China Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 436 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 26th July 2015

The flight was smooth, flight attendants were nice, seats are comfortable, food was very nice. There were no delays.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (Australia) 24th July 2015

I was looking forward to trying CI on my next trip but ended up feeling a bit disappointed with the overall experience. All flights were full which meant no space to spread out. Greeted harshly when boarding, directed to seat. Aircraft was modern and clean. Seats quite close together. My knees were touching the seat in front of me, and I'm not tall. Crew rarely smiled, and didn't appear friendly or approachable. Food of decent quality for economy, drinks limited. Water was warm and served from strange plastic jugs, which makes me think we were drinking tank water. Service was rushed. Entertainment was of very good selection and easy to use. No drink or snack runs until breakfast served. No amenities however bathrooms kept clean. Crew friendlier on return flight but nothing above average. If the price is significantly cheaper it may be worth flying CI, otherwise I'd spend a bit more and fly with a different airline.
AircraftA330-300 / Boeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteBNE to ICN via TPE
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (United Kingdom) 7th July 2015

Left on time and arrived early on both flights! Inflight entertainment was good, food was your average plane food but nothing was nearly as bad as it was made out to be. My flights were significantly cheaper and I would fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteAuckland to Los Angeles via Taiwan
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 14th June 2015

The seats are definitely not geared for Western heights and weights. My husband was tortured with no legroom for 13 hours. It was just not comfortable. Might be ok under 5 hour flights but for long distance travel its brutal. The staff were accommodating. Food was pretty bad and I actually didn't know what some of the items that were served. I left a lot. Not sure I'd fly this airline again because of the cramped uncomfortable seating. That's really all they have to offer.
Type Of TravellerFamilyLeisure
Cabin FlownEconomy
RouteSan Francisco to Saigon via Taipei
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (Indonesia) 25th May 2015

I flew from Jakarta to JFK via Taipei where I changed planes. First time I was flying on China Airlines. The route to JFK had a short stop over in Hong Kong. Business class was not full. The business class seats from JKT to Taipei was okay. The plane (Taipei - JFK) was new and seat was comfortable. Flat reclining (almost). In flight entertainment was average. Flight attendants were attentive. One the return flight (JFK to Taipei) business flight was full and service was sketchy. Flight attendants did not seem to be able to understand English. They also "disappeared" after the first meal - i.e. just did not bother to check on needs or offer snacks. You needed to go to the kitchen and help yourself. Meals were average and quantity was small. Overall I flew because the business class deal was very good and it was good value for money. May probably do it again if the price differential remains.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (New Zealand) 11th May 2015

Return flight Penang-Taipei in economy. Aircraft very old and aircon leaked no PTV seating uncomfortable food fair (a cooked meal). Cabin crew on outward flight fairly friendly but on return flight unfriendly. No flight information supplied. Flight only four hours plus so bearable.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (Philippines) 4th May 2015

MNL-TPE-SFO return. MNL-TPE on a new A330. Good service new plane poor food. 11 hour layover at TPE allowed family to explore Taipei prior to connecting flight and enjoy the local fare. TPE-SFO on a refurbished 747. Full flight and ticket class meant seating in the tail section with no USB port and a bumpy ride. Service below average with only one drink/water run after meals on this 12.5 hour flight. IFE above average to good. Returning from SFO used the same aircraft but this time seated in the midsection. USB port barely working and so was the underseat power. Meals small and barely edible. Service was friendly and prompt but again only one water run in the long haul flight. Took this flight only because the price was almost half of DL PR and OZ. If price point is the same then and only then will I consider flying CI again.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 23rd April 2015

My first trip flying CI on a bargain fare to NRT. Great service on the ground and in the air. The cabin crew were friendly and worked hard on a very full flight. They would often check and clean the lavs even the Purser put on her gloves and went to work. Great meals and IFE. Seating was a little tight in the Y cabin but a very pleasant trip otherwise.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (Hong Kong) 20th April 2015

Feb 26 CI 584 PVG-KHH. Mar 10 CI 503 TPE-PVG. Flew on CI flights at least once every year for my last 36 years and I tried last month again on PVG-KHH and TPE-PVG. Everything was excellent. You find the crew to be sincere and try their very best to help at all times. A333 was used for the outbound flight full dinner was served although it was just a 1.45 hr flight and arrived on time. For my return flight I was on the special livery B744 and I discovered the cabin is pretty new. It is rare to see IFE was offer on flight between China and Taiwan in fact CI is one of the two airlines out of 10+ carriers serving cross strait having PTV on every single seats I am for sure to fly CI again for my next trip to Taiwan and looking forward to try their new B777 business class next time.
Cabin FlownEconomy
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

China Airlines customer review

Review by (United States) 6th April 2015

Travelled JFK-TPE TPE-ICN TPE-XMN and finally back to NYC. It was a month long vacation & those flights definitely made it more pleasant. The lounge at Jfk was well stocked with food & drinks. Plenty of staff member s to clean after the moving crowd. On board the flight attendants were all smiles. No request was too much for them. 3 meals served from JFK to TPE are delicious and fresh & the drink menu extensive. The lounge at TPE airport is one of the best in my opinion. I recommend China Airlines highly.
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes