Top 100 Airlines  

China Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 265 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"far better than it used to be"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Taipei to Bangkok with China Airlines was a late night flight on the first sector of the Taipei to Amsterdam service. All good, comfortable, easy flight, pleasant and efficient crew. It is far better than it used to be : this was my first China Airlines flight in about a decade and the improvement is very evident. Skyteam membership makes this airline a good choice on some sectors.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTPE to BKK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew are proactive and polite"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | China Airlines offers exceptionally cheap price on this route, which involves one plane change in their Taipei hub, connection is about an hour which is sufficient. Interior design was nothing outstanding, but was still comfortable. Welcome drinks (2 juices and water) plus hot towel and newspaper delivered with a smile. The quality of dinner they serve is quite good, with 3 choices, Japanese style dinner is excellent, followed by the standard fare like cakes and ice cream. Cabin crew are proactive and polite. AVOD offers a fair choice, not that there's a lot, but sufficient for short to medium haul flights, with noise canceling headset. I find the remote control a bit chunky and awkward to use with the twisted cords. Unfortunately, due to bad weather condition in the first leg, I missed the 2nd leg, the staff gladly arranged a hotel for the night and escorted me wth a car to get back. The way they look after transit passengers are reasonable and helpful. Despite the delay due to weather, I think China Airlines will become more competitive with the whole new image and brand concept. My confidence in them has been earned back.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNRT to HKG via TPE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"totally unaccountable staff"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | On a recent round trip in East Asia I flew with four different airlines but China Airlines was by far the worst, starting from the lousy "food" served to nothing but delays and to the total absence of proactive communication. The flight from Hong Kong to Taipei was delayed two hours with staff not bothering to provide any explanation. Of course I missed my connecting flight to Okinawa where my hotel for the night was already booked and prepaid at a no-refund rate. Asked what they were going to do about that they first said I should try harder to get a refund from the hotel but as I insisted they suggested I lodge a refund claim to the airline. I checked and their forms are all in Chinese. They took me to the Taipei airport Novotel for the night and early on the next day rushed me back to board the morning flight whereby the hurry was unnecessary as this flight was delayed as well. I mentioned the form issue but they didn't react and disappeared. Overall, a bad experience and totally unaccountable staff. Never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to OKA via TPE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the worst travel experience"

(United States)

On April 4th I was to travel from Tokyo Narita to Honolulu with China Airlines. After two hours of the flight being postponed (with minimal communication,) we were boarded onto the flight. The cabin was over-heated and we were forced to sit on the plane for almost an hour with no communication as to why. The excessive heat was incredibly uncomfortable; everyone had taken off their jackets and started fanning themselves with the emergency card. Eventually they announced that tech issues had been fixed (tech issues we had never been told about,) and the flight would be cancelled being the Narita Airport curfew was 11:00PM (it was 11:02PM, if they had been 2 minutes quicker with everything we could have been to our destination 12 hours earlier.) Finally, we were escorted off the plane and forced to go through customs once again and then were given sleeping bags to sleep on the hard linoleum floor in the airport with bright florescent lighting. They let us know they would try and get us out as soon as possible, and then announced our flight wouldn’t be till 1:00PM. I am at the gate now (11:20AM, our flight is supposed to take of at 12:00PM) and the airline attendants announced that we are going to be experiencing yet another delay. This has been the worst travel experience in my life.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to HNL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"much better than Delta"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Taipei with China Airlines. Have not taken this airline across Pacific Ocean for many years. Although we flew in coach, the seat was comfortable for a trans-Pacific economy class. Services was good, much better than Delta coach we flew from Tokyo to Seattle on return. Flight attendants were polite and helpful. The plane was new and their three-seat family arrangement is genius. Safety record of this airline improved dramatically. Cabin crew are cognizant of safety requirements much more than 15 years ago. Flight entertainment system is more than enough, especially for those with Chinese language capability. Being a Sky Priority member, we zip thru check in line with no problem. Long lines of TSA security check at SFO airport was not fun.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to TPE
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"seating was comfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Auckland to Sydney with China Airlines was overall a positive experience with China Airlines, but there are some small kinks that need to be ironed out. The website is clunky and I could not get a boarding pass despite being able to check in online before the flight. In saying that, the check-in counter at Auckland International was fine - if not a bit slow, with some ground staff (in China Airlines uniform) idle and chatting amongst themselves, rather than serving customers in line. The flight was late around 1 hour for take-off but managed to arrive only 20 minutes late. Boarding, in spite of the lateness was relatively efficient. Unfortunately (fault of the airport staff more than the airline staff) the boarding times between the display and actual boarding time was inconsistent, creating a great deal of confusion. The flight itself redeemed the initial chaos. The plane was an old A330 but the seating was comfortable with decent legroom and width. The IFE screen was very small and resolution was poor, but it was surprisingly responsive to touch and there was a variety of latest movies available. While the IFE was available shortly after takeoff, the headphones weren't available until much later - this should have handed out before the flight. The crew was otherwise lovely - courteous and efficient. The meal, while on the small side, was tasty. The drink service was prompt and serving size was generous. For the price (by far the cheapest), it was a good flight and I would fly again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to SYD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"outstanding service and comfort"

(United States)

Bangkok to Los Angeles via Los Angeles with China Airlines. Outstanding service and comfort at one of the best prices for this route. From the ease of check in and priority screening at busy BKK to the attentive service and comfort in business class, China Airlines will be my first choice to SE Asia. I flew over to ICN on American first class and had a surly flight attendant the entire route. China Airlines exceeds American in detailed service and overall comfort. The food choices on CI were good and better than the food I was served on a JAL flight. The entertainment system was easy to use and there were several new movie options. But for me the most important factor was the comfort of the lie flat seat with adequate privacy. No stepping over someone to access the aisle. Bottom line - great price and excellent flight.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to LAX via TPE
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"plane is extremely late"

(Taiwan)

I feel obliged to write a review of China Airlines. The airline itself is fine. The food is fine, the service is fine, the seats are fine. However, every single time I fly this airline it is late. I have flown the Taipei to Hong Kong route a number of times in the past six months, and every single time, at both ends of the journey, my plane is extremely late. It is frustrating to be told on a Friday night that your 7.40pm flight to Hong Kong is delayed three hours. It is even more frustrating to be told on the Sunday night that your flight back to Taipei is delayed 2.5 hours. In this particular case, the flight was over 3 hours late, instead of arriving at 10pm, I arrived at 2am. I will be flying Cathay Pacific from now on.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTPE to HKG
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"seat is a very good choice"

(Taiwan)

Taipei to Bangkok on China Airlines Boeing 777. Premium economy seat is a very good choice for short-haul alternative to business class. Good entertainment system, big table (but somehow strangely tilted), good noise-reduction headphone. A good enough seat, reclines, but not electrical. China Airlines food is edible, flight attendants quite good.
AircraftBoeing 777-300er
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteTPE to BKK
Date FlownFebruary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"with lovely staff"

(New Zealand)

Christchurch to Melbourne with China Airlines. Awesome service with lovely staff and great food, movies and comfortable seats. Thank you very much for excellent service. I would definitely be using again. It was clean and well airconditioned. Value for money. Checking was great and no hassles.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCHC to MEL
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes