Top 100 Airlines  

China Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 268 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"excellent onboard service"

(Singapore)

Verified Review | This was my first time flying China Airlines from Singapore to Surabaya and return the next day. I was very impressed by the excellent onboard service, provided by the friendly and welcoming cabin crew. Both flights were on time, check in process was smooth. There was only one meal option on this fifth freedom flight but it was delicious. The cabin crews served with a smile. Overall I enjoyed these flights and will fly with them again soon.
AircraftA330-302
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSIN to SUB
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"surprised with the service"

(Philippines)

Verified Review | Manila to Tokyo Narita via Taipei with China Airlines, and I was surprised with the service, type of aircraft used and the Value for money. They served hot meals and they also have inflight entertainment. What can you ask for a real value for money? Service was very good going to Taiwan and to Narita. Food was not that good, though. Overall, if i have to decide between a budget airline vs China airlines, I would choose China airlines.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMNL to NRT via TPE
Date FlownMay 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"nothing to wow about"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Taipei to Tokyo Haneda. Boarding smooth and well organised. Aircraft definitely showed its age with old looking interior. Tiny personal touch screen, so tiny it's really hard to watch movies. Average inflight entertainment selection. Meal was your typical aircraft meal, you eat it because it's there. Nothing to wow about. Seating space very small. I'm only 5'5" and my knees were against the front seat back. Crew friendly and attentive. Great that China Airlines is getting the new B777 fleet and product, but a complete revitalising is needed.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTSA to HND
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"far better than it used to be"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Taipei to Bangkok with China Airlines was a late night flight on the first sector of the Taipei to Amsterdam service. All good, comfortable, easy flight, pleasant and efficient crew. It is far better than it used to be : this was my first China Airlines flight in about a decade and the improvement is very evident. Skyteam membership makes this airline a good choice on some sectors.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTPE to BKK
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"crew are proactive and polite"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | China Airlines offers exceptionally cheap price on this route, which involves one plane change in their Taipei hub, connection is about an hour which is sufficient. Interior design was nothing outstanding, but was still comfortable. Welcome drinks (2 juices and water) plus hot towel and newspaper delivered with a smile. The quality of dinner they serve is quite good, with 3 choices, Japanese style dinner is excellent, followed by the standard fare like cakes and ice cream. Cabin crew are proactive and polite. AVOD offers a fair choice, not that there's a lot, but sufficient for short to medium haul flights, with noise canceling headset. I find the remote control a bit chunky and awkward to use with the twisted cords. Unfortunately, due to bad weather condition in the first leg, I missed the 2nd leg, the staff gladly arranged a hotel for the night and escorted me wth a car to get back. The way they look after transit passengers are reasonable and helpful. Despite the delay due to weather, I think China Airlines will become more competitive with the whole new image and brand concept. My confidence in them has been earned back.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNRT to HKG via TPE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"totally unaccountable staff"

(Thailand)

Verified Review | On a recent round trip in East Asia I flew with four different airlines but China Airlines was by far the worst, starting from the lousy "food" served to nothing but delays and to the total absence of proactive communication. The flight from Hong Kong to Taipei was delayed two hours with staff not bothering to provide any explanation. Of course I missed my connecting flight to Okinawa where my hotel for the night was already booked and prepaid at a no-refund rate. Asked what they were going to do about that they first said I should try harder to get a refund from the hotel but as I insisted they suggested I lodge a refund claim to the airline. I checked and their forms are all in Chinese. They took me to the Taipei airport Novotel for the night and early on the next day rushed me back to board the morning flight whereby the hurry was unnecessary as this flight was delayed as well. I mentioned the form issue but they didn't react and disappeared. Overall, a bad experience and totally unaccountable staff. Never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHKG to OKA via TPE
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the worst travel experience"

(United States)

On April 4th I was to travel from Tokyo Narita to Honolulu with China Airlines. After two hours of the flight being postponed (with minimal communication,) we were boarded onto the flight. The cabin was over-heated and we were forced to sit on the plane for almost an hour with no communication as to why. The excessive heat was incredibly uncomfortable; everyone had taken off their jackets and started fanning themselves with the emergency card. Eventually they announced that tech issues had been fixed (tech issues we had never been told about,) and the flight would be cancelled being the Narita Airport curfew was 11:00PM (it was 11:02PM, if they had been 2 minutes quicker with everything we could have been to our destination 12 hours earlier.) Finally, we were escorted off the plane and forced to go through customs once again and then were given sleeping bags to sleep on the hard linoleum floor in the airport with bright florescent lighting. They let us know they would try and get us out as soon as possible, and then announced our flight wouldn’t be till 1:00PM. I am at the gate now (11:20AM, our flight is supposed to take of at 12:00PM) and the airline attendants announced that we are going to be experiencing yet another delay. This has been the worst travel experience in my life.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNRT to HNL
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"much better than Delta"

(United States)

Verified Review | San Francisco to Taipei with China Airlines. Have not taken this airline across Pacific Ocean for many years. Although we flew in coach, the seat was comfortable for a trans-Pacific economy class. Services was good, much better than Delta coach we flew from Tokyo to Seattle on return. Flight attendants were polite and helpful. The plane was new and their three-seat family arrangement is genius. Safety record of this airline improved dramatically. Cabin crew are cognizant of safety requirements much more than 15 years ago. Flight entertainment system is more than enough, especially for those with Chinese language capability. Being a Sky Priority member, we zip thru check in line with no problem. Long lines of TSA security check at SFO airport was not fun.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSFO to TPE
Date FlownJanuary 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"seating was comfortable"

(Australia)

Verified Review | Auckland to Sydney with China Airlines was overall a positive experience with China Airlines, but there are some small kinks that need to be ironed out. The website is clunky and I could not get a boarding pass despite being able to check in online before the flight. In saying that, the check-in counter at Auckland International was fine - if not a bit slow, with some ground staff (in China Airlines uniform) idle and chatting amongst themselves, rather than serving customers in line. The flight was late around 1 hour for take-off but managed to arrive only 20 minutes late. Boarding, in spite of the lateness was relatively efficient. Unfortunately (fault of the airport staff more than the airline staff) the boarding times between the display and actual boarding time was inconsistent, creating a great deal of confusion. The flight itself redeemed the initial chaos. The plane was an old A330 but the seating was comfortable with decent legroom and width. The IFE screen was very small and resolution was poor, but it was surprisingly responsive to touch and there was a variety of latest movies available. While the IFE was available shortly after takeoff, the headphones weren't available until much later - this should have handed out before the flight. The crew was otherwise lovely - courteous and efficient. The meal, while on the small side, was tasty. The drink service was prompt and serving size was generous. For the price (by far the cheapest), it was a good flight and I would fly again.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAKL to SYD
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"outstanding service and comfort"

(United States)

Bangkok to Los Angeles via Los Angeles with China Airlines. Outstanding service and comfort at one of the best prices for this route. From the ease of check in and priority screening at busy BKK to the attentive service and comfort in business class, China Airlines will be my first choice to SE Asia. I flew over to ICN on American first class and had a surly flight attendant the entire route. China Airlines exceeds American in detailed service and overall comfort. The food choices on CI were good and better than the food I was served on a JAL flight. The entertainment system was easy to use and there were several new movie options. But for me the most important factor was the comfort of the lie flat seat with adequate privacy. No stepping over someone to access the aisle. Bottom line - great price and excellent flight.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBKK to LAX via TPE
Date FlownMarch 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes