flight has been an absolute nightmare. Our 15h25 flight from Inhambane to Maputo was delayed, we think due to the minister of health arriving in Inhambane, which resulted in us missing our connecting flight to Jhb from Maputo. The plane went via Vilancoulos to get to Maputo. When we arrived at Vilancoulos, for what should have been a short drop off and pick up, we ended up being on the runway for two hours waiting for the plane to be refuelled, which took so long because there are outstanding bills that LAM haven’t paid to BP. We finally got to Maputo at 22h00 and were finally checked into our hotel at 00h30. We we scheduled to catch the 06h50 LAM flight to Jhb. We have been told that the flight will board at 10h00, it is now 09h00. Who knows when we will get to Jhb and if we will make our flight back to the UK.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Inhambane via Maputo
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"problem with check-in luggage"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Inhambane to Johannesburg via Maputo. LAM Mozambique has friendly staff, comfortable seats and the refreshments were fine. It's just a pity that they have such a big problem with theft when it comes to your check-in luggage. My suitcase was locked, and plastic wrapped for added protection. We arrived in Joburg only to find the plastic had been removed completely and the zip was damaged in order to get into the bag. We opened a case on the 11/01/18, and I was told I would get a new bag within 10 days. I've still not received a bag, or any word as to why it is taking so long. Apart from my bag being damage beyond repair, luckily nothing was stolen, but fellow passengers also had their bags broken into and was missing things.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteInhambane to Johannesburg via Maputo
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"luggage had been broken into"

(United States)

Verified Review | Maputo to Johannesburg. Upon arrival, my luggage and others had been broken into and items were missing. The staff refused to fill out the claims form and said that complaints must be done upstairs in the terminal. All the people flying with transfers could not do that, including me. Read the reviews and fly with another airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMaputo to Johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Total lack of service"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Total lack of service. I was supposed to fly Maputo to Tete at 12h35 and arrive at 14h15 which is normal. They let us know that the flight was changed to 23h55 landing in Tete at 03h10 because it was via Nampula. Flight eventually left Maputo at 00h30 and landed in Tete 04h10. There was no communication from LAM while we were waiting at the terminal to let us know of these delays. It was obvious that they were picking up passengers at these cities to fill the plane the same one would do with a mini bus! Do not book any appointments when you fly LAM especially domestic as it is a wasted day.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMaputo to Tete
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I would fly LAM again"

(South Africa)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Maputo return. Excellent experience on a short flight aboard an Embraer RJ145. Flight perfectly on time, only one FA in this small aircraft, who was very profesional, good communication from captain. A very short flight (45 mn), but we were offered a true snack in a box, drinks, and latter again water. Great! I would fly LAM again.
AircraftRJ145
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJNB to MPM
Date FlownDecember 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"use Mozambique's bus services"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | Airline from hell. LAM stands for late and maybe and it goes beyond that in living up to its infamous reputation. A 30 min flight from Maputo to Inhambane was postponed from 10 am to 1 PM. I checked in for the 1 PM flight only to find out the flight was delayed to 3 PM. The airline, surprisingly provided free lunch at the staff canteen. At 3 PM, they cancelled the flight due to technical snag. After countless arguments and temper tantrums, the staff put us up in a very good hotel in Maputo. Many people have written negative reviews about this airline. If you want to use this airline with the fear that your flight will be cancelled, buy a ticket and hopefully get a free lunch and delightful free hotel stay in Maputo until eternity. If you like other travellers, wish to actually move and not enjoy seeing the airline notice board, use Mozambique's bus services - at least you will get somewhere. **ASKED FOR TICKET
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMPM to INH
Date FlownApril 2016
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid flying with LAM"

(Switzerland)

Avoid flying with LAM Mozambique Airlines - they sold me a ticket for which the direct return flight from Vilanculo to Johannesburg did not exist on that day. I bought my ticket directly from LAM for the route Johannesburg to Vilankulo return and reconfirmed the ticket few days before flying. Johannesburg to Vilankulo I had my first fright when I tried to find my flight on the Johannesburg's airport flight screen: it was not listed. I went to LAM desk to find out what happened, the lady at the counter told me that she knew about the situation and asked me to proceed to LAM check-in counter. Return to Johannesburg, 24 hours before flying, I called LAM to re-reconfirm my 2:25pm direct flight to Johannesburg and was told that my flight was not operating on Saturdays. The only alternative was a non-direct flight via Maputo departing at 12:35pm and arriving Johannesburg at 6:25pm. What could I do knowing that I had to reach Johannesburg airport before 6pm to take my return flight to Europe? After explaining the situation to their customer services, the only answer I got was: "we are sorry, we cannot put you on another's airline flight but we can put you on our tomorrow's flight to Johannesburg". At the end I had to buy a new ticket with Airlink (very good airline, new aircraft) in order to not miss my flight to Europe (It goes without saying that the last minute ticket purchase was quite pricey). I have been told at the lodge I stayed at that this is not an exceptional situation, LAM is known to frequently cancel flights because its pilots have reached their flight hours limit. When I returned to Europe I contacted LAM to lodge a complaint and get reimbursed - 2 months later, no news. As a suggestion, if you do not want to live the same situation avoid flying with LAM.
AircraftDash 8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVNX to JNB
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not very helpful"

(South Africa)

Staff at ticket office in Pemba very unfriendly and not very helpful. They should be trained in customer service and respect tourist that spent money to come to their country. Please, we do not all speak Portuguese - so basic English will help. Then we try to buy a ticket at the airport in Nampula - the same thing - terrible customer service!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePemba to Nampula
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no customer service"

(United States)

LAM Mozambique is a horrible airline. No customer service. Lost my baggage and cancelled my flight. They found my bags a day later and didn't even contact me or provide a reference number for the bags. The airport itself is horrible and disorganized. Horrible and would never come back to Mozambique because of them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMaputo to Inhambane
Date FlownNovember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never experienced anything like this"

(United Kingdom)

Our LAM Mozambique flight from Johannesburg to Vilankulos was cancelled and we were re-directed to Maputo and then got a prop 'plane from there to Vilakulos. Not a disaster but arrived later than we had planned. On the way back was another matter. Arrived Vilakulos airport to get direct flight to Johannesburg for a connecting flight to Port Elizabeth. Our flight was cancelled again. We were told that the only option was a flight that would get us into Johannesburg several hours after our LAM flight arrived. Extremely unhelpful, resigned and almost aggressive staff. Eventually we were offered a flight to Maputo (only an option as we had arrived at the airport early and the flight was leaving right then). We were told to go to the LAM office in Maputo and get tickets for a connecting flight to Johannesburg that would arrive in time for our PE flight. All nonsense. There was no such flight. If the staff were bad in Vilankulos, they were terrible in Maputo. No sense of urgency in fact seemed to deliberately take their time and implied that we had willingly changed our flight as opposed to having had it cancelled by their airline. They didn't even seem to know about this. Eventually staff at South African Airways stepped in and agreed to take us after much grumbling from the LAM staff. Again, this all took so long we almost missed this crucial flight but we made it no thanks to LAM. Had we not done so the cost implications were massive. I fly a lot internationally every year and have never experienced anything like this.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteVilankulos to johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews