China Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 351 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"be flying China Airlines again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to London via Taipei. As a family of 2 adults and a 14month old traveling to the UK, a balance of comfort and budget was important and after extensive research, I decided to give China Airlines a try since they’ve opened a 1 stop route SYD - LGW on brand new A350’s with a design awarded business cabin. I’ve flown business to the UK before with Qantas and Malaysian Airlines. Pre flight was simple with online pre-selection of meals, seats and free WiFi offer available but no limo service. Business check in counter and express path for security meant quick transit to the SkyTeam lounge which wasn’t as nice as the Qantas lounge and limited food & bev options. Priority boarding was available and once on board, the choice of the China Airlines business product proved itself to be a good one. The cabin and lighting is excellent, the flat bed seats/suites are modeled on Qatar and are spacious & comfortable. With an evening departure, our son slept with my wife for most of the SYD - TPE leg. A large screen with IFE including Pepper Pig kept him amused for the short time he was awake. Only downside was some language barriers with several stewardesses & western food was below average. TPE airport transit was straight forward with a modern comfortable lounge, baby room and showers along with good Asian food available. TPE - LGW boarded quickly again with priority boarding for business but once on board, the service stood out as better than the prior leg, largely because the cabin staff all spoke better English. The rules are more relaxed on this airline so letting our son play with his toys in the footwell area of my seat when he was awake was a big plus (Qantas would not have allowed this for safety reasons I suspect). Qantas also insist on making your baby sleep with the baby seat belt attachment on which is awkward and unhelpful when he’s already asleep. The food was also better on this leg and Pol Roger 2006 vintage pink champagne was excellent! Overall, My wife and I felt the seat product is superior to Qantas’ new business product which we flew to Hawaii in Nov. the in-flight service & food is inferior but here’s what the compromise gets you and your family, business return to London for 2/3rds of the Qantas cost or most other premium airlines prices. I’m a gold frequent flyer with Qantas but if they can’t get closer in price, I’ll be flying with China Airlines again for the next UK visit.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to London via Taipei
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"had a great experience"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Flew China Airlines May 8th from Manila to Taipei. In my opinion their service is one of the best. FA's are very friendly and accommodating. There is no meal option for the flight but meal is superb. I had a great experience.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Taipei
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"friendly and professional"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Taipei. Great customer service. We were late and they helped us through security and ran with us to show us the gate. Very friendly and professional, highly recommended. The food isn't the best but is average. Drink service is nice (tea, coffee, water, wine). Lots of new movies, Hollywood and subtitled Japanese and Chinese as well.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Taipei
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"recommend China Airlines"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Sapporo via Taipei. Skiing trip over Easter to Japan, staff very friendly both in the air and on the ground. In flight entertainment was pretty good. Food and drinks were also pretty good, with the exception of one breakfast (western choice) which was not good, some combination of omelette, ham and pasta. All in all I would highly recommend China Airlines and already booked the next flight to London.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteBrisbane to Sapporo via Taipei
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"staff were polite and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Taipei was a pleasant enough experience. Check-in was easy, staff were polite and friendly and the cabin crew were accommodating enough. Taipei to Gatwick was a little disappointing but not terrible. Our flight was delayed by 30 minutes. Cabin crew were pretty cold, very rarely showing a smile and we felt more of an inconvenience than appreciated customers. Food was ok, and whilst they would bring drinks when asked, they were often a bit stingy with amounts poured. If you go in with low expectations as I did I think you'll actually be surprised. Not terrible, but certainly not special.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTaipei Taoyuan to London Gatwick
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

not an overwhelming experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Gatwick as my return journey. After a below expectation outgoing flight, the inbound flight was improved. Check in was smooth at a business class only counter. However the CI staff at the information desk was very rude to passengers making enquirers. Not a best representation of the company. It was very disappointing that as a business class passenger there is no dedicated lane for security and immigration. Security queue for both T1 (China Airlines) and T2 (EVA and China) tend to be long and neither airlines have special facilities for their business class passengers. The lounge in Taipei T1 (CI Dynasty lounge, the one closer to Gate A) was ok. It has no window but the design was classic. Food and drink choices were lacking. Boarding was announced in the lounge and there was a business class only bridge so you can skip the queue even if you are late at the gate. Service on this sector was significantly improved. I was offerred food and wine menu and was told that I should be able to change my food choice if I wanted to (I had pre-ordered online). The cabin manager introduced herself and offered a warm welcome. Again attention to details/amenities/food and drink were not as great as its main competitor EVA but this is partly compensated by the brand new airplane. Despite not offering full duvet and turn down service, sleep quality was good. The entertainment system also worked well. I personally found the onboard lounge on A350 a waste of space. I was told by the cabin manager that the lounge on 777 was larger and served its purpose and unfortunately it is not the case on A350. Business class passengers also only have 1 toilet (there are actually 2 but the other is frequented by passengers on deluxe economy). Overall the flight was a easy ride and we arrived at Gatwick early despite a late departure. It is not an overwhelming experience but it did work.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTaipei to Gatwick
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"flight attendants were rock-faced"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Christchurch return. Legroom was the best thing about flights. Seat width was excellent. Head rests were comfy enough. On flight back I was on back row seat with supposedly no recline, but it still reclined nicely which was great. Bonus for back row seat: there was bonus small ov locker. All seats on return flight had curious addition of a mirror. Slightly useful. Flight service on first flight: except for one kind older staff all other flight attendants were rock-faced. English announcements not good enough. Crew were much more courteous & helpful on flight back. Piloting skills: inconsistent. First flight had way more turbulence. Landing was shockingly bumpy. Flight back was smoother with perfect takeoff/landings. IFE was ancient/laggy. Food on first flight good. Return flight food way too oily.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Christchurch
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"feels they are just doing their job"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Taipei. I haven't flown China Airlines for 20 years primarily due to their poor safety record in the 90s and also due to lack of network in Europe. After they launched direct flight to London I decided to take the opportunity and fly back to Taiwan for lunar new year. I booked it through online travel agent and it was easy. However China Airlines website is difficult to navigate. Menu pre selection is not shown on your main profile, and entertainment was on another website. Nevertheless the online check in process was very easy. At London Gatwick the ground service is handled by a 3rd party company. They are very courteous and friendly. The lounge was No. 1 at the South Terminal. Nothing fancy but did it work. Boarding was well organised as business passengers were invited to take a seat near the bridge. The flight in the business class section was empty. 8 passengers occupied the entire 32 seats. Immediate reaction was the airplane was spotless and clean, while service was lacking. They only offered soft drinks before take off. It was noticeable how quiet the A350 was - far better than 777 and it was very spacious. The entertainment was good - large screen, good choices of movie and a lot of interaction function. The seat was comfortable. What fell short (well, when being compared with EVA which is its main competitors) is the ambition to deliver a full service. On EVA you have great amenity, pajama, great selection of wines and food and service was second to none. On China Airlines it feels they are just doing their job without going extra mile. The biggest disappointment is the layout of the A350. There are 32 seats but there is only 1 toilet in the front of the airplane plus one at the rear of the business class section which is often visited by passengers in Premium Economy. Overall it's a ok flight but nothing really stands out. If the price is right I will still fly with China Airlines as it saves few hours and I really like A350; otherwise I would prefer EVA Air or Cathay Pacific over China Airlines.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteGatwick to Taipei
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"always a painful experience"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | I flew this route from Taipei to Penang a few times and always with China Airlines as it is the only company which offers this direct connection. However, it is always a painful experience, except the staff who is nice, the rest is really poor starting with the plane itself. It is a miserable plane with much too little space for a 5 hours international flight, this type of plane is usually used for domestic short flights only. Then there is no individual monitor and you have one poor movie playing for the all flight on a common screen. The food is low quality and this flight is usually always late "due to the late arrival of the plane". Only one thing is high is the price. It is actually so bad that I considered taking a Cathay Pacific flight with a stop in Hong Kong to not fly in this flying sardine can.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Penang
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"was pleasantly surprised"

(Vanuatu)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Amsterdam via Taipei and was pleasantly surprised. Did not travel with check-in luggage so the only interaction I had with staff on the ground was at the gate. I checked in on-line and needed to get my boarding card printed. This was done promptly and I was directed to board the aircraft. Cabin in Business was clean, neat and looked well maintained. Cabin staff were very professional, used my name and ensured that I had all I required but were not intrusive. Sat in 12K on this leg of the journey, found the ambient temperature too hot, 180 degree flatbed was unfortunately wasted on this leg as couldn't sleep comfortably at that temperature. Arrived in Taipei with a 4hr wait, used the lounge which was comfortable and staff were pleasant, a few of them spoke English which helped. Used the shower facility which was clean. Boarded flight leg to AMS on time, flight left on time as did previous leg. Filled out my breakfast request, put my bed into flat position and fell asleep. Ambient temperature was lower and I slept really well, right through the dinner service. Was in seat 11A on this leg and was wondering to myself whether being in the second row from the front of the aircraft had any influence on the temperature. Seating starts at row 10 on China Airlines A350. When I woke up about 6hrs later, the staff were apologising for not serving me dinner, had to assure them that i was alright, they brought me biscuits and green tea. Several hours later after enjoying their In-Flight Entertainment, I was served my breakfast as ordered. Each and every interaction I had on these two legs were as one should expect of a business class cabin. Would probably fly them again if the same deal presented itself when I needed to travel.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Amsterdam via Taipei
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes