Top 100 Airlines  

Dragonair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 157 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"a satisfactory flight"

(China)

Verified Review | A good flight with Dragonair from Hong Kong to Tokyo, on time, and the arrival at Haneda is a good thing free from long queue and custom hussle usually experienced at Narita (will remember to choose Haneda flight if available). Good breakfast, hot items include rice dishes. Service is OK but no greeting to members (they skipped this god gesture). New flatbed seat but not very useful for shorthaul even it was an early morning flight. A satisfactory flight but nothing special.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHKG to HND
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"crew members young and inexperienced"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | Flew Hong Kong to Kota Kinabalu. Dragonair used to have good service: good food and beverages and good service from crew members. I used to look forward to travelling with Dragonair but not anymore. Wine was not served during meal times and the welcome juice service has now been strangely abolished. Upon cruising altitude, meals were served immediately. Considering that the flight was not full and it is a 2.5 hour flight, welcome juice service could have been factored in. Crew members were young and highly inexperienced: impersonal and not friendly. They were there to perform a perfunctory duty and were rather robotic at times.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to BKI
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"would recommend Dragonair"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Shanghai. Flight was initially delayed from 1200 to 1340 but then we boarded around 1325 and sat on the aircraft not getting airborne until 1600. This was due to "bad weather" in Shanghai although probably more likely the usual chinese air force airspace delays along this route which I am given to understand are almost constant. I accept this is no fault of the airline. However it might have been better to let us sit in the terminal rather than on the aircraft for so long. They gave us our meals on the ground, these were good. The flight was good, friendly staff dealing with loud and frustrated passengers well and spoke good english. The seat was comfortable. Check in and ground staff were friendly and the aircraft was clean. Return flight to Hong Kong was cancelled. This again due to "bad weather"/chinese airspace. Problems with every airline so not Dragonair fault. However two queues to ticket desk (both massive) when we arrived, were for different things. No one told us which queue to stand in so we split up and stood one in each, eventually got a standby number, came back 2 hours later and was put on a new flight. This flight left very soon so were given priority security and baggage tags. Missed our connection in HKG but staff helped us get accommodation and a new flight in HKG. Staff at Shanghai were slow, didn't tell us which queue to be in or what was going on. However check in clerk was helpful. Again not Dragonair fault but could've been handled much better. 4 hours of queuing and then a sprint to security not fun. Flight itself was on A330, clean and had ife. Meals were good, so were crew, seats slightly dated but fine and aircraft clean. Would recommend Dragonair, they are a good airline and delays not their fault, just staff in Shanghai need more training at how to deal with this especially as it happens frequently. They are excellent though when it comes to reorganising in Hong Kong and as sister airline to Cathay Pacific make connections to them as seamless and worry free as possible. As you can make it all (international flight and domestic flight connecting) under one booking they will sort hotels and new flights if you miss connection so would recommend Dragonair especially if you are doing international flight followed by domestic flights within China.
AircraftA320 / A330-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PVG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"found Dragonair better than Cathay"

(China)

Verified Review | Hong Kong to Beijing with Dragonair. This was a redemption flight and it was good in that it is right on time, for flights to Beijing and Shanghai you can almost expect delays. The first time I board a plane that is painted with the new logo, Cathay Dragon, the service was not bad for the 3 hour flight. In fact I found Dragonair better than Cathay on this route which I fly much, and the Purser did come to greet me as a Sapphire member: they rarely do so this days especially with Cathay.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PEK
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"won't fly Dragonair again"

(Australia)

Hanoi to Hong Kong with Dragonair. The flight eventually departed 3 hours late, meaning we missed our connection to Sydney. Arrival time was around 0110, and the transfer desk in Hong Kong was a complete shambles, and we finally got our hotel voucher more than an hour later, for a hotel 30 minutes away. The queue for immigration was horrendous and we could see we would be very unlikely to get to the hotel before 3am. Since our rearranged flight was due to leave at 0910, we decided to stay in the Plaza Premium lounge, airside. All this could have been avoided if Dragonair had been proactive in arranging accommodation in advance of our late arrival in Hong Kong. They had enough time. The aircraft, flight and meal were reasonable, though cabin service commenced very late in the flight. I read that Dragonair has one of the worst reputations for time keeping. This may not be entirely it's fault, however lack of organisation was very apparent, making this one of my worst flying experience in over 50 years. Won't fly Dragonair again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHAN to HKG
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew were very attentive"

(Malaysia)

Verified Review | Dragonair flight KA 854 from Hong Kong to Wuhan was slightly delayed. A refurbished A320-200 registration B-HSP aircraft with new smart bin and seat. An apology was made by the Captain once on board. It was a full flight. The crew were very attentive and helpful. Inflight meals were served and we were given a choice of chicken or fish. As for beverages, only coffee, tea and mineral water were available. I would suggest that a variety of juices are served too. A big thank you to the crew for their professionalism.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to WUH
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"remains good today"

(Hong Kong)

Flew from Hong Kong to Shanghai, the first time I have flown with Dragonair in over 13 years. It was a good airline then and it remains good today. The outbound portion of the flight was delayed by over an hour, which was beyond the control of the airline. Service and the inflight meal were good. The IFE on board didn't have the latest equipment, but still had a good selection that was more than enough for a two-hour, 20-minute flight (which had to be expedited because of the delay). The return portion was delayed by half an hour, which is practically on time for Shanghai standards. This flight was no more than half-full and I got two seats all to myself. Again, service and amenities were good.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to PVG
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"staff efficient and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Easy check in at the airport with Dragonair for flight from Hong Kong to Phuket, staff efficient and friendly. Aircraft was on stand well before boarding time but boarding was delayed for unexplained reason and subsequently plane pushed back over 30 minutes late. We were then in a queue of several aircraft waiting to depart and we took off almost one hour late. Cabin service was good, considering the short flight time, and the meal on offer was acceptable. Seat was shell type recliner which had little or no lumbar support but OK for short flight. Although bags had priority stickers attached they still took a long time to arrive on the carousel. Would use Dragonair again despite the minor problems.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHKG to HKT
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seats were always upgraded"

(Philippines)

Clark, Philippines to Hong Kong. Dragonair website is identical to Cathay Pacific and is user friendly. Booking is a breeze. Their online check-in and bag-drop counter at the airport are convenient. Inflight entertainment (Studio KA) is great with huge collections. I believe they just offer an all economy seats for their CRK-HKG flights however since there are business seats allotted due to the aircraft configuration, they allow other passengers to be seated in business cabin. I'm happy that my seats were always upgraded! Snack is so-so. Just a small pack of cookies, chocolate bar and water for short haul flights. One thing, the cabin crews should use English as a means of communication to customers.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCRK to HKG
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"we had a good experience"

(New Zealand)

We booked this Dragonair ticket through S7 airlines from Irkutsk, and flew from Beijing to Hong Kong. Cabin crew were friendly and the food was of a good standard. Nothing too special on this flight - good entertainment on the PTV after many flights on S7 without any. The seat was of good width, however the legroom was a bit cramped and the seat a bit short - ie. it goes up to my shoulders (however the head rest could be adjusted up and down). Overall we had a good experience. I recommend this airline and will fly Dragonair again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePEK to HKG
Date FlownDecember 2015
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes